Chatters

A CLEANER at the Singapore Zoo who jumped into the white tiger enclosure yesterday was killed by the animals as a horrified crowd looked on helplessly.
Malaysian Nordin Montong, 32, was set upon by two of the three big cats in the enclosure at around noon.

White tigers very rare
WHITE tigers belong to the Bengal tiger subspecies native to the forests and grasslands in South Asia.

Bengal tigers make up about 60per cent of the world's wild tiger population, now estimated to stand at only 4,000 cats.
... more
RELATED LINKS
CLEANER MAULED TO DEATH
According to eyewitnesses, Mr Nordin, who was seen shouting and flinging items about shortly before the incident, vaulted a low wall and landed in a moat in the enclosure, four metres below.

Carrying a yellow pail and a broom, he then crossed the 1.75m-deep moat, walked up to a rocky ledge near where the animals were and began agitating them by swinging the broom.

As two of the tigers approached him, he covered his head with the pail, lay down on the ground, and curled himself into a foetal position, two eyewitnesses, an Australian couple, told police. Their identities were withheld pending investigations.

In a flash, two of the extremely rare white tigers were on him. One took a swipe at him with its paw - which is about the size of a softball glove - and he began screaming in pain, said another eyewitness, Dutch tourist W. R. de Boer.

He said many in the crowd of 30 or so onlookers at the enclosure initially thought the intrusion was part of a show.

But when Mr Nordin began screaming, they reacted with horror.

'Some were screaming: 'Go away' to the tigers and others were shouting to scare the tigers,' he said.

The cries alerted zoo staff, and the alarm was raised.

About 20 keepers arrived within minutes. Some tried to prevent the attack from continuing by throwing brooms and dustbin covers, while the rest ushered the shocked onlookers away.

Also deployed were two zookeepers armed with rifles and live ammunition, but these were not used, said the zoo's assistant director of zoology, Mr Biswajit Guha.

Despite the efforts of the keepers, one tiger continued attacking Mr Nordin for several minutes, the zoo said in a statement yesterday.

It only relented after a door to the tigers' feeding area was opened. The animals retreated to it, leaving the cleaner motionless on the ground.

Once the tigers were in the feeding area, the door separating it from the rest of the enclosure was closed, and keepers were able to reach the cleaner.

It was too late, however. Mr Nordin, who hails from Sarawak, had been bitten on the neck and suffered a fractured skull. He died before police arrived.

His colleagues later told zoo staff that the contract worker, who had been working at the zoo for about 41/2 months, had been behaving strangely minutes before the incident.

He had thrown his cutters and meal coupons about before telling them in Malay: 'Goodbye, you won't be seeing me again.'

He then rode off on his bicycle.

The Australian tourists also said they saw him shouting and throwing some things as he walked by the crocodile exhibit, just 10 minutes from the tiger enclosure.

Yesterday's incident was the first time a person had been killed by an animal at the zoo since it opened in 1973.

Before this, the most serious incident occurred in 2001, when Chawang, a bull elephant, gored his keeper of 18 years, Mr Gopal Krishnan.

The keeper suffered fractured ribs and a punctured lung, and was in hospital for close to two months before he eventually recovered.

The zoo, which had to stop the tram ride and prevent visitors from entering during the incident, said yesterday that it would close the white tiger exhibit temporarily as a precautionary measure. It did not say how long the closure would last.

It said the tigers, which are nine years old and were brought in from Sumatra in 2001, would not be put down as they had acted naturally.

826841.jpg

The hotel's sales Director just scolded at me over the phone! She was even ruder than my own coordinator. She kept raising her voice at me to pressurise me to give in to her (as if I'm her subordinator).

She got so personal that she kept quoting other hotels and how long she had worked in other hotels. When I told her that I was only interested to know the current hotel's practice, she continued to tell me that she was in whatever gen management and watever generation management in current hotel.

*Shake head* She has very lousy PR skills for someone in sales industry and takes things too personally.

When I signed up, my prev hotel coordinator told me that I could go back and consume the unused tables later. She rebutted it and said the hotel would never practise this and this could never happen! She said that the hotel would only pack the 4 unused tables' food and dump it to us at the end of banquet.

I asked to meet her face to face on this Monday. I think I'll have a hard time.

Green, that's very unprofessional of her. No wonder her own coordinator also behave like her. She is not even setting a good example in the first place. Talk about Going the Extra Mile for Service (GEMS)! Basic service standards also seriously lacking.

People like this never fail to piss me off. By the way, I PMed you my contact liao. What happened to your phone? Dropped inside toilet bowl ah?

i received a call from standard chartered a few weeks ago - the caller said i ASKED him to call me back when he called me in MARCH. huh?!!! then he started going on about how they wanted to extend this loan to me and can use it for blah, blah, blah. so i told him that i don't need it .. then he said but i can use it for this and this and this .. and i said why would i want to put myself into debt since i'm practically debt-free (aside from car) and then he scolded me la - he said why did i ask him to call me back in a few months' time if i wasn't interested .. like hello, would anyone in their right mind do something like that? crazy!

Thanks everyone.

I'm already feeling better after talking to Bf last nite. He will settle the hotel problem for me.

I learned something new about my bf this month. Hehe I find he very cool and calm in handling wedding problems. The change of wedding date & hotel problems made me fustrated but he could still kept his cool and handle the problems steadily. He already solved the wedding date problem for me. I must learn from my bf this time & be cool LOL!

I want to check with you all. Some hotels and resturants allow couples to go back later and consume the unused tables right?

I already got 2 friends telling me that they had this. That sales director claimed that no hotel practise this.

Cucl,
I think that bank staff was trying to con u!!! I hope other people, esp old folks will not get conned by him.

My mum once got letter and phone call from a bank staff that she owed 8K of insurance premium. He asked her to pay back the 8K. My mum was very sure that she never have such insurance plan. After she went to the bank with my sibling, they realised that the bank staff was trying to con her to sign up an insurance plan.

greenie, i was told samsung's phone doesnt last long. hence i fell in love with sony ericsson's hp. because of the cyber shot also... keke~

i want to cancel my insurance plan for 2 mths alrdy.. on and off in between a few days, i kept calling their hotline but it always doesnt get through no matter how long i held the line for.
i dint even get a return call when i left a voice mail.. so now every mth they still charge the premium to my cc... -_-"

My dad ask me to go down staight to their office, so i can get my plan cancelled directly.

Mayi,
My 2 sony ericsson phones were spolit years back. Their phones may have improved now
I find sony ericsson phones cuter in design than the other brands.

When signing up services, it's always easy. When terminating services, they tend to give u many steps to do. I had to make 3 calls just to terminate my credit card, as they dragged and dragged. I second your dad's suggestion to go down to the office. Please remember to bring all relevant documents & NRIC ok ;)

dolly jie,

just a normal accident cover policy.

cos i alrdy got my own coverage from another insurance company.

i feel i was pressurized into buying this one over the phone when i was in office... -_-"
i dun want pay extra $ for this plan which is charged to my cc monthly.

hello chatters~

ya loh dolly jie.
i will find time to do it by this week.
hopefully they dun give me any shitty attitude spoiling my day when i cancel the plan.

Letter to Staff:

Due to the current financial situation caused by the
slowdown of economy in US since last Christmas, Management
has decided to implement a scheme to put workers of 40 years
of age on early retirement. This scheme will be known as
RAPE (Retire Aged People Early). Persons selected to be
RAPEd can apply to management to be eligible for the SHAFT
scheme (Special Help After Forced Termination). Persons who
have been RAPEd and SHAFTed will be reviewed under the SCREW
scheme (Scheme Covering Retired Early Workers). A person may
be RAPEd once, SHAFTed twice and SCREWed as many times as
Management deems appropriate.

Persons who have been RAPEd can only get AIDS (Additional
Income for Dependants or Spouse) or HERPES (Half Earnings
for Retired Personnel Early Severance). Obviously persons
who have AIDS or HERPES will not be SHAFTed or SCREWed any
further by management. Persons staying on will receive as
much SHIT (Special High Intensity Training) as possible.
Management has always prided itself on the amount of SHIT it
gives employees. Should you feel that you do not receive
enough SHIT, please bring to the attention of your
Supervisor. They have been trained to give you all the SHIT
you can handle..

Sincerely,

The Management

Good Morning Chatters

would like to enquire about cpf top up (in ordinary a/c) for parents, can it be via from our own cpf O/A or must it be a cash top up?

The Straits Times today reported that eight town councils (TC) run by the PAP have about $16 million invested in troubled structured products.

Didn't know that town councils also invested in minibonds. Well, even if there is a need for town councils to invest, why only confess now? And what are they going to do about the loss in investments?

hi heart, from what i know...

for dependents' cpf coverages or other cpf contributions, can go thru' e-payment or AXS Station.

so, not sure if your first suggestion can be done.

hi vios,
my understanding is same as yours (ie. cash), however, my SIL told me can use own cpf to top up parents' cpf. i try surfing the cpf website but couldn't get info.

Doll,

the town councils exist for a purpose - to maintain the estate. So, there is definitely no need for invesments as they are not the same as Temasek Holdings.

And I read that the chairman of the town councils mentioned that the invested funds make up a small percentage. So? WTF? It's the citizens' monies (public).

It is almost the same case as Durai's annual bonuses when Mrs Peanut said that his $600k package is a small amount (peanuts).... and WTF, it's the donators' monies (public).

heart, if your SIL said so.... then probably gotta find out more from her on how she did it... or just mere guess? Heh, i don't know.

Or, try calling CPF hotline but you may get high blood pressure. Haha....

Vios, I am of the view that it is alright for town councils to invest part of the funds collected as they are supposed to grow the funds to upkeep the estates. But, they should stick to low-risk investments like buy into government bonds and should be more transparent. Before I came across this piece of news, I had no idea that town councils invest.

Doll, not to me though.... the town councils shld function for its sole purpose, hence the service and conservancy charges which we are paying on a monthly basis.
Any PUBLIC investment shld be controlled by Temasek, as the two are defined by their governmental primary purposes.

In my point of view, it's just like MacDonalds selling handphones.

Doll, there you go...

"...it's a small percentage of the total funds only..." by Dr Teo Ho Pin, coordinating chairman.

It's not really accountability, so to speak, but to make the consequence seemed smaller than it really is. Don't expect further responses from them, cos the cover's obviously blown out.

I am sure there are charitable organisations out there which have bought minibonds as a form of investment. See if any would care to confess soon.

Morning Chatters!

I wonder if you all will be interested to catch a movie together for this xmas season.

832868.jpg

Opening on 27 Nov 2008

Genre
Comedy / Holiday

Cast
Reese Witherspoon, Vince Vaughn, Robert Duvall, Sissy Spacek

Filmmaker
Seth Gordon

Synopsis
When upscale, happily unmarried San Francisco couple Kate and Brad find themselves socked in by fog on Christmas morning, their exotic vacation plans morph into the family-centric holiday they had, until now, gleefully avoided. Out of obligation-and unable to escape-they trudge to not one, not two, but four relative-choked festivities, increasingly mortified to find childhood fears raised, adolescent wounds reopened... and their very future together uncertain. As Brad counts the hours to when he can get away from their parents, step-parents, siblings and an assortment of nieces and nephews, Kate is starting to hear the ticking of a different kind of clock. And by the end of the day, she is beginning to wonder if their crazy families' choices are not so crazy after all.

Doll,

so i see... not only Temasek is losing some of the taxpayers' money. It's like the same person but investing with both the left pocket and right pocket. Hell, even the front and back pockets.

tsk tsk tsk....

Doll,
Any way to save your hair? What happened?

I want to go for a haircut ASAP. I also hate my hair now. The constant restylings at photoshoot had badly damaged my hair yest. Today, my colleagues even asked me why my hair became so messy LOL.

Cucl,
I find Reese Witherspoon doesn't look so nice with blond hair. It makes her look like a pale, sick patient to me hehe.

Mayi,
I'm fine to watch that movie. I love comedies

A jingle to kick off the Christmas mood...ho ho ho

You'd better watch out
You'd better not cry
You'd better keep cash
I'm telling you why:
Recession is coming to town.

It's hitting you once,
It's hitting you twice
It doesn't care if you've been careful and wise
Recession is coming to town

It's worthless if you've got shares
It's worthless if you've got bonds
It's safe when you've got cash in hand
So keep cash for goodness sake, HEY

You'd better watch out
You'd better not cry
You'd better keep cash
I'm telling you why:
Recession is coming to town!

Finance products are confusing
Finance products are so vague
The banks make you bear the cost of risk
So keep out for goodness sake, OH

You'd better watch out
You'd better not cry
You'd better keep cash
I'm telling you why:
Recession is coming to town

The Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City were delighted to welcome Michelangelo's sculpture of David for a two year "all American" exhibition.

834218.jpg

After a two year visit to the United States, Michelangelo's David is returning to Italy.

834219.jpg

His Proud Sponsors were:

834220.jpg
834221.jpg
834222.jpg