Chatters

More signs of tough times ahead:
1. DBS will axe 900 staff in Singapore and Hong Kong by the end of this month.
2. LasVegas Sands Corp has approached the Singapore government and banks in Hong Kong and Macau for help to stave off loan defaults.

- I think this is only the beginning... more retrenchments to come. No company is financially safe in this era... anyone who thinks he/she is job-secured, better wake up your idea...

My brother-in-law's company in the manufacturing sector has let go of 500 staff to save $1 mil a month in the past few months. However, this savings only helps the company to pay for half of the increase in electric tariffs.

My future MIL suddenly says that she don't want to invite her side's relatives today, so our tables turnout is reduced by 3 tables to be 17. Our ballroom needs minimum 21 tables leh. Hmm how how? My FH and I don't have many friends. I don't think my hotel will allow us to reduce the minimum tables for that ballroom.

that was sudden - did she tell you why?

i wish that it was compulsory morning exercise at my office - at least it'll be a fun start to the day .. hahahaha ..

cucl,

Talking abt exercise, in china, some companies will switch off the lights in the office during lunchtime and the workers will sleep in the office after they finished their lunch. When the lunch hr is up, they will play some loud music and everyone will join in to do the exercises before they start work again in the afternoon... very funny lor...

Cucl,
Yeah I was only informed today afternoon. Haha I guess future MIL isn't on good terms with her relatives? Anyway I respect her decision and didn't question her on the phone just now. My future in-laws have been nice ppl

I will try to take things 1 step as a time lor. Guess we'll be paying for the 2 empty tables.

Recently, I keep cyco-ing myself “Must stay cool and don’t stress myself out for a 1-day show”! LOL

Procastinator,
Nursery schools also do such exercise leh haha.

I often pack lunch and eat it alone at office table, so that I've 15min to catch rest or nap. It helps a lot.

Green,

When is your banquet day? Have you sent out invites? If it is not too late, maybe you can try to relook at your guest lists or maybe invite spouses? Too many empty tables is not only a waste of $$ but it will also make the "ambience" look not so gd if u know wat i mean.

Didn't know tat nursery does tat too. Just find it funny to see so many adults doing exercise in office wear after lunchtime...kekeke...

Yes, sometimes a nap of 15mins can really revitalise u for the rest of the day.

procrastinator, if only they would allow that in sg offices ..

green, couldn't you ask the hotel first if it was possible? maybe there are some other people that you can invite to fill up the tables ..

I don't mind that my company switches off the lights during lunchtime as I do nap from time to time. However, it would be sianzzz if I wanted to read a book or surf the Net during lunch hour.

Green, your face was red for how long after the mask? My face stings for a while after I rinsed off the mask.

Green, if you can't reduce your table number, tell your hotel not to prepare food for the unused tables which you have to pay. You can go back to the hotel for the food after the wedding.

Thanks for everyone's advice.

Well my FH and I dun have anymore friends to invite.

We can go back to consume the unused tables' food within a month. But I think 3 tables are too much lah.

On top of this empty tables issue, I realise that my mum becomes oversensitive at my words and inlaws' words sometimes. I must pacify her whenever it happens. LOL

maybe it's because your wedding is fast approaching - sometimes mommies tend to feel that they're about to lose their daughters, that they're all grown up and flying the coop ..

Green, you should still find out why your MIL changed her mind all of a sudden, not to get her to reverse her decision but at least your bf and you should understand if there are some difficulties behind it.

mayi, i wish i was still in my dreamland la .. but never mind, today i will go home early then - feeling very sleepy now ..

doll, husband had to be at client's office by 7.15 so by the time i woke him up, i was also awake - better for me to go to the office early than to go back to bed and risk being late .. hahaha..

Doll and Dragon,

It's pouring at my side too.

Thanks for the suggestions. I'll ask the hotel if I can convert the unused tables for vouchers etc. My MIL doesn't feel like revealing the reason.

My dad has been weird again, sending people to tail my mum and visiting my mum's office to badmouth her argh! Now my mum isn't sure if she want to let my dad come to my banquet. What if he badmouth and shame her at banquet? My mum is poor thing.

Green, if your dad isn't attending the wedding dinner, your bf and you can always buy him a good dinner prior to the wedding dinner, as a form of respect?

Morning Chatters!

Hi dolly jie..

Yawns... i duno why i am so sleepy in the office. even if i slept at 10pm, i will still wake up feeling sleepy for the whole morning... 0_o

hee hee.. yeh planning my yr end leave now..

my office is closed on 24th, 25th, 30th, 31st Dec and 2nd Jan. Planning my leave on 26th and 29th Dec so i get the whole week to sleep in. hee hee..

i am soooo looking forward to December....