Chatters

809980.gif

HANOI - COMMUNIST Vietnam has suspended a much-criticised plan to ban very short, thin and flat-chested people from driving, state media reported on Wednesday.

The new draft guidelines on motorcycle and car drivers had drawn widespread criticism and ridicule from motorists, newspaper readers and bloggers since they were published by the health ministry two weeks ago.

Under the 83-point plan, people shorter than 1.5 metres, lighter than 40 kilogrammes or with a chest circumference of less than 72 centimetres would no longer qualify for new drivers' licences.

The proposal worried many in this nation of slender people and spurned jokes about traffic police with tape measures enthusiastically flagging down female motorcyclists, and predictions of a run on padded bras.

The justice ministry has asked the health ministry to temporarily suspend and review the plan, the Vietnam News daily reported.

'After receiving public opinion about the decision, the health and transport ministries agreed there had to be changes,' senior health department official Tran Quy Tuong was quoted as saying by the state-run daily. -- AFP

Above ruling is ridiculous LOL

"The proposal worried many in this nation of slender people and spurned jokes about traffic police with tape measures enthusiastically flagging down female motorcyclists, and predictions of a run on padded bras. "

Talking about slendar people, do you notice that the people in Taiwan, HK, Vietnam, Thailand, etc, are indeed slendar compared to that in Singapore.

Dolly jie, and Japan too~

Thailand girls are super duper THIN~

i usually cant find the right size of bottoms when i go shopping in BKK~ even their extra large is like XS to me...

Doll,
I have friends from all those countries and gone to Taiwan and Thailand before. I find Singapore n Taiwan gals are equally slender, the latter are just taller than us on average. HK and Jap gals are petite and shorter than us. Among all, I only find Vietnam gals indeed thinner and taller than us. I have 2 Thailand friends who are bigger than us leh. There are always a mixture of bigger and smaller gals in all countries lah haha.

Thai people have a sweet tooth and I wonder how they could keep their bodies slendar...perhaps chilli really helps keep their weight down. Girls in Japan, Taiwan and HK eat little compared to us, so I can understand why they are more slendar than us hehe. I am not sure about Vietnamese though.

The Straits Times
1 November 2008

"AIA S'pore lays off 20"

More job losses expected in cost-cutting exercise begun before crisis hit its US parent

By Lorna Tan, Finance Correspondent

Insurer AIA Singapore laid off about 20 employees from two of its divisions on Thursday as part of its efforts to trim fat.

The affected employees included chief marketing officer Lance Tay, who oversaw the Life Profit Centre (LPC), and Mr Stanz Tan, the head of LPC and AIA's vice-president.

Sources said that Thursday's cuts are unlikely to be the last among the 800-strong workforce. It is believed that there will be more job losses, either through retrenchment, re-deployment, outsourcing or natural attrition. There are no plans to reduce its life agency strength.

The axings come just six weeks after AIA's US parent AIG almost collapsed under the weight of massive liabilities.

It was bailed out by the US taxpayer to the tune of almost US$123 billion (S$182 billion) but the uncertainty affected operations here and sparked two days of panic with policyholders besieging the Singapore office demanding their money back.

The crisis raised the spectre of cost-cutting among some staff here. One told The Straits Times yesterday: 'There are so many changes here. But when you work in a corporate, these things do happen and we just have to move on.'

But a senior employee said the firings were not unexpected as he had been forewarned by bosses three months ago that there would be some manpower cuts.

'It's part of downsizing and cutting costs. It's good for AIA,' he said. 'There has been so much fat accumulated in the last few years. Sometimes, a new team is hired just because there is a new project, so some functions are duplicated.'

AIA said the job cuts affected fewer than 20 staff and the exercise was a result of a review of ongoing business strategy. The aim is to transform itself into a 'more nimble, efficient and growth-oriented company for the long term'.

'We are laying the building blocks for a more exciting future that will benefit generations of customers, agents, distribution partners and employees,' it said.

The moves mean the LPC and Accident & Health (A&H) units have ceased to exist. Their functions are expected to be taken over by the Life division.

The LPC used to support AIA's 4,000 life agents by launching new products and preparing marketing materials.

AIA's cost-cutting began well before the crisis that hit AIG. In the past months, some departments have been outsourced and the affected staff re-deployed or hired by the outsourced contractors.

The cheque-processing unit was outsourced six months ago while the property maintenance division and mailing room were both outsourced two months ago, said a source.

He added that AIA's call centre, which employs about 40 Filipino contract workers here, is likely to be next in the outsourcing pipeline.

Thursday's layoffs have also closed a chapter for Mr Tay, an industry veteran. He was an agency superintendent at AIA about 20 years ago but left to join another firm. Before returning to the AIA fold in 2004, he was deputy chief executive at US-based insurer John Hancock in Singapore.

On a broader front, AIG in the United States must repay the US$123 billion in government loans and speculation has been rife over which assets it would dispose to raise funds.

It announced early last month that it would retain its US property and foreign general insurance businesses but would seek 'minority strategic investors' to take slices of its foreign life insurance operations, including those in Singapore and other Asian centres.

This is no joke. Staff at AIA who have been axed include its chief marketing officer and the head of LPC and AIA's vice-president. These are senior staff!

Doll,
Yeah I read this news yest afternoon. Well senior staff command higher pay, some companies will retrench them to cut more costs. A few manufacturing firms have already started to axe their staff these 2 mths.

Vietnam ppl eat a lot of raw veget in diet. I had Vietnam friends last time. Curious, share share why you have the impression that Taiwan, Jap and HK gals eat less than Singapore gals? ;) I only saw Jap friends eating less, Taiwan and HK friends ate same portions as us. There are also many slender, meimei Singapore ladies around us right haha. I think the figure, depends on the gal's own gene, diet and lifestyle and not on her nationality.

I am fine lah. Just "no face" to step out of the house yet LOL. It's still swelling after 1 day. Me unlucky to meet a lousy skilled beautician at Jean Yip.

Green, the beautician does not know how to do extraction arh?

Yesterday after dinner we went karaoke till almost 2 am. Meng brought along a friend to join us.

hmm.. my japanese female colleagues eat more then the local girls in the company lei..

when i was working as part time at a japanese cafe in Takashimaya, the slender japanese ladies often finish a set meal by themselves when i am already full after eating half of the set...

i think its because japanese food is healthy,hence not fattening??

"Mayi,
Think we cannot use the country to judge, there are all sizes of gals in every country ;)"

Actually, there is a good gauge of common sizes of people in a country by looking at what are the commonly available sizes of clothings. For example, in Japan and Thailand, you find that they have size 65 for bras. Do you see size 65 in Singapore? Of course there are extremes at the two ends, but those are not considered common liao.

Doll,
Early dec maybe better?
More festive season!

Do u all want to go resturant/bar at Singapore Flyer, facing the sea? It's quite quiet and windy there.

Then who to dress up at Santa Clause? HO HO HO

Green, my mom has dry, brittle, coloured hair. Do you recommend Envia ultra-hydrating shampoo and conditioner or Envia colour protection shampoo and conditioner?

Doll,
I just replied your sms. Wah u kiasu, smsed and also posted on forum haha!

Envia Hydrating and Ultra-hydrating are both suitable for coloured hair. My colleague used Envia Ultra-hydrating shampoo & conditioner for her colored hair, they didn't remove her hair color.
I will recommend Envia Ultra-hydrating for your mum.

Thanks, Green. Can you help me get Envia Ultra-hydrating shampoo and conditioner when you are free? I also feel like getting the laundry wash too...can I confirm in a few days' time?

Where got kiasu? I sent you SMS one hour ago leh hehe

hahaha... got it...

so i simply check for messages in my personal email account. sheesh... i feel so 'smart' now.

thanks anyway.

Doll,
You have 3 weeks to decide. Haha no hurry! It's only the 1st week of Nov now.

Btw I think the new mask will probably feel like soda water on my face with the bubbles! I'll try it out next week.

Doll,
Is it possible for you to get the products yourself at Shaw Centre this month because I don't have anything to buy hehe?

The shop has extended its weekday opening hours to 9pm now.

An email that came to my mobile phone woke me up an hour ago and I couldn't get back to sleep...

Green, let me know your review of the new mask.

I can get the products myself from the shop.

Morning Chatters!

greenie, i proposed 2 methods for our gifts exchange outing~ haha!

1. Lucky Draw Method

Every one buys a gift each (preferbly unisex one, if not the few guys here has a high chance of getting a lady gift) and then we tag the gift with numbers and then draw lots...

(No chocolates allowed! =P)

2. Allocation Method

Each of us write our desired gifts (with a limitation on the price) signing off with our names and then drop in a box. We will draw the cards and see who we are allocated to buy the gifts for. We cannot reveal who we are buying for so that it will be more interesting.

Which one do u peeps think is better?