Chatters

Doll,
I cannot get excited or shocked leh, otherwise I become too awake to sleep at night. I bet my insomnia will get worse after I start driving haha! Now after watching action movies, I can't fall asleep sometimes.

Green, like this arh...you would have insomnia a few times a week cos that is how often I get shocked on the road by other road users hehe

For your student, perhaps you have a talk with her and let her know that you won't grade her for today but you are unable to do that for her every day. At least if you have to grade her down, she would know why.

Doll,
My friend, her friends and I love the strawberry smell of that mask. I'm glad that you like it

Yah it's not to be used over eye areas.

Has your ear infection recovered?

There is this particular thing that Sherry Aw mentioned that I like - gender equality is not about having men to treat women like fellow men, but to recognise that we are equally capable in our career.

Would you pay a monthly fee for $2.50 to use this service?

============================

The Straits Times

MOTORISTS will be able to pay ERP charges with their Visa or MasterCard credit cards from Nov 5.

But they will have to subscribe to a new service at monthly fee of $2.50. All charges will be reflected in their monthly credit card bills.

This new payment mode will benefit motorists who forget to insert their CashCards in their in-vehicle units (IU) or may not have the time to top-up their CashCards.

Those who wish to sign up have to subscribe online at http://www.onemotoring.com.sg or http://www.motorpay.com.sg.

They will then receive an email notification within three to seven working days to inform them of the outcome of their application. If successful, their credits cards can be used immediately, and they will no longer need to insert CashCards into the IU when they drive through ERP gantries.

Motorists can still choose to pay ERP charges using their CashCards, if they wish to.

Chief Executive of the Land Transport Authority, Mr Yam Ah Mee, said on Friday: 'This scheme offers motorists a broader range of e-payment channels. LTA will continue to develop innovative means for e-payment channels for the convenience of motorists. Fleet owners such as delivery companies and other registered motorists will also be able to enjoy the convenience of not having to search for top-up machines, thus saving valuable time for their operations.'

LTA is partnering DBS to roll out the scheme.

i find cycling in SG very pathetic, they aren't allowed to cycle on pavements legally and when they are on the roads,they will always be horned by impatient drivers. How fast can their bicycle go? these drivers will curse them and wish they are on pavements. Given the speed of the bicycles, it would be hard for them to change lanes on the roads also.

doll,

Yes, payment by credit card is a good option.

$2.50 is a small fee to pay for the convenience.

In fact I have been wishing for this service for so many years.. now then they implement

This post-paid ERP service came too late for me.

The cashcard theft that involved 22 cars during CNY actually happened at my MSCP, however, that day my car was parked at my brother's house. I then removed the IU lid and made it a point to slot in the cashcard and keep it after use.

Home > ST Forum > Online Story
'Why I chose a China bride': Women should seek to understand men better

I REFER to Ms Sherry Aw's letter last Thursday, 'It's an insult to Singapore women', in reaction to my letter, 'Why I chose a China bride' (Oct 19).

First of all, I strongly suggest Ms Aw to read the article 'Love me, spoil Me' (Feb 24). It provides a view into Singapore women's psyche.

I would also like to reproduce a remark in the same article by Ms Iben Wan, a Danish woman married to a Singaporean:

'If you expect the man to accept you as his equal, you can't also expect him to run around treating you like a porcelain doll on a pedestal. It just does not make sense in our modern world.'

Second, Ms Aw's statement, 'what also puzzles me is how Mr Tan manages to equate wanting a date to be gentlemanly with wanting to be the weaker sex', inadvertently proves my observation that Singapore women interpret feminism in their own way. Yes, it is precisely because it is a puzzling matter that women like Ms Aw should seek to understand what and how men think, preferably from men instead of relying on one-sided women's magazines. My view is that true equality means women do not need men to take care of their every need, emphasis is on 'every'.

Third, her comment that 'not wanting to escort your girlfriend home means you don't care about her' is again one sided. If the man has done 80 out of 100 things a woman expects her date to do, yet does not escort her home, does this one act invalidate his 80 others? Men generally tend to be practical. With rising car ownership and usage costs, heavy reliance on public transport is prevalent. On the other hand, salaries do not increase in tandem with costs. In such a Singapore context, I am not surprised that Singapore men may find their dating plans limited by bus and MRT schedule (regular taxi usage is excluded because it is costly). However, sadly, such a practical and real concern will likely be seen as cheapskate by Singapore women.

Ms Aw is free to keep her definition of 'boyfriend material'. However, any relationship is a two-way street: You have to give as well as take.

To dispel the notion that I am an 'old-fashioned' man from the 1950s and ignoring any cynicism on my 'honeymoon period' of marriage, I go grocery shopping with my wife and I offer to carry, without my wife asking, the groceries home because I am physically stronger than her. My wife and I have a common understanding that whoever cooks is exempted from washing the dishes and cleaning the kitchen. Yes, I do cook and reasonably well at that. Notwithstanding this, there are times when I both cook and wash up, especially if my wife has guests over as this will free her to spend time with them. Yes, I also cut and serve fruit, with or without guests, and with no one 'keeping score' on kitchen duties.

When it comes time to clean the apartment, my wife and I clean together, with me usually mopping a bigger area as it is physically more taxing. There are many more examples but these few are enough to prove I am not old fashioned. I intend to do all this, and more, as long as my marriage lasts and I am physically able.

Alvin Tan

I guess Alvin's ego is seriously frayed. Therefore he needs to announce to whole Singapore that his China bride is from good background and holds a degree LOL (indirectly stresses that she doesn't marry him for his $)

Seriously no one will cares who he marries... I do not discriminate China ladies. I have China friends who are educated and well-off.

As long as one is happy, doesn't really matter where the spouse is from lor.

That day I met a casual friend and found out that she and her husband have parted ways. He is from Nepal. I thought they would last long as he has helped her kick off her gambling habit and work out a plan to repay her debts.

Home > ST Forum > Online Story
'Why I chose a China bride': Points in letter to undermine Singapore women not justified

I REFER to the letter by Mr Alvin Tan, 'Why I chose a China bride' (Oct 19). Essentially, it has has stirred up a beehive. If Mr Tan has had unhappy encounters with Singapore women, there is no need to glamorise China brides to justify his choice.

When a couple unite in marriage, it must be based on trust and love. What has it to do with nationality? How is marrying a China bride better than a Singapore bride? But one thing I can list are the many good points about Singapore women.

It is undeniable that Singapore women are more educated than they were a decade ago. They are now more financially independent and more informed of world events and can definitely fight for their rights. But have they not done their part?

Just look around. HDB flats are usually co-paid for by husband and wife. While the typical Singapore wife has to take care of the children, she is still expected to bring home a salary. By today's standard, a single-income family is under financial strain. To be financially secure, a dual income is ideal and it cannot be achieved without the Singapore woman.

If Mr Tan still hopes for such traditional wives who are submissive, then yes, he will have to look beyond Singapore. There is no best of two worlds, asking an educated woman to submit to the whims and fancies of men, yet be financially independent. This is probably achievable in Virtual World.

To enlighten further, are household chores and taking care of children, which includes nurturing and building their capabilities to enter the working world, not managed mainly by Singapore women? I do not deny that men put in more effort than a decade ago. What about Singapore women who gladly take a break from work to spend time with their children? They sacrificed the golden years of their lives for their children when they could have used the time to soar up the career ladder. The points by Mr Tan undermining Singapore women are not justified. Is a Singapore bride a bad choice?

I would not restrict the choice of husband for my daughters, but if the men are the self-contained, self-centred type, I would encourage my daughters to look further, Singapore or not. One thing I can enlighten Mr Tan on is my husband, a Malaysian, has been happily married to me, a Singaporean, for close to 10 years and we have two happy and beautiful daughters, both Singaporean. I have never lamented about Singapore men not meeting my expectations. Love is blind to nationality, race and age. I just need someone who loves and respects me, Singaporean or not.

Cheng Wan Ying (Ms)

Don't understand why Singaporean women have to be defensive. People like PRC girls, let them be. You are what you are worth, not worth debating .. it is never ending.

For the record I think Singaporean women are great by and large and smarter and confident ones don't need to defend themselves and engage in such useless debates which won't have a conclusion.

Haha. I don't know what Alvin was trying to prove, but seriously, he should save his energy. What he thinks about Singaporean women ain't important. Anyway, his choice of a China bride does not invalidate other Singaporean women. Hope he won't feel disappointed that we don't feel any loss that one Singaporean man has chosen a non-Singaporean bride.

Basically singaporean men and women are products of our very own society. Generally, we are the same. If we hiam each other too much, it is just reflecting upon ourselves..

As economy sags, so do faces ... and breasts
Americans getting fewer nips and tucks, cosmetic surgeons report

updated 9:37 a.m. ET Oct. 3, 2008

CHICAGO - The economy isn't the only thing that's sagging — so are faces, breasts and bellies as would-be cosmetic surgery patients increasingly opt against costly nips and tucks because of tough financial times.

Haha, Green!

Can't exactly remember this quote about financial crisis but it went something like that: "This financial has wiped out my assets by half but I am still married."

Can anyone remember who said this and in the exact words?

As far as i know, there are indeed sg women who love to be spoiled ... but there are many others who are independent. If a sg guy knows who he wants in his life, he'll have no KPKB issues to begin with...

Alvin's first online letter was simply boliao, and understandably, sparked off the replies from Sherry and Wan Yong. His second letter just wanna make further proofs of his 'correct choice'.

Can expect more heated replies coming his way...

Green, thanks for the reminder, I think a closer version of the quote is:
"This financial is worse than a divorce. It has wiped out my assets by half, but I am still married."

Hey, did you see my "call for help" at this thread called - is it ok for hubby to "tan xin shi" with other girls???

I said this - "Help, people! I got a more serious problem than the threadstarter. My SIL and bf are colleagues. They meet five days a week while I meet my bf only three times a week. I also noticed that my SIL calls or sends SMS to my bf on things from time to time.

Should I be concerned? Ha ha ha"