Chatters

ok lor... today too tired to go swimming...
so nua at hm...

oooo~~~ green its your birthday?? the legendary green?! i'll be honoured to wish you a happy birthday, even if it is belated. May all your dreams come true in this new year of yours!!!

Mayi,
We went for a ride at Singapore Flyer. He booked a sea side venue for dinner but I decided to go town for movie. Therefore we just had normal meal at Cineleisure haha.

nono!

first 10 mins pretty fun... the adrenaline pumping, (though the journey up was crawling) but after that, darn! you are just hoping it'll come down quickly..

no commentaries, no music nothing. just hanging there....

well, that's my personal experience... maybe green's experience is different? :D :D :D

so envious of you!!!

Mayi,
Well you can try it out!
Singapore Flyer is $29.50 pax. For myself, I'm willing to pay this price for the panoramic 360 degree.

Mayi and Andee,
We went at an hour when there were not many ppl, so we had the whole cabin to the two of us. I found it average. Maybe because I had tried such ferry wheel rides. Taiwan's one is not as high as Spore one but it costs only SGD $7.

There is actually commentary. The view is similar to dining at a high-storey resturant. My bf found the ride to be very romantic hehe and he was happily investigating the landmarks and map etc.

The Sunday Times
19 October 2008

By Shuli Sudderuddin

A recent report here of a 32-year-old woman charged with having sex with a 15-year-old minor, her former student, made many sit up.
It is believed to be the first case here of an alleged adult-minor tryst in which the adult is a woman. The case will be heard on Nov 7.

But one psychiatrist, when contacted by The Sunday Times, spoke of an almost similar tryst, except that the teenager, also a former student, was older and already doing national service at the time.

The woman, a former secondary school teacher in her 30s, had gone to see Dr Adrian Wang, a consultant psychiatrist at Gleneagles Medical Centre, seeking treatment for depression.

She told him she had felt lonely and was feeling vulnerable when she became intimate with her ex-student.

Such cases are less uncommon in the United States. Back in the 1990s, for instance, former teacher Mary Kay Letourneau was jailed for raping her former sixth-grade student. The couple had two daughters and in 2005, she married him. She was 43 and he was 22.

Psychiatrists and counsellors here said that such liaisons are rare though they do occur. Mr Sam Kuna, executive director of Teen Challenge, which addresses teen issues and family crises, said teenagers may develop an infatuation for people in authority whom they admire.

'However, this usually does not approach intimacy as the adult draws the boundaries,' he said.

The experts estimate that adult men are at least four times more likely than adult women to have sexual feelings for a minor.

Retired police officer and private investigator Lionel De Souza said he has investigated relations between male tutors and their underage female students, but the recent court case allegedly involving an older woman and an underage boy was the first he has heard of.

Some psychiatrists said they do see women patients who admit to being attracted to younger men and even minors. Often, it is a passing phase rather than a sign of a disorder like paedophilia.

Said Dr Brian Yeo, a consultant psychiatrist at Mount Elizabeth Medical Centre: 'It's now more acceptable for older women to show interest in younger men. It's an issue only if they are minors.'

Dr Simon Siew, also a consultant psychiatrist at Mount Elizabeth, said the woman's need to be with a minor can stem from an inferiority complex due to problems such as failed relationships. 'She might want to feel that she's still attractive,' he said.

Dr Wang said such women may be going through a rough patch or have a borderline personality disorder which leads to the inability to form stable relationships.

'The boy in the relationship may also be generally mature for his age,' he added.

With regard to the school environment, Mr Kuna said: 'Teachers can be very caring and the teenager may not be getting the same kind of attention from his mother.'

Such a relationship is likely to have an effect on the minor. 'He may have relationship difficulties later in life and avoid women. The boy may feel betrayed and may harbour anger,' said psychologist Daniel Koh.

Most counsellors and psychiatrists felt such cases will remain uncommon.

Still, Dr Siew said increasing awareness might lead to a rise in the number of such cases surfacing.

He added that with children gaining knowledge about sex at an earlier age, 'more such cases may occur, though they are likely to remain undiscovered'.

Well teachers should be professional when handling students. I notice that it's more common to have a female student harbouring admirations for a male teacher than the vice versa.

mayi, feel sad for your gamer friend's parents... think her dad would never expect that 'his plan' backfired on his caring daughter, who was no doubt, penting up negative emotions.

actually, when i've kids one day... i often thought that the most effective way of education, is to throw them in the deep blue sea in another country.

hence, i could understand why her dad insisted on 'his plan'.

green, do you accept belated birthday wishes? ;)

i, hereby wish that your birthday wishes will be fulfilled eventually.

your hubby's doing quite well romantically... heh heh.

Re. 13_yee's issue on hand, i hope she'll find the light soon. It's pretty heart-wrenching and exhausting on our part (as well-wishing onlookers),yes...

for her, it's certainly nothing fall short of sh*t, and her procastination (albeit her knowledge) is, unfortunately, way beyond sh*t life.

Morning chatters..

Vios, my friend doesnt have a happy childhood like me and my friends used to have.

i extracted a paragraph from the letter to my friend who has gone to another world to find her happiness...

"At 8 years old, her dad sent her to grooming classes, learn to eat, sit, walk. She cannot talk loudly, must sit straight, do things probably plus walk nicely and many more. At 9, her father train her with some books called the 3 kingdom and the Sun Tzi (war book) and taught her business tactics every Sunday without fail, and her dad stopped the coaching 1 year ago because he think she is good enough and at 11 years old her mother taught her cooking skill and sent her to cooking class. Can you still remember what we were doing at the age of 8 or 9 or 11? We were playing right? This is the environment she came from, that’s why she can give me many advices whom other of my friend can’t."

I think the dad has very high expectations of her and she has reached her limit to fulfill all the tasks given by the dad... She dint defy her daddy and has also respected him in every ways...

Oh ya doll, re. my car... i'll pay for the spray job (on my back bumper) since the woman is geniunely sorry for her unbelievable carelessness...

I think, the driving sch needs to re-assess on drivers on "Moving off in a straight line" during test... cos i am still very amazed that she couldn't even do the basics.

For me, if my car got scratched or knocked, would feel very sianz liaoz.. need some time to get over it.

Vios, any dent or crack on your bumper? If not, maybe just leave it bah as the likelihood of being kissed there again is quite high haha. I plan to have my rear bumper replaced as a crack that was formed more than a year ago, is getting bigger.

For our generation's childhood, i do think that was quite an exhaustive list to do. I guess she always knew that her dad wanted her to excel amongst her peers at a tender age thereafter, but at hindsight, that probably caught her off-guard when she was overseas unwillingly.

Do think that it is essential that a child shld have his/her fun times, but must be kept in moderation. Else, too much idle thoughts that might accumulate from young.

Doll, two lines of scratches plus some paint off. In my dad's eyes, it is pretty minor. But to me, it is serious! Hahahaha...

Actually, black is very obvious on scratches and bumps, even the minor-est of all. Hence, i always feel sianz 1/2 when i discover such stuffs on my car whilst at public carparks or after Shell's car wash.

In fact, i could easily count 20 all over my car. Sigh..

i think it is a very difficult task to educate one's own generation..

Too much also cannot.. Too little also cannot...
Now i know why my parents always say: Vomit blood ah!

My car got knocked by human, bicycle and car.

Chatters, do wish me good luck, if you realise abt the ominous order...

Car-painted pillars and walls are the common sights at carparks, at least i can expect it's the women drivers! *hiaks*

Rubbish chute?? ... kaoz, that's new for me. Hahaha....

Green, true.... even the safest or luckiest of drivers would get bombed by bird droppings...

sigh, singapore is not safe anymore.

Vios, not the doing of female drivers but newbies. I just got my driver's licence then and was lousing in my parking lol

Not rubbish chute...should be rubbish bin, you know, those that are hung on the pillar hehe

Morning rin jie..

vios.. cannot like that say mah.. there are also a few male drivers with sucky driving skills...
and those driver who just cut in rudely are usually males.. *hiaks*

hee hee... no offence hor... =X

Do forgive me, ladies, as i'm still trying to get over those two scratches on my car bumper, and the incident will never ceases to amaze me what women drivers could do... hiak hiak.

Doll, wah.. shld comprain to the authorities man! How the heck would they hang it on the pillar at carparks? Shld ban 'em all!

well, i believe you are more adept in parking liao... >30 secs? :P

Rin, i guess you are close to your uncle... well, do take care and stay strong as your aunt and family/relatives will need your emotional support...

Life is not all that long. Reminding myself of it every day and night.

Hi Rin, hugz.

Yes, the driver was trying to avoid a cyclist on the road, but I guess he must have been driving at break neck speed for the car to be reduced in that sorry state.

Vios, banged rubbish bin, wall or pillar better than banged into others car lah haha.

One particular accident that will always strike a chord in my heart, is the demise of the poor female Mazda sales gal who died in the hands of that rich man's son during his extremely aggressive test-drive of MX8...

f**ker siah...