Changi Village Hotel for solemnisation?

ernie_derek

Din expect that the thread is so active.

I am a bride with CVH on 07-07-07. Will be solemnize on 8th flr poolside. 6pm. To catch the evening sun.

Cheers,e

vyn1436

Hey Paradise and Mary,
So you guys took the 7th July ah...mine is on the 20th July. Just wanna check did you guys get the free upgrade of the room? Hey Paradise, i'm holding it on ground poolside too..Great place too rite

ernie_derek

Mine is Irene (coordinator).

I did not get any free additional night. But my room is upgraded.

Gosh, i haven see the pool at the ground flr yet? got photos??? :p

Yup, paradise, see you in less than 2mths time!!! =)

ernie_derek

Hi Paradise,

Tats so lucky of you!

When did you sign the contract with them? during the wedding show mah?

You are doing buffet style rite? How many headcount ar? =)

sillycouple

Hi Mary,

Yeah we wanted to sign and pay the deposit in March 07 but our coordinator told us to hang on since we were going to attend the wedding show. We didnt know about the additonal perks if we sign up that day. So it was a plesant surprise.

Yes doing buffet style. Min 30pax. Max looking at 50pax.

U?

I dun find the buffet menu that impressive. Not sure how is the food. Hope no complains from my guests.

pannie

Hi Ladies.

I had signed for a solemnisation package with them last yr Oct. My solemnisation will be held on 6th Oct. It's for dinner as Serena, my coordinator, said that it would be too hot on the rooftop.

Anyone taking the dinner menu? Would like to find out how the food is.

tbkiang

Mary, u should not regret and consider very lucky to get the place with a very good date. If u book later u may not get it. Best Wishes!!

I oso signed up the buffet dinner at the rooftop, to be held on next year Feb. My coordinator is Irene. I oso got the perks for promo, lucky just in time to sign b4 the promo end.

hitsubi

Hey Annie!

We hv the same solemnisation dates! Just tt mine will b held in the afternoon... HOT! I hv to bear the heat coz my FH & I didnt want a dinner.
But we will b adjourning to the Ovals for lunch buffet.

pannie

Hi hitsubi.

That's so coincidental! I was thinking whether will meet someone who is holding at the same venue and date as me. Haha!!

I was thinking of having high tea @ 1st. But Serena, my coordinator, managed to convince me to switch to dinner cause my FH & I can't stand heat and I have old pple with me too. More expensive but must sacrifice loh.

emeraldbride

I went for their buffet dinner once..the food taste terrible..not sure if the menu is different but the BBQ station really not up to expectation.. burnt squids and sausages..hmm...

pannie

Hitsubi,

Is the hotel providing you with wedding favor? I saw the wedding favor list. Not what I wanted and not to my liking.

sillycouple

The solemnization buffet and cafe buffet menu is different.

But Im pushing for a food tasting session. Even if its gonna just be at the cafe without the same solemnization menu, I wanna try and make sure that the food served in CVH must at least be pleasantly edible.

Their solemnization buffet dinner package isnt cheap and the menu provided isnt exactly worth that amt. Its more for the ambience I think. So I want to ensure that what we are paying, the food is at least ok, if not excellent.

Last weekend, we went down to take a look at a wedding couple's solemnization by the poolside. Their guests had already streamed in and the guys were still doing up the decor. :/

What a sight!

We are so afraid the same is going to happen on our big day. We dont want our guests to have any bad experience.

Actually CVH is a nice place. I wouldnt mind considering the banquet there for our AD. But have to see the service level and food quality provided for the ROM 1st.

Mary, have u tried the food there? Or are you going to? We are trying to get a complimentary food tasting from them.

tbkiang

hi paradise, we were there too last sat. Heard that couple chose to start early at 430 pm for their ceremony buffet. I did not manage to see the setup cos I leave at 230pm. I tot they should finish set b4 4pm??

Btw, since the contract already been signed, what can we do on the food? Can I request change of dishes or whatever? So scary to hear bad comment on their food...

sillycouple

Hi BK,

Oh we were there at 4+ to 5pm to see the ground floor pool setup.

Mins b4 the ceremony, we already saw some guests sitting down and the florist is still putting up the decor and waiters putting up the food on the buffet table.

If my guests are to come in at 5 and the solemnizaton is 5.30pm, I already expect the florist and food to be all set and ready latest by 4.45pm.

Im praying they dont do this to us on our big day!

Certain items on the menu u can switch. That's what we were told. But still we wanna insist on a food tasting to try out their food at the cafe. We've never dine there b4.

Will u be also asking them to let u try out their food?

hitsubi

Hi Ann =)

Yup, very coincidental indeed. Hehe. Well, sacrifice a bit, as long as u & ur hubby are happy, then it's alright. =)

O yes, they are giving me wedding favours as well. Those are not really the items I want too. I am more practical when it comes to such favours so I very much wanted perishables as favours. However, I did see a small pot of honey the last time i went for their wedding showcase. I think it's a new product. However, I will hv to top up 60cents more for each bottle. Sigh... hv not made up my mind.

Gosh, read abt their late set-up quite a few times. Now even Paradise saw another late set-up when the guests are streaming in. That's definitely not very good & pleasant. =(

I have already signed, can only hope things will go well. Guess I have to like drill it into Serena on the timings for things to be ready & the quality of the food too then... quite worrying....

pannie

Hi hitsubi.

Yup... when the first couple feedback on their disastrous solemnisation ceremony at CVH in this thread, i already brought this issue to Serena's attention. She told me that there's a miscommunication.

My HTB say we will do up a time table for Serena and the florist to follow like our school timetable when we are young. If like this also can have miscommunication, I really don't know what to say liao. Maybe you could let me know if your setup was late on that day since u are earlier than me. Hehe!!

I went down to Bliss Collection yesterday to take a look at the wedding favors. They have other designs there. But still couldn't find anything that suit my fairytale theme. I emailed to the person in charge of the shop to ask her for help. Hopefully she could help me out.

hitsubi

Hi Ann

Miscomm ic... ok! We make sure we make things clear! =) That is a very good suggestion from your HTB. It's like a min by min too. =) Aiyo, if they really foul up even with that detailed time table I agree with you that there's really nothing to say. It would be horrendous for them to make a mistake then.

Hehe, maybe hor, maybe I can let u know if mine went well =p Aiyo, but I think mine will be pretty rush & I am thinking whether I will be able to reach CVH at least 30mins b4 my solemnisation starts to at least hv a breather & take a look at things. Think I hv to appoint sby to help me with that.

Fairytale theme! That's nice =) I dun really hv a theme for mine. Cross my fingers for you that the lady at the shop will be able to help you come up with a suitable wedding favour that suits your theme. =)

pannie

Hi hitsubi.

what time is your solemnisation ceremony starting? how come it's rushing for you?

By the way, since u having lunch, will the room be ready for you to use before your ceremony starts. The check-in time is at 2pm lei.

hitsubi

Hi hi Ann

Tentatively solemnisation to start at 11.45am.
Rush coz in the morning we'll be hvg our tea ceremony... I dunno how long it will take... but when I estimate the time, seems pretty rush.
If so I might hv to push my tea ceremony earlier...

The room right, I think earliest that we can use the room is either at 12pm or 1pm. I need to go check again, forgotten.

pannie

hitsubi, solemnisation to start at 11.45am is really abit rush if you are having tea ceremony. Don't think you having your tea ceremony in hotel right?

Better to push your tea ceremony earlier. It's better not to rush cause you and your groom will be very tired and might affect your mood too.

But maybe that only applies to me. I get very bad mood when I'm being rush. So my HTB is trying to prevent such thing from happening. Haha!!!

pannie

By the way, do you report the exact figures for your guests attending?

Do you think there's a need to? Wonder if they do count the number of guests u have on that day itself.

hitsubi

Nope, my dad didnt want it at the hotel. We don't hv that many ppl for tea ceremony, but I am still quite worried tt it'll b rush.
=( Aw... i hv to work the timing out right. Sigh...
Ok, i'll go seriously re-think to push my tea ceremony earlier. Actually I get quite irritable when i'm rushed too, depending on the ocassion =p Not to mention will b in that big fat gown. Haha. Hee, ur HTB is thoughtful. =)

O no, just a rough figure, and it's a very conservative figure too. And will confirm again when nearer the date. I think it's alright if it's like plus minus by a small number. I don't think they will actually count the numbers on the AD. Sld be quite safe I guess?

pannie

Hopefully so. I have 3 guests who are oversea working, thus not too sure they are able to come back or not. I do not wish to cater for them and if they dun turn up, it will be a waste of food and $$ loh.

My HTB is very thoughtful and caring though sometimes rather forgetful and very irritating. But through 10 yrs of dating (eversince secondary school), I have learn to control my temper with him whenever he gets on my nerve. Always remind myself that to think of the many good things which he had done for me and when compare to the one bad thing he had done to piss me off, life is not so bad after all. Haha!!!

I'm sure your HTB is also caring towards you too. Or esle you won't walk down the aisle with him. Right? ^_^

hitsubi

Oic... usually, the amt of food that they provide should be 10% more right? Dunno whether CVH's is like that tho.

It's so sweet! 10yrs of dating and now you guys are tying the knot. =) I'm sure the both of you will be happy given the long way the both of you hv come, and given the way you learnt to control ur temper & view things. =)

O my HTB? Yup he is caring too. Altho he has his own set of quirks, but overall, he's really good towards me. =)

pannie

I have read through other forums previously. Most hotels do that. Some couple even better. They cater for 30 pax and invited 40 to 50 pax.

The last time round I did hinted to Serena on this problem. She did mentioned that if you confirmed for 30 pax... actually the food catered is actually enough for 32 to 33 pax. But I am unsure how true this is.

tbkiang

hi paradise, I did not know that we can change dishes, if possible I will ask for food tasting when nearer to me date... The buffet food from Saltwater cafe, right?

Do they really count the number of pax on the dinner time??

hitsubi

Hi Ann

It should be enuff la I think. Coz usually when we cater food, usually la, it can feed slightly more than the number we catered for. Let's say if u hv kids that don't really eat a lot, there should be enuff food.

Oo, but cater for 30pax, invite 50pax... that's quite a diff isnt it.

Hi bk - Serena did say that the dishes can be changed. But it has to be like meat for meat dishes. Not veg to meat or sth like that.

pannie

Yup.. hopefully so. Have you went down to the florist shop to discuss on your deco yet? I'm intending to do it only in August.

bk - I did change quite a few dishes on my buffet dinner menu. For example for live station, instead of lamb (which is not really appreciated by many), I changed it to satay. I hate salads and so change most of the salads, keeping only mushroom salad (my HTB's eldest sis favourite) & potato salad (my HTB's youngest sis favourite).

pannie

Hey hitsubi.

Did Serena called you yesterday?

My HTB recieved a call from her and she said that she's leaving and currently Irene will be handling her portfolio till a new gal arrived.

sillycouple

my bf also received the call from serena.

I already suspected she'll be leaving because in her email correspondence with us in the last 2 weeks, she'll end her email off with 'please contact Irene for any clarifications'.

I hope Irene is good in following up. I find Serena not that good in following up and she's very forgetful.

pannie

Hi Paradise.

I also hope Irene is good. Serena is quite ok at least for me. She's quite prompt in replying to most of my emails unless she's sick.

I really hate to have a change of hand when organising an event. Something goes wrong and the new person will always say he/she is not aware of it cause she's new. Hai!!!

hitsubi

Hi Ann

Aii... yes, Serena called to inform me of the news too. Same with paradise I kinda had the feeling she'll leave CVH, but not coz of the emails, coz our emails were exchanged quite some time back. Irene's the boss... I hope that she's good too... I think Serena is more personable... to me at least. Sob....

O yes, I went down a few mths back redi, to discuss flower decor. The guy is very passionate abt his work. I hope things turns out good. The place v ulu tho. Haha.
But mine e decor is quite minimal coz HTB dun wanna spend too much on flowers as well... just doing up centre pieces for tables, and for buffet line.

Oh Ann, the salads, what did u change it to?

pannie

I think I change one to Japanese baby octopus. I forgotten the rest liao. Have to refer.

Why? U thinking of changing the dishes too?

Which florist shop is that? For the decor, what's being provided which we need not add in additional money?

hitsubi

Oic, hehe.

O, i will definitely b changing some, but i hv to refer if i hv loads of salads too. I may not nd that many salads, so thinking if i were to change my salads, what can take the place of it. Hee.

Oh the florist is Ronce Envy Creation. They are located @ Defu Lane, at the Victory Bldg.
For mine, only the solemnization decor is provided, meaning for the table, the sashes on the chairs, and also 2 flower stands. The rest I will hv to top up. You can tell Roy your budget & he'll work out something or suggest ideas too.

pannie

Actually I have no idea on how I want the place to be decorated.

Do you know whether they charged expensively for top up?

I don't need flower petals along the aisle since i have the flower girl to throw them. Haha!!

Maybe the reception table too. Don't wish to spend too much.

hitsubi

Can flip mags to get idea or get Roy to suggest & see if u like his suggestions perhaps?

It depends on the flower & how elaborate ur decor will be. I think for Roy, he charges pretty reasonable price as compared to big names like Far East Flora etc.

Oh, gd la, flower petals can get it free one if u need more. Ask him to give u free. Hee. Maybe u do wo the unique flower ring pillow of his if u already hv ur own, then exchange tt for extra petals if u nd. If not try to add in some other stuff in place of the flower ring pillow. We already hv our own ring pillow, so altho tt looked unique (hv seen it in mags b4), we didnt nd it.

Um, not necessary to elaborate e decor too much if ur HTB & urself are not v particular abt it. Simple & presentable enuf is fine redi I wld think. We can splurge the money elsewhr like on honeymoon & stuff. =p

pannie

I already gotten my ring pillow from Japan.. a Hello Kitty one cause I'm a fan... Hehe!!

So what did you ask for since you are not taking the ring pillow?

Agreed that we need not splurge much here.

hitsubi

Ooo kitty ring pillow! Cute!! ^o^

actually i exchanged it for the rose petals =p Then think think, actually cld hv exchanged for more, rose petals abit oni mah... um... so if u can, bargain with him. =) Hehe...

pannie

Ok. I wil bargain with him. Now is to make use of what I had learned from the negotiation skill course I had attended. Haha!!

pannie

Irene just reverted to my HTB's email on the florist. She say they are still monitoring the current florist and will let us know again in August when it's nearer if they are using the same florist. Hmmm.... then what happen to people like you who had already made arrangement with the florist?

sillycouple

I dun think they will change florist so easily cos from what I know the whole group of far east hotels contracted this guy to do their wedding decors.

I've emailed Irene on some queries and find her not bad so far.

In fact, we've not decided on where to hold our AD but I wouldnt mind considering CVH even though our ROM is gonna be there cos CVH is really a nice place.

Unfortunately, previously my liaison with Serena was ok but not fantastic so I'm not so keen on going back to CVH for AD.

Will have to see how it goes... if Irene handles the ROM well, perhaps we'll give CVH another chance.

pannie

Hi Paradise.

Hoping what you say is true about the florist part.

Irene so far had been very prompt and helpful.

I would also like to have my AD there too if everything goes well with solemnisation especially the punctuality part for setting up and if I could cut down the number of tables for AD to 30 or less.

Don't like Orchard or town areas cause too crowded during weekend and everything also expensive there.