Ceiling Fans - Any recommendations?

renoblues

Our ceiling fan has this long chain (don't know wat is the exact term) attached to it for adjusting the fan speed from 0 to 3. However, when the fan is switched on, this chain also spins in a circle. Does anyone experience this?

astrogirl

For those who believe in fengshui... i read that ceiling fan is actually not good for fengshui, will blow your wealth away from your house, esp. when it is installed in the central of your house or when it is installed at your wealth position.

airsupply

hello

I have a brand new short neck KDK fan avail for sale at only $50. Shops are selling at over $100. It is silver in colour and comes in a box with the manual and remote control. I bought it but it was not suitable for my house as my ceiling was too high. Recommended for HDB flats with a lower ceiling. Can install in living room or bedroom. Pls sms me at 98385800 if you are interested. Thanks!
335658.jpg

dolphin_tan

Hi..just to share with u all my experience.. Recently, my sis & i just bought a plain & simple ceiling fan from Tamco Specialty Shop.. The fan is made in UK.. At first i have trouble for putting up a ceiling fan due to false ceiling..no support.. But after advised by the salesperson.. We managed to get our renovation contractor to put up a support to install the fan.. Before we came to this shop, we did went to a few lighting shops.. They never advise us at all.. Still say no problem..no problem u can put up the fan.. But according to the salesperson, if the fan's rod go thru the false ceiling.. The fan will be very wobbly & might crack the fasle ceiling..

joyousonline

oh dolphin,
usually the ceiling fan needs support one ar..if not how to be held?? for me we only made a light box and put the ceiling fan in the middle.

calix

I thought the fan comes together with a bracket for mounting?
When i ask the salesman, they say if i want to install ceiling should do it now before the false ceiling is up. Caused the next time i want to change fan, i still can use back the existing rod.
Anyway, i thought this might be useful to u too.
http://p2.forumforfree.com/singaporeaircon.html

tbkiang

joyousonline, what is regulator used for? How come it is not included in the box?

Anyone have any comment on Rega fan? Is it good compare to Amasco? My fw like one of the model as it blades' colour very nice look like marble.

strawbeary

Regulator is a separate item altogether. U can use it to change speed without having to adjust using the usual hanging thread or remote control. its like in sch, usually there is like a round button that u turn to change the speed.

heaven

I have a brand new ceiling fan to let go at attractive price. It is still sealed in the original box, not opened yet.

Some info as follows:
Odyssey 52"
5 wooden blade
3 speed control
Life-time warranty

If interested, pls let me know or PM me. Thanks.

tbkiang

Jolene, thks clarifying! I got a RC instead.

I oso bought a crestar 56" ceiling fan. The shop selling $220 they discount to $200 cos bought many other things from them. Goods not deliver yet.

denor

Hello
Crestar: parts from Japan, assembled in Singapore (according to shop owner)

Bought 56", with remote control. Total $300 from Lite House

wendylkm

have a new KDK short neck ceiling fan with remote ( silver colour ) for sales, bought at S$ 159. KDK wall fan black colour for sales as well.
It is already install in my living rm but due to lighting problem, i decided to change it to another brand with lights. Will dismantle it soon.
anyone interested pl contact me @ 94242261 or email me @ [email protected]

vege

DEAR FORUM MEMBERS,

BEWARE OF "DOLPHIN TAN", I THINK THIS FELLOW USE
FORUM TO PROMOTE HE/SHE OWN BRAND!! CEILING FAN AT "TAMCO SPECIALTY SHOP"!!!!

U MAY FIND BELOW "DOLPHIN TAN" TREAT IN THE FORUM WHICH I HV COMPILED, BY JUDGE OF THE DATE & TIME & WHAT HV WRITTEN THERE WHICH IS TOTALLY RIDICULOUS!!!

I AM NOT AGAINST ANYONE OR ANYTHING HERE, JUST WISH TO HIGHLIGHT TO ALL OF YOU, AND PLS JUDGE YRSELF.......

Posted on Wednesday, January 25, 2006 - 5:28 pm:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm renovating my hse nw.. Can anyone recommend a gd brand of ceiling fan?? Tamco, Crestar, Amasco, Elmark or KDK??

Posted on Wednesday, January 25, 2006 - 6:15 pm:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi..just to share with u all my experience.. Recently, my sis & i just bought a plain & simple ceiling fan from Tamco Specialty Shop.. The fan is made in UK.. At first i have trouble for putting up a ceiling fan due to false ceiling..no support.. But after advised by the salesperson.. We managed to get our renovation contractor to put up a support to install the fan.. Before we came to this shop, we did went to a few lighting shops.. They never advise us at all.. Still say no problem..no problem u can put up the fan.. But according to the salesperson, if the fan's rod go thru the false ceiling.. The fan will be very wobbly & might crack the fasle ceiling..

Posted on Thursday, January 26, 2006 - 1:12 pm:

Hi stress_man, u can call Tamco Specialty Shop @ 6734 6800.. They sell fans too.. Just bought a relite ceiling fan from them last mth.. So far so

Posted on Friday, February 10, 2006 - 6:09 pm:

Hi Calix, i bought my Relite ceiling fan for $379 w/o installation.. Its made in england, 3yrs warranty.. I get their contractor to install for me.. Their contractor fix up the fan & also balance the fan for me.. I find that their service is gd..

Posted on Friday, February 10, 2006 - 6:13 pm:

The reason i bought the Relite ceiling fan is because of my parents used it for over 10yrs, no problem at all.. Its still working well..

Posted on Friday, February 10, 2006 - 6:27 pm:

Hi JenJen, what do u mean super motor?? How long is the warranty?? U mean they will change a new motor for u when the motor rust?? Need to pay any transport or servicing charge when they go down?? Bcos i understand from my fren's sister that her fan breakdown recently & when she called the supplier, she need to pay the transport charge even her fan is under life time warranty..

Posted on Wednesday, February 15, 2006 - 6:51 pm:

Hi Krispy, cheapest place not very sure but good fans may not be the cheap.. Have to look @ reliability & safety.. Cos we don't change fans so often.. As need a contractor to install so its quite troublesome & costly.. Probably, u can try Relite brand.. Its a good brand from UK.

aduhlene

but there is really a Tamco Specialty Shop at Specialist Centre at Somerset...

dont really understand your warning. sorry...

rjan

Hi Skylar, i kinda like your ceiling fan. Could you kindly advise the mode and brand and also the approx. price and wherer you purchased this? Thanks,Janice

genice

anybody got ceiling fans from Choon Ying Trading? I just got mine at $380, Brand: Rega, comes with lights, they say from USA.. dunno real or not.. lifetime warranty on the motor just that got transport fees to repair.

Worried that i got cheated.... but when i tried tha fan at th warehouse.. very ok.. quite powerful. Bought some lights from them too, got 1 that looks like a bird nest, $60 bucks clearance... and 4 spot lights with track for $90 and 1 simple ceiling light for $45. Anybody can advise on the prices??

acid

Hi wonder which fan is better:

1. 54in Fanco with light and remote

or

2. 54in Amosco with light and remote

The shop sellet say Fanco is better as it is using a higher power fan motor 258, whereelse the others model is only 238

corsage

hi everyone, i'm looking for antique-looking ceiling fans (dark brown/bronzey ones) that come with lights, any recommendations?

Am also wondering if there are more designs of lights that come with ceiling fans? They mostly look so similar =p

pipilili

does anyone know if there is additional cost for creating a recession on the false ceiling to accomodate the ceiling fan? I heard that if you do not create the recession, in the long run, your false ceiling hole (whr the fan is) swirl and cause the white particles from the false ceiling to fall.

I bought the cheap tamco ceiling fan (3 blade =$80)

pipilili

does anyone know if there is additional cost for creating a recession on the false ceiling to accomodate the ceiling fan? I heard that if you do not create the recession, in the long run, your false ceiling hole (whr the fan is) swirl and cause the white particles from the false ceiling to fall.

I bought the cheap tamco ceiling fan (3 blade =$80)

hazel78

Hi ekardo,

I just popped by the shop at Jurong West named "Kong Tai" to check out some of their electronic goods. They recommended me this KDK ceiling fan and quoted me $160 for it. Comes in 2 colours, platinum silver and ivory white. Never really bargain with him coz I have not decided whether I need it or not. Hope this info helps!
521676.jpg

akomono

anyone has any recommendations for ceiling fans shops ard jalan besar area?Intending to go this wkdays after work. Preferably those with good service and good pricing shops and lotsa range to choose from.
Oh yah, for low ceiling HDB bedroom...is those 3 blades fan good enough?
I m currently considering Amasco, KDK and Elmark.
Heard KDK cannot mount the light on. Is it true??

Hope u guys can help here.

ekardo

thanks hazel..i got my fan way back in June...kdk at around $160 too...bought 1 white for the living room and 1 silver for my study room..

it's superb performance..
if your area is super windy by nature, suggest you to call kdk to install the balancer for free..

and yes...kdk dun have light one..

ekardo

it helps to make the fan less shaky...if come frees from KDK....but I dunno if you can request for this when you buy the fan, but definately can call up kdk and the service man will come..

hazel78

Hi ekardo, glad to hear that you've gotten the ceiling fan. I decided not to get one in the end. Most likely will get a stand/tower fan. Any feedback or recommendations regarding tower fans?

millh

Hi ekardo

May I know how big is your ceiling fan?

I'm looking for one for living room. Does it come with remote control?

akomono

I have tried wall fan, tower fan and desk fan...among them..tower fan seems to b the most disappointing in terms of wind strength...
and the wind gets weaker as the days passed due to the dust collected inside the tower.

cjs

Im looking for fan with wooden blades because of fengshui reason. Does anyone has experience with that? Metal and wooden blades, which is better?

kelchan

Hi. I am looking for some advice on ceiling fans for HDB. I was thinking of installing a ceiling fan just in front of a row of cove lighting. Any idea if it will cast any shadows? Any suggestions on ceiling fans with lighting that is suitable for HDB? Those I found are all too low! Thanks...

swati

While looking for ceiling fan, about 4 shops I went to @ balestier road reommended Fanco and 1 recommended amasco [Could not consider KDK...since I need lights].
Price range for the 5blade, 4 lights, no remote model for either was between 185 to 250... in various shops.
In order to find some reviews/feedback/model specs etc...when I searched web ... I could not find any website and/or local contact for fanco ... any suggestion where I can find more info about "fanco"?

moomooland

hi pple,

like to hear your views on this:

in the process of purchasing the ceiling fans, do you ever consider that ceiling fans are difficult to clean?

cat_quek

i bgt a rega 52 inch ceiling fan. But i cant feel any wind from the bottom although I can see it spinning very fast.

Anyone have the same problem?

eowyna

hi plaingal

me too bought a 52" rega ceiling fan.. kind of disappointed at the wind cos i can't feel the wind at the side but only feel it if standing below the fan..

This is my 1st time buying ceiling fan.. after reading the postings, I kindof regretted buying this fan.

Does anyone experience this with other brands?

elisawang

Oops. We oso just bgt the 52" fan. tried at the shop was ok, quite strong. but havent install at home yet so dunno if its bad.

ppcc

Hi, for those who have used the KDK 3-blade fan.. can I check if it's powerful enuff? Me quite keen on KDK but was told at some shops that the only kdk one tat's compatible for hdb use is the 3-blade one...

belleteo

Oh guys, can i just check is the KDK celling fan better ot those other brands of fan with lights on it better?
I also intend to get ceiling fan as i find standing fan not so nice then need extra place to put it.

blessed_1

hi peeps.. not sure if u all will come back here to see this post cos it has been some time since anyone came here.
but will post my Q in hope of a reply:
i have a wooden blade fan in new home (not living in yt) and i m wondering will i need to change it to a metal blade one or install aircon?