Ceiling Fans - Any recommendations?

orosalind

Hi Zig,

Are u looking for some special design? I was quoted Amasco 3 blade (just plain simple design) at $110 nett. Cant rem the model name but I think it's the most commonly used design.

There are some ex one which comes with light at the centre of the fan and remote control. It' costs ard $300+

I think for fan, Amasco is the best and most popular brand, this is wat I heard fm all lighting shops which I went to.

pepsi

There was one shop at IMM (Hong Tar) which quoted me $250 for a round "light at the centre of the fan and remote control."
can check out if u are interested.

jannie

i m using amasco 3-blades too.. for HDB kind of ceiling, u need the type that has very short motor .. abt $110 also like what orosalind said. it is not bad.. enuff wind..

try not to get those with lights underneath cos our ceiling is too low for that..

orosalind

jannie,

Thanks for ur feedback on Amasco 3-blade fan. We are thinking of getting that but many shops told me that 3 blade not enuf wind. Now that u say that and I feel it's ok in my fren's place, I think I shall get the 3 blade one.

jannie

orosalind, i think "strong enuff" is quite subjective leh.. if you are talking abt as strong as those "industrial round fan" (u can find them everywhere now, just that i dunno their actual name
), then u can forget it. mine is a 5 -room resale flat and i think it is very sufficient for me already..

orosalind

Jannie,

Thanks. I'm not toking abt the strong wind (cos I'm quite scared of coldness) but I oso dunno how strong the staffs told me when they say wind not too strong. Mine oso 5-rm flat.

I think shall decide on 3 blades Amasco one since the brand is gd and price is reasonable.

ziggy

Hi pple,

Was recommended by a guy to get a 5-blade Amasco fan. Shop name's Faxico in IMM, selling for $188, plus another $30 for regulator.

He told me to look out for good motor and don't choose wooden blades cos it'll warp after time.

okipoki

Hi..

I also bought an Amasco 3 bladed white plain ceiling fan @ $80. I got it from Chan Huat at Balestier.. Another good brand is Relite with simple outlook, looks very nice and it cost abt $180. Anyway, Amasco has the "smallest" switch compared to the rest.

orosalind

Hi Zig,

Thanks for the info, at first when I told my hubby to get the metal blade one, hubby still insist of getting the wooden blade one, seems like the choice is clear now.

Hi okipoki,

The price u have gotten is v cheap. Do u have the address of Chan Huat? Thanks.

okipoki

Hi orosalind,

Not sure on the address but is located nearer to Thomson Rd and is a 2 storeys unit. Btw, mine is a 3 bladed plain white ceiling fan.

orosalind

Hi okipoki,

Thanks for the info, I believe they have 2 outlets as I happen to search my list and realised that my fren's fren is working there. I guess I know the way now. Thanks.

forrestgump4

kind anyone advise what to look out for when buying ceiling fans? Is it the switches? 3 or 5 blades? Need to find out any particular country's brand better or what? the measurements?
i'm quite lost liao... thanks!

dreamer

hi Mandy,

I bought the KDK hdb approved fan... but to my dismay, there's little wind, as i have false ceiling (L-box) and it trapped air on the top...

then i changed it with amasco fan (they have a rod or something) so u can ask them to bring the fan lower.. and now it worked well for me

try going down to the main distributor for amasco.. they gave me a better rate as compared to the otuside shops

http://www.amasco.com.sg/amasco/index.php

forrestgump4

hi dae dreamer,
i'm sorry to hear about your bad experience cos i cant tolerate little wind. Hehehe im very afraid of warm weather you see.

Ok i'll take note of that and i'll be surfing the website you sent to me earlier on. thks!

okipoki

Gers,

So far my amasco fan is doing great & can feel the wind w/o the need to adjust to the highest mode.

Good luck on your purchase

mcmxiivii

was thinking of getting the hdb approved kdk 3 blade fan too, but my electrician told me that the wind is very weak....

as i like the design very much, he recommended me to use the 4 blades one instead... comes with a rod and thus might have problems with lower hdb flats... mine is ok as it's the top floor...so ceiling is higher.
157803.jpg

157804.jpg

morraine

hi vicky,

mine is the top left hand side the white one.. its already strong enuff for my living room already...

the four blade one is not suitable for hdb flats coz its too low already =)

Hi Vicky,
well, i think there are alot more brands besides KDK, u can also check out the others too..
as for the ceiling height, i would think that its fine lor... coz most fans are done in a way with the standard height one... so with the metal rod is ok, too i think...

Maybe u can look for a shorter rod one lor.. for my case i chose a 5 blade as the wind will be better, this is my living room ceiling fan cum cylinder lights for ur reference.. wind is good & the height is ok too, sure hope this helps...
157969.jpg

mcmxiivii

Skylar, I saw this type of designs too...but i prefer some simpler...minimalist kind of look thus the kdk design... think singapore have very limited designs. there's one very simple one that i saw in expo, a round "ball" light at the centre... but very expensive, about 500+, can't remember the brand but the wind very strong...

morraine, i am going ahead with the kdk 4 blade one as my flat ceiling is 1 feet taller than normal flats as it's top floor, so should not be a problem.

ideally, i want to get this one, but never see in singapore leh...

158073.jpg

wwaahh.. Vicky,
that fan looks soo stylo leh... hehehe... not found in SG ah?

so guess the KDK one will be more suitable for u ya! since u already like the 4 blade one hor?

excalibur

Vicky,

You talking about Amasco VIP?
158139.jpg

I'm also looking at it.

Got one drawback though, the light not very power.

kizmat

to add to alan's drawback, the amasco vip looks kinda scary to me, like those ships' turbine hahaa, but maybe when it spins it's not as bad...

mcmxiivii

Alan, not exactly this one, but look similar. the blades are straight and dun have the chrome bracket around the light... looks more minimalist with matt alum finish... and wind is really strong.. but 500+ to expensive for me lah, but the vendor did say that it's the best around, does not wobble at all...

kizmat, yeah... i think this type of design look "fierce"... i prefer straight ones... less imposing.

skylar, din really go around to find, the pic i get from a website... but most shop i see the range is quite similar to the pic that u posted...

poox

Anyone bought elmark ceiling fan before?
i've bought the elmark ELM2000 but never heard anyone using it....dunno if i should switch to KDK or Amasco.

Is Amasco and Elmark from Singapore and KDK from Japan?

magnum

hi poox
just installed a elmark ceiling fan (3 blades with simple design), comes with remote control. Looks ok to me. Elmark is from UK. How much u bought?

poox

The box they gave me looks crapy, instruction not clear...so I thought I better check with current owners.

Actually only the motor is from UK. Does yours have the elmark brand stuck on the fan?

I paid $75 but no remote.

magnum

ya, there is a big "elmark, uk" being printed on center of the fan. i bought it at $115. I asked my electrician to install for me, so i never bother abt the instructions.

zec

got mine rega brand 60"....IMO the larger the blade size the better the "wind"...i might b wrong
...tested most brand n size especially still prefer the biggest blade...60" so strong hehee

heres the website if u guyz need some pics...
http://choongying.com.sg/rega60.html

blessed

hi poox,

strange that ur Elmark fan does not come in proper Elmark box.

Anyway I got my ELM2000 for <$70. I got the remote control too <$70 also.

i aslo got Elmark 2000 (3 blades).. but no wind de... only can feel it right below the fan...now wind outside the center of the fan...strange.. the fan is right on the ceiling (no L-box..false ceiling...)anyone can help ?
Thx

jochan

HI there.. am starting to look for fans as well. Can anyone advice on the average prices for those of minimalist designs and that it comes with a simple flat round light in the centre?

alan_golfnut

Was down at IMM today, could only find 3 shops selling fans. Looks like fans with RC costs in excess of $180 onwards.
Anyway, anyone got any other locations where I can buy ceiling fans from? Am looking for those simple designs, like the KDK ones, not those elaborate ones.

Cheerios!

tiara1211

Does anyone knows if we can buy just the blades to change? i have one, like the pic in skylar's post...but i don't like the colour of the existing blades
if can change, how much is it roughly?

starlite

I have an existing 5 blade Elmark ceiling fan. But im thinking of changing it cos the wind is really weak even at the highest power.

My house design is country style one so im looking at those with wood finishing. Any brand recommendation. I need one that the wind is powerful one...

greenman

hi alan,

u may go to balestier rd where the shops selling lighting ... they have range of ceiling fans for u to choose ... i got mine at balestier, no RC, less than $120 with light.

hi irene,
by right, the blades can be easily re-mount. u may want to check with the actual dealer,not those shops, they may be willing to sell u the blades only. u may check your warranty card for the dealer contact.

ppp

Hi greenman,

May I know the shop name &amp; address that u bought your ceiling fan? Btw, what is RC??

Thanks a lot

greenman

hi ppp,

RC is remote controller.
U may go to either STRASS Lighting or Etoilete Lumire for comparison.
Though Etoilete does not have a fans for physical viewing, both shops services r good

aduhlene

i wonder if any of you have seen those black fans they use at the cafe outside marriot. i'm looking for black fans that look like those there. dun want metallic or wood kind.

ppp

Thanks Greenman...I bought from Stress lighting also...they charged me $150 with light (Arcadia brand) how come yours so cheap?? I bought from them four pieces in order to get the price.

But I found Arcadia brand is a bit lousy....cannot always change the speed otherwise it will jam!!

renoblues

Anyone knows for a 56" ceiling fan, what is the blade length? We just bot a 56" fan but the blade length was only 26" and not 28" ???

renoblues

Sorry for the double posting
----------------------------

Anyone knows for a 56" ceiling fan, what is the blade length? We just bot a 56" fan but the blade length was only 26" and not 28" ???

paddie

Wong: you have to measure from the centre and then multiply by 2. Not just the blade length itself but including the centre hub...

renoblues

Hi Paddie,

Actually, for the blade length, I meant to say that I measured from the centre hub to the end of the blade.

Tks.

key_word07

hi, i heard the shop assistant told me that 3 blade ceiling fan tends to be more noisy..cos no motor power, so they ask me better to get the 5 blade one. Initally we wanna to just buy a 3 blade ceiling fan with budget of abt $70-80..but now My hubby was abit turn off...bcos of the noise! we can really hear a disturbing sound from 3 blade when we r at the shop....
Just wanna check if anyone install 3 blade ceiling fan have this "noise" problem? does it disturb you when you r enjoying your DVD or TV program?

dinodino

I have a brand new ceiling fan, 5 blade, brass colour, with 3 speed. Still have the receipt with me, bought at $225, now selling at $200(neg)

Can't remember its which brand, but think its a Germany/Europe brand. Will check tonight.

Reason for selling is becos a friend bought us a living room ceiling lamp,so we got no choice to sell away my ceiling fan.

cheers,

tyikkim

We have a 3-blade fan in our living room. But, we did not have a choice to get the 5-balde ones as the neck of the fan is longer...and the blades will be too low for our HDB flat. If you were to stand directly below the fan, and straighten your arm to towards the celing, you will get your fingers "chopped off".

Hence, no choice but to get the 3-blade ones which come with shorter necks. Yes, sometimes that is "crackling" noises that comes from the fan and it causes slight irritation. But, the noise is not unbearable, and we can still watch TV in peace. Guess, its a matter of getting used to, after all, the sounds created are not perpetual. It comes on and off.

Having said the above, the effectiveness of fans apart from motor speed etc, comes from the distance between the fan blades and your ceiling. The greater the distance, the more downward wind is created = more effective.

So, to get optimal dollar value for your ceiling fan, get one that gives you max distance between fan blade and ceiling, but not too low till it endangers your fingertips or people who ignorantly carry toddlers upwards without realising that your fan is so low!!