Catholic Brides

suwaiwai -

no need signal. cynthia will cue philip to begin (cynthia cues based on wedding bells). once music starts, bridal party will march in.

dont worry, you are in God's home.

LW Foo (Bainee)

- i can send you, but i dont have your email addie to do so...

Blue Ocean Blue

- i used Superskill Graphics. i can send you my booket to take a look if you like. but need your email...

All the best lovely brides & brides to be!

I've tried asking a few churches abt wedding masses on Sundays and have been rejected thus far..

Anyone able to share which church allows? thanks...

Hi Cheryl,

Sunday Wedding Masses are not absolutely forbidden by canon law, but they are discouraged. If a Wedding Mass is held on a Sunday, then the readings and everything else are of the Sunday and not of a typical Wedding Mass.

Priests are usually quite busy on a Sunday. They typically celebrate two or more Masses in the morning, and may have to do other things as well (e.g., bring Communion to the sick).

A bishop would probably be within his rights to forbid Sunday Wedding Masses. It's not the ideal day, liturgically speaking, for a wedding, and it's not very convenient for priests.

Perhaps you may want to consider a service and discuss this possibility with the priest instead of a mass if the priest thinks that a mass on sunday shld only be reserved for the whole church and not to be conducted for a wedding, which generally is the practice throughout the world less that of a couple of parishes. But mostly, wedding mass on sundays are not done. Not forgetting sunday is sabbath. The Church tells us that we have an obligation to fulfill the Third Commandment by refraining from unnecessary work on Sunday.

For those of you who did your own mass booklet, I will like to know, how did you bind the booklet together? I was planning to print my own booklet, but don't know how to bind them together... don't really feel like tying ribbons, as that seems like a lot of work...

CD boobear

- mine was done by printer, just using staple, and looks nice. i also dont like ribbon.

Blueoceanblue

- i dropped you an email
- thanks for explaining the sabbath day. altho it dosent apply to me, it's just nice to knwo the reason...

FSS - is it auto stapled by the machine... or hand stapled? I went to enquire with this printer near my home... hers is auto stapled by the machine. But I was planning of printing it on my own... I just need someone to staple it for me... do you have any contacts of people who can do this?

FSS, thanks and no prob abt the explanation

CD BOO BEAR:

all printers should be able to staple - just a matter of price. i have contact, just not sure wat your budget is.

as i believe you wana save cost on it (having already done the printing on your own) - why dont you staple on your own?

Staple on your own:
1) put a rubber/eraser at the bottom
2) staple onto the booklet and thru to the eraser
3) remove the eraser
3) fold in the ends of the bullet

you know what i mean?

Cheryl.... My friends are having their wedding mass at SVDP on a sunday in the afternoon. So maybe you can try asking the secretary at that church. However they are very active in that church so maybe they made an exception.

Cheryl, is the date of any particular significance to you? If not really, maybe another creative date is 07.08.09 but that falls on a friday. However, at least u can have a mass
Or check with SVDP like what love or money said.

Papaya, sorry can't help u as I am not holding my wedding there. But my cousin had hers there.

Cheryl,

If you are intending to hold your wedding on a popular date such as 20.09.09 or 07.08.09, it's advisable to book your venue soon. Some popular dates get booked more than a year in advance.

Yeah i realised.... haha... so now looking ard.. my original plan was to just have the church wedding on sunday and dinner on monday... so venue still not so bad..

Will look more into it within this month...

Hi Cheryl, do you really have to have a mass? my wedding will be on Sunday but I will be holding a service at St Michael at noon, more bcos my HTB is a non catholic. I tried Holy Trinity before this but they refused. Guess for St Michael, they only have 2 morning masses so they end earlier. Also, although it is a service, my priest (not from St Michael)did offer to give communion, but we finally decided not to.

Hi all, anyone here has the bride and groom walking in together instead of the usual father walking the bride in? I am doing that and the priest said that he will be giving some welcome address at the start. So anyone has a sample of such a service/mass booklet? TIA.

oops, my email is [email protected]

Hi Elisa,

Think I have managed to find a priest who is willing to conduct the wedding mass / service on a Sunday... now just need to go down and meet up with him to confirm the details. Still a bit lost abt the mass / service thingy... coz he said there are only wedding services - no wedding masses. But the service will include communion and everything else.. just that the readings are not for the particular day.. so its not considered a mass.

Anyway, I have any question for all catholic brides, esp those who choose to do everything in 1 day.. how do u all squeeze everything in? Coz time seems to be very tight.. and i heard that we are not suppose to put on the veil twice.. but yet when we go back to the bride's place, you need to change into your tea dress right? So im kinda confused right now.. any one can share their "schedule" pls??

hi charmaine, u got mail =)

elisa, sorry I dun have such a sample but if u want a normal sample, I can email u =)

cheryl, I'm not quite sure what u mean by put on veil twice...if ur refering to lifting it twice, I'm not sure about that. What my fren did was she serve tea to her family first because of the tight schedule (of course she check with her in laws first), then went to the groom's side for tea ceremony, then church wedding. then she change into a tea dress to go back to her mom's place for the tang yuan n stuff...as well as getting her barang barang for the dinner

Another friend did all the tea ceremonies after the church wedding (I think because to their families, only considered married after the church wedding)

I think you might wanna discuss with ur parents and in laws as to what arrangement fits everyone best..

I personally will be doing the tea ceremonies after the church wedding because to our parents, the church wedding is the "real" wedding (even though ROM liao...haha)

Hi Andrea, thanks for offer but I think you had already mailed me the normal ones.

Just wondering, if the there is still the usual chinese ying qu and the church ceremony is done later, do you cover the veil for lifting in the morning, then again for the church? Or just simply leave it down in the morning and only cover for the church. Due to the tight timing, I have no time to do all the tea ceremony after the church as its at noon. So male side in the morning (usual custom) then for my side of the family, after the church wedding.

Hi Andrea & FSS

Sorry for disappearing for so so long!! Thanks for your advice! I've called the office and they said they have a CD player, so I just need to test the CD.

FSS,
We don't have to cue them? Don't we need to cue the announcer to say something like 'Pls stand to welcome the bride'?? Cynthia is Philip's wife right?? Sorry I forgot her name liao!! Do you think I can get Cynthia to do that announcement and press 'play' on the CD?? Sorry I know that I sound like the doo doo bird (haha) but I'm wondering how to get the bridal march going.. after that, I mostly got it all settled.

Oh and I plan to use ribbons to bind my booklets coz I think its so pretty.. pray that its a wise decision.. maybe whilst tying the booklets I'll be cursing myself!! haha.. actually my plan is to rope in some gfs (who have volunteered) to help and we can use this tying session as some bonding time! ;p

Hi andrea & elisa,

Thanks for your reply. Hmmm i think you got what i meant by "putting on the veil twice" because ur suggestion kind of solves the issue... i cant have the tea ceremony after the church wedding coz it would be too late in the day by then.. wedding mass can only take place ard 2pm cause am having it on a Sunday... so timing is kinda tight...

Hi Cheryl

Yup we have decided on Goodwood Park and IHM for the church. So now actively looking for BS.... There are still tonnes of details to work and we have slightly less than a year!

So which priest and church are you planning on getting?

Hi! I'm having my wedding at IHM too, on 1 May 2009. Will be having my wedding dinner at Rasa Sentosa. Think I'm quite kiasu, have done quite a bit of preparation, and we've gone for EE as well. It's a wonderful marvelous experience, very highly recommended! =)

Have not decided on which church yet.. coz not sure if the priest is "allowed" to go to another church...and whether he wants to in the first place.. will only be able to confirm once i have met up with him at the end of the month..

So exciting..

Charmaine, for a min there I tot u were the same charmaine tt I was chatting to in the Dec 09 thread..hee hee

raine, dun worry, u not kiasu
I dec 09, but everything settled liao =P hee hee

Suwaiwai, breathe!!!! =P
U can get Cynthia (Phillip's wife) to press the player for u =) Just get whoever ur church wedding i/c is to inform her that she's supposed to press it to play it and to signal to phillip to ask the guests to rise and start the procession =)

Or u can even arrange with her that u nod in her direction to indicate to her that she can start...

hi mrs foo,
i'll be having church and dinner on separate days.

church day:
gatecrashing ->church -> lunch

dinner day:
dinner only!

hi nec..then are u going to your new house? and where is tea ceremony gonna be? Do u go back to his house after the gate crashing then go church? or after his place will go to your place for tea? Sorry so many questions, coz a bit blur eh

oh, my tea ceremony is gonna be held in the church lor.
easier, so no need travel up and down (cos split day, PG/VG all got extra charges, if on top of that, must still pay if exceed 10hrs, then the bil will be way too high)
tea ceremony in church will be convenient and less hassle, esp if need to coordinate relatives and refreshments at both houses.

after church, am serving lunch, so let everyone eat, then tea ceremony.

after that, my hubby and i will check in to hotel...supposedly to rest after the early morning....but since his friends are mostly overseas guests, looks like more entertainment is required.

this is just what i'm planning to do.
do talk to your parents and in-laws, if they are particular abt going to the house etc.

Hi. Do any of you girls have the lyrics for the hymn God is Love? It goes: Love it was that made us...... If you do, could you send to me at [email protected]? TIA. I am really scrambling now cos its only another 2.5wks and I am not ready.

Hi Nec

Yea doing all at the church is much simpler...probably got to check with our parents then..since I am the oni one who is catholic..his family christian and mine taoist! kekekeke so im not sure if they are ok with that idea or not..let me go find out then..

yeah, mrs foo, we can plan all we like, but in the end, must still see if the elders are ok with our plans lor. after all, must still respect their wishes.

my dad's side is catholic, as am i, my mom's side is Buddhist, my FH's side is hindu.
lol.

Hi Raine...Yay another IHM bride. Not many of us around ya. So will u be having your reception in the hall after mass?
And you are not kiasu, we already went for our MPC in May and the other day was joking around with other MPC group mates saying by the time we get married they will be bringing their kids to our wedding! haha... so we are very early too. even went for NFP!