Catholic Brides

Wanna know if anyone tried doing tea ceremony in Church after mass and reception?

Because both side's relatives are all going to be there, I thought it was less of a logistics nightmare if I could do the tea ceremony for both sides in Church.

Do you all think it's feasible?

<font color="119911">hi minssy, thanks!

Hi Minssy,
Thanks for the info. is very useful.

We attend sat evening mass...but now stop as we r preparing for our exam in early june..

hi bride,

welcome..

hi ah pui,

welcome too.. i see... btw, the fun fair is in early june!

hi sea blue,

yeah i heard of pple doing that.. but the feeling of doing it in church is less 'homely'. do check with both side parents. if both side are OK, then can...

btw, its not entirely a logistics nightmare.. alot of brides are doing that

hi sea blue,

yah, I think it's feasible. Impt thing is both sides parents are ok with it. I had my tea ceremony (hubby's side) in church. Coz didnt' want his grandma to travel up and down etc...she just goes to 1 location (church) can liao. easier for her also.

Minssy, CSI Fan,

Yep..both sides are ok...now to check if reception area is available till what time.

Yah...main reason behind is so that the old people don't have to travel from place to place.

Thanks gals!

hi sea blue,

oh thats great then. prob solved

u just need to get your jie mei to prepare the area before that and of cos make sure that there are 2 chairs for the elders to sit.. if need be, you need to have a cushion for you when u kneel down.... but it will be covered by your gown so u cant see when the photos are taken.

hi bbp,

hahahhah! yah its purely ok. so 1 of your jiemei will be entasked to help you. anyway, you will be Queen BBP that day. cos whatever u say, pple will do for you! hahahah

seablue, talk to the church &amp; request for a room for tea ceremony. dun do it in the open. my HB's church not only provided us with a room, it also comes with red basin to rinse the tea cups &amp; the 2 chairs are all nicely arranged too.

I know some of you have hold/will be your holding your wedding in St Theresa. Can you let me know your thoughts on my idea?

I was thinking of doing away with the wedding booklet and rely on the LCD screen for the reading, hymns and the liturgy. Coz half of those I invite won't be Catholics, and I know some of my friends who are not Christain do not bother to keep the booklet after the mass, they will simply throw it away. Sounds feasible?

hi Lysha,

feasible....why not? hehs...afterall, pple tend to throw away the booklets after mass. And witht he LCD TVs, pple can actually see you and what's happening up in front from the TVs, when normally, all you see is the couple's backs when you peer down the aisle.

but I understand that they recently imposed a new "rule" that you have to book the church choir in order to use the LCD TVs. Otherwise, you'll have to pay $100 for the technician/choir person to operate the LCD TV for you. Not sure if there has been further changes.

Alternatively, you may want to do a simple DIY printing of your mass booklets and let pple share. such that even if pple dun keep, it's not so "wasted".

<font color="119911">hi lysha, yup! It's definitely feasible. My church doesn't even have a projector and screen so I have no choice but to print the booklets. But like CSI said, I'll print simple ones cos people don't keep the book. Waste money to print too nice lor

Hi Lysha,

I'm not from St Theresa but i'm using the projector for my wedding mass. However i do know of some priests who don't encourage that so you better check with the parish priest.

Hi Lysha,

I just had my wedding at St Teresa last sat. I didnt have any mass booklet but used the LCD screen instead. One thing to note is that the church does not allow outsiders to operate their media system except a specific choir member. My advice is just book the church choir ($250) and pay another $50 for the LCD screen usage, if you use outside choir, there will be additional charges and more hassle. And personally, I find their choir very good and very helpful

hey nicelip,

Congrats on your wedding!
Hmmm, I thot I remembered Veron mentioned yours is in June. hehs...I must have heard wrongly. Anyway, enjoy married life!

Hmmm, i'll be down at St Teresa tmrw to attend a wedding...

Hi Jmi,

Mine was the 10am choir too, the person in charge is Jacob Wee? He is very helpful and all my guests commented the choir was beautiful
To be honest, none of the church pple were of any help for my church wedding except for Jacob, he did his part very well and gave me lots of sample on the mass content, powerpoint template, lyrics for the hymns....you need lots patience and tolerance to hold your wedding in St Teresa, if you need more pointers, let me know ya.

Hi CSI,

Thanks!! Yup, my wedding last sat, 26 May.....phew, glad that everything is over and life is now back to normal. Last 2 wks were crazy, some hiccups here and there but overall I think the wedding went well

Hi to all BTBs,

I need some help as I will be having my soleminsation on the same day as my AD in church, but unsure of the steps to take(eg. when to collect the Marriage cert from ROM). Appreciate if anyone can advise me on it.

hi Babyz,

1) File for marriage at least 25 days from your AD, but not more than 3 months in advance.
2) Get priest to sign solemnisation consent form
3) Go to ROM 3 days before AD (ROM will give you the date when you file in Step 1) to collect documents.
4) Submit documents immediately to church
5) Sign documents during AD
6) Send documents back to ROM

ROM website has more details..

Hi Nicelip

Yes it's Jacob. I chose the 10am choir based on my friend's recommendation. She attended a wedding mass in St Teresa's last year and her friend also used the same choir. Contacted Jacob but since my wedding is in Dec, I'll only speak to him again nearer then.

Yeah, I'll need you to advise since I'm not a St Teresa's parishioner.

Hi bbp, thank you so much for sharing the info. Hmmm, when will I b getting the solemnisation consent form? Is it that ROM centre will send me the form right after I file for marriage?

Hi Babyz,
You can download the solemnisation form from the ROM website. Before you file for marriage, call your church and ask the secretary for the License number of the priest that is going to celebrate your wedding. You will need it.

Hi Jmi,

Sure, will be glad to help you
Btw, you are not having any lunch reception in church right? Are you getting in your own tables to place at the church entrance for guests to sign in?

Hi all catholic brides. My wedding will be held at St Ignatius this 20 Oct 07. Wondering if there's any St Ig brides too... Apparently, a lot of restriction for church deco/signages. Choir will have to be arranged by ourselves.

Hi Nicelip

Yuppers, I'm not having any reception in church.

My own tables?? Can borrow from the church. I'm heading for the hotel immediately after church can't be bringing tables here there and everywhere ay?

hmmm....Jmi,

Dun think St Teresa's has those long-ish tables for guest sign in reception. Usually those are provided by caterer (if having reception). Otherwise, it would be those small-ish table (1 square) that is used to place parish bulletins / offertory gifts during mass on weekends, kind of table...that's what I remember seeing at one wedding there. So you might want to think about how to place your guest book etc...I'm sure it's possible...

Hahaha, I had the same arrangement as you, head for hotel straight after church, thought I could use the table from church as well. Then start to panick on the rehearsal day when I saw the table is smaller than a mahjong table and quite old, need table cloth or skirting. (impossible to sit 2 helpers and place my guest book, photo album and wedding favours)

Luckily my husband's company does events and he got his workers to bring in the long table and skirting on the eve of our wedding when we did the church decor. And one more thing, forget about putting any floral arrangement on the table which you will be signing the marriage cert. I only found out the table is too small to place any flowers when the church decor was being done up. (and the church coordinator only called me that day to tell me) Wasted money on that

Hi CSI Fan, Nicelip

Hmmm, let me re-think. I might not place a guest book and wedding favours since most of the guests will be proceeding for lunch in the hotel.

So I might be able to do without the table??!? :p

Hey Jmi,

I suppose you can if you just need a table to maybe place your mass booklets. (the small table provided by church will look full with the floral centrepiece, if you are having one and the booklets)

For me, I had a number of guests who could not make it to lunch, so I had everything lay out on the long table including the "Ang Pao" Box
plus the wedding favours had to be given out during church since the hotel is giving something else to my guests.

Hi Nicelip

Most of the guests attending the mass will likely be relatives and close friends. The rest of the guests will likely be at lunch.

So I'll the guestbook and favours for the hotel part (I'm not using the hotel's favours. DIY-ing my own favours and it will be a hassle lugging them to church :p). Will only require space for mass booklets. Else I may place the mass booklets on the pews

hi Jmi,

yup, the table is really small...dun think can seat anyone there at all. hahaha. the helper might be more comfy standing next to the table.

Erm, actually, (just my thots lah
) I think it may be neater to just place the mass booklets on the pews or have some helpers/ushers hold on to some to help distribute. Unless pple know that there's a book to collect from that table by the side of the entrance...otherwise, they may just walk past it totally. If you're not placing your mass booklets on the small table, you can put a floral arrangement (if you have extra) to just deco up the entrance a bit more...

Yah, the signing table (more like counter, coz no chairs to sit, so how to be table? hahaha) is very small. Dun need to prepare pen also. Fr will have that prepared.

Hi CSI Fan,

Thanks. I'll just place the booklets on the pews. That's gonna be easier. Won't need to trouble anyone distributing also.

Fr will prepare pens? But Fr Richards is celebrating my mass not Fr Arro...

<font color="119911">hi everyone! Does anyone have any recommendations for caterers? Looking for one now and panicking cos there are so many! Would appreciate the help... Thanks in advance!</font>

Hi Jmi,

Sounds gd, placing the booklets on the pews will solve the table problem.

Yup, the priest will prepare the pen for signing the register, unless you wan use your own special pen. For me, I surprised my hubby with a pen as his birthday present when we were about to sign the register (his birthday falls on our wedding day) and I thought it will be very meaninful to sign with the pen to symbolise a new chapter in our lives together.
Btw, I won't be logging in to this forum as often. If you need any help, do feel free to PM me.

hi Jmi,

oh...heehee...thot it was Fr Arro. Not sure, but I think he might have. In any case, can get your bestman of witnesses to standby with a pen. Coz the signing table/counter is really small...its height is up to my chest level thereabouts (I'm 1.6m), and there is no space to put anything like those "pen holder" thingy. Nope. Just nice to place 1 book (the church register) that's all. The cert will be "kiap-ed" in between the book or under the book lorh.

Then when it's time to sign, have to move it ard lorh. hehs. eg. you sign book first, place cert on top, sign cert, lift off cert - groom signs book, place cert on top, he signs cert, lift off cert - witness 1 signs in the same order etc...kinda thing. There's only enough space for 1 person to stand there to sign 1 document at a time. hehs.

Despite it's small size, it's qutie a nice table lah...oriental kinda table.

Hi bride,
erm, I used Select Catering. Found it ok, plus deco was not bad (deco also depends on the number of pax and therefore total order - pax times price per head).

hi bride,
hmmm...gotta search a bit. hehs. Coz I didn't specifically tell PG or anyone to snap deco. So, most likely will be from pics of other pple gathering kind, and the deco is somewhere behind. hahaha....but i'll go home and see.

Hi Nicelip,

Thanks. I'll PM you if I need any other info.

Hey CSI Fan,
Hehe, I'll just get Bestman to prepare pens just in case.

Oh yah, how do you gals bind your booklets? My booklet is about 38pp including cover, I thought of tying the spine with silver string. Good enough?

<font color="119911">thanks CSI!

Hey Jmi, I intend to use simple ribbons / like you, a silver thin spine to bind the booklets. Cos I feel people will throw away the book anyway so it'll be wasted to do up until so nicely.

What do you girls think of photostating the books har? Print out a couple and photostat the rest. Only the front page is coloured so only need to print that one. Save time

Frankly, I was seriously going on photo-copy on coloured paper for the insides and print B/W for the cover. No one's gonna keep the booklet anyway. :p

<font color="119911">hi bbp, how come the quality won't be good leh? If you use same quality paper should be ok right? Cos the ink used in photostating machines don't differ that much from the printers. It's cheaper (cos can use company one mah :p) and faster also</font>

Photocopier uses toner, same as fax machine. The print quality will never be as sharp or good as the printer. Photocopied document outcome is regardless of paper type - the ink stays on top of the paper (think embossing), not absorbed. Photocopying is acceptable lah... so long you don't mind then okay lor.

<font color="119911">hi caffeinated, oh like that ah... so it easily smudges issit? Sigh... like that have to print already. Scared my printer print too much will spoil keke...

thanks minssy! Was their food good?</font>