Catholic Brides

hi femme,

well, in this case, you can't have the best of both worlds..

else, what u can do is this: have your outdoor ROM solemnisation by a JP, and have a catholic wedding service later lor.. but the meaning is not there cos you 'did not get married' in a church.. you have to manage your expectations and decide on a compromise level : what is more impt: get wed in church or a outdoor wedding?

<font color="119911">hi femme, minssy's right. it's upsetting but you can't have the best of both worlds. Maybe you can sit down with your hubby and discuss if you can:
1. have a church wedding and then instead of holding a dinner banquet at night in a hotel or restaurant, you can have it outdoors like at botanic gardens or wherever?
2. see if you can get churches like church of nativity. They have a big open space where you can consider setting up a tentage. Then after the church ceremony, just adjourn outside to the tentage for lunch. Same concept as 1. but lunch not dinner since it has to be after mass and it's at the church grounds.</font>

hi caffeinated, at least I can say for my EG and CS, without beading and with beading certainly makes a lot of difference. So don't stress yourself too much yah?

Went to revise my decor plan with the florist again... I cannot visualize what he was trying to describe to me...so I am just keeping my fingers crossed that it would turn out like what I imagined.

Thanks girls. Yeah I know I cannot have best of both worlds. Both are impt to me, but I guess I got to choose one.

HTB's request for banquet is MUST be air-con place and must be accessible.

I was thinking of a nice church in town and then proceed to somewhere across the road for dinner so it's convenient for guests. I do want people to come attend the ceremony mah.

What do you girls think?

Maybe Cathedral of the Good Shepherd? I like that it's the oldest church but I only remember Father Eugene Vaz but that was like, from 15 years ago.

Or St Joseph's Church. Don't know any priests there but I like that church too. Lovely stained glass and great atmosphere.

Church of Saints Peter and Paul? Never been there but I love the architecture too, and I've seen lovely pix of it, esp the main entrance.

Or...Church of Our Lady of Lourdes...or Sacred Heart never been there though. Is it far from hotels?

Any ideas or suggestions? Or feedback on any priests that are humorous and light-hearted? Coz none of these are my usual church (mine's too far from town)

Also, does my HTB need to attend EE or something? Where do we go to sign up? It's necessary, right? To get married in church?

Paiseh for the many questions.

another thot.... my wedding is on Saturday. Which means, they usually have mass around 6-6.30pm right... how much time turnover do the churches usually need?

hi hi, i'm also a catholic BTB. my wedding is in Oct this yr. so glad to find this thread

femme : regarding the EE course, i think your FH needs to attend. cos i'm also a non-catholic but went to attend the EE last Dec with my FH. trust me, it was a fruitful experience &amp; the house couples were very friendly!

you may find more information from this website http://www.veritas.org.sg/ceespore/

hi Femme,
your HTB definitely need to go for EE if you intend to marry in Church. This is in accordance to Canon Law all the way from Vatican.

EE though is not those that will 'brainwash' your husband into conversion, its more like making you two know each other on a deeper level.

hi femme,

you may not be able to have 100% decision on which church you get married in. it depends on where you stay (must be same zone) and whether the church is available, and if the church &amp; priest is ok.. u gotta list down your preferences and check...

hi femme,

I dun think Cathedral allows weddings. but do check again, yah?

St Peter's &amp; St Paul's (SPP) is nice...old, no aircon, but still nice. SPP is Fr. Thomas Lim. He may come across as eccentric and straight forward, but generally, he's a nice guy. Not sure if can have other priests as the celebrant for that church.

St Joseph's is also nice (haha...I like those traditonal looking churches with steeples...), and no aircon.

Sacred Heart is wah...nice &amp; with AIRCON...hehs...BUT...parking is VERY limited. But your guests can park at nearby places (mentioned in earlier in this thread...heehee). Sacred Heart is within walking distance to Fort Canning (so u can consider Legends @ Fort Canning). Other hotels are near, but dun think it's as walkable as Fort Canning. You dun want ur guests to walk there and then perspire...

hi tootsy,

Mine was at St Teresa's too, and my colour was blue and white too! hahaha...erm, you may wish to read the earlier posts (the lastest few archives I think) for some bits on having a wedding at St Teresa.

Hi YP_HL - Welcome! My wedding is the same as yours in October this year...where are you holding it? Mine's in St. Teresa...

Hi Femme - Although I have not attended EE yet, I heard good feedback about it from other couples, both Catholic couples and mixed ones (one Catholic and one non-Catholic partner). I plan to go for one before my weeding but goodness knows when haha...

hi tootsy,
mine will be at St Ignatius. so far have yet to hear from any brides from this forum holding their wedding in this church :p heee

anyway, the next available EE course is in Aug.
probably if you are interested, its advisable to book early

<font color="119911">hi femme, I've asked before. Cathedral of good shephard doesn't allow marriages UNLESS you're a foreigner marrying in singapore. Most churches (not all) don't allow non-parishioners to marry in their church and I've also asked St Joseph and St Peter and Paul and both churches don't allow non-parishioners.

If they do allow (please check with them, hopefully they've changed their policies), then here are my views. SPP is better than St Joseph cos st joseph has a funeral parlour next to it and IF you so suay got funeral on the same day then it's not too nice, esp if you've got pantang relatives.

Sacred heart is very nice! CSI's suggestion is good! You can consider fort canning. Lady of Lourdes is a nice church but its location is a bit inconvenient (no MRT, that road always jam).

As for EE, yes, must attend. Either EE or MPC.

Timing of mass is dependent on the church and if there's a couple before and after you. Speak directly to the church.</font>

hi there!!

anyone of you doin/did your church deco urself, meaning DIY?? have any deco pixs to share??
i'm thinking of DIY it...

Hi YP_HL- I've been to St Ignatius but does not know of anyone who's getting married there in the next few months... I like the fountain there...very modern!

Actually I've been to MPC and my FH and I are not really sure if EE will overlap with MPC. Who has attended both before? Is it compulsory to attend both?

tootsy.. yeah, the church is very modern. :D cos they have renovated the place.

in fact i have attended both MPC &amp; EE. but i m glad we went thru the EE course. the MPC i have attended was organised by TOUCH Community. we went to a couple's hse &amp; they shared with us their experiences. it was nice!
EE was slightly different, i feel. it was spent over a weekend.

the MPC u've attended is organised by? do they provide a certificate for you? cos you need to show it to the church.

tootsy, if you refer to the website that i've provided earlier, they also have MPC. is that the one you have attended? cos if yes, then you don't need to go for EE. cos EE is a "fast track route" that couple just need to stay over for a weekend.
while MPC is spread through 6 weekends ( i think )
not compulsory to attend both.

Hi YP_HL

The MPC was organized by the Catholic Church - the "official" one with the cert and all haha. Yes you;re right; it;s spread over 6 weekends with couple paks to do (essentially "homework"). EE is fast track route huh? Didn't know that... well I guess since I've been to the official MPC then no need to go EE right?

if its the official MPC, then not necessary to go through EE again. cos they are the same. just duration is different.
you need to show the certificate to the church too.

thanks ladies.

I saw the ROM list and it states the Cathedral leh. So I think should be okay.
Except I wish their altar area was nicer... :P

I do love St Joseph's, very accessible, and I LOVE old beautiful architecture and stained glass. But yah lah, that funeral parlor thing might be off-putting to relatives.

Will ask them about the non-parishoners thing (hope they won't be inflexible), and also check out SPP and Sacred Heart. Sacred Heart is a bit too colourful but it has a beautiful altar.

I personally prefer non-aircon church. Got fan can liao mah. Heheh.

Actually what is technically considered "parishoner"? Coz I used to live near Blessed Sacrament and I went there all my life. Then I moved to Jurong area so there are other churches in this area. I just divide between the ones here and Blessed Sacrament. So who do I actually belong to?

hi femme,

parishioner means church goer lor..

okie technically u can still go to blessed sacrament since u went there all your life and its still in the west area... i think for your case, you have blessed sacrament and your current church to choose from. if either one is booked, you can still go to the other choice.. but before that, you need to decide which church you prefer, then call up and see if the date is still available lor.

Wah, just one day and there're so many posts to catch up on...

Hi crescent,
If you read the April 10 archive you can find some church deco pics which some of the ladies have kindly put up. I may be DIY-ing, depending on how my logistics pan out.

Hi sea_blue,
You MTM EG and CS? Meaning ur WG is OTR? I'm going back for part 1B of my fitting this week cos i told my designer i'm still thinking about it. Luckily he never grumble grumble.

hi minssy, thanks! coz im trying to combine church with banquet, and have a proceed to dinner thing right after the ceremony, so I have to find a church in town area, somewhere near a hotel or restaurant.

Im hoping the town churches will accept me and my HTB since I'm Catholic (he's not) but not their church "member".

Or maybe I start attending that church now so I can call myself "parishioner". Muahahahah!

hi femme,

yah you are not the parishoner so they MAY not accept....

yah getting the dates and venues up is one of the toughest arrangement.. the dinner may be ok but church may not etc etc.. but once the timing and all is fixed, its quite a breeze liaoz...

erm...I know some city churches - St Joseph, Cathedral, Novena - are not parishes. So just attending mass there (or any parish for that matter) does not make u a parishoner.
hehs...I think a parish would have things such as cathecism classes etc.

Yah, parishoner = church goer lah, but there's a bigger significance to that. if you have a map of where the churches are located and their districts, you can see how they are split (saw such a map at SPP before). The significance of belonging to a parish is so that in a case of emergency that u need a priest badly (eg. A is very sick and suddenly going to die at home, and need the blessing from priest etc before A departs), the parish priest (the priest from the parish that A belongs to) will be the fastest and nearest to A, and hence can "administer" the rites quickly....vs. another priest from another parish not that near to A's home. erm, get what I mean? hehs...They sort of have an obligation towards the parishoner 1st. Coz u belong to that district mah...but...hehs. While I think some of us church hop (though they don't encourage that), it's impt to register yourself with the parish during the church census so that they know you belong to that parish.

it's like the GRC you belong to (maciam elections like that...hahaha). You have problems or questions, you approach your MP in that GRC/Zone, right? not another MP from another GRC...

But femme, just approach the churches there. Perhaps if you explain your concerns to them, the priests there would be able to help you.

hi caffeinated, WG also MTM. I think the shops are so used to BTBs freaking out that my designer is rather cool about me changing my mind and being picky. phew...

Going to meet the mass booklet printer this week. Hope can get it done soon. Just curious...any idea how much people usually pay?

Hi sea_blue,

Cost of mass booklet depends on how many printed pages you have, the number of colours, the type of paper, kind of binding, no. of copies, etc. I've heard of people paying between $1 and $5+ per booklet. Best to get a few quotes from different printers first.

actually, MPC and EE are the same duration when you add them up.

Its just that MPC is spread over 6 weeks wheras EE is consecutively ~46hrs

yah duration is probably similar..

EE is a crash course.. you go there on a friday nite, spend 2 nites there, and get it over and done with :p

for MPC, you gotta go 6 times...hee.. MPC also encourages u to speak more and share more.. for EE, there are lesser of such times but more of couple time... but you definitely get more lovely sharings from the couple thru MPC...

so i guess it depends on individual's preference

Does anyone know... in a church wedding, will my HTB have to say anything ...Catholic-like, like Father, Son, Holy Spirit? Coz he's a very staunch Buddhist and he's only marrying in church out of respect for me.

I had wanted to book BSC for my wedding which is in Mar 08, but I am two minds about it now cos I realised that the interiors are rather dark cos of the dark wood and bricks... so am considering Saint Francis of Assisi instead, cos my parents got married in that church and she really likes the place... so would like to check if anyone else is getting married in Saint Francis soon? Any feedback? In my earlier postings, I have said that I am not a "church go-er" in that I dun attend mass regularly but I would still like to be married in church... hope u can help!

Kopio: I have PM you my email addy already.. sorry for not replying cos I haven't been online for a long time.

Merribell,
Am one of St Francis Of Assisi bride. Glab to see someone same as me. =D
My AD will be on 22dec. Ur?

Feedback, i cant give u. I have not marry yet. =D
U can go and find Pauline if u wan to book for the church. I dun tink it will be problem, as long u have been baptise and show them ur cert.

Settled the mass invites and booklets printing and met up with the florist to confirm decor again.
Confirmed caterer. Crossing my fingers that they are good.

It has been a while since I felt this relieved..

hey femme, hmmmm...I think urs would be a wedding service instead of a mass...

When it comes to parts when the congregation has to do the sign of the cross (if at all...i'm not too sure coz mine was a full mass), ur FH dun have to lorh. But i'm not sure abt the exchanging of rings bit...For the mass, there's a line that says "Take this ring, as a sign of my fidelity and love. In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit" (as the ring is put on). So, not sure if a wedding service has the same line or not....

hi femme &amp; csi fan,

yes its the same.. i only spoke during the exchange of vow also..

hi sea blue,

thats good
everything will be fine

when is your AD again?

hi merribell,

you are from a catholic family.. i would say its quite ok.. but when you book the church etc, you dun have to provide extra info that you dun attend church regularly :P

I see, so there's no way he can avoid saying Father, Son, Holy Spirit? He DEFINITELY won't say this.

Oh no, don't tell me there goes my church wedding...

hi femme,

still got hope.. you all still gotta attend EE/MPC mah.. you need time to convince him.. must use different approach ba.

Hi minssy, Haze,
Thanks for your comments! Haze, my AD in on 29 MAr 08... have called Pauline and "accidentally" Father John Lau "psycho" them to let me book the church already.. so funny I actually called this number and I was speaking to Father Lau (and I din know he was Father Lau)until I stopped to ask him who he was.. so malu... haha.. This Sat, me and my HTB will be accompanying my mum to St Francis for a look see... Pauline is so nice! She told me I can get samples of the booklets from her and to look for her after the mass cos she's the pianist. Can't wait! Haze, can I check, are u member of Saint Francis? minssy, I will note your advice.. hee.. shh...

Thanks Minssy!

Hi femme, during the exchange of rings (whether it is mass or service) it goes "xxx, wear this ring as a sign of my love and fidelity. In the name of the Father, and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit"

Have you signed up for EE yet? Maybe go for EE first and worry later? Just ask your HTB to go with an open mind.