Catholic Brides

just in case anyone is fretting over printers contacts,
i have a printer which is quite old-school and thus the prices are also cheaper compared to outside.

If anyone is interested, just let me know and i shoot a mail off to you. =)

Hi annette,
Me! Me! I'm interested!
*waves hands frantically*
Please email me at [email protected]

hey bbp,
Stamford/Select Catering comes with deco...If your total catering bill comes up to a certain amount, I think there's no need to top up.

Hi CSI Fan,

I'm already experiencing difficulty now even before the rehearsal. She only gave me one date for my rehearsal and I have to do my rehearsal from 6:30pm to 7:30pm. Tried to negotiate with her for a later timing as all my helpers are working, also the parents need time to go home and fetch my flower girls and page boy, but her answer is a flat no. She even said that if my helpers are late, she will still end at 7:30pm and lock the church, how did you manage your rehearsal the last time?

wah nicelip, you're preparing for rehearsl so early...heehee...guess I was a bit slow when I did my prep. hmmm...my cousin called me over the weekend, and told me that her fren was also experiencing difficulty...did u happen to confide in ur fren? heehee...just wondering if the fren my cousin was referring to is you...hehs...

erm, I just act blur lorh.

For my case, Groom was very late - coz he was working mah. She had the super disapproving look and voice "Both of you are supposed to be here together you know." Then I gave her the super buay song tone, Groom not here leh. how? too bad? but you're supposed to explain things. If you didn't explain to groom, means you not doing you job properly. Maybe you should relegate the duties to someone else....

Then we just started with the flowergals and page boys who were early and the bridesmaids. BUT, they AV system could not play my CD...BEST....so had to use my fren's lap top to connect to play. that ate up some more time.

Then we just tried 2 rounds with the kids and bridesmaids. Then the remaining page boys arrived, and groom arrived.

Anyway, B didn't do any explanation on what to do etc lah. It was my catholic frens who helped us out - groom shd stand where then look nicer (eg. at the side first, then when bride approaches, he moves to behind the chairs to receive bride. When father of bride hands bride over, pause for a moment etc...), flower gals & page boys move to where after their march-in etc. It was all my catholic frens who helped.

So while waiting for the lap top to be set up, the readers got a go at their passage lorh.

She gave us a super black face lah...and chased us a few times...but well, there were about 10+ of us then? so...try locking it up. and it wasn't as though we were sitting there doing nothing. We were moving around, trying out the readings, the march etc.

She did go through briefly what will happen on the wedding day. but it's nothing we don't alraedy know. At most the new info is where the signing table will be placed and where the unity candle will be (if you're having one).

Think we ended at 8pm+. Impt thing, you and a few helpers (would be good if they are Catholics) be there at 630pm. Then can slowly start a few things first...

A few months later, it was my fren's wedding there too, and I helped out at her wedding. Same thing. We just tu....not that we wanted to, but seriously, the kids couldn't get there!!

Yes, we understand she may need to go home, prepare dinner for the family etc. but hey, let's all be reasonable. If she feels she can't handle it, shdn't she tell the church to get someone else to take over? So, while we try to be reasonable and understanding, her attitude towards others doesn't warrant us being nice to her. After a few attitude face from her, we didn't bother with her liao.

Hi CSI,

Thanks so much for sharing! Yup, I did talk to a fren over the wkend. I thought what was happening to me was out of the norm and maybe she was making things difficult for me, and I remembered my fren's cousin had her wedding last yr, so asked her if her cousin got the same treatment.

Is your cousin Veronica?

Oh yes, abt the AV system, I also just found out that the system can only read Original CD, I really panicked and asked my frens if anyone had the original CD for my march in song.

Jmi, do note that the AV system can only play original CDs, and you will have to pay another $50 if you are using the system.

<font color="119911">wow nicelip and CSI, I think you're both "connected"

Hey caffeinated, did you go for select's show on sunday? i couldn't make it.</font>

Hey CSI Fan, nicelip

Thanks for the advise. Hmmm, From the sound of you gals. I'm more or less expecting some 'difficulties'. More so since I'm not their parishioner. Oh well... Take it as it come lah.

Hi annette

Can you share the contact with me too [email protected]? Thanks!

Hey bride,
I didn't go in the end... haha. Was sooo tired from easter virgil mass (finally baptised!
) the night before i couldn't drag myself out of the house... heh.

Hi rumissing,
You've got mail. Which church are u getting married in?

hi nicelip,

Yap, yap!! It's Veron! heeheehahaha...

oh? They quoted you $50 for the system? That's if you're using the church choir right? I think if not using the church choir, it's $100. But, hopefully they've changed it. Perhaps if more pple feedback to Fr. Arro, he might make some changes....

But it's quite weird right? I mean, hello...it's a wedding. Can we dun use the system at all? Wedding sure use the system one mah...still must charge $50...they should just include it into the rental of the church. Sometimes, can't help but wonder if these people came from the Joachim Kang "reign"...the way they are doing things...haiz...

If you dun have original CD, you gotta connect your laptop to it lorh...then gotta get someone you can trust to manage your laptop.

Hey Jmi,
I think they treat parishoners and non-parishoners alike (ok, maybe except if u're altar boy or choir member...haha). So now, my in-laws dun attend mass there anymore. Haiz. They were parishioners there, and apparently grandpa donated quite a bit when they first built the church back then. so sad...

Hi CSI Fan

Sigh, if only all things fall in nicely. The ideal scenario was do it at Holy Cross Church since I wanted Fr Richards to celebrate the mass. But Holy Cross is under renovation and will only be ready early next year.

Hi CSI Fan,

Small world huh?
Veron has kindly agreed to help me during my rehearsal as I can forsee I won't get much help from that lady

Don't worri Jmi, CSI is right. She treats parishioners and non-parishioners alike. I attended my RCIA there, was baptised by Fr Arro and also helping out in the St Vincent de Paul Society, but am still getting the same treatment, hahahaha!!! So I suppose can give credit for her consistent service standard la ;p

Hi Jmi,
You've got mail!

Hi CSI Fan,
Thanks! =)

Hi merribell,
I asked u for ur email in ur earlier post but u didn't reply. U can PM me if u want to keep it private.

hi bbp,

my pg's contact have not replied my pg's email on the florist contact... sorry for the wait. when he replies then i post here again ba..

hello..

I am really sorry to repost this question again.
But my panic to print mass booklets has kinda just started. I want to do my mass invites in the same colour scheme so thought of doing it at the same place.

Can anyone advise me on:
1) Where to print?
2) How much would it cost?
3) What to prepare? Will they only do standard templates?
4)How much time is required?

Thank you so much...

I am getting married in October at St Teresa's and frantic about getting the right florist and mass booklets' printing at a reasonable price. Any advice?

hi sea_blue,

1) isuccess at sunshine plaza (6337 9220) or AXXA printing (6282 9269) at machpherson

2) booklet &amp; cards: $1 up (just a quote, really depends on how complicated you want your booklet to be and the type of paper). you must speak to the printers to get a better feel

3) have text and design ready in soft copy. if you have your own design, save in PDF file. if not, discuss with printer.

4) printing lead time depends on printer. if things are fast, 1 week is ok to get the cards out (from the time of presenting and collecting). of cos if there are alot of changes etc, it will take longer time. best is to make sure your card is out 3 mths before wedding and mass booklet 1 mth before wedding.

hi tootsy,

we have been discussing florist for the past few days. please read past archives to get a feel.

as for mass booklets, the above i mentioned is just a guideline to you.

Thanks minssy... you sound very knowledgeable about all the prep needed

Thanks for the contacts of printers. I went to look at the florists and shortlisted a few... think will talk to them individually to get a feel... I am thinking of using blue and white as the theme colours for my wedding cos my HTB does not like pink and lilac (he thinks it's too girlish *sigh*)... I am not sure what flowers or deco will be best... am thinking of organza ribbons... is it feasible? Opinions and comments anyone?

hi seablue,

welcome.. i liased with mary last time.. not sure if she is still around..

hi tootsy,

thanks.. i had my time
so now sharing on what i know..

as for flowers, seriously on hindsight, you do not want to spend so much.. blue &amp; white is fine..

hi bbp,

samples of invites ah? yah i had a few when i was sourcing last time.. shall post some here later.. but do a google and yahoo search and i am sure you will fine TONS

hi bbp,

hhaha. yah i heard of pple doing that.. main thing is that you r ok with the readings and the songs..the rest are alot of standard text.

I just bought our wedding band last night. Wonder does anyone crave any short gospel text on their wedding band?
Wat text u girls use? Mind sharing?

As my wedding band quite small, only 18 alphabet. *faint*

hi haze,

i had only engraved my HB &amp; my name on the WB.

if you wld like to engrave some gospel text...maybe can consider "love is patient" or "love is kind" from the Corinthians?

Hello ladies,

Bear with me... can't sleep so decided to rant a bit. I just went for my first gown fitting today and returned a little disappointed. My WG and EG didn't exactly turned out the way i envisioned them to, so a bit sore there.
Despite my designer's further recommendations, still feel that something's missing and i don't really know what. Sigh... hopefully after all the beadings are done, i will learn to like them better. Heh.

- end of ranting -

Yeah, so that was my Fri 13. How was yours?

hi caffeinated,

your ranting is very soft :p

actually its very common one lah. best its not to have any expectations then maybe will be better?
take care
i am sure your gown will turn out fine

Hi Caffe

I've/will not be going through what you've experienced so don't quite know what to say. Mom's sewing my wedding dress but I've not gotten started except getting the fabric.

Like Minssy, I'm sure your gown will turn out fine.

Hi minssy / Jmi,

Thanks... think i slept off the blues already, just a bit sleepy still. Heh.

Woah Jmi, ur wedding dress is extra special with the additional dose of mother's love put into it. Wish i can fit into my mum's then 23-inch waistline EG!

Can someone help me? I always wanted a church service but I also really really wanted an outdoor one. I just found out Catholic priests cannot solemnize (?) weddings outside of church.

I'm Catholic but my HTB is not.

Any advice?

hi femme,

if having a church wedding is impt to you, then u gotta do it in catholic church....

its ok for non catholics to get married in a catholic church so long as 1 party is a catholic....