Catholic Brides

Hi bride,
Thanks, appreciate it if you could send me the pics.

Hi diamond,
I'm holding mine at IHM, the church is very much bigger than SFX, so still deciding which florist to get.

470300.jpg

470301.jpg

470302.jpg

470303.jpg

470304.jpg

<font color="119911">hi caffeinated, yup, i'll be going for kri*ton's wedding show in april. Is select still open for registration? I'd like to go.

hi bbp, here are the pics from red petals. As you can see, the deco is pretty simple. If you want to add sash, you've got to top up $200, which will add up to $550 and that's about the same price as the expensive florists like greenpoint (their package includes sashes and their deco doesn't look this sparse).

So if you're on a budget, then red petals or susan from fonts creative would be good for your consideration.</font>

Hi minssy,
Thanks for sharing the pics. Did u get to keep the deco? I know some florists will come and collect back all the flowers and stuff. Always thought u foot the bill so u get to keep the stuff for other usage.

Hi bride,
Thanks for sharing the pics too. Finally see someone using gerberas! But wah... sash so expensive?? *faints*

The select event is still open for registration. Free if u sign up before 7 april. Check out here: http://www.select.com.sg/event1.asp

hi bbp,

sash is used mainly to look nice only... but will restrict guest's movements when they come out to receive their communion cos it will 'close up' the aisle entrance..that means they can only enter/exit from the other end of the pew..

IHM ah? i remember 1 but she was not very active here.. i PM u her nick later and you check with her directly yah..

that florist u mentioned in that post ah? lemme ask my PG.. he was the one who posted

hi caffeinated,

yah i get to keep but i only take back the bowl of fake flowers.. i threw the rest of the fresh flowers cos no point keeping.. i cant use for night time cos the hotel will have their own flowers anyway

thats why, its best not to spend so much on the flowers.. something decent, basic and humble should suffice, in my opinion

hey bbp,
I'll PM u my florist's contact yah? more for you to "choose" from. hahaha...(more like, additional headaches)

Hmmm, I kept my flowers...used them as additional deco for the dinner banquet. haha...

Hey bride, (or was it bbp who wanted to put sash?hahaha)
I agree with Minssy. I wanted to have those sashes linking the pews. But, that would restrict guests movements esp during communion. Even if they have the other end of the pew to come out to receive communion, it may be a bit of a jam/messy after receiving communion and going back into the pews - only one exit and entrance...1st person to come out must wait for all to get back in...Unless it's for a segment that nobody's going to be sitting in kind...

Hey caffeinated,
u were asking abt the sash? yah...I dun mind selling it.
Dunno what else to use it for, now that the wedding is over...hehs. Erm, my florist got the materials. So I'm not sure where she got it from...I tried Arab St on my own before I decided to engage the florist.

Hi Minssy, CSI Fan,
Thanks for all your help on the florists. This kind of headache is necessary. Bo bian. Need all the help I can get.

The sash... looks nice but not practical. So at least I can confirm that I definitely won't be getting that. Haha. Yes, at least something that I can make a decision on

hi bbp,

welcome.. just check out a few recommended will do.. esp those who have experience dealing with catholic churches or your church in particular.. then you will feel more at ease

yah dun get the sash.. the standard ones will be:

1. 2 floral arrangement stands
2. flowers for 20 pews
3. altar chairs
4. altar flowers
5. reception flowers (may or may not include, depends on package)

so, if you can get all of the above at about, say $400, its quite ok.. but of cos if can be cheaper then good lor

hi there

Would like to get hold of your florist contacts too. I'm using St Teresa's. I do not intend to splurge for floral decor in church because I will only be using the church for the mass for an hour or so.

After mass, everyone will leave for the hotel for luncheon.

Thanks! =)

hey Jmi, u said u're using St Teresa's....as in, u're using St Teresa's florist or u're using St Teresa's church? heehee...

(coz my personal opinion is that St Teresa's florist is not cheap).

Hi CSI Fan

I'm using St Teresa's Church. Nope the church's florist ain't cheap. I rang her and she quoted me $800 (said it's very elaborate). I almost fell off my chair!

Hi Jmi

I also using St Teresa for my wedding on 26 May. Yup, agree with you, the church's florist not cheap, she quoted me $700 to $800.

Agree with yo totally, don't wanna waste money on flowers for that 1 hour and my lunch will be somewhere else, so I'll be using The Red Petals.

hi jmi,

yup...that's what she quoted me last year too...haha.
luckily for me, had a cousin whose wedding was a few months before mine at St Teresa's. And he used the church florist. And I saw her work. It's not elaborate enough for me to warrant a $800 price tag. So I used own florist lorh.

Hi nicelip,CSI Fan,

Yeah. I'm DIY-ing the whole wedding thingy. Making it simple and fuss-free nothing fanciful and elaborate. Throwing money into flowers is simply outta the question.

Looks like The Red Petals has one of the most reasonable rates. I don't intend to spend more than $400 for church decor.

<font color="119911">hi caffeinated, thanks for the select link. I signed up already. Going for the event this sunday

hey CSI and Minssy, sashes make the whole church look so nice! But you're both right, it doesn't really make sense cos how to receive holy communion? Alamak... unless every alternate pew got sash. Dunno... I really like it though.

hi nicelip, ya, st theresa's florist really not worth it. Try Minssy's contact. a friend of mine used her and it wasn't too bad. Value for money

nicelip, wise decision to use the red petals! btw, his cost is $350. so far, it is the most value for money which i came across. also, after sharing with other couples marrying on the same day as u, it works out to be really cheap!! (if u are sharing)

rather use the excess money to go on a nice nice honeymoon right?

just like, i know there are people who sent $500 to a grand for the church choir. personally, i think that is too much to pay for a church wedding service, where only a few songs are sung. i hv a good pianoist and a very good vocalist. my guests even asked me where i got them from.. ha!

Woah... $800! Can do up two churches man! Sound like most of u are from the west district. Anyone getting married in other parishes?

Hi CSI: I have not source for a florist yet. wedding is in oct. i don want to use the church florist. too ex. i got a shock when told the price. Can you pm your florist contact to me?

Hi Cafeinated,

Actually I'm not from the west. I'm an Easterner (Holy Trinity) but because I'm holding my buffet luncheon at The Sentosa Spa &amp; Resort and there are quite a number of older folks.

So to solve the logistic nightmare, I asked Fr Arro if I could use St Teresa and he was ok.

Hi diamond,

Unfortunately I'm not sharing, heard the other couple got their own florist

Can I check was your wedding mass the first one in the morning? If yes, did Mark do your decor the evening before or on the actual morning before your mass start?

nicelip, mine was the 2nd one &amp; i co-share with the earlier couple. anyway, dun hv to worry, talk to mark, it will propose how to do it for u.. his guys did it for the earlier couple as early at 715am as her mass was at 9am. if u do the night before, will the fresh flowers die? dont forget, the flowers tied to the pews may not have any water!

U said it diamond, that's the headache I'm having nw. My mass is the first one at 10am. When I first met up with Mark, he told me his practice is to do it on the actual morning to ensure the flowers are fresh.

Didn't expect my church to be so inflexible, the coordinator told me she can only open the church exactly 1 hour before my mass, I try to negotiate a bit earlier at 8:30am also can't. She only allow my florist to do the decor one day before from 6pm to 7pm.

Initially Mark said he may not want to take my job as he cannot guarantee the flowers r still fresh after one night. But I think he sense I'm really desperate, so he agreed to take my job and assured me he will try his best to ensure the freshness of the flowers.

Anyone have similar experience to share? I really worry the flowers will all look half dead by my wedding day.

Hi Jmi,

Mine's exactly three months before urs! Heh. Urs so close to christmas, will the church impose a lot of restrictions on what u can do with the deco?

Hi Cafeinated

Hmmm, no one from the Secretariat said anything :p.

Actually my ideal date is 24 Dec. It's my 12th year anniversary but no priest/choir is gonna be free for me.

<font color="119911">hi nicelip, then I suggest you drop red petals. You can consider Minssy's recommendation: font creative cos my friend used her and I was at her wedding. The deco is very nice! Simple, not too expensive. Cost-wise should be around the same price as red petals. Reason why I am recommending her is because she did the flowers the night before and since her flowers were still fresh and nice the next day, then you can consider her. Rather than risk doing it with red petals and then must either do a rush job in the morning or the night before when he cannot guarantee the "freshness"?</font>

nicelip, there is a couple of things u need to find out.

(1) when is the last mass the night before your wedding day. you said, the coordinator will let you deco the church from 6-7pm... you mean there is no mass after 7pm? she will lock the church hall after 7pm? if not, how can she ensure that no one will disturb those deco set up?

(2) also when is the first mass on your wedding day? no mass till your wedding at 10am? and the church hall is locked prior to 10am? when is your wedding? it may be too early to assume u are the first couple of that day. on my wedding day, which is a super good day, there are couples contemplating to do it at 7am as long as the priest agrees.

(3) u need to ask mark how is he going to keep the flowers fresh if deco is done the night before. is common sense that flowers will die without water. a flower without water tied to a pew will wither in just a few hours!!! even spraying water on the flowers will not help. this is all common sense. u can always call up other florist and post this question to them: how they keep the real flowers fresh if u need to put up the night before. unless they use fake flowers --- YUCKS if so

nicelip, everything is a matter of choices. like the couple before us used real fresh flowers for the bridal car. done by Mark too. he kept the flowers fresh too as he did it the night before. however, personally, i will not use fresh flowers on bridal car. why? what happens if it is raining cats &amp; dogs on the wedding day? u know how ugly &amp; messy the bridal car will look with the fresh flowers on it?

also, unless the car is parked in a private compounds such as in the car pouch of a house, if not, how to ensure that someone will not go destroy the deco if the bridal car is parked at HDB carpark? i dont feel safe also even if i parked it at my apartment carpark. dont tell me, i need to get someone to jaga there the whole night? this is madness okie. so i will just use fake flowers for bridal car deco. of course, fresh flowers are still the best. but, i rather not go through the hassle or take the risk.

u have a choice on everything. just think through and make the best decision.

nicelip, u can never have a perfect wedding as it will come with a hecty price. be it monetary or non-monetary. every bride here has a budget for everything. so just do what u deem fit. is your wedding, u can do what you want as long as u are happy

diamond, thanks for the advice
the main church is not open for weekdays, all masses are held in the small chapel during weekdays so the church will be locked after my decor is done. There are also no masses prior to my wedding at 10am, so I guess the flowers should be pretty "safe" in that sense

I agree there is no perfect wedding, in fact, its the little imperfections and hiccups during the wedding that will u make u &amp; yr partner look back and laugh abt it many yrs down the road.

I'm not bothered with details actually, but it's still money spent at the end of the day and of course I would rather want fresh instead of withered flowers for the money spent. Suppose I'll have to leave it to the expert.

<font color="119911">hey girls, anyone going for the MPC starting this sunday?

Hey JMI, wow, 12 years! That's long!

Oh ya, just a word of caution to everyone. Just the other day, in another forum, they found out that one of the brides in the forum kept promoting her bridal studio because she was actually an employee! Then some brides got cheated also... so be careful of who you listen to. We're all here to offer some opinions but it's up to the bride herself to decide who she wants to believe. That's why now when people promote a vendor so strongly, I can't help it but be skeptical. AGAIN, THIS IS JUST MY OPINION...</font>

Hi Jmi,

Haha... and guess what? You're about to embark on an evergreen season of marathon call marriage. Happy journeying.

<font color="119911">haha yeah Jmi, Caffeinated's right. The journey of marriage is far betta than the journey TO it

Caffe(don't mind me shortening it yah), bride,

Yeah, we both see the journey ahead with more commitment. Gone are the days of impulsive shopping ...:p

hi bbp,

i mentioned in this thread just a few days ago.. she is susan from font creative, also a catholic. u may call her direct.. 9699 0104.

you may wanna speak to her and get opinion to see if you really wanna or have time to even diy.. there are really alot of stuff u need to do/prepare on the eve of your wedding and you are so not going to spend time on the flowers yourself...

Hi Minssy,

Thanks. What about the pics that your PG posted? Has he replied you yet? If I do indeed DIY, will probably delegate it to my friends/helpers. I already have people volunteering their help
Still deciding...

Hi Minssy and all Catholic brides out there,
Can I check if you have a sample of what we need to put into the wedding booklet? (i.e the songs, readings etc, basically a mock up) to share? And can I also check if we need a emcee for the church wedding too? lastly, and BTB who will be marrying in Blessed Sacrament Church? Thanks and Happy Easter!

Hey bbp, sorry, I didn't get on to my email the past few days. Wasn't feeling well...okie. sending it when I'm done with this post.

Hey nicelip,

Yup, the sacristian at St Teresa can be pretty sticky, esp if u're not using the church florist. Think they buck-up. hahaha. but, my wedding was at 11am. My florist did the deco the day before at 4pm (according to her lah). Used fresh roses. And the flowers were still so fresh after my wedding mass. I guess it also depends on the kind of water used for the flowers and the kind of setup. I wanted those "hanging balls" for the pews instead of those tied to the pews kind.

How did she manage to get in so early to do the deco? She knows the priest, so she got Fr to open the doors for her. heehee...after my mani/pedi session, my fren-cum-wedding planner drove me there to take a peek at the deco...so I know it was up before 6pm. hahaha. So you might want to consider Minssy's contact...Susan's a catholic, so who knows? she might know the priest too, and might be able to get an alternative "opening" time...

I think the flowers will remain fresh, coz St Teresa is air-conditioned. Plus, the church is always locked except for weekend mass. Not opened to the public. So the air inside the church is quite cool...the flowers can last lah...(unless florist gives a "going-to-wilt" kind of flowers in the first place lah...)

Nicelip and Jmi, just a note of caution first...you may experience some more "difficulties" during the rehearsal...but we can always get around it...

Happy Easter Gals!

Thanks for all the help and advice. Does anybody know which caterer comes with deco? Cos the hall that we are using for the reception is pretty big, so quite concerned that the place will look sparse without deco.

CSI Fan,
Hope you're feeling better now...

One more question about reception. Do we need tables for the lunch? I'm thinking of not getting tables, just have everyone milling around. But not sure if that's strange or anything.
*soon to be tearing my hair out*

Hi merribell,
You didn't leave ur email. I got my samples off minssy. Can send them to u.

Hi bbp,
A handful of caterers do offer floral deco but u have to top up, usually about $350 for basic set up (probably similar to what u get from church florist). Off the top of my head i can only think of kr*ston. They have a wedding show coming up this month, u can go take a look.

Personally i think u should still have some kind of seating arrangement, especially for the older folks, children, and pregnant friends. Whether they want to sit or not is another thing but at least they have the option.

Happy Easter Sunday all!

was wondering if the wedding couple from SFA that are getting married on 7 July also log in here.
If yes, do let me know.

According to the parish secretary, there are 2-3 weddings for that day, so i was thinking if we want to split the florist cost.

Hi Caffe,
Oh yes, for the young and old and pregnant. That's a good point that I didn't think of. Thanks.

Does anybody have the contact of CG(Cornwall)? She doesn't accept PM. Thinking of taking Mum's Kitchen for my lunch reception and the church florist which is exactly like hers, so would really like her advice.