Catholic Brides

Hi Lovebug,

You can pass on the actual day, as the ROM documents only consist 1 wedding certificate(contains only the officiant's signature) and another one is a copy(contains both brides and groom, 2 witnesses and the officiant).
The officiant(in this case your priest) supposed to send back the copy.

I had my ROM last March with a JP and that's the procedure. I think should be the same since the documents are the same.

So have you started feeling a bit 'jittery' as your big day is nearing?

Hi lovebug...tks will go and source for the song. Aiyoh another headache....

Hi minssy...aware that ur PG is simon...not sure whether can u show me some of his work? cos might me engaging him too...thank u

Hi lovebug,

No worries, I'm sure everything will goes smoothly and you are going to be a beautiful bride on your big day.

Btw, the Parish secretary just called me few days ago and told me to contact the couple who are going to be helping out with the church wedding preparation.
Actually, what do they actually going to help us with? I havent called them yet.

hi anna,

i PM you the link.. but first, check if he is still available lah.. good PGs are such that once they are booked for the date, its thats it...

Minssy…can bother u some more.

U have a sample of the mass booklet?
Sample of church invitation card?

For your wedding…u meet ur hubby at the church isit or he come over to pick u at home?

hi Anna,

Oh....SMOTA ah....yah, heard it's quite ex. But it's quite a nice parish, with its full length glass doors and clean, clear cut lines (architecture, I mean...hehs.
) Lots of natural light. Great for photos. The hanging crucifix is also unique (my fren's pageboy and flowergals were a little scared of it, at first sight...). Best part is, your bridal car & entourage gets to go up to the reflection pool (front of church)...hehs. You dun get to drive up there any other time...

It's really nice of your ILs to pay for you guys...That parish probably has special meaning for them...Maybe they got married there last time?

Music wise, I think it would be more appropriate to go for classical / instrumental pieces. Apart from Canon in D by Pachelbel, alternatives are: Trumpet Voluntary by Clarke/Purcell (very grand too. more fanfare type.); Air on a G String by Bach, which is also the tune for a modern song Love; Somewhere in Time...amongst others.

hi CSI Fan,

Yah the church is very beautiful for wedding. They have been staying at that 'area' for many many years & most of their relatives is at that area so we decided to get married there too.

Haiz..me now have problem wf page boy...can't find one.

As for the songs u have recommended will go and source for it.

hi cookie bunny,

i kpo. the couple will be helping in your mass booklet prepration and the church rehearsal at least..

hi anna,

i can send you my samples lor...

i wanna play so i had my gate crashing.. then tea ceremony then the church ceremony....

Minssy,
Thanks for the answers
Did they approach you the last time or you have to make the first 'move'? Find it kind of strange to call them first.

Anna,
I'm engaging Simon for my big day as well.

hi cookie bunny,

i called them up first to tell them that i exist :p. after that its quite mutual..

oh u got simon too? cool!
i miss simon :p

hi anna,

welcome.. send to you later yah...

hi diamond,

its normally abt 2 mths before the wedding.. cos the rehearsal is normally done like 1 - 2 weeks before the wedding... when is your AD btw? also, maybe you can check with your priest?

hi mountain9, (if you still visits this thread.. keke)

AD approaching yah.. how's things?

Hi Diamond,

My wedding is on 29th Dec, later than yours...hehehe
Dont know why the church secretary so kan-cheong :P Have you signed the pre-nup document with the Priest?

Minssy,
Yup, My SO and I like Simon's work and his rate is reasonable.

Hi cookiebunny,
sorry for the late reply. As wat minnsy said, the wedding buddy will help with the mass booklet, and wedding rehearsal.

We actualy received letter from the wedding buddy, then they arrange for the meet up.

cookie bunny, pre-nup document from the priest? not yet.. where got so early one... i understand that is usually done 1-2 mths before the AD

Hi Lovebug,

No worries, Minssy has helped to reply

How's your preparation? So far so good?

Diamond,
I thought so too, but dont know why the Parish Secretary sounded as if my wedding is next week when she called me...also quite puzzled. I've called the Priest but he hasnt called me back.
I'm worried I'm behind schedule or something but I guess not

cookie bunny.. maybe the parish secretary blur loh... our parish secretary said "see so far away" for our AD.... so i guess she must be quite pissed off at me for keep bothering her!! ha!

hi minssy

havent log in for long time....

yeah....my wedding jus 4 days away!!!! *nervous*

will pass raymond a CD containing my pics and 1 song i like today. He was asking me last nite if i like him to do smth like wat he did for u, but shorter version...So i was watching ur video last nite....hehe....ilike the part ur hubby sit at boat quay and then u appear....

Things more or less done, only detials left....Me and HTB intend to go for ur last pak tor today as bf-gf, before we become husband and wife....hehe

hi mountain9,

yeah.. excited? hee...

yah that boat quay thingy idea is from him and he did all of it.. we just go there and 'act'. hahhahah.

yah enjoy the pak tor before you become an official 'housewife' when u have additional responsibilities to take care of.. keke..

hi mountain9,

heehee...you must be really excited...

Congrats gal...must relax before your big day...

Oh, yah, enjoy your pak tor...
make sure it is pak tor horh...and not a "final wedding preps meeting"...ie. try not to talk about wedding stuff lah!

hi Minssy and CSIFan...

Hehe....thanks!!! =) Today ah, we ended up buying tie for wedding....But, we did go for movie and went for spa together for relax....hehe....

U know, there was once i mentioned about wedding today and my HTB simply said: wedding? wat wedding? we getting married meh?? haha....He simply wanted to pretend that it was the old days kind of pak tor...

housewife?? sigh...ya....that will come soon....sigh

Hope everything is going well with your wedding preps,
Im currently scouting for florists for the church as well as catherers..
Any recommendations ?
Many thanks!

Hi girls!

Need some help here. My AD is in 9th Dec and so far i have met up with Fr once about 2 weeks back. However, it was a very short meeting and all he asked was when's our AD, are we both catholics and where we would be staying. After that, he arranged to meet us in early Nov but my FH would be doing his reservist then. Hence he has arranged to meet us on the 26th Nov. He has told us to bring all the necessary documents then. But how about rehearsal, and signing of the pre-nup? Would we have enough time to do all these? Kinda kan chiong already.. pls help!..

hi adel,

read thru the past few archives.. it's mentioned actually..

hi kyrie,

i posted an excel spreadsheet on documents to prepare for your pre nup interview. read thru first yah..

we intend to have a church wedding next year but no dates yet. will be attending EE towards end of this year. i am a catholic but he is not one. we have just ROMed but not staying together until after the church and customary wedding. we were wondering what is there to be done...

Hi Petrina,

Yes, it was certainly good catching up with you, as well as meeting ES for the first time at last month’s wedding. It must have been a good mental ‘dry-run’ for you, and especially ES. I will keep you posted on a few new pointers which I’ve discovered when shooting in SVDP. The flower decor turned out nice. I believe the florist was connected through the groom’s mum. Are you using them? Attending Fr Michael Sitaram’s service has always been a pleasure. "Jesus broke bread with his disciples, 12 of them, all male..." :D Can’t recall if he’s celebrating your service, but if he is, hope you’re both prepared for his leg-pullin’ while up at the rostrum... :P

I’ve delivered the images. I mentioned to the bride about your request to view images. Let me know if she doesn’t get back to you. Meantime here are a few. Enjoy...

375430.jpg

375431.jpg

375432.jpg

375433.jpg

375434.jpg

hi simon,

ooi.. nice nice shots indeed.. u're right about father mike.. he's hilarious.. and rather naggy actually.. hehe.. and yes.. he will be my celebrant for my wedding.. however, still not sure whether i'll be having a mass or a service.. haven't gotten the chance to talk to him just yet..

mirrors are ur occupational hazzard ah? hahaha.. but they are always very beautifully taken..

its been a while since i've last posted in this thread.. does anyone have any details to update into the table?

do leave ur details and i'll upload them into the table by wed night..

Ive been MIA for a sometime. Don't know whether u can still remember me for some.... hmmmm... lots of new comer too. My wedding has been postphoned to 19 aug. Will write again, super busy at Netherlands. God bless!

Hey Elizabeth....

Netherlands? Hmmm....are you the Liz I know? heehee...JK's taking your AD photos?
L & I would like to go over too, but I'm very likely to be stuck with work during that period...(I've been "meeting" up with old friends in this forum manz! hahaha).

Need some recommendations from ur. I need a organist and solo singer/ a small choir. Wanted to engage Philip Lai initially but he is booked on that day.
*Help*

hi shine,
when and where is your wedding? I have a friend who plays for weddings (church pianist / organist)...just need to ask her on her availability

my wedding is at Sacred Heart, 27th January. at 11.30am.

Philip asked me to check if its possible to change to a later timing. Well, if i do tat, everything will be pushed back and i will reach the hotel very late.

hi shine,

what is the reason for shifting? if he has a wedding before that and he cant make it, you see if you can provide tpt to fetch him.

if not, stick to your own timing and just say that u cant change.

hi minssy,

i have told him that i can't change. so now need to look for another organist and choir.

Sacred Heart do not provide choir. I will need to source tat too. If really worse come to worse can't find a choir, then i will get my frens to sing for me.