Catholic Brides

hi lissa,

i got about 33m of white organza from her.. hehe.. but as my cloth width is smaller (22.5inch rather than 45inch) that what she has left.. i paid lesser.. overall.. me paid $40 for about 33m of cloth..

do enjoy ur weekend!! i too can't wait for mine in feb next year.. hehe..

hi kyrie,

i see.. then do it in july lah
need any info can just ask for help here

as for your hubby's dad's side, if there are pple at his place, then get some food. else its ok cos everyone will be in church and thats of cos compulsory to have a buffet. it also depends on the timing lor.. no hard & fast rule.. for us, we did not cater at all cos after the tea ceremories, we will go for chuch and lunch reception is served there.

Hi Kyrie,

I'm catholic but my FH is not. My side of the family is all catholic but his side is all not. In fact for most of his family, it'll be the first time they're attending a church wedding.

But i'm still having the lunch reception in church after mass. It's so much neater. What's more i'm only doing my tea ceremony in the late afternoon directly before the dinner. So from church i'm going straight to the hotel liao.

Lissa

Hi Petrina,

Did you buy up all her white organza or did she have more left? Actually i can't really visualise how long 33m is leh. Will you be using it for your pew decorations? That's what i'm thinking of using it for... but how many pews can you decorate with 33m of organza?

Lissa

Hi lissa,
Enjoy your EE!! Tonight right? Have fun!

FH and I did our EE in Mar05, and now he also wants to do MPC. hahaha. I don't mind lah, coz it's a good chance to reaffirm things and strengthen the r'ship.

Hi Kyrie,
like minssy said, if there are pple at your hubby's side, then can get food for them. But if they dun mind, they can go SFA, maybe just let them kneow what time to be there for lunch. They can actually join in the service/mass also if they feel comfortable (just dun take communion).

It is finally my wedding tomorrow!
Hope things will run smoothly and leave things in His hands. Yes, trust the Lord. Also praying that He will bless our marriage richly.

Got to run now from the office. Half-day leave today. Haha!

hi lissa,

i'm not planning to link all the pews together coz that will definately not be enough.. planning to use that cloth to decorate the front entrance.. reception table and bride and groom's chairs..

as for the pews.. i'll be buying other ribbons and flowers to decorate them..

she still has got the 45inch cloth left.. one 7m and one 8m i think.. but she's got ivory and lilac colours also.. maybe u can take a look.. ask her to send u the photos.. 33m of cloth can cover about 13-15 pews on each side of the asle i think..

i'm catholic and my FH is not too!!.. but mine actually has no intention of converting so i'll have to leave that in god's hands.. we'll take one step at a time i guess..

hi fleur,

Congrats!!! may u be a beautiful bride and enjoy ur big day!!

hi fleur,
Congratulations! God bless! Wah, tmrw big day, and you're still working today ah (although half day)... Have fun!!

Hi lissa,
I'm sure it will be. Just relax and enjoy. Btw, who's the priest doing this weekend?

Congrats fleur!
Have a beautiful day tomm.

Hi Minssy, Lissa and CSI,
guess the aunties and all from my FH's dad's side will not be going to church. So they'll be at my FH's place for the tea ceremony. Whereas for church, most prob my side (both mum and dad) and FH's mum side will be in church. Hai.. guess got to cater 2 buffets liao lor..

Just wondering about the cost though..

Thanks for advice though!

hi kyrie,

generally, caterers will do a tea/lunch for min 30 pax.. u have to see lor.. we cant really decide for you cos we have no idea how many pple could be present and what time it is... u can get teas from $5/pax and lunch at $10/pax, in general...

just wanna share some pictures of holy trinity and of cos my florist's works.. i go for pink & champagne themes.. and i just go for roses..

hi csi fan,

okie will send you my multiply link later

to the rest of the fellow catholic brides who had shared your happiness with me, you can PM me your email address and i will send the link to you too

hi kyrie,

oh thats cool... actually i only told my florist that i want roses and the color scheme.. the rest she do up.. so if pple think its cool, then its great! hee..

Hi Minssy,

Thanks for sharing your pics here... I;m not going to hold at Trinity anymore... coz the date I have chosen was prebooked by another couple, so going over to St Annes instead.

Think your florist did a good job. Would you mind sharing how much you spent for the church decor?

i am back! I would say that I too had a great, blessed wedding! In the true tradition of newly-weds like Carelinwen and Minssy, I shall share more about my AD later. Going off to honeymoon in Mauritius. Will write more when I am back next week.

Hi Minssy,
I also like the deco of your pews.

hi roidana,

hello..long time no 'see'

i see.. st anne's will be cool too..

everything is only $400.. my florist still came back after the service to help me rearrange the flowers in the dining hall.. really help me to save money.. cool

hi fleur,

thanx! i am glad that the florist did a good job.. woohoo! cool cool.. yes come back and update us more okie? enjoy your honeymoon!

minssy,
Ic... she shifted the flowers to the hall? that's quite good service man.. saves you the cost of having flowers in the hall! that's nice of her!

hi roidana,

yeah.. actually long time ago when i met up with her, she said that my helpers could do the arrangment.. so when she offered help herself, i think its very very nice of her

Hi mountain,

Hmmm... wonder who you are too leh.
It was quite a packed weekend so not sure if you'll remember us, our names are Andy & Melissa.
How did you find the weekend anyway? I found it a bit too shiong! Maybe cos me and FH had many late nights during that week so we were very very tired throughout the whole weekend.

Lissa

Hi Minssy,

Thanks for sharing your photos!
I like your pew flowers. Very simple and sweet! Will consider your florist. I've already written down her name and number. It's Susan from Font Creative right?

Hi Fleur,

CONGRATS on a beautiful wedding day!
Enjoy yourself in Mauritius and tell me all about it when you get back cos that's where i might be going too!
I haven't booked yet... but it's my most likely HM destination.

Hi CSI,

The priest who did the weekend was Father Paul Staes. Dun think you'll know him cos it's only his 2nd weekdend. He was quite funny though... provided almost all the comic relief throughout the presentations.

Lissa

hi lissa,

yeah
u got the contact
thanx for your comments... anyway, did i also mention that she is also a catholic? at least she knows stuff lah.. so i feel safe and just let her handle whatever necessary

so did you benefit from the EE?

Hi Lissa

Hm...Andy and Melissa...dun rem leh...Think we never sit together for meals before...too many couples liao..

Our names are Eunice and Jacob...I was the one who say weekend very intense and tiring during the final session where all of us gave our comments for the weekend. I really found it quite mentally draining, all the dialogue sessions...a bit too packed la...hehe

Hi Lissa, mountain,

Oh, Fr. Paul Staes...dunno him. I had Fr. Ambrose Vaz during my weekend. He's also quite funny. Good to have priests who can crack jokes etc during the weekends...coz that can help to keep us awake! hahaha.

yah, it can get a bit tiring, there are just so many things that can exist in a relationship that they can't really aqueeze them all in 1 weekend. Think that's why there's MPC too. If you gals have the time, can try going for MPC as well. In any case, hope you two had a meaningful experience with ur other halves.

Hi Minnsy & CSI,

EE was ok. To be honest, me and FH had already discussed all of the topics raised. So in a way it wasn't anything new and we didn't really find out stuff about each other that we didn't know before. Guess it's cos we talk about anything and everything under the sun.
The good thing is that it felt really good to know that we are indeed prepared when we've discussed almost all the questions & issues raised and were on common ground for all of them.

Hi Eunice,

Hmmm... i also dun rem you leh. But to me honest neither me nor FH were very sociable during the weekend. We were concentrating on each other and we were both really very tired so retired early on both nights.

Lissa

Hi CSI and Lissa

Well, the weekend was good for us. Even though we had talked about some of the topics previously, it was very serious discussion and usually distracted along the way and hence, did not arrive at any conclusion. So in a way the EE weekend forced us to really sit down and hv some serious discussion.

As for MPC, dont think will have the time to go for it...

Lissa, its ok, both my FH and I also not tat sociable. We went with our own group of frens and most of the time, we jus stick together, also didnt really talk to the rest.... When and where will ur wedding be? Mine will be in Jun at Nativity...

Anyone had their wedding at the SJI chapel in St Joseph's Institute?? Wld like to know how the interior look like. Thanks.

hi mudpie,
Didn't know we can hold a wedding at the SJI chapel. Does the groom need to be an alumni? From what I remember, the interior is all white, including the pews. And there's a stained glass feature behind the altar. Went there with my younger bro a few years back when he was choosing secondary school. If your FH (sorry, I'm assuming that you are the bride
) is an old boy, think he should know what it looks like...

Hi CSI Fan,

Yes, my husband is an old boys there, and he knows how it looks like, but, personally, I hve not seen it before, so not sure what's it like.

By the way, just curious, must there be any valid reason for choosing to be married in a particular catholic church? Cause, we are thinking of the St Teresa's as our first choice, and if it's not available, then SJI chapel.

hi mudpie,

ask your hubby to speak to brother mike (michael broughton). advise tat he makes a call to the secretary (still ms Bee?) to catch bro mike during his free time and then go down personally to ask... basically he'll hand u the keys (cannot keep) and u run your own show from there...

logistics-wise, they shuld have the red carpet, otherwise flowers/catering has to be arranged your end. there's an assembly area behind the chapel tat is perfect for putting the food and the place can comfortably stand 50-60pple. the chapel can sit abt 40-50 at least, if i can still remember.

the chapel will have the cd player for u to play your music. u'll need to get your own priest to go down and i figure u'd need at least 4men (preferably 1 is an SJI buddy and can go down with your hubby to see bro mike), and another 3 girls to help with logistics.

i helped my best fren setup his wedding there abt 4yrs ago. we're all old boys and pretty close with most of the pple there, well, the older batch of teachers lah... i would think tat u'd need a at least 2 pro-active frens to help out. depending on the time, u may have to do the setup the nite before... my best fren's wedding was at 9:30am sharp. the evening before, 4 of us guys + bride's sister went down to lay the carpet, test the sound system and basically make sure all was ok. early next morning, 2 lady helpers had to go down early to receive the florist, the setup took roughly 40mins cos i rememeber the girls had to go down an hour before us.

oh ya, was abit hot... but maybe now might have an aircon? think this is impt.. i do suggest abt 10am-1030.

the Chapel is to me... made for marriages to be sealed in God's presence... so white and so personal... u'll know wat i mean when u see it... good luck!

ps: i did my buddy's wedding in 2000 so some changes may have taken place.

Hi mudpie,
when is your AD? Mine is at St. Teresa. FH is an alumni of SJI, but I prefer St. Teresa for its long aisle...heehee. I'm not sure abt any particular valid reason, I guess it has to have some meaning to the couple eg. that's their parish, parents/grandparents got married in that parish...etc.

Hi powder, wow, what you guys did for ur fren's wedding sounds cool manz. It must have been really nice...

Hi Mountain,

Oh so you must have been one of those couples that were alwauys in groups.
Me and FH noticed a couple of groups that seemed to know each other quite well and guessed that they were already frens from before the weekend. For us we didn't know anyone. So concentrated on each other instead.

My AD is March 06... slightly earlier than yours. Will be getting married in IHM. Quite near Nativity.

Lissa

My AD is 25 Nov 06. The thing is, both myself and hubby (rom alrdy) are not staying in Singapore, so, my hub actually sent the priest (not sure who, he got the name frm his dad)an email, but there's still no reply till today.

Personally, I'm not a catholic, am therefore pretty lost, but, like CSI Fan, I really like the idea of walking down the long aisle, and was formerly from St Teresa's in Secondary days.

Powder, the wedding you helped out at sounds like fun. Guess for us, there shouldn't be problem getting help when our wedding comes, cause my hubby's bunch of friends are all old boys. We did try to go and hve a look at the chapel when we were back just few weeks ago, but due to the traffic, we somehow ended up in PIE, as we were rushing for time, so gave it a miss.

hi mudpie,

my AD is also 25th Nov 06 leh!! hehe..

i'm having my church wedding at SVDP.. went down today to take a look at my church and took some photos so that i can discuss the colour theme with my coordinator..