Catholic Brides

Ok, since it seems acceptable, i'll try and work with using the projectors and doing without mass booklets. Now just have to find out if i'm allowed to use it and how to coordinate using it cos it's quite a complicated system.

Lissa

hi mudpie,
eh? chances of approval are slim? sounds cheem. How come leh? The date you want is taken up? coz all I did for mine was to call up the church, ask him if the date is available, and that's it. Got approval one ah?

Hi Guys... I'm also a catholic and going to marry a non-catholic.

My AD is 27 May. We will be having the wedding at Nativity(Upper Serangoon Road).

Would like to know what else do we need to prepare for the wedding such as the couple candles.

hi emma,

its hard to tell you what is needed to be prepared. u can post a list of questions here and we can answer.

candles are not compulsory in a wedding mass/service. its dependent on the priest actually.

Hi Bliz
it's meaningful to solemnize your wedding in a church. For myself, I have gotten my keys last Oct and will be having my AD in July.

Hi CSI,

I really am not sure, I think it's because my husband doesn't attend the church or something like that. Anyway, think now i've got another headache which is the dinner venue. So, maybe will leave this church thing to my husband to settle. Sigh.....

hi mudpie,
oh i see...think that bit is dependent on the priest...coz my FBIL married a non-catholic at a parish that neither of them attends...The priest at St. Teresa didn't even ask if FH and I are from that parish. I'm not from St. Teresa, FH attended there when he was a kid, but recent years, have been attending other parishes.

Anyway, dun think too much. yap, split up the work will be easier. Have you shortlisted ur dinner venue?

Hey Emma,

I am also getting married at Nativity!!! I think its not a very popular church for wedding....u r the first whom I have met in this thread getting married there...

My wedding would be on 3 jun 06...jus one week after urs...

Like Minnsy said, I also think that wedding candles depends on the priest celebrating the service/mass. Cos I attend my fren's and hers dun have lighting of the candles. Who is the priest celebrating ur wedding service?

Hi girls!

I just found out that there'll be another couple sharing the church premises with me on my AD. The secretariat has told me that i can actually contact the other couple to discuss the floral arrangement and perhaps share the cost. My church wedding will prob be first cos mine's the morning slot.

Hmm.. wondering how i should go about it now. Hee minssy you there? You always got lots of ideas!

Hi Mountain,

Glad to know that i;m not alone.... Fr Tay will be celebrating for us... Mine will be a service. Will need to check with Fr for the mass order.

U? Have you spoke to the church secretariat? she is very nice one, i have met her last night to make payment the church booking.

Let me know if you need any information... I will share with you...

hi kyrie,

u paged for me ah? ok here i am! hahhahah

ok for your case:

1) call the other couple and said that you are having the same AD as her and will be keen to collaborate with her in terms of church arrangements.
2) discuss and compromise on flowers (type, color, pattern), catering (if its from the same caterer, they may give you more discount or give u more freebies).
3) there will be more details like reception table arrangment etc but all these logistics issues are too early for you to sort out...it can only be done nearer to AD.
4) mass booklets: can even share similar songs
5) choir: gonna use the same choir or hire philip lye?
6) church rehearsal: can do on the same day too
7) altar boys: priest will source themselves so you all can 'share' the same boys

thats abt it i can think of for now.. any questions just shoot

Hi Kyrie,

I initially wanted to hold it in my parish, but another couple beat me to it :p So in the end, i chose another parish instead.

The reason why i chose another church is that my parish says that they can only accomodate 1 reception. Coz the set up and clearing time for the reception will be quite substantial, so even though there are 2 weddings, there can only be 1 reception.. so i had no choice

You might want to check with your church on the reception. Hopefully it may not pose a prob if the timing of the 2 weddings are pretty far apart.

Hi minssy, hahah know you sure can help.

Hmm.. yah i think i will contact the other couple when it's nearer to our AD. Now still abit too early to talk about it yet. Will have to call the secretariat to ask for her number.

Oh yah one more thing, instead of having the lunch reception in the church, i'm planning to have one for each side (i.e. at my mum's place and my FH's place) As i will prob be inviting my class pupils for the wedding (i guess including some parents as well since they are only in P5 - I've to cater a bus cos most live in AMK area while the church is in the West) I wonder what to serve them since there wouldn't be any reception in church.. Any ideas?

Hi minssy, hahah know you sure can help.

Hmm.. yah i think i will contact the other couple when it's nearer to our AD. Now still abit too early to talk about it yet. Will have to call the secretariat to ask for her number.

Oh yah one more thing, instead of having the lunch reception in the church, i'm planning to have one for each side (i.e. at my mum's place and my FH's place) As i will prob be inviting my class pupils for the wedding (i guess including some parents as well since they are only in P5 - I've to cater a bus cos most live in AMK area while the church is in the West) I wonder what to serve them since there wouldn't be any reception in church.. Any ideas?

hi roidana,

Yah i know what you mean. I actually attend SVDP or CTK but since I have been going to SFA in the recent years, my FH and I decided to hold our wedding there. Kinda far for me though it's really near his place.

Hee i thought i was really KS to book the church for my wedding which is in 9 Dec 06, in Sept this year (straight after we completed our MPC) but when the secretariat called me a few nights again to confirm timing as there's another couple intending to hold theirs there, i was kinda relieved.. I still dunno if i should have a recep in church as I have mentioned in my previous post.. so the other couple might still be able have their recep in church.

hi kyrie,

u shd contact NOW so that she know that there will be collaboration. if its too late and she has planned stuff already, u have to accept her whatever ideas if she is not subject to changes.

its awkward not to have reception in church if you have other guests that are not present in both parent's place. depending on timing, the priority shd be church reception than the houses... u gotta tell me an estimate timing before i can suggest more..

My church timing will be at 10.. the thing is cos my side, my relatives will be proceeding back to my place for tea ceremony and since my FH's side (only his mum's side is Catholic) and the rest of the relatives will be going to his place for the tea ceremony, i was thinking that perhaps we wouldn't need to have another buffet in church...

Hi Minssy,
I have already contacted Philip Lye and 'booked' him for my wedding mass = ) He sounded quite experienced and told me that I only need to meet up with him sometime Jun/Jul since my AD is next Dec 06. He said there would not be a need for him to be present at the rehearsal...I'm quite worried leh if he's just going to be there on the actual day...what do you think?

Kyrie,
Im having mine at Church of the Risen Christ.

hi kyrie,

nah.. cant think this way.. guests can be hungry.. its not nice and not cool.. u still have to provide at least tea reception.. maybe instead of providing for 100, u provide for 60 that kinda thingy lah... maybe food will go to waste if no one will eat BUT what if there are pple who are hungry and expecting food and you didnt even provide?

hi bliz,

cool cool... oh he is very experienced!! u dun have to worry a single crap! haahhaahh! during the rehearsal, i used my canon in D CD and played the song just to time my walk in time.. he really dun have to be there one.. trust me

trust god

Hi Kyrie,

I suggest you look thru your guest list. If all present is just relatives, who are all involved in the tea ceremony, then ushering them to the respective houses for buffet should be ok.

However, if you have church goers (like mum's friends etc) present, then it's more tricky, then cant just proceed to AMk for buffet, can they?

Also, if you are having a choir singing for you,you may want to consider providing refreshments for them in the church itself..
So i guess at the end of the day, you have to see who is present at your church wedding....

Hi minssy, thanks! Will arrange something then.

Hi bliz, i see..it's the one in Toa Payoh? So will you be having your wedding during their masses?

Hi roidana,
All guests present will be relatives, I will not be having a choir cos my aunt will be doing the singing for me. The only thing is, i've got my pupils (most prob) coming for my church wedding but i guess it wouldn't be too many of them. I'm afraid that having to cater to such a small number, the cost doesn't seem quite justfiable. Booking of the reception hall alone is $300.. so i'm still considering what can be done..

hi kyrie,

oh! what is $300 when we spend $3000+ for a bridal package? *blink* tea reception can be at $5 per pax and min is 30 pax or something.. since you are doing catering for your houses, i am super sure the caterer can 'shun bian' do tea for you at the church premises..

Hey minssy, don't worry lah.
no probs bout it! yah lor, that was what i was thinking.. to do a small tea recep in the church. Then again, might suggest to my mum to have our side's lunch recep in the church. Then after that they can proceed home for the tea ceremony. If possible, better still if we could do the tea ceremony in church for my side.

Hi kyrie, hmm. to have 2-3 recep may be a hassle.. and the caterer may have to set up (buffet table, decorations) for 2-3 places... so not sure if that will cost you more in the end... do consider okie?

Hi Emma

Har? Need to pay? Hm...I havent leh...

Mine will be Fr Stephen Yim, he is from CTK. Actually I wanted to get married at CTK but it is already fully booked for May and June...But at that time, we already asked him to celebrate our wedding mass. So when we went to Fr Tay, he very kindly let us have our wedding there even though its celebrated by a priest from another church.

So, I dunno if the secretary knows about my date yet cos when I went to book, it was with Fr Tay and he noted down in his diary...Hm...need to call the secretary tomorrow to check.

Ya, I think I need to ask about what and how in that church....haha....maybe we can correspond thru email instead? My email is [email protected]

I am sooo happy to know someone else who is having wedding there cos I really a bit lost...

hi minssy,

Reading your reply to Kyrie regarding flower arrangment. My wedding at St Mary's is at the 2nd slot in the morning.

I'm just wondering... could we request the choice of flowers for the church? Or we just take whatever the florist arrange on that day?
And the flowers will be the same even if there are 2 weddings in a row?

hi kyrie,

yeah.. anyway, you are still quite early in your planning.. most prob things will change if you have too many opinions from everywhere.. so u gotta decide when its nearer to date...

hi viv,

if you are the second slot and that its a tight timing from the first, most prob it will be the same. cos florist need at least a good 45 mins to do the setup of the flowers (i dunnoe how big st mary's is). if your timing is tight and u wanna have a different florist to take down the flowers and redo what you wan, time may not be on your side...

technically u can choose the choice of flowers but if you are going to share the cost with the first slot person, thats where the compromise have to be reached between the 2 parties....

hi viv,

one of my friends had her wedding at St Mary's, and hers was the 3rd slot. According to her, she and the 2nd slot couple had to take the 1st couple's choice of flowers...coz 1st couple didnt't want any colour other than white. I remember this coz my friend was so upset abt it...(her husband side non-catholic, so white flowers is like funeral to them). But in the end she managed to persuade the 1st couple to put in a little pink flowers.

hope this info is useful to u...

Hi CSI,

Yah, guess we'll do that.

We have actually confirmed with The China Club with deposit payment. But recently saw on the thread that the food is very disappointing, so, am now having 2nd thoughts. Also spoke to my parents and they said that they're okay abt not having any dinner. So, we may just cancel our dinner and go ahead with the Church ceremony and reception after that. Am thinking of having a marquee at the church if there's enough space. Have sent an enquiry to Blue Ginger to check out their packages, still waiting for reply. If we're not having the dinner, maybe can spend more on this reception.

Hi Mountain9,

Yes, u need to pay for booking for the church and the flower for the alter.

So both of u are catholic?

Hi Viv,

I think CSI is right. In St. Mary (the one in Bt. Batok rite??
St. Mary is not very flexible abt flowers. U have to follow their florist since the cost is oready included in the donation. (tts one of the reason y the donation is huge they say
) Also if there are more than 1 couple, usually the first couple that book the church on tt day choose the flower colour.

But no harm to talk to the secretariat n see wat they can do for u..

hi mudpie,
the marquee idea is cool...
Nice, nice...If you are having ceremony at St Teresa, there's space for the marquee at the tennis courts/upper car park area (then u'll be right at the peak of the little hill). Of course subject to priest's approval to set up marquee there...

Hi Minssy,
How many AD photos are you able to get developed as part of your package deal with your photographer? I will only have 216.

Hi Mudpie,
The marquee idea will be nice. Might be a bit expensive though. By the way, kudos to you for planning your wedding in Singapore whilst overseas.

Hi Bliz,
Not to worry about Philip not being around at the rehearsal. I was initially very worried that my choir was not at my rehearsal. However, in the end, everything turned very well.
I guess when they are experienced, they will know what to do. Remember to get your cantor though.

Hi Emma, you might also like to get the ring pillow.

Oh yes, Happy New Year everyone. Have a blessed new year ahead.

hi fleur,

in the package, it was 200. i chose 312 in the end and just pay the cost back to back lor

for church & dinner, 216 will not be enough one lah.. anyway, if you take extras, make sure that each copy will not exceed $0.40 cos this is the standard amount for each 4R....of cos if it cost less than $0.40, it will be merrier.. kekeke..

Hi Minssy,

Thanks very much! Haha.. Had a hard time chosing. I have much less than you though... only slightly more than 400.

So, this is the first new year that we are celebrating in our new houses... Interesting... I am still getting used to the new home. Hope that you are enjoying the married life so far.

hi fleur,

so u chose 400 or you had 400+ shots in total ah?

yes yes its the first year.. hee.. i am also trying to get used to it.. i am not a catholic, in case you dunnoe, but i follow hubby to church.. but i feel abit weird cos i am still not familiar with the mass procedure. wahahahha. pai seh sia....

married life is cool in most i would say.. its definitely ultra sweet to snug into bed with hubby and waking up together.. kekeke...

Hi Minssy,

Haha... din make myself clear... I had 440 shots in total to be exact... So, I guess we had an easier time choosing than you.

Yes, I remember that you are not a catholic... that's why, like I say, you are so commendable...
Did you start going to mass only after the wedding? Are you going to holy trinity church? Hubby and I go there occasionally.
Take your time and slowly get used to the pace of the mass. Do you sit down, kneel and stand up at the wrong time? ;P

Yes, married life is sweet. Am still trying to develop a routine... especially when it comes to housework. haha!

Hi CSI & Fleur,

Yap, I thought a marquee would be cool, but that's just a thought, like CSI mentioned, have to get approval first...

Fleur, would a marquee be ex?? I've no idea at all..... hmm..........will wait for the quote to come in, then we'll decide. Anyway, thanks for the warning, at least, I'm prepared, and won't jump when I receive the quote...hee... But we are still exploring other alternatives as well.

hi fleur,

ohhhh! i see i see
u like the shots?

a.. i went to mass with him once a while before the wedding also... yes i go to holy trinity! hee... and bcos we are normally late, we dun usually have a seat.. i rather stand so that i dun have to know when i need to stand or seat! wahahhahhah

housework? i am the lazy sort so i will only do once a week. hee..

Hi Mudpie,

I had read in this forum somewhere that someone paid $2000 for a marquee... Then again, it will depend on the size of the marquee and features, such as number of fans etc, won't it? Out of curosity, share your quote with us, ok?

We were very blessed on our wedding day. There was a marquee available for us during the reception. It was actually for another function, so it was a pleasant surprise for us when we saw it on that morning. Maybe you can check and see if there is any upcoming event around your wedding date, to see if you could also share or even simply use an existing marquee.

Hi Minssy,

Yes, we love the shots! Now, just have to find the time to upload it.

Hahaha... we are also usually late...
so, we also end up standing behind. Must try to kick this bad habit... heehee... I wasn't a cradle catholic so I understand how you must feel. Anyway, the sequence of the mass is pretty standard once you get the hang of it after attending a few sessions. Will you be attending RCIA? I think it will help in your understanding.

About housework... yes me too... would rather that the guy do it.
need to train them right from the start of the marriage. hahaha!

hi fleur,

cool cool... would love to see your pics one fine day ;)

yes must train! but well, the nice part of me will wanna let the hubby do his stuff and i be the housewife :p

RCIA? nah.. hee....

h chummy,

novena church ah? its not really mentioned in this forum... u gotta call up and check..

hi chummy,

novena church ah...Saturdays definitely out, coz Sat is reserved for the hourly Novena sessions mah...Sunday is the usual sunday mass lorh. weekdays, no idea...like minssy said, better to call up to ask.

Happy 2006 gals! was at St. Teresa's earlier. There was mass, and then there was this party with countdown. there was music and dancing too. Quite happening. and best part is...the church is so strategically located, we could see the fireworks from both the Esplanade and Harbourfront / Mount Faber (cable car)...wah, talk abt surround sound manz...(in this case, surround fireworks. hahaha)

Hi CSI Fan,

Wow, that'so cool! What time is the midnight mass for new year? Sounds like a very wonderful way to spend new year eve!

Hi Chummy,

I asked that question before about novena church. The thing is novena church and church of the good shepherd are considered churches without parish communities, so weddings are not allowed, unless you are a foreigner who don't have a parish community to begin with. Then again, no harm trying to ask the priests there.

Hi Minssy,
Wow, you sounds like you are really a good wife. Your hubby is really lucky. keke....

As for RCIA, take your time about RCIA... no rush.

hi fleur,

i shy..

yes hubby is not forcing me to take the RCIA course... *phew* will just take it as it is for now