Catholic Brides

hi oraia,

i have about 60 - 100 for church lunch.. guest list not confirmed yet.. hehe..

pine garden cake is delicious? ok.. i'll go check them out..

thanks gal!

hi petrina,

no prob!
just as a gauge ya? my 3-tier cake costs about $480 and it could feed at least 250 ppl (with some leftovers).
so if urs is such a small crowd, u don't need to get such a huge cake
am sure pine garden can work something out.

hi oraia,

great! thanks for ur valuable info.. hehe.. if thats the case.. a 2 tier one will be alright for me..

when was ur AD and which church did u hold it at?

Hi Petrina,

I think a 5-kg cake wouild be sufficient. You can try checking out the cake shops that Minssy has posted earlier.

Hi Oraia,
What flavour of cake did you have?

By the way, gals. It was such a good day on Monday, with such good weather. Can't help but thinking that Minssy must have had a blessed celebration.

hi petrina,

mine was last dec
almost one yr liaoz. at st. francis of assisi.

hi fleur,
hehe, my cake was 3-tier, and all three tiers were different flavours - lychee, choc and strawberry. of course can't tell fr the outside cos it's all fresh cream decorated with real cymbidium orchids.

wah!!

oraia,

ur cake sounds real delicious!! which was the nicest flavour amongst the three that u had? lychee is an interesting flavour.. hehe..

oh.. and do they allow u to put a figurine on top of the cake?

hi Fleur,

thanks.. will go and check it out.. think 5 kg sounds really big.. hehe.. yupz.. missy gave me a cakelist before.. but does not have pine garden in there..

thanks once again gals..

me can't wait for missy to return.. hehe..

minssy is back!! how i miss the threads man!!

ok just a short update cos i am in the airport and will board the plane soon to hong kong...

church was great!!! my team set up the stuff and things were ok... there were some screw ups in the church cos apparently, the church secretariat did not do alot alot of things! argh!

philip lye was fantastic!!!! he led the service and was my commentator so i dun need any one to announce anything... his voice is super great! as mine was a monday service and the attendance was relatively lesser, i was afraid that the church will be quiet.. however, his voice just melted our hearts soo much!

my pg is simon and he being a catholic himself,in is familiar with the procedure.. the dumb me walked in the aisle UNVEILED and he is the one who spotted it! hahahhhaahha! real boo boo but its definitely something to laugh abt...

oh yah!! please memorise your vows yah! it will definitely make the moments more magical

more updates when i am back! overall, i think i had a perfect wedding and thanx to all for your concern and well wishes

hi petrina,

ooh. lychee was my fav, so the bottom and biggest tier was lychee HAHA. so that i'll have some leftover for myself :P
pine garden lets u taste the cake before u order keke. look for wei. he's a great chap.

not sure about figurines i think shd be able to. i wanted fresh flowers for mine, tts y

Hi Oraia,

Your cake sounds delicious! Ha, do you have a pic of your cake?

Hi Minssy,
Looking forward to your return. Looks like walking in unveiled is a 'common mistake'. I attended a wedding whereby the bride also walked in unveiled. Personally, I don't see what's wrong with it. I think in western weddings, the bride is unveiled anyway.
Also, being veiled means that the bride cannot read the passsages/ songs during the service/ mass very well.

Hi Petrina,
I suggested 5 kg because I think there is a min size/ weight to have tiered cakes. Supposedly for support purposes.

hi missy!!

wow!.. so happy that u had a fanstatic day!!..

ur comments about philip lye makes me anxious to book him already.. hehe.. better call him by end Nov..

hahaha.. actually as what fleur said.. a lot of brides forget to put down their veil when walking down the aisle.. hehe.. my VG got a shot of a bride walking down the aisle then forgot about the veil.. so halfway.. someone helped her put it down.. and it was a really good laugh for that day.. the fun stuff that happens..

hi oraia,

wah.. lychee really sounds good!.. guess i better give them a call to find out more.. so i can look for wei is it? thanks thanks..

hi fleur,

oh.. me didn't know about the min weight of the cake.. thanks for highlighting that point to me..

if i didn't remember correctly.. there used to be a table with all the brides info in here right?.. is anyone doing it still?

hi minssy, enjoy your HK trip!! Happy for you that it was such a great day!...

hmmm, I never really noticed a wedding cake at the church weddings I attended. Got such things ah? Then what happens to the cake? Everyone gets to eat it? heehee...coz i've never eaten one before...

Hi Missny
from the way you describe your wedding day, I really anticipate to hear more...enjoy your HM trip.
kao_kiss.gif

I was just informed by my church choir's leader that nobody from the choir will there at my rehearsal. Am feeling a bit jittery and concerned about that, since we won't be know the exact tune of the songs that we have chosen and how to pace the wedding procession etc. Is this the norm that no one from the choir is present?

Hi fleur

I'm not sure what's the norm but I thought that at least the commentator and organist should attend? Maybe you could speak with the choir leader about your concerns - sorry, I'm not much of a help.

hi fleur,

yup, here's the pic - hope i can upload it.

hi petrina,

hehe i had philip lye too. he's good
v nice chap!
327620.jpg

hi gals!!

wah oraia.. ur cake looks so good!! its really beautiful.. can i ask whether u had a colour theme for ur church wedding?

i've got to choose a colour theme for the flowers and am really at a lost as to what colours to choose..

i want something romantic and yet cheerful and a little playful.. hehe.. was actually thinking of pastel colours such as pink, violet, yellow and white.. but think it would look weird?

hi petrina,

yes i did - had colour theme for my whole weddng. hehe. and pine garden matched my theme of lilac and cream, tts y they use cymbidium orchids.

romantic yet cheerful and playful ah. i think what u have chosen is ok, not sure abt the yellow though. why don't u ask ur florist for help?

finally i have abit more time in the hotel to check my posts..hee..

hi aiko, petrina, elizabeth, dawn, annelise, fleur, csi fan

thank you so much for remembering me and your well wishes

yes petrina, philip is fantastic!! book him man! hee...

as for my veil, my PG spotted it so he got a jie mei to unveil me discreetly... really cool.... hee..

hi fleur,

its ok.. just bring a CD to test.. anyway, u just walk your slow speed. there is always an average time that a bride will walk down.. so long as the song is of sufficient length, its ok

ok a fast recap...

i arrived earlier so i went to the waiting room. when its time, i standby to march in with my dad... things went on smoothly and i was just anticipating the exchange of vows & rings part.. really sweet and magical. hahhahahhh! then it was quite abit of saying 'hi' to friends and relatives after the service...

noon time was no break for me cos its for packing for stuff to the hotel and i also personally attended the briefing session....the dinner went well and timing was as planned.... really awesome!!

god gave us good weather! it was abt to rain in the morning at 5+ when i woke up but god made the weather good again! things were smooth and besides the noon part whereby i wanna make sure things were packed and planned well, i was practically enjoying myself and left whatever worries to my helpers team! hehe.. i know that its impt for me to enjoy myself so as what alot of pple had told me, i just let go and let my helpers do the job
god blesses all who had helped me in every little thing that complete the whole wedding

okie.. so much for the updates for now... i am now an official catholic bride! ahahahhahhaha

Hi Minssy,

Glad to hear the magical details of your wedding. Great that it went so well! I think I should give Philip a call soon too.

I'm in HK too right now actually. Shall not disturb you on your honeymoon, but if you need anything PM me okay?

hi oraia,

wow, your cake is nice and quite reasonable too. What is the dimension of the cake?

Cos i was quoted quite expensive hhehehe... $570.

hi viv,

sorry, i can't rem the dimensions.. it's been almost a year. hehe. sorry!

is ur cake from pine garden too?

hi oraia,

well, i just tasted 2 cakes, from pine and cherryl shuen. Perhaps Pine is getting popular now so it's getting more expensive hehehe....

Will try to go around and find other bakery (if hv energy), but if can't find better one, then most prob stick to pine lor.. but i hvn't confirmed with them yet.

wah viv..

$570 for the cake from Pine gardens ah? *faint*

how many layers for ur cake viv? and what about the kg?

gals,

just received an email for the EE weekend.. so excited.. can't wait for it to come.. hehe.. i'll be going from 17-19 Feb..

hi viv,

i see.... hmmm.. from what i recall pine garden goes by est on how many ppl the cake can serve. so mine can serve up to 260 guests at least.
not sure about urs - do u have more guests than that?

hi petrina,

think they don't go by kg leh... if you go by kg it's alot more ex. they go by the dimensions of the biggest tier at the bottom.

hi missy,

aiyoh.. enjoy ur honeymoon leh.. still come in to visit the forum.. hehe.. u're so funny and cute!!.. must spend whatever precious time you have with ur hubby leh..

looking forward to see ur photos by simon.. hehe..

hi oraia,

oic.. ok ok.. me understand now.. i'm just looking for a two-tier cake.. dun want it to be too big..

gals,
do u think it is too early for me to be cake sourcing now since my AD is one year away? oh yah.. and can anyone tell me which caterers u would recommend for lunch in church? coz there are some where the min number of ppl is so big and i only need to find about 80 - 100.. me quite keen on house of peranakan though.. any thoughts?

gals,

i told them my guests are only 180 and wish to hv it 3-tier. i think the lowest tier is 11-inch (so 7-9-11 inch)and the cake cost $520 + accrylic rental of $50.

NOt too sure if that is the real price cos...my bf blurted out that our budget is $500-600 so they may just give that price bcoz of it. I did call them and tell them to hv it lower to $400, they gave me $450 (without the accrylic stand, all 3-tier stacked on top of each layer) and size is reduced to 5-7-9inches. I was told that it'd be enough for 200pp if given small piece.

What do you think gals? Am I being overcharged? Or most of the price is around there?

I need to try to visit a few more, but can't remember which to go. Any recommendation?

hi Petrina,

no lah, dun think it's too early to source. My AD also 1 year from now...but I'm also starting to look at lots of stuff, flowers, cards, caterers, songs/music....heehee. I think just go ahead and look around while we're still excited by the whole thing. Better check things out early, than having to stress out later. This also gives us an idea of what to expect in terms of cost etc...and since we have so much time, to some extent, we wun be "pressured" to eg., buy the cake from A or get the flowers from B etc... hehs.
just my thots lah.

Some of my friends got Four Seasons catering, Kristen, Smiling Orchid, Select Catering for the lunch recep after their mass. You can check these out.

hi petrina,

me back liaozz leh.. today was the first day at work.. boring sia...zzzzzzzzz. and yes, i will send a link to you eventually...

for caterers, its too early to call anyone now.. just look out for potential contacts.. u can only call abt 1 mth before your AD since yours is a small order... i ordered for 50 pax from CJS... got good reviews from my guests..

hi gals!!

CSI fan.. hehe.. me like ur nick.. i love CSI too!!.. when is ur AD? maybe our ADs might be very close to one another.. hehe..

flowers wise i'm just getting from the church coz its only $300.. but i'll be doing my own pews coz the church florist uses artificial ones unless i top up another $50 more i think..

music wise.. did u get Philip Lye? planning to call him up once i have changed my church timing this weekend.. changing from 12pm to 11am.. one hour earlier.. hehe..

so now mainly looking for cake and caterer stuff..

hi missy!!

u're back! so fast?? how was ur honeymoon? was HK cold?

what caterer does CJS stand for ah? me not so sure.. sorry sorry..

hi roses,

thanks for the link.. seems like this place is good too.. got another caterer to short-list liao..

hi petrina,

CJS is just CJS
hee....

yes hong kong is cold... i wear my sweater whenever i am outside.. its practically aircon raods with winds, esp in the morning and nite.. but shiok!

hi petrina,

anyway, simon shd be able to send me the DVD photos end this week or early next week.. cool.... cant wait to see.. i still think its cool to hire a catholic PG...

hi petrina,

anyway, simon shd be able to send me the DVD photos end this week or early next week.. cool.... cant wait to see.. i still think its cool to hire a catholic PG...

hi minssy

how much u paid for ur buffet per pax?
gd comments from ur guests?
ya me wanna see ur ad pics too, email me ur link when is ready....did u go disney hk?

hi dawn,

$10 per pax for 8 dishes... very delicious! u know it when u taste it and when guests come up and tell you and ask you where u catered the food from

no i did not go to disneyland.. not interested

Hi Petrina,
yah...I'm such a fan of the CSI series...
. my AD is Nov 18. When's urs? (Can't remember if I read it somewhere here already...hehs.) Hmm...I wonder if there'll be any christmas deco up in Church already...if have, maybe no need to put too much flowers liao. heehee...

Hi Minssy, welcome back! Oh, dun mind, pls share with me your AD photos too. Yah, I think having a Catholic PG is nice. He/she would know which are the more meaningful bits of the mass/service.

Btw gals, how early do we have to book the church?

hi csi fan,

yeah.. this is not being kia su... things like 'hotel dates, church availability, soloist availability' is impt mah

hi missy,

yupz.. its really cool.. at least we have someone who understands the proceedings..

hi CSI fan,

hey! my AD is 25th Nov leh!! haha.. 1 week later than urs..

i've already made tentative bookings with my church but got to change the timing coz i initially booked 12noon.. now changing to 11am..

which church are u having your wedding at? mine's at SVDP..

Hi Petrina,

We haven't decided which parish to have our mass at...coz we come from different parishes (he's from St. Teresa, I'm from Holy Cross), and our new home is near another parish (St. Mary of the Angels). hehs. so we can't decide.

I am finally back from my working trip to UAE. So sian there. The SB forum was blocked off 'due to it containing potential sensitive matter to the Arabs' beliefs', so I could not access from the hotel I stayed in.

Hi Oraia,
Very nice-looking cake indeed!

Hi Minssy,
Did you manage to 'ahem' recoup your costs for the reception and dinner? heehee...
How was the turnout for your dinner?

Hi Viv,
Any luck with the cake-searching yet?

hi fluer,

welcome back!

yes yes.. dinner was covered by some ang baos... 4 of my friend sms me that they could not come in the noon, one of which is a vegetarian food. sucks cos i specially catered for her and i had to pay for it.. LL lor.. what to do? so basically the turn out was very good... hubby side got 2 colleagues AWOL.. i had 31 tables and all 31 tables were opened...

Hi Minssy,

Ya lor, I know the frustrations of catering especially for vegetarians and they don't turn up. I think they do not know that we actually have to pay extras for vegetarians! What was the turn-out rate generally? 95%? 90% or almost 100%?