Catholic Brides

HI Joanna,

It depends what you want. As long as one ia a Catholic, one can have either a service or a mass. It is always good to have the full mass if you can as it's only once a life time.

As for walking down, it depends. Over here it's commonly known that the bride walks with the Father but in Netherlands, the bride can walk in together with the groom, not sure whether u can do it here. I guess it's the culture. For the engagement, the priest is ok with me walking in with FH. Check with the priest and your FH n yr preference I suppose. Don't think there's any particular rule on this. I guess it's very nice to have your father to give u away which I hope to. Unfortunately, he won't be able to attend my wedding at Netherlands. Hope this helps!

In a marriage, it's very important to respect one another's faith if both are of different religion but both have to reach an agreement. However, before even getting married, this factor has to be seriously discussed and looked into and not take it for granted to prevent any conflicts after marriage. Even two maybe Catholics, there're still issues about the faith where needed to be discussed too. Like Fluer mentioned is very true, to be in a marriage, it encompasses the mind, heart, body and spirit. Praying together, sharing the word of God is vital in a marriage. It surely binds the two together and closer.

Times where I've conflicts with my FH, we don't just talk it out but bring it into prayer to ask God for wisdom n guidance and most importantly forgiveness. The one important key to marriage is forgiveness. The celebrant for my engagement said this in my friend's wedding ceremony. He also mentioned about praying together and sharing the word of God as in reading the bible together will bond the family together. We learn not to be self-centred but to love unconditionally. The more we practise it the more we give ourselves selflessly. We are humans and often with shortcomings but taking each step to challenge ourselves to become better people is a journey.

Before I embark into the relationship with FH, we talk about this very clearly. Hahaha... so serious! Yup!

I hope I'm not being long winded again! Ha ha ha... just a share of my faith story.

hi fleur,

thanx
cos must 'tong2 xin1' with fh mah.. i dowan him to feel pressurised or anything next time too...

My FH agreed to go to EE with me!
I am hoping that EE will soften his attitude about our religion and perhaps change his mind. Hope it will turn out well. Thank you girls for your advice! In any case, may i ask is it possible to fit picking up the bride, tea ceremony , church wedding, followed by wedding dinner all in one day? Excited and wanna know where to start plannign the minute he agrees to a church wedding. hehe. How does the flow works? COs i think we are also limited by the timing of the different church's services right? Furthermore my date is on a sunday, would there be problems getting a church? Thanks for all your help!

hi ribena,

good news! anyway EE is not a religious class lah. dun worry.

yes its possible. i am doing that.

and what? sunday!!!!?? not too possible to do it on a sunday. you will have to spilt up already. that will mean additional cost for PG, VG, MUA etc etc..

Hi Ribena

That's a good first step! Sunday is possible - but it won't be a mass, it'll definitely have to be a service. My friend had hers on Sunday at St Michael's @11.30am followed by lunch @12.30pm.

She is Teochew so her hb picked her up before 7am. By 8 am she was at her in-laws place going through the tea ceremony. After the tea ceremony, they headed to Church for the service which started promptly @11.30am. After lunch, they had tea ceremony at the Church reception area for her side of the family - about 2.30pm they headed for the hotel for a rest before the dinner began.

Some brides have their tea ceremony for their family and relatives just before dinner in the hotel wedding suite.

St Mary's has got a good write-up on the procedures and guidelines for weddings. The url is at:

http://www.stmary.sg/cm2/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=19&Itemid=66

Have fun :-)

Ribena, Sunday weddings may be possible, do check with your parish. But mostly either very late in morning, or in the afternoon.

I am starting to prepare the service booklet for my church wedding next month and is getting lost on how to start........Can anyone advise? Thanks...

On having a church wedding on sunday, would like to highlight on the close timing btw mass ending and wedding starting time.

For my case in St Teresa's Church, the sunday mass stops at 11am (keeping my finger crossed that it will not be delayed)
and my wedding starts at 12pm. The florist will have only about 30mins to set up the decor before my guests arrive at 11.30am. Therefore, its important to highlight this to the florists early before they commence on the decor preparations. Hope the info helps.

hi minhue,

your church wedding is next mth and you are starting to prepare the church booklet?

is yours a mass or service? i can send you a few samples, some from other forumers who had assisted me in my preparation stage too...

Hi Minhue,
I am having my wedding in St Teresa too, but not on a Sunday. As for service booklet, Fr Arro passed us a few samples and a little guide book with the different options for readings and vows/prayers, so we just follow that and choose. After that have to show him to veto it.

Maybe you should ask the priest officiating your wedding for more details.

Hi! May I know if we must be members of a particular parish in order to hold the wedding there? Besides, any idea bout the dress code fer the bride?

hi roses,

yeah
good memory

a.. guest list is something that is on my mind everyday.. my service booklet will only be printed on monday cos i have pending names in my 'thank you' page and i can only confirm this sunday during the rehersal. No choice, LL.. but the printer will rush out for me..

Hi Carelinwen,

Are u using their projector screen at st Teresa? I notied after the renovation, it's different. I haven't had a proper look at it and whether there's still a piano and a portable microphone? Now the microphone are hanging from the ceiling. In the past, there is one. Do u know whether they have?

hi minhue,

The best is to get from the priest, they usu have samples. I'm not familar wiht service but a full mass.

Hi minssy,

same here! The guest list is also always on my mind esp when some haven't confirmed yet.

Hi Elizabeth,

My Fh and I do not attend St Teresa, I don't even know that there is projector, I may not be doing any powerpoint if I am doing the booklets, I've got lots of things not settled cos FH went on reservist and in the few times I've been to St Teresa, I've never step inside the main church.

Hi Minssy,
Am excited for you. Wow, nice of you to try to include everyone's names in the acknowledgement page. Yes, it is a bit of a rush to get the church booklet ready, ya... but good that you seems to be coping well with the stress, if there is any.

Yes, guest list is also constantly on my mind. I have still not confirmed which of my colleagues I should be inviting. Thankfully, the colleagues cateorgy is the only pending one. I am trying to invite by depts, but even then it cannot be quite tough. On one hand, I am afraid of imposing on 'those not so close ones' to come to my wedding. On the other hand, I am afraid they will take offence if not invited.

Oh yes, I agree. we should try our best to get our guests to confirm, but should expect that there will be some who have 'confirmed' but dont turn up on the actual day. At the end of day, just have to minimise by reminding people closer to the date.

Hi Minssy, carelinwen and Elizabeth,

Thanks for your replies. I got a sample booklet from Fr Arro but is for wedding mass. Therefore not too sure what to add and not to add for wedding service. Would appreciate if ur can share some samples booklet for wedding services. thanks in advance.

Hi Minssy!

If it's only the guest list that's left to do, then you are in very good shape! I regard you as one of the experts on wedding prep at this forum, and you're so helpful too!

Must sleep early from now on okay? And don't drink so much water before sleeping so you'll look beautiful and without eye bags

Hummph! Hearing about late RSVPs always irritate me. My friend was personally calling people up days before her wedding to get replies. It's really impolite for guests to drag on replying esp when ample notice has been given. Unless you're the jetsetting type where work can take you away at last minute, you should know, say a week before, whether you CAN attend. And if guests are still hemming and hawing when they are asked then, I'll take it they don't really WANT to attend. In which case, I don't want them there either.

Fleur, I'm quite a headstrong person... if it were me, I wouldn't invite anyone I'm not close too, and I wouldn't care whether they will take offence. If asked, I'll just say: "it was a family decision to keep the guest numbers small and cosy." In fact, say that out loud often enough in the office when asked about the wedding, and people will get the idea where you are drawing the line. If you're not so close colleagues still grumble behind your back that they weren't invited, then they'll just appear hard up.

Oops... didn't mean for this post to appear angsty

Enjoy the public holiday today everyone!

hi there...i'm new here
also a bride getting married at CTK in AMK. anyone prepare their wedding there? or familiar to organise a church wedding?

hi fleur,

yah man! good thing i only have to print 50 books (mine is a weekday thingy) else i am sure the printer cant rush out for me...

colleagues? invite those in the same office? or departments that you liase with?

hi roses,

hee.. ok lah.. there are alot of things that i can do yet.. stuff like packing the emergency bag for AD, confirm wine & hard liquor delivery, prepare payment envelopes, tie bridal car, do medi & pedi.. and a few misc stuff.. they can only be done like 1 or 2 days before AD...

anyway, my church rehearsal is on this sunday..... shall update here when its done.. different churches will have different ways of doing it but i am sure its a guideline for BTBs

and yes i do hope i can try to sleep early.. my dark eye circles are quite bad and i hope my MUA can cover them nicely

anyway, sorry i cant remember when is your AD :p

HI Minssy,

can do the mani n pedi the day before? is it safe?

I chased my guest very early as we need to confirm. Ha ha ha... still have one or two still haven't got back to me. I will hound them! Ha ha ha!

Dear gals,
my AD will be next year. Church ceremony most likely to be in the morning followed by dinner at night.
How many of you gals will be having gatecrashing in the morning?

Pls advise on how are the day events going to be like?
kao_babydust2.gif

hi elizabeth,

why not safe leh? its best to do the day before cos if you do too early, there may be higher risk that the polish will come off accidentally ah

well well, hounding the guests ah? thats the next on my list on next monday.. i need to just double confirm the dinner attendance with some of my friends...

hi Aiko,

your nick is familar.. anyway, here's mine..

8am: gate crashing
8.30 - 9.00pm: tea ceremony at my house (small affair so very short)
9.30am - 10.15am: tea ceremony at Fh's
10.30am: reach church to standby
11 - 12pm: wedding service
12 - 1.30pm: photo taking cum lunch reception
2.30pm: leave for hotel to check in

then nite time will be the dinner..

Yo minssy,
it's me...in the other thread you give me advice also...it's good to have you around here.

Just wondering, when are you going to change into your tea dress/kua? From your schedule, I assume that you will be wearing your WG during gate crashing..and duirng the church ceremony, I believe you will be wearing the WG also...

hi aiko,

hahahh! yah it was just today or yday rite? hhahahahh! what did i tell u abt huh? hee...

hhahaa. yes yes.... i will be wearing WG the whole morning lor.. i dun need the teadress and used that to convert to a bridesmaid dress instead

Hi Roses,
Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Ya, I also think so. Talking about insincere guests... My mom has this church friend who asked whether there might be communion during my wedding... If there isn't, she is not coming... ha! I was thinking, don't come lor!

Hi Minssy,
Ya, I totally agree with you that there are many miscellaneous stuff to do. Are you going on honeymoon, right after? Also got to do packing, connect autoroam etc... And calling up the various vendors to remind them to provide their services on your big day. Also, don't forget to squeeze in one facial session if you can.

hi fleur,

yah lor.. there are a few vendors that i will call on the friday/sat before the AD.. thanx for reminding

honeymoon will be 16th (AD is 14th).. after returning the gowns etc on the 15th, we will pack that evening lor... hahahahah

Hi minhue,

When did you meet with Fr Arro? Cos he did pass me 2 Service Booklets for ref, hee hee maybe when you met him they were still with me. But anyhow, he did write us a list of headings in the proper order to follow, then we go pick the readings/psalms/gospel/etc...

I got mass booklets soft copies that the girls in this thread sent to me before but no service booklets. Mine's not ready cos have to meet with choir to confirm songs first.

Hi Liz, minssy,

This is off-topic... about mani & pedi, not sure if you've booked appointment already, but this is something to consider:

http://www.dbs.com/sg/personal/cards/womans/promotions/enewsletter/

Look under Flaunt Nail Salon. I haven't been there myself. But it's a very good price for mani and pedi. Anyway, always go in the afternoon. Most nail salons now have afternoon specials and it's a lot cheaper. Also check for credit card specials. Think doing it the day before is fine. One bride wrote in a book that she did a really good thing by going on a massage alone before the wedding to gather her thoughts and emotions for the big step she was taking in her life. So pamper yourself!

Minssy, if you go for facial, don't do extraction okay?

Fleur... *shake head* at the story of your guest ;)

Hi Liz,

You may wish to visit the nail tech a month before the wedding, so that they'll shape the nails for proper growth. Just in case.

--
Are there any dress codes for the brides in a catholic wedding? I've read somewhere that bustiers are not allowed in certain churches. How do we find out about the rules?

We'll be getting married at St. Ignatius in October 06. It seems that St. Ignatius is not very popular, as I don't see any brides here getting married there. Any particular reason? I'm just curious.

Hi Minssy,

do you happen to have a check-list on the things to do before AD? i'm a month away to AD and things seems more or less done but am feeling that i'm missing out something.. Need help..

Hi Verylastminute,
I think it depends on the priest/ celebrant. Some are stricter than others. Best to check directly with the priest. I have not been thru confirmation myself too, but my celebrant is ok with it although he did strongly encourage me to go for it, but I will only have the time after the wedding. Heehee...

Hi Roses,
Thanks for your contact. I actually called up Flaunt! and booked an appointment.
However, they are using Essie, not OPI which I am used to.. Is the quality the same or better?

Hi Eileen,
It is best to check directly with the parish priest. In all the catholic weddings I went, the bride wears a bustier, so I don't think it is a problem.

Hi Verylastminute,
I think it depends on the priest/ celebrant. Some are stricter than others. Best to check directly with the priest. I have not been thru confirmation myself too, but my celebrant is ok with it although he did strongly encourage me to go for it, but I will only have the time after the wedding. Heehee...

Hi Roses,
Thanks for your contact. I actually called up Flaunt! and booked an appointment. However, they are using Essie, not OPI which I am used to.. Is the quality the same or better?

Hi Eileen,
It is best to check directly with the parish priest. In all the catholic weddings I went, the bride wears a bustier, so I don't think it is a problem.

Hi Fleur,
Glad to have been of help
I actually prefer OPI because I'm used to it, and well, the colours have such cute names! But I have tried Essie once, and it's long-lasting and didn't stain my nails even though I chose a red colour, so no complaints there. Are you doing french manicure. Check if there's a extra charge for that if you are okay?

hi roses,

ahahahh! yah abit off but its ok.. catholic brides still need to do mani & pedi :p

i am going to do mine with nailart by serene cos my PS's one was done by her so i will go back.. thanx for the post... 'Flaunt' looks cool though!

facial ah? ok i dunnoe if this is good but i dun do facials one! wahhahahah! i heard abt pple doing extractions and then they will have breakouts! quite scary man!

hi eileen,

fleur is rite. bustier is fine.. of cos dun wear those that reveals your chest area and those super low back ones lah.. so long as we respect the church & priest, its fine

hi tratties,

u sound to me that you are a planner and that you had done whatever you can already but still feel unsafe
anyway, i will email you my personal list later of things to be done...

Yo minssy,
in other thread, I asked whether it is weird not to have the gatecrashing and you give me an advice that make me feel better.

I heard from frens that OPI is long lasting....it seems like many of you here likes the brand as well.

hi aiko,

oohh! okie okie
hee.. old already lah.. posted and forgotten :p

so confirm you will not have any gate crashing yah?

Hi minssy,

just getting a little jitters la.. dont wanna miss anything important out.. haha.. coz things are more or less settled but not confirm, i.e. got quotes for caterer, florist, etc but havent confirm anyone yet..

need to ask u all something.. i've just posted my application form and cheque for EE.. and i'm wondering how will they let us know when they have received it?

i know that the previous deleted threads had info about it but its no longer there.. anyone can help?

thanks..

Hi Minssy,
Ha.. You must have good skin, that's why you don't need facials.

Hi Roses,
Huh... What is french manicure? Sorry, I am a mountain turtle on this

Hi all, I'm new to this thread. Am also a Catholic BTB...There's so much things to do! haiz...but it's exciting. It's nice to read all your posts. At least I know what to expect soon...

We are still thinking of which parish to hold our wedding. I'm from Holy Cross, FH is from St. Teresa, his sibling got married in Sacred Heart...aiyoh...we can't decide. haha...

Hi Petrina:-
Someone from EE should be calling you or your FH soon (well, they called me, not FH) to inform you. At the same time, they will kinda "double confirm" that you are able to make it for that weekend, and give you a run through of what to bring, how to get there etc...and they would also email you the confirmation. That's what they did for me lah...hehs. Hope this helps!

hi tratties,

i see.. you can start looking at menus from caterers and florists.. but its good to confirm slightly earlier in case the caterer can't meet your date (if its those popular or busy dates for them).

hi petrina,

they will not specifically call you that they will/had cleared the cheque but you will receive a letter from them at least 1 mth before your EE.. no worries

and like CSI fan said, someone will call you or FH. they are couples helping out in the EE....

hi fleur,

normal skin nia.. i just hope i can maintain it cos its just 8 days to my AD!

hi csi fan,

welcome to this thread.... you will enjoy posting here cos all are nice pple! whaahahh!