Catholic Brides

hi petrina,

will send to you later

hi verylastminute,

i'm getting Simple Creations (http://www.******-creations.com) to print my booklet.. replace the * with the word "simple". You can check with Anne. She's a nice lady.

Initially I told her that I'm printing 100-120 but when I met last met her 2 weeks ago, i mentioned that i might print less than a hundred. You can call and check out too.

thanks so much for yr info.so every morning, there will be a mad rush in the gals toilets i guess?

so will each person be given a key each to the room or only one key to one room? Initally thot if bathroom is attached in the bedroom, would be great, more convenient if need to go toilet at nite.

btw can anyone tell me wat time to check in? my hubby forgot the timing(after one guy called him to brief him on it).

Many thanks.

hi dawn,

no it will not be a mad rush cos different ladies will wake up at different timings to shower. dun worry about it. you may however wanna bring a plastic bag to hold your clothes while you are in the shower.

check in time shd be by 7+ or so... have your dinner before you go. supper will be provided. you shd also receive a letter from the EE group on the details.

Hi Dawn,
It's not that bad. There are 2 bathrooms, one at each end of the corridor (actually one is a men's, the other a ladies', but since it will be a women's only floor, both become ladies').
There's only one key to each room. I think if you're lucky you will be 2 to a room (I had 3 in mine). But anyway, when you're downstairs, you just hang the key on a board so if the key is not there, it means someone is already up in the room). No problem.
As to precise instructions, I believe you should be getting an email on it?

Hi Minssy and Verylastminute

Thanks for the useful info. hehe thot it would be difficult to coordinate. btw do we have to wake up very early every morning? Is the EE premises attached to a church ?

hi dawn,

think i woke up at 7. i am a super late wakee but had no probs in EE. dun worry

the EE premise is like a huge house. dun think its attached to a church.

go there and enjoy lah

Hi Minssy,

WOW... 7 plus is SOOO early!! Think i'll have problems waking up!
Btw, do the rooms have air-con?

Hi Dawn,

Which weekend are you attending?

Sigh... still no reply confirming our date change! Crossing my fingers that it'll be ok cos there's no other date i can attend liao!

Lissa

hi lissa,

nah.. dun worry abt it.. in the previous thread was corrupted, i raised the same concern and other catholic brides assured me. so now its my turn to assure you

yes the rooms have aircon. anyway, you will be using the room to sleep nia. the rest of the time you will be in the hall or outside. anyway, bring along a sweater if you are scared of cold. it could be useful.

hi lissa
me gog for oct wkend.

hi minssy

thanks for ur assurance. ya the past thread is no longer here, so we are unable to refer back the past info.
btw, are u doing a wedding mass or service?
hvae u done up ur mass booklet and chosen the songs?

hi dawn,

i will be having a wedding service as i am not a catholic. had done up my draft of the booklet already and approved by fr tim. i will be visiting philip lye tonight to go thru the booklet with him and also ask him to help me with some recommendations of songs....

Hi Dawn,
Actually, there was an electrical socket in my room at the ME House. Just that it's blocked by the bed and difficult to reach. There are sufficient shower cubicles. And everybody cooperates to keep the toilets clean. There is a link from the 2nd level of the ME houses to the seminary, but that gate is locked.

I mentioned in the old thread that I wish I had brought a digital camera to take some photos of my fiance and me. Think we reached a milestone in our relationship at the EE weekend.

Actually I found it quite fun to share a room with 3 other girls. Before sleeping, we would talk about our fiances and wedding stuff

Have fun!

Minssy,
Could you please send me your list of bakeries too?

Hi Viv,

Yes, I ordered from Savoury Fare already. Left the design largely to them. I think you can dictate the design to them. As I said earlier, I am rather impressed with their quality. Actually, you can just order some cakes over the phone and they will deliver with just $5 charge.

Actually, my wedding lunch is going to be held in Chijmes. I think besides Rasa Sentosa, no other hotel venues will provide the transport.

Hi Minssy,
Thanks for sharing with us your list. It is indeed very comprehensive. Are you ordering a real wedding cake too?

hi ladies who are keen to engage philip lye.. below are some info to share with you all...

philip is a very nice & helpful gentlman who is blind but can sing very well. for my weekday church service, i had engaged him to be my soloist cum organist. basically, he can play songs from your processional to wedding march. i was stuck on the appropriate songs to be used for my wedding service and he shared with me on some songs that both fh & me are familar with....

do call him should you wish to engage him yah

philip lye
tel: 6566 1683
address: bukit batok

minssy,

Could you share with me your booklet too? Cos i'm doing a service too.

Btw, is it a common practise to give flowers to both mum and mother Mary?

Hi Viv,

yes u can offer flowers to Mother Mary, mum I'm not sure but I don't see a problem. I'm going to offer flowers to Mother Mary during my engagement mass. Some of my friends did that too in their wedding mass.

hi viv,

i will share when mine is officially approved by my priest
will update again yah.. hee..

giving flowers part is an optional tradition, depending on church and that means that will depend on your priest. if its present, its normally after the 'liturgy of the eucharist' part and before the final blessing.

hi verylastminute,

so long as you plan your things well it shd be ok... confirm on your mass booklet as early as you can lor...

hi roses

thanks for sharing. sounds like ur have enjoyed yrself at the EE. Ya tink would be great to have company to chat with...

hi minssy

so more or less ur church wedding stuff are ready i guess...are u ordering buffet lunch?
Does ur church have any inhouse florist that u need to book from? Btw, can share how much is costs for florist, organist? Will ur florist decor the pews as well?

hi dawn,

1) not really lah. still have the church rehearsal thingy to settle...that one must coordinate with alot of pple man.

2) yes i will be ordering buffet cos mine is a 11am service and will be just nice for a decent lunch.

3) i used susan from font floral. she is familar with holy trinity so naturally i trust her with the deco. the chapel is small and i told her my budget is $400 and she will do it for me accordingly. outside package comes with 20 pews, 2 floral stands, 1 altar floral, 1 reception table floral and she can do the same too.. depending on your church, some bigger ones has very strict rules.

4) my organist will be philip lye as i had earlier posted. he is only charging at $100 and trust me, he is worth muchhhhh more than that.

Hi tratties,

Can't remember how much I spent on ang paos - too long ago! For my friends who sang in the choir, I bought them gifts instead.

Hi minssy,

Thanks for sharing the list!

Hi Minssy
Me also having my church wedding in holy trinity. Must share ur pics with me ah after yr AD.

Does Holy trinity allow u to throw rose petals during march in?

hi dawn,

oh you are!? cool...

a.. u remember my date and PM me lah.. i lazy to remember. hahhahhaahahah!

no throwing of petals are allowed in most church. dun even think abt it.

hi annelise,

welcome.. you are married already rite? hee..

hi tratties,

please prepare ang baos for the below pple for the church part...
1. Priest
2. Caretaker
3. Altar Server(s)
4. Reader
5. Lector / Leader
6. Solonist / Organist or choir
7. Florist
8. misc in case

hi minssy
hw to use pm function? me very suaku.

ok ok no prob, will pm u after ur ad. where u gog for ur honeymoon?

Hi Minssy,

For Philip Lye, do you just call him to reserve him for your wedding? Must you meet up with him or pay a deposit?

Lissa

hi dawn,

click my nick, there is an option 'click here to send a private message to minssy'. then click. then another screen will pop up and you just key in the fields there. very easy one.

i will be going to hong kong..

hi lissa,

i called him and reserved the date and called him nearer to date to fix an appt to meet him so that i can tell him my wedding service sequence and also seek his advice on the songs.... payment will be by cash on your AD itself. i will of cos give a bigger ang bao to him.... after engaging him, if you have any questions on the songs part, you can always call him

Hi minssy & dawn

yup, married for almost 8 years already :-)
I got married at Holy Trinity chapel too! Then, there were a lot of fake flowers at the altar, so only needed pew decor. My mil & sis did the decor for me - so it was foc!

I've read a lot of good reviews about Philip - will definitely get my bil to engage his services for his wedding!

hi annelise,

wah!!! 'old bird' already ah? phwee weet! so do you attend mass at holy trinity?

the few times i went to the chapel, i dun see flowers there leh... hehe...

yes yes philip is cool. fh was very impressed by him.. and he has a very nice voice too!

hi annelise

wow ur family did the decor for u, tat is so sweet of them.

hi minssy

one more thing to ask, is there any heater in the bathroom for EE session? tis is ultra important as i cant stand cold water hehe.

hi dawn,

yes there is a heater. dun worry

just bring your basic clothes and toiletries. you will not sweat there one lah.. maybe except the first nite when you first arrived.. hahhahahahah...

Hi annelise - thanks for the info!!

Hi minssy - Holy trinity chapel doesnt have anymore flowers there as the church had a new parish committee in the recent years and the flowers have moved to another parish in town...

hi minssy

u mean first nite will sweat or first nite wont sweat?
got wat activities there? my stomach not feeling good today....kept gog to toilet.

hi dawn,

first nite will sweat cos you all will gather outside first...

activities? this is a secret... if you keep going to the toilet, just sit near the door...

hi minssy

is it some ice breaker games? ya lor, me not feeling too gd today.
thot the first nite go there can go sleep immediately .....

hi dawn,

nah no games. just go! dun think so much! hahahhahahahaha! and yes, must enjoy ah
the most impt is to keep an open mind and you will truly enjoy it

Dawn,
Just go and enjoy EE!
If one already knows quite a bit of the program beforehand, it's a little harder to keep an open mind and one won't reap the full benefits of the experience. And EE is a very beautiful experience. ME House is a very clean and sanitary hostel-like environment, and all the food and drinks are taken care of. Don't worry about anything okay

Anyway, here's a useful link for you.
http://www.catholic.org.sg/ceespore/

Oh ya dawn and others going for future EEs, please bring some po chai pills (for diarrhoea).

On the second night til the third day, I had diarrhoea.
319782.gif
It was very bad. I woke up to go toilet at 3.30am, then at 4.30am. Then I went to sleep. But woke up to go toilet for the third time at 6am. After that, tad boleh tahan, I scrambled from the third floor to the canteen on the first floor because during meals, I noticed there was a first aid box. Everywhere was so dark. Luckily there were some night lights. In the canteen, it was also dark. I had to use the light from my hp to look for medicine. There were no po chai pills!
I panicked. After much fumbling I managed to find some Western medicine for diarrhoea. But there were only 2 left. I took both. No choice, got to take once every six hours.
After that, luckily I didn't have to run to the toilet oredi.

Initially, I thought it was just me, that I had eaten too much or that my stomach couldn't take the too spicy food. When I told FH what happened, he told me he also woke up at 3+am with a terrible stomachache and went toilet once. Then later when we were hanging around outside the classroom for private spouse-to-spouse discussions, I saw some people holding po chai pills. I went to talk to them and realised many people also kena diarrhoea. The po chai pills were brought by one of the attendees. My room mate who was aware of my visits to the toilet a few times in the middle of the night told me that during breakfast, many people in her table also had diarrhoea during the night.

But zhun zhun (Hokkien for accurately), at 6pm (I took the medicine at 6am and 12pm), the stomach churning resumed. The EE ended officially, many people lingered to say Goodbye or chat, but I tad boleh tahan, ran to the car
and went back home. Luckily, sis-in-law and her hubby came to pick me and FH up.

Other than that minor toilet-running episode, the EE went very well. Enjoy yourselves!

Hi Lipstar,

o dear! Sorry to hera about it. It must be the food. Is the food all the food spicy? I can't take spicy food very well nowadays. Did u feedback to the EE coordinator?

Hello Elizabeth!

No, only one out of all the meals was spicy. The meals are very varied and of different cultures. We had chinese food (chicken rice), Italian food (spaghetti), Indian food, Singapore food (Khong Guan biscuits! hahaha!
and so on.

I wanted to feedback to the EE coordinator, but my fh said "Don't need. There will surely be other people who had informed them." Come to think of it, isn't that the typical apathetic, bo chap Singaporean attitude?

But we did approach one of the EE coordinators to ask for Po Chai pills. He was very nice. He kept on asking about my stomach every time he saw me later on.

Hi Lipstar,

Thanks! You are the same lipstar earlier in this thread, right? Ever since the thread went berserk, lost all the names. so sad! My brain also getting old, cannot remember so many things! Ha ha ha....

the last time I went for choise, can't rememeber what food is being given. same place also. as long as Fh n I can tahan the food, ok lah! He can take Chili better than me even though he is ang moh!