Catholic Brides

hi fleur,

cool.... then at least we can PM you as and when

Oh Roidana,

Sorry! Really confused!

Does anyone know approximately about how many months before we have to book the caterer?

hi phy,

1 mth is more than enough time. its better to book when you more or less have an idea of the attendance.

Hi Phy

One month before is just about right, to tentatively ensure that they are available on ur wedding day and slot.

I confirmed my menu and no. of pp about 2 weeks before my wedding.

Hi Babybluz,

I sent u an email with some suggested hymns. When is ur wedding? I play the keyboards for church, if u need help, let me know, k? I'll try my best.

Hi everyone. My bil is plans to get married in SVDP - is anyone getting married there? Care to share the cost of booking the church hall + canteen. Do we have to use their Church florist or can we engage our own?

hi annelise!!

i'm getting married in SVDP too.. hehe.. but haven't gotten the cost from them yet.. will be getting it tmr coz my mum is going to call them up on my behalf.. only secured my date and timing first even though i have more than a year to my AD.. KS hahah..

when is ur BIL's AD?

long time never pop in to say hi.. hehe.. busy with school assignments..

can i ask u all something? which caterer is good for their food? anyone here got good caterers to share?

thanks in advance..

Hi Petrina

His AD is also more than a year away, it's either 9 or 10 Dec 06 but I had so much probs finding a hotel for the banquet that I'm worried about not being able to get the date and timing for church as well!

When is your AD? If on the same day can share flowers and church deco ;-)

I engaged Glory Catering for my own wedding (that's like almost 8 years ago!)- if you like Peranakan food, you may want to consider them. Their portions are generous and curry is very nice and lemak! They have an eatery in Katong, further up from across Holy Family, you could go there and check out the food first!

Hi Petrina,

I'm engaging Highest Honour for my engagement mass and tea ceremony. My mum n I are happy with the food after tasting the food. Most important is no msg as requested and mixture of vegetarian in it. But u've to pay $10 for the Bento set to try but upon confirmation, they wavier it. U can check with Doreen who attends to me.

could i ask for advice? I'm hving church wedding at 11.30, and it's a 'service'. After that there'll be bus taking the guests to the hotel for luncheon. Now, i know that service is supposed to be shorter, but what time do you think the guests will arrive in hotel?
I don't want the guests to be hungry, so am thinking of asking the priest to move it earlier (if possible).

Plan to have the luncheon at 1pm but dunno if the timing is ambitious.

Hi viv,

I'm not very sure. Attended many yrs back. The best is still to check with the priest unless someone here has done a service before.

Viv,
I think I read somwhere that the service is about 40min. But best to check with the priest. I think it's better to start earlier say 11am. Just to add some buffer time. Cos guests would need time to register, get their table number? And you may want to take some photos after church, thank the priest, altar boys etc

hi annelise,

my AD is 25th Nov 2006.. ermm.. when i went to make my booking, i saw that there was a tentative booking for 9th Dec.. its a super hot date so if ur BIL wants that date, he's got to move fast!..

thanks for the catering suggestions annelise and elizabeth.. i'll check them out..

actually i'm quite interested in the Chilli Padi catering.. peranakan food.. heard that its really good.. but min pax is 100 people.. dunno how..

hi viv,

service is about 40 - 45 mins only.. so i think 1 pm is still alright..

babysheep
I may need your services. I have finished my church booklet, friends. Thanx for all your help. Now i am sourcing for a choir. My church's choir all have rejected me. sigh. how??? Help! Cos no choir to lead, means quite problematic. sigh

I am thinking of having videograhy but FH is thinking of doing without it since we already have photography. Just wondering if any of you gals are thinking of having a videography on AD? Pls advise.

Aiko, actually i prefer videography than photos. But FH prefers photos, so will hv both prob even though it's gonna be expensensive.

Video will capture Movement, sound that photos can't capture. Having said that, many pp think that photos will last longer so a better investment.

Maybe just hv one but a budget one.

thanks roses & petrina, I thot so too. Will ask priest if can hv slightly earlier.

what is the use of 'day room' for helper in general? Since mine's lunch, i'm not sure what time-frame shd i ask the hotel for. Currently i was given 3-8pm, which is the standard for dinner wedding.

hi aiko,

video is for laughter moments
. i am sure you are able to find budget ones if you did not plan for it... unless you hate to be on video then dun say lah

Babyblues,
The old thread frequently mentioned an experienced blind musician, Philip I think that's his name. Previous brides said he plays and sings at the same time. Why don't you hire him?

Viv,
I'm having a lunch too. Didn't know there's such a thing as a day room. You mean the hotel gives us an extra hotel room for our use? Teach teach!

roses,

the day room is usually used for the jie meis and brothers to rest after morning session (gate crashing n tea ceremony) while waiting for the night event. Can use the room for make up and changing area for couple n family n the helpers.

usually hotel provide one for use during day, but my friend's parents stayed for the night and didn't get charge, so good hor? I plan to use it for resting place for the family n friends. Prob after lunch, they can rest there. I may do my tea ceremony in the room hehehe...

hi roses,

you are right. he is philip lye and he is a blind soloist cum organist. he is contactable at 6566 1683. normally his wife will accompany him. his fees is at $100 only. any love offering beyond this is your own preference

Hi Petrina

Thanks for letting me know! Btw, how much deposit did you have to pay for the church? Are you booking the canteen as well?

Hi Aiko

Why dun you get a good friend with a camcorder to do the videography? Just to capture special moments like the march-in, the exchanging of vows etc. Can keep softcopy in hard disk drive and if you have the time, use a simple video editing software and edit the tape and make into vcd. Can get him/ her to film your friends and relatives giving you well-wishes too - should be quite fun to watch!

Hi Aiko,

I'm gettting a friend to video for me too. Just to capture the engagement n tea ceremon so that my FH's family will have a view of it. My friend just happens to have a camcorder, not professional.

Hi Viv,

I am also chartering buses to ferry guests from the church to the lunch venue. Looks like we have several things in common. Which bus operator services will you get?

Also, as in the other thread about the real wedding cake, I will be getting a real wedding cake. Have you confirmed yours already?

Babybluz

Yup, you can consider engaging Philip Lye. He is good and experienced. Why don't you give him a call? I played with Philip once for a church event.

He is a very nice man.

But if u need any help, can PM me.

Fleur, woooow, so many things in common.
The hotel (Rasa Sentosa) will provide the bus. How abt u?
Ya, will get real wedding cake, so far i tasted only 2 (Cheryl n PG), still prefer PG but (if i hv the energy) i'll look around some other bakery(any suggestion?). PG quoted me $570 for 3-tier, i think it's a little expensive, hope can get @$400.

Abt video, i bought Sony Camcorder myself, but hehehe.. never used. Bought it for fun to record my friend's wedding (for my own personal viewing) when i was one of the jie meis. Prob i'll get my friend to record my wedding for me too, so he could add his own 'commentary' and he can go around my friends and they could give 'personal wishes' or some cheeky comments. My friends had done 1 video recording for me before i migrated to oz...so sweet... their comments on video really moved me and i could replay them anytime. (in case wondering, i didn't survive oz n came back to sg hehehe..)

Hi Viv,
Wow, so good. Your bus services are already provided for. Guess you don't have to pay extra, right? I am not so lucky. I am getting mybus.com bus services.

As for the cake, i think the price will also vary much with the flavour you are getting. I had previously recommended you Savoury Fare, remember? ;P

Interesting.... to migrate to Oz and be back. Which part did you go to? Anyway, I will also be getting a friend to do the recording for me.

hi annelise,

i've got news.. went down to SVDP today and book my date..

wah.. next year's pricing is not out yet coz father mike will only confirm the pricing once the renovations to the church is complete.. around Dec this year..

currently the church cost $100 to rent.. but with the reno.. it might go up to $500.. $500 is including the church and the canteen..

flowers cost $300 and if we were to source our own florist.. we can't take back the flowers so its considered given to the church..

so far.. thats what i have..

Fleur,
I never thot of it, but ya, it's convenient to hv the hotel provide the bus cos my church is in JURONG (St Mary's). Hey...this will be a test for my friends hahahaa.. only 'true' friends will be willing to wake up early in morning and go all the way to Jurong for Church hehehe...Well,if they can't make it for Church, there'll be 1-2 bus from city to sentosa.

I guess your hotel is somewhere convenient, so hotel don't provide transport. Where's your hotel?

oh ya, thanks for recommendation. I called Savoury Fare and they asked me to visit their shop. I hv to buy their cake so can taste their cake. You ordered from them liao? How's their design? Standard or they'll create one to your wish?

I applied for oz pr and went Sydney to work for a year, but after comparing the lifesytles of the 2 city, Spore suits me more hehee...

Thanx minssy and babysheep,
I still have 8 months to go, starting to panic a little. Now thinking of my wedding band - to custom make or purchase OFT. Going for gown fitting tomorrow.

Have anyone heard of CDS catering? My FH wants to engage their services. Any comments?

hi phy,

8 mths ah? oh you have a lot of time! the 3 mths before AD is more crucial to plan and do your stuff....

i only heard of CJS.. dun think got CDS lah :p. CJS is not bad. i ate the food during EE cos they catered CJS.

anyone here getting a real wedding cake to cut for the lunch recept after church ceremony.. i didn't want to spend money on it actually coz on a tight budget.. but now my mum says she wants us to have one.. any nice and affordable bakeries around thay u gals will recommend?

Hi missy,

my AD is 25th Nov 06 only... thats why say that i'll call philip next year only.. but i think maybe on the safe side.. better call in nov.. hehe.. thanks for ur advice..

Hi All!

I'm also attending the Nov EE weekend. Anyone going for the 25 - 27 weekend? Maybe we'll meet there!

My wedding is in Mar'06. Will be getting married in IHM... anyone else also getting married there too?

hi petrina,

i have a list of some bakeries but i can only send to you tonight yah....

a.. yah... call and book the date first.. the rest can finalise nearer to your wedding

Hi, just wondering where most of you get your wedding booklets printed? I went down to Tecman yesterday. Didn't really like the covers they showed me. Are they considered expensive? We're only looking to print around 50 copies, and they charge the same for 50 copies as they do for 200. Anyone have any other recommendations?

hi verylastminute,

its like that. most printers go at a minimum qty at 100. so you might as well print 100. u can check out the wedding card thread for printers..

hi verylastminute,

no. i had a certain design in mind so i went to a printer to customise the design and print. you may wish to contact mary from axxa designs at 6282 9269.

Hi, just wondering how much is the market price for priest's ang bao? the church is charging me $500 for the church hall & reception venue...

like to check if the bedroom at EE has an attached bathroom? Also wat are the things to expect or bring when there? Do we have to wake up very early in the morning and is there any night activities?

Hi Dawn,

I dun think it's a bedroom. I think it's more like dormatory style and shared toilets. At least that's the impression i get!

Me and FH were told to bring seperate toiletries as we will be sleeping in seperate areas.

Btw, which weekend are you attending?

Lissa

Hi dawn,

there isnt a attached bathroom in the bedrooms. Yes, gals & guys are to be sleeping in separate areas... EE is encouraged for all couples who are getting married - FYI, my FH who isnt a catholic has also compliment this program... Its beneficial...

hi dawn & lissa,

the rooms are 2 or 3 pax to a room with just basic facilities and a sink. bathrooms are at the end of each level. boys & girls are on seperate levels.

yes please bring seperate toiletries..

Hi Petrina

Thanks for the details! Wow, it's quite expensive, eh? I know SFX is $200 for church and $250 for canteen - but the air-con canteen is really nice and cosy! How is the canteen for SVDP? I haven't been there for close to 10 years!

Hi Minssy

Can you pm me the list of bakeries too? My bil's hotel is only providing a dummy cake and I'm thinking of getting one for their church reception.

Hi verylastminute,

Since you're looking to print a small quantity, how about designing your own covers, buying your own paper to print? You can print out the master copy of the booklet itself and send it for photocopy.

Hi tratties,

I think it depends on how well you know the priest. We are very close to the priest who married us - have known him since we were kids, so we gave a big ang pao. If you don't know him well, I think around $80 to $100 should be okay? Remember the altar servers as well!

Hi minssy,

will appreciate it lots for ur list.. many thanks in advance..

Hi annelise,

the canteen is still under renovation but its looks very modern and cool.. hehe.. so excited every week when i go for mass.. can see the latest happenings.. even the entrance to the church looks really nice too.. can't wait till full reno is finished.. hehe..

Hi Elizabeth,

Actually i'm now going for the December weekend. Cos my FH totally forgot that his sister's wedding is on 26th November! So we had to change! Actually the change is not confirmed yet! May have to pay all over again cos we already changed the dates once!
We have tried appealing to them... still waiting for their response!

Anyone else going for the December weekend?

Lissa