Catholic Brides

Im a Catholic bride! Will need some help along the way! My solemnisation will be in OLPS.
Havent signed up for ME or EE. Can't decide which one to go for yet...

I need to check regarding catering "tea" instead of lunch for the church reception, what kind of food will be provided and how many dishes? Im having a dinner on the same night, so hoping to save a bit on the reception... *embarrased*

Thanks gal for the info..

I just went to Sacred Heart today...my hubby prefer Holy Cross.. I prefer Sacred Heart due to its location.. But hubby says it's toos mall n a bit old..

U r rite abt Novena.. wedding is not allowed there..

Nvmd.. I guess I'm stick with Holy Cross now..

Hi Fleur,
It wasn't really midnight mass lah...heehee. Mass was at 1030pm, ended at 1130pm and then it was party time! hahaha. I didn't want to go initially, but FH insisted. Think I will do it every year now. It's very crowded too...like Good Friday mass kinda packed. Quite fun lah.

Hi Jacquise,
ME is for married couples. EE is for attached/engaged/ROM-ed couples, who haven't had church ceremony yet. Think you are probably referring to MPC and EE. Well, you gotta look at your schedule and see which one fits both of you best. EE is a stay-in 1 weekend thing (Friday to Sunday) while MPC is over 6 consecutive weekends (Saturdays I think).

Hi Chummy, nvm. Holy Cross is just as nice and u dun have to worry if it rains or anything, coz there's shelter and it links to the basement canteen.

I'm planning to have my solemnisation on my AD during the weddding mass. But quite confused about the sequence..should I solemnise before or after mass? Also,have a slight problem, the priest who is officiating at my mass is not a licenced ROM solemniser,according to ROM's list. So I will need to invite another priest to solemnise my wedding. Any advice on the sequence, pls? Thanks = )

hi jacquise,

EE (engaged encounter) is over the weekend (friday nite to sunday evening)

MPC (marriage encounter course) is over 6 sundays (3 sundays at church and 3 at the couple's houses).

both covers same stuff but of cos the weekend one will be like a 'crash course' in a way... most pple will take the one that suits their timing best...

u cant' save on food..if your mass ends at a timing that is just nice for lunch, you have to serve lunch.. $10 is good enough already.. for tea, the norm min is about $5.

hi bliz,

u can only get a licenced priest of cos.. looks like you gotta change...

as for the sequence, its really quite standard... the actual signing part is always right at the end.. u can PM me and i can send you a few samples...

Hi Minssy,
To officiate a wedding mass, can be any catholic priests right, not necessarily one who is able to conduct the ROM soleminise part. Not all Catholic priests is listed on the ROM Solemnisers list leh. What I mean is that not every Catholic priest can conduct the solemnisation outside ROM. Aiyah, so confusing.... can shed some light?

Hi bliz,
yap, u need a priest who's been licensed solemnizer to do that solemnization bit. Yes, not every priest can conduct solemnization outside ROM.

What a friend of mine did was, she had 2 priests to con-celebrate her wedding mass. One to officiate the mass (i.e. to do the usual wedding mass - prayers, gospel, homily etc) and the other to do the solemnization bit (say vows, exchange rings, sign cert etc). Coz they were close to the priest who officiated, but they needed the licensed solemniser too. So maybe you can ask your priest about the option of having 2 priests con-celebrate your mass.

bliz... most parish priests or diocesan priests are licensed...
there are a few who may not.. so you got to check with them.. but if u want them to celebrate mass maybe because for reasons like u know them personally and are close to them, there's always something like co-celebrating.. where u get another priest who has a license to do so.. or at most get the parish priest to come down for that part to do that..

hope it helps

Novena church is not allowed for weddings.. but i'm sure u can always ask the redemtrist priest to solemnise the wedding for u...
i think one of the reason is that novena church though is a church is meant for devotional purposes..
But hey u got so many other churches, u'll be spoilt for choices. :D
I am not sure about cathedral.. but maybe with all ur make up and ur FH is suits and all.. maybe u could consider a church with air-con

hi bliz,

CSI fan got it

u can go to rom.gov.sg to see the list of the priests who are licenced to do the solemnization....

Thanks Fleur, my friends will be doing the ring pillow for us.

Have you guys work on the inviation cards yet? I would like to get some cards sample. I have no idea on what to memtion in the card. Hope that you guys can share with me.

I would appreciate it very much.

Hi Minssy,
My mass is at 9am, so it should end about 1030. A bit early for lunch. So i shall serve breakfast. hee hee. :p

Sorry that i was confused (must be the time of the night. Ya, should be MPC.) Any experiences to share about MPC and EE?

hi jacquise,

hahahahah! oh tea will be cool
$5 reception will be good enough

i only attended EE and i think its cool.. there are quite a few topics disussed and its also an oppotunity for you to know more on your FH....

MPC is cool too.. there are definitely more bonding between the pple cos its a much smaller group..

put it this way, if you are on the shy type, EE is cool.. if you are very open to share stuff and would like more personalise time, MPC will be great for you..

Hello gals,
Happy New Year!
Need to enquire on something...My wedding mass is 10.30am this nov 11. Sequence of events is as follows:
1) Gate crashing
2) Wedding mass
3) Lunch Reception
4) Tea ceremony at his place
5) Tea Ceremony at my place
7) Wedding banquet

Looks very hectic and thought of taking some outdoor pictures as well.
Thinking of combining tea ceremony at hotel just before banquet but seems like parents dun really like it being so late. They prefer it to be done earlier in the day.
Another thing is to shift the mass earlier to 9am or 930am. But is it too early for the florists and guests? Would appreciate if anyone can help with some suggestions or advice..

hi adel,

too tight. dun think its a good idea to tire everybody.... be more realistic in the timing.. unless your church & both houses are so near...

OD pictures? sorry to say but dun even dream abt it....

having mass at 9am is ok but you will have slightly lesser time for gatecrashing unless you wanna the groom to reach at 6am that kinda thingy.. cos by having mass at 9am, you have to reach at 830 latest to prepare.. your whoever is going to help you have to reach at 7+ to settle logistics...

be more realistic and plan your timings carefully okie?

Hi CSI, Minssy,Gloria

Thanks heaps for your advice... Really appreciate your kind advice. Things are much clearer now. Well, looks like I have to get two priests to co-celebrate during the mass. Just one more question for advice, should I do the solemnisation part before or after the mass?

Hi Joanna,
I think the 20 Jan EE is fully booked... last remembered when I checked the schedule on the Veritas website. I'm planning to register for one in March.

minssy... so really hectic huh.... should i combine the tea ceremonies on the church premises ?this might be a better idea cos there is a lunch reception so tea ceremony can be after that, but another question i have is whether the church (SFX) has a appropriate place to have it . The other better alternative will be tea ceremony at the hotel before the wedding banquet though my parents not keen.Still some time away so will have to convince them along the way.
anyone else who is faced with the same situation as me? any other timelines i can look at?

Hi Blitz,
yap, minssy's right.
solemnisatiion is incorporated into the mass/service (blessings, exchange rings etc) and cert signing is at the end, together with church register (if they do that).

Hi adel,
wow, ur schedule looks really tight. Minssy's been there, done that. hahaha.
So she knows how it goes. Agree with her that you shouldn't tire everyone else (and imptly, yourselves) out...otherwise, you can't enjoy your big day and might end up more stressed.

Tea ceremony at church sounds good. I've seen one of my friends do that. (hahaha, i'm always quoting my friends' weddings here...that shows how many weddings I've attended before it's my turn...) That friend had her tea ceremony at one side of the reception area where it's not so crowded, and after most of the guests have left.

I guess other timelines would be things like what time ur MUA will be arriving to do ur banquet make-up, u doing anything special during banquet with hubby? need time to rehearse?

My AD is just 1 week after urs...

Hi Blitz,
yap, minssy's right.
solemnisatiion is incorporated into the mass/service (blessings, exchange rings etc) and cert signing is at the end, together with church register (if they do that).

Hi adel,
wow, ur schedule looks really tight. Minssy's been there, done that. hahaha.
So she knows how it goes. Agree with her that you shouldn't tire everyone else (and imptly, yourselves) out...otherwise, you can't enjoy your big day and might end up more stressed.

Tea ceremony at church sounds good. I've seen one of my friends do that. (hahaha, i'm always quoting my friends' weddings here...that shows how many weddings I've attended before it's my turn...) That friend had her tea ceremony at one side of the reception area where it's not so crowded, and after most of the guests have left.

I guess other timelines would be things like what time ur MUA will be arriving to do ur banquet make-up, u doing anything special during banquet with hubby? need time to rehearse?

My AD is just 1 week after urs...

hi csi fan,

thanx for supporting me :p

hi adel,

yes.. i know its tight cos i've been there and done it! hahahahh! mine was at 11am service and by the time the caterer settle everything, its 1+ and we had to go home, pack stuff and go to hotel. once we reach hotel, my coordinators make sure things were ok and all... i felt the pace was ok cos all i had to do is to follow what my coordinators asked me to do..however, they feel that my timing is already quite tight. why? cos church takes up quite alot of timing.

tea ceremony in church is only good if you have a catholic family/IL.. traditional ones will not like it..

timing wise... you have to sacrifice 1 house.. that means, if you wan your hubby to gatecrash, then have the tea ceremony at your house after that.. THEN go to church OR your hubby's place, whichever the timing and distance is better.. its all abt logistics....

i suggest:
5.00am: wake up
5.30 - 6.45am: make up
7am - 7.30am: gatecrashing
7.30am - 8.30am: tea ceremony
9.15am: reach your hubby's place
9.30am - 10.30am: tea ceremony
11am: reach church
11.30am - 12.30pm - mass
12.30 - 2pm - photo taking & reception
(aim to end at 2pm else you will be very very tired when it comes to dinner time...)

4pm - reach hotel bridal suite to do whatever u need to...

nite:
6pm - 7.15pm: make up
7.30pm: go down mingle
8.30pm: the same usual stuff lah huh....

the above timing guideline is just a guide and i have no idea where you live and where your church is and all.. so, like this already its tight, let alone going to 2 houses?

Hi bliz,

Your AD on Dec 06? Me too. kekeke, saw that you have already booked Philip Lye. So far I only booked the church and bridal, hvn't start bookg other things yet. Think too early, guess i have to buke up. :P

Hi Adel,
I actually think your proposed itinerary is possible, though slightly rushed. And depends how far apart the various places (respective houses and church) are. And without the outdoor pics too.

My wedding was roughly like this:
- 7.30am - wake up, had breakfast, showered.
- 8.30am - MUA arrived
- 9am - photographer arrived
- 9.45am - Jie meis arrived
- 10am - Gatecrashing.
- 11am - Left for church.
- Abt 1pm - Left church for tea ceremony on groom's side
- 2.30pm - Arrived at my side for tea ceremony
- 3.30pm - Left my house for hotel.
- 6pm - MUA arrived.
- 7.45pm - I went down to the cocktail area.

It was partly 'cos our houses are only abt 10 to 15 minutes apart, and my house was abt 10 minutes from church. That helped a lot. Slightly rushed but everyone was happy. :-)

Hi Adel,
I had my tea ceremony in the hotel, at 6.30 pm before the start of the banquet. (Din want to tire ourselves!) It worked well for us, since this means that some of the guests were early then and we could start the dinner at 8.15 pm.

Oh, by the way... a big of digression... As a guide, I think the dinner should not start beyond 8.40 pm. It means some guests will be left quite hungry. If there is anything I learn out of weddings, guests will tend to remember the very good things, and unfortunately, the unusual 'bad' things.

Hi Verylastmin,
Oh ya... your wedding was just over right? How was it?

I read in another forum that Catholics have no gatecrashing... Or this is more a dialect group thingy? I dun tink i'll b getting hubby to gatecrash. Too much time spent. My Church wedding is 9am, i tink i have to get up at 4am then. hehe.

Oh no, Joanna,Im just as lagging behind. Me only confirmed church & dinner venue. Started hunting bridal only last wk. Anyway anyone has a timeline? If we confirm all the venue, BS, church etc, wat more is there left to do? Shake leg & do facials? :P I would only b bz with reno in June.

Hi Fleur, yup, my wedding was last month. It went off perfectly! We really had a fabulous time, thanks to all our wonderful friends and relatives. Think our guests really enjoyed themselves. And it started surprisingly punctually too - think we walked in at about 8.15 or so.

Hi Jacquise, don't panic, you've still got plenty of time. My wedding was beginning December, I only started to look for hotels at the end of May. :-)

Hi Minssy, CSI
Once again, thanks for your great advice! You gals are great.

Hi Joanna,
Thought i was early but when I realised that some of my shortlisted PG and VG were already booked on my AD when I called to ask them - my panic button went off!heh Quite scary....Going to be busy with renos as well so really scared that I do not have enough time.

Hi Adel,
My schedule quite similar to yours minus the gatecrashing. My mass is at 10am. Thought of proceeding to the hotel for tea ceremony after the lunch reception but FH is not keen on the idea. Still trying to convince him to take up the idea...

Hi jacquise, is it? Catholics have no gatecrashing? Maybe it's coz of the time constraint bit...coz mass/service is usually in the morning...my cousin had hers. I intend to have gatecrashing too. My banquet will be on the 2nd night, so the gatecrashing bit will fit into my schedule.

oh, you are not alone manz...I also only confirmed church and dinner venue. haven't settled anything else...ok, maybe the tentative guest list is out (needed that to help in the booking of dinner venue).

hi bliz,

welcome.. explain how tight and rushed everyone will be lor... if he dun see the light, then emphasise again....

hi csi fan/jacquise,

nah no such thing one lah.. gate crashing is a chinese custom.. not a catholic custom. technically speaking also, we shd do the church first before tea ceremonies mah.. they are all 'pple say' kinda stuff...

hi bliz & csi,

when r ur AD? at least u all r busy wif hse renov. I still sourcing for flat. I guess theres still alot of things to do leh. ang bao box, ring pillow, guest book, wedg favors, mass booklet, so far tats wat i hv tot of, not sure wat else i miss out.

hi joanna,
my AD is in Nov...haiz, still haven't found BS yet. Aiyoh...headache. Erm, not sure if u have mentioned before...when's urs?

oh i see...

hmm, I was wondering, is there a table of some sort, where we can all list down our details like AD, church etc...coz I cannot really remember whose AD is when etc...then a bit pai seh to ask, esp if it has been posted before...

Thanks alot gals for all your valuable input
..really appreciate it...

although its some time away but i am still stressed out thinking about it cos i am sure both side parents esp my IL who are non catholics will want tea ceremony at their respective houses so i really think it will take a lot of persuasion to change venues though i have not spoken to them yet...AND my parents (catholic) will def. want the church wedding before the tea ceremonies.. SIGH SIGH SIGH...feel like screaming actually.... so its like there will be no choice but to have a tight timeline... actually jacquise's and bliz's idea of no gatecrashing sounds good cos i can save time and the idea of the groom waiting for the bride at the church sounds romantic haha... like got suspense. The good thing is my house is 2 min away from the church (haha can walk there in my gown huh, and all the neighbours will know) and my FH house is about 20min away .. so does that make anything better? ok and i can say bye bye to outdoor pictures then .. anyway... i will sit on this issue cos still some time away...

Hi Csi! yah i know we have close ADs cos i saw you from the nov 06 brides thread
oh so you havent found a BS yet? nvm still got lots of time, am sure you will find one soon.. most imptn is the church and wedding venue.. the others can still take your time..

Hi very last min, congrats! yup worse scenario (which i pray i wont have to) i will have to follow the hectic schedule, of course without the outdoor pics....

oh btw, anyone going for EE next week? im going!

Hi adel, not to worry, if you notice, my morning started quite late 'cos I only left the house at 11am. If you leave a bit earlier, your tea ceremony etc after church will have more time.

hi csi,

actually last time have... then no one maintained mah! hahahah!

ok later i free i start something lah.. wahahhahahaha

hello gals,

adel,

u're here too? hehe.. quite a few nov 06 brides here hor.. CSI fan and urself and me! oh yah.. an not forgetting missy from nov 05.. hehe..

this is my schedule for the day:

5.30am: wake-up
7.30am: FH comes to pick me up at my house/ Gate crashing
8.10am: Leave for FH's house
8.30am: Arrive at FH's house / Tea ceremony commences
9.30am: Leave for New place
9.45am: Arrive at New place/ Photo taking
10.10am: Depart for church
10.20am: Arrive at church
11.00am: Church ceremony begins
12.00pm: Lunch buffet after mass
1.00pm: Tea ceremony in church for my family's side and FH's family should there be any
2:30pm: Leave for New house to rest
5.00pm: Proceed to Restaurant for dinner

so here's my schedule.. and hopefully it would be helpful for u.. its tight.. but FH and myself really want to get it over and done with.. luckily we're not staying very far away and church is nearby too.. so not too bad..

my EE will be on 17th - 19th feb leh.. so will not be meeting u i guess.. have fun at urs!!

hey missy,

u wanna start a table? i can help manage.. coz actually i'm managing the nov 06 and the qianxi restaurant thread's tables.. haha.. got the format already.. hehe

maybe u can sugest on what headers to put in?

hi petrina,

where have you been! haahhhahah

wah good good! please do! hee....

ok can put the below headers as per the below sequence? hope its not too much but i am sure most will be useful

Nick
AD
Church
Mass or Service
MPC or EE
Month of MPC/EE
Caterer
Florist
Printer

BS & Lovenest is optional.. so far its not widely discussed here so i think can skip it lah

thanx sweetie

Hi CSI, Adel and Petrina,

I am a nov 06 bride too!!!!!

Petrina's going to compile a list?

great, then we can share our progresses and and urge each other to move faster if any of us are too slow in preperations!

So far, I have only spoken to the priest, and booked the church for the date. Father tells me that since my wedding is in Nov 06, he suggest I only meet up with him in July 06, together with a newly issued baptism cert... that's my progress so far.. hee.. havent been reading up on anything else!!

hi missy,

yes yes.. i can compile the list.. hehe.. and i've added in ur input already.. thanks so much for ur help.. hehe..

okie gals..

here's a preview to the table and i've managed to add in a few of us only with the info that i am able to gather from my nov table as well as here..

please fill in the blanks for me okie? thanks..

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-1">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">AD</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Church</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Time</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Service or Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">MPC or EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Month of MPC or EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Caterer</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Florist</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Printer</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">adel</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">11th Nov 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Church of St Francis Xavier</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">10.30am</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">CSI Fan</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">18th Nov 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Church of St Teresa</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Petrina</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">25th Nov 2006</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">St Vincent De Paul</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">11am</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Mass</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EE</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">17th - 19th Feb</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD><font size="-1">Church's Own</font></TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Roidana</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Nov 2006</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Joanna</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">30th Dec 2006</font></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

yeah! it worked!!!

haha.. so happy!!

OK! now its ur turn to give me details..

details everyone!!

sorry ah.. i'm a bit hyper today.. hehe

hi petrina,

cool cool

hi roidana,

you r still quite early.. just read and compile contacts in a file (to be more organised). when things draw nearer, you will know what need to be done cos your feeling will tell you.. kekeke..

Wow. patrina.. you are really fast.... ok.. here's my input... (so exciting..hee)
AD: 4 Nov 06
Church: St Anne's
Time: 9am
Service/Mass: Yet to decide
EE/MPC: Attended EE in Sept 05
Caterer/florist/printer.. havent done research..

Minssy.. hearing what the Father said, i more "relax".. He say.. no need so early lah.. hahaha.. I already set up a ring file, divided into ROM, House, and AD... !

wah pet,
you even have your schedule thought out already...wah....

ok pet, dun mind add these details for me please:-

Time: 11am
Service or Mass: Mass
MPC or EE: EE
Month of EE: March 2005
Caterer: Select Catering

that's all I have for now...Thanks!

yeah! there's a few nov06 catholic BTB...
no wonder sometimes I get a bit blur, coz sometimes I think "didn't I just read a message from this person a while ago...?" hahaha.

hi adel, yah, been wanting to ask if u're the adel from the Nov06 thread...but keep forgetting.

hi roidana,

i've already updated ur details but will wait for a few more inputs before i upload the table.. otherwise it'll keep appearing and appearing.. hehe..

u have a file too? thats cool.. so do i.. so exciting to be the main planner for the most important day of my life! hehe..