Catholic Brides

aj2wed

Hi, anyone can send me a copy of the church mass template? Best if its set in the book layout, (A4 fold into half).

Blessed Couple: I happened to talk about this with the priest and he mentioned that the unity candle is not part of the mass and it's up to the individual to opt for it. And if you choose to want to include the unity candle step, you'll have to do it after the mass is completed.

chew_the_gum

hi starlander,

It's up to u whether u want to rehearse. for experience choir I think not necessary for priest..I think he don't need to at all..
just my thoughts

ponders

I might have asked this before but I can't seem to find what i have posted in the forums.

Anyway, my husband to be, an atheist, is very uncomfortable in agreeing to a Church wedding because he does not believe that any children is to be brought up actively as a Catholic but rather it should be their choice and as parents we should raise them secular.

Because of this he is unwilling to agree to the Church's requirements of raising them Catholic.

For him to want to be open to a Church wedding was hard enough, he was finally willing to compromise in a Church wedding until we met this road block.

In short, he does not want to belittle or mock the entire marriage by lying to a priest in order that I receive the sacrament.

I on the other hand believe should receive Sacrament and can't think of other ways to wed.

Would like to hear your views.

Hi Ponders

Have the both of you gone thru EE or MPC yet? Generally this issue is covered during the session. Don't worry, it is a common "problem" and query, even among Catholics.

Faith is a gift. And that is why the Church requires us to pass on this valuable gift to the child. Ultimately, they will still be able to make their own decision down the road when they are older. It is like why we decide what kind of food to give them when they're young, or the school they go to. So since faith is about God, isn't it more important than school?

You need to speak to your priest. I'm sure they have encountered many of such similar situations before. Let me know if you need any help. I know a priest who's experienced with non-believers.

orenji83

I am a newly baptised catholic, but my FB is a muslim. I am not required to be converted as his family is not the religious kind. Will I still be able to marry under the Catholic Faith and receive the sacrament?

dancingpetals

Hi ELing,

My FB is also not a Catholic & yes, you can still marry in Church, provided ur hubby agrees for your children to be brought up in the Catholic faith.

You'll also need to attend EE or MPC before your marriage where some of these issues will be examined.

sheltie

I am new to this forum and was hoping to get some help in prepping. Am planning for early 2012 wedding and I am catholic and the boy is not but has agreed to attend EE and hold a church wedding. As we are on a budget and prefer church and dinner to be done on e same day, will like to ask which churches allow sunday wedding mass and also for me to have own choir? Sunday dinners are usually cheaper (at least for those I have checked) but we may also decided not to have a wedding dinner in the end.Thanks!

aj2wed

Blessed Couple > do u have contacts for printing your mass booklet can u PM me?

Julia > I think it's quite hard to have it on Sundays, my views:
1) due to most churches having morning and evening masses. If u have it in the afternoon, would it still be in time for the auspicious hour (assuming that you all are Chinese and that your HTB is not a catholic?)
2) If u manage to find these churches, for some churches, you need to be part of the parish to hold ur wedding there. which is the ones near your house usually.
Another of my opinion is that you can have it on Sat and Sunday, find a bridal shop that doesn't charge u extra for using the gown / make up for 2 days. and just pay $200 more for video / photo for having cross day weddings. Or you can just have a lunch reception (the lavish kind) at the church premise, and do away with the wedding dinner?

This is just my personal opinion though. good luck!

sheltie

aj2wed : thanks for your ideas. I thought about it but decided that having it across 2 days is too much of hassle and don't want to trouble my helpers for 2 different days. There is the chance that I might just have a reception in church. Was wanting to check if anyone knows any churches who will do sunday wedding mass.

charlene05

Hi all, anybody holding a church wedding at st teresa church or have held theirs there? Any idea what the seating capacity is like? Any good florists to recommend? Would it also be advisable to share cost with the wedding couple before my session so that I'll be reusing their deco for my service in the afternoon?

Julia, from what i know, unlikely have church who will hold wedding masses on Sundays.

My wedding would also be split into 2 days cos I could not get a date at the hotel for dinner on Saturdays and no wedding services on Sunday =(

tabogal

Hi, i am planning for my Dec 2011 church wedding and read through some of the post here..

I'm planning to attend the EE/MPC probably early next year but was quite shock to see that there is a requirement that we must agree to bring up our children in the catholic faith if 1 party isn't catholic.

Is that true? How does that work? We have to sign on some document?

Sorry for asking such question but I really haven't heard of that...

maple_gal

We have attended the marriage preparation course and looking for a Catholic church to have our solemnisation and wedding lunch for our guest.

We would like to inquire:
1. Does the Good Shepherd Cathedral have wedding service?
2. Do you have recommendation on Catholic church(es) which have not-too-canteen-like site for the wedding lunch (buffet)? We love old churches with stained glass / and lots of windows for sun light to enter (instead of neon light).

Thanks a lot for your help.

uschogm

I am in the same position as Julia. Because of certain situations, I can only have wedding banquet on a Sunday. I would like to have a church wedding also on the same day. I have figured out that a wedding mass won't usually happen on a Sunday, but what about a wedding service in a Catholic church? Does anyone know of a Catholic church that will conduct just the service and not the mass on a Sunday? Thank you.

chew_the_gum

hi tabogal,

yes, have to go through a pre-nuptial agreement. the priest will sit down with you & your partner to go through the agreement with you, there will be a few Q&A. Yes, as a catholic, we have to baptise our child and bring them up in the Catholic way (just like you, if you're a cradle catholic). but dont worry, your priest should explain further to you on this point. i would say,in the older days, its more strict..even for mix marriage, its not even allowed. so it's more leniant now..by the way, my HTB is a non-catholic, he enjoys the EE and got no issues of bringing up the child as a Catholic, because it'll be more of my responsibilty,wouldn't want to pressure or force him.

Hi Zhijing,
1.Gd Shepherd does not provide matrimony svc.
2.SOme churches are having reno right now, believe you're getting marry next yr, so i think the canteen wouldn't be like those old school canteen. Gotta point this out to you as well, some churches doesn't allow non-parishers to wed at their church.therefore, ask your parish church first, then ask the church that you've shortlisted. If you like old churches, can consider St. Teresa. It's so beautiful & popular..i wish i could get marry there,but..it's alrdy been booked. i think ppl tends to book more than 6mths in advance, so hurry! (; another impt thing is to consider abt is the convenience of the church. some may be abit out of way.

Hi Jm,

wedding svc/mass would not make a difference..bcos very few churches allow Sunday matrimony svc, you have to call up and check.. have u decide if you wanna get married at your own parish church? if yes, just check out with the priest and give your valid reasons. if no, then u have to ask if it's ok if you intend to get marry at another church. if he says go ahead, then start to shortlist those churches u wld like to get marry at, call them up. rmbr there will sure be pros and cons. maybe this church accept ur reason & willing to do for you,but it may be a lil'out of way or not your dream church. but still, it's a church wedding. gd luck! (;

sheltie

Hi JM,
I have asked around, so far only Holy Spirit does Sunday weddings but it is very rushed as you have to finish before the next mass and traffic/ parking will be a problem for your guests. I have decided to hold wedding on Sat instead and have resereved the date with my parish for 25th feb 2012. It is hassle for me to split into 2 days, like what some people have mentioned. Helpers, wedding gowns rental, make up artisit and PG extra charge and co-ordination etc..

Hi Caroline & Julie C,
is it a must that our child must be brought up a catholic if I am and my husband is not? He has agreed to go to EE and church wedding but also feels that children should be allowed to choose what religion to believ in and not instilled in them. And they should be allowed to make their own decisions. I just feel that I should be prepared before attending EE. Any advise / views will be greatly appreciated!

uschogm

Thanks all for the advice. Unfortunately for us, the only date that we can really do is Sunday 26th June 2011 because of travel and school schedules for family. We have a contingent coming from US and school does not end there until 23rd June, and then there are parents that believe in the six month/half a lifetime bride superstition, and there's the ghost month and then school schedules for September and travel. And it must be on a Saturday or Sunday because many can't make it on a weekday. So basically all of July and August and Monday through Friday are out.

We also are undecided about splitting the days, having the church wedding on Saturday the 25th, and then the AD on Sunday the 26th. But we also have those same concerns, that it's troublesome for everyone to take 2 days out of their busy schedules to celebrate with us. Not to mention the costs of two separate days for gowns, MUA, PG, etc.

Having a church wedding is important to us, but it is also important to have our close family there because of the tea ceremonies, etc. Both are important, but in the end, we may have to not have the church service.

Anyone with any advice or ideas for us?

chew_the_gum

hi Julia,

i understand you, i also feel that they have a choice. for me,i dont have and more of being force by my mum & drag myself to classes and even now that i'm getting married, just a service,she is so unhappy. she find it what's the point if there's no mass..anyway..old thinking la.

i believe it's a must. but like i've said, priest will explain further to you on that point..it's now like within your means to bring them up as a one. for me, i will bring my child up as one, but whether they wants to continue, that will be their choice.
But what happens if you all don't agree, i'm not sure...talk to the priest,he's the best person to advice you. So now, talk to you HTB.. know if his family minds & whether your family mind if you dont bring your child as a catholic? If decision is between you two, believe it would be much easier..give & take,try to understand each other's difficulties lor.

For EE, dont worry at all! Both of you just go with an Open mind. It's not really into Faith, more of two of you. So go ahead and enjoy..it's gonna be a meaningful weekend for both of you. (;

dancingpetals

Hi Julia,
To celebrate holy matrimony in church, the Catholic Church does require that the couple agree to bring up the children in the Catholic faith. (even if one party is not a Catholic) I wouldn't see it as forcing the issue upon the child as they will 'choose' a few times when they are growing up through 'First Holy Communion' and 'Sacrament of Confirmation' whether they will journey on in life as a Catholic. But as a Catholic parent, your role is to share with them the values you believe in and the rest as they say, is to let the Lord lead their hearts.

chew_the_gum

wow JM..that's really tough.hmmm, speak to priest first if they can help. if not, no choice, you gotta incur extra costs and invite only family & relatives to ur church wedding. make it a small one, probably can save on reception too..Just do and go kind. for me, if my wedding svc if not at 1130, i also would not want a reception bcos i'm not inviting alot of guest.basically just some of both side family,the entourage & a few selected friends. i'm not even gonna have flowers..i save $300 w/out the flowers. =P

sheltie

Hi Jess,
I have sent you an e-mail about St Mary's church.
Does anyone know the difference between a wedding service and a wedding mass? it is stated in St Mary's church website that for mixed marriages, wedding service is advised. There will be no holy communion and consecration for wedding service?
http://www.stmary.sg/content/view/156/183/

chew_the_gum

Hi Julia,

wedding svc is basically w/out holy communion..it will last abt 30mins and it's still a sacrament.i'm getting married at SMOTA by the way. if u're not a parishioner you have to look for your own priest.

sheltie

Thanks Caroline. I got baptised in Holy Cross and attended mass there mostly but after moving near St Mary's, I go there for mass sometimes. If I am not regular there means i have to find my own priest?

shanawawa

Hi Julia and everyone else..

Me too am a Catholic but my fiance is not. We also attended EE earlier on this year and our wedding is next year June. I would strongly encourage all couples to go through EE or some form of marriage prep course. My fiance was tired during the EE weekend and was sick even but thankfully, he was open to the sharing and discussions we had. It is really beneficial as there were discussions on natural family planning and other aspects of marriage life. Almost all couples were not both Catholics so there was no pressure or stress. Some aspects of the religion was brought up but basically it's like any marriage prep course. Very useful

We had Father Ambrose and 3 other Catholic couples sharing with us during the weekend and it went really well

I also got him to understand about the part where our kids have to be brought up as Catholics and we have to agree to that during the actual wedding service. I also agree with Julie. My role is to share with our future kids the values we believe in and let the Lord lead their hearts.And it would be more of my responsibility too. He is agreeable and that really took a load off me. I also hope he will be able to attend Sunday masses with me but I don't think I would force it >.<

Have faith and I believe all will go well. All the best to all couples out there

sheltie

thanks for sharing your experiences at EE. I have signed us up for March next year.

Would like to check if anyone knows whether wedding mass will be allowed on Xmas eve in the morning? I am waiting for Holy Cross to reply me. But will be thankful if anyone can share if they remember anyone celebrating/attending church weddings on Xmas eve itself.

overderainbow

Hi Julia, I've gone to a New Year's Day wedding (Christian, not Catholic) but not on Christmas Eve. I'm guessing the churches might be too busy preparing for Christmas mass to accommodate weddings. There would also have been Christmas decorations around which may clash with your wedding decor... if possible would suggest you avoid?

A word of caution to those going to EE... please bring insect repellant... the mosquitos there are deadly!

pinkpiglet

I have just started planning my Dec 2011 wedding. Have so many worries.. cos its hard to get a hotel for Q4 of 2011.. and i have not made a reservation for church wedding too (im from Holy Cross).. plus i would prefer Father Richard to conduct the mass. Not sure how to start! Could any kind soul advise me please?

linguini

need some advices..
1) any chinese couple meeting in church for the first time and do away with the gatecrash etc? i have this wild thought of doing so but am worried that i look like i am out to annoy the elders,etc?

2)must the readings be done by your friends/relatives who are catholic? or can they be done by church members? (in st teresa context)

3)how is the arrangement to walk in? flower girl, page boy, maid of honour, jiemeis? the church told me it is up to me.

4)can confetti be thrown and cleaned up thereafter or is it not allowed?

5) if there are only about 8-10 people who are catholic, should i hold a service or mass? (htb and myself are catholic)

6) if there is no dinner, only lunch in church, should the photographer lingers around still or should i stop the service?

7) when should tea ceremony be slot in?

TIA!

lilyc

Hi pinkpiglet,
Have you got your hotel booked already? If so, and you want to have your church ceremony on the same day, you should check with the church if the date is available. Then, check with Father if he is available to conduct the mass for you.. I understand how you feel... so many things to take care of!

pinkpiglet

hi lily,

thanks for ur advice. i haven't booked the hotel. we are meeting the person from various hotel this week or next and hopefully to nail down asap. then we proceed to check with church. are u from holy cross too?

jessiemel

hi all! i will be holding my ceremony at St Francis Xavier in Oct 2011. Any brides can share the itinerary planned for the day? coz i was contemplating if i should have my tea ceremony at the church canteen or before my dinner at the hotel. My ceremony is at 930am..

TIA!

olivia_n

Hi Jessie, I just had my wedding last month, and I had my tea ceremony in the hotel... Though my hotel was very accomodating, providing us with a separate function room just beside my ballroom, chairs, service staff, etc, I felt it was rather rushed before dinner, and it's impt that you have someone who can gather all your relatives first so there won't be a lot of waiting time... I rushed up and down to do my gown change as well so can be quite hectic... And you can't have it too early cos you know lah, typical Chinese banquet, "fashionable" for guests to be late.. Haha.

My advice would be to have it after mass in the canteen... I see more flexibility in that. You are having your service early in the morning as well, so time-wise, you have more to play around with. And it's always nice to have relatives attend the church wedding and head for the tea ceremony thereafter... Many times, I've seen weddings with only a few pews filled up, and it's kind of sad cos the church ceremony is the most beautiful and meaningful part of the whole wedding, and it's always nice to have loved ones be a part of it : )

olivia_n

Btw, for those who might be interested, my wedding was held over 2 days, Church service on sat morning, and dinner on sun night... and both my hubby and I agree it was a fantastic arrangement. We felt totally at ease, we enjoyed ourselves at the church lunch reception with all our friends and family, didn't have to rush off to the hotel, etc... It was great! And we only checked into the hotel at about 3pm on sat, and we had the whole of sat evening to relax, and also count ang baos from the church wedding... hehe.
You then have sun morning and afternoon to tie up any loose ends for your dinner, etc...

We didn't incur any extra costs whatsoever from our wedding vendors... My MUA came as part of the package so it didn't matter whether it was on the same day or two separate days, and our photographer charges by the hour... it also gave him more time to put together the montage for the dinner

Having the church ceremony and dinner on 2 days isn't as bad as you may think it is, it's actually really great to have the time to bask in the joy and love of the occasion, and to enjoy your wedding

shanawawa

Hi Jessie,

Me too am bride in SFX.. juz in June 2011. Have you called the canteen and choir coordinator??

Also wanna know the itinerary planned

Olivia, your wedding sounds absolutely enjoyable
) Also thinking along that line initially, but I'm just worried to trouble the same ppl to attend both my church recept and wedding dinner on separate days. Would take up their entire weekend. But I guess those who really matter won't mind that ba!

sheltie

Thanks Overde rainbow. Yup the 3 churches I have enquired with have all rejected me for 24th. Changing it to 31st Dec instead and still deciding between St Teresa's or St Mary's. Does anyone know who will be helping if I book with St Teresa? I ahve contacted Father Arro to check availability of church on that day but never talked about the church decor. Anyone has any idea if they have ladies helping with the flowers and reception and sound system etc? Thanks

charlene05

Hi Olivia, your post has made me feel more relieved now. Was rater apprehensive initially when i had to split the wedding into 2 days..

Btw, anybody here is a btb of St Teresa Church. Need some help here. Does anybody have a copy of the document which is attached to the receipt when payment is made. I've misplaced my copy, and the secretary at St Teresa refused to let my fiance have another copy of that info. Could someone kindly send me a copy please? I would really appreciate it.

charlene05

Hi Olivia, your post has made me feel more relieved now. Was rater apprehensive initially when i had to split the wedding into 2 days..

Btw, anybody here is a btb of St Teresa Church. Need some help here. Does anybody have a copy of the document which is attached to the receipt when payment is made. I've misplaced my copy, and the secretary at St Teresa refused to let my fiance have another copy of that info. Could someone kindly send me a copy please? I would really appreciate it.

jessiemel

Hi Olivia, thanks for sharing! after discussing with my family, we decided to do the tea ceremony after the church ceremony. Most of my htb's family will attend the ceremony as they are Catholics but not my side of family. But eventually i have to return to my dad's place after the service, so for those who weren't present at the church, they will have to go to my dad's place for tea ceremony. my only concern is that there probably will not be any food served at my dad's place except for some cakes and finger food. but my dad said, dun bother with whether they have food to eat anot, coz we cannot accomodate to everyone. hehehe..

therefore, my itinerary will be : Dad's place -> FFIL's place -> Church (reception + tea ceremony) -> Dad's place (tea ceremony, if required)

everything should end by 2pm latest..then i can rest! hahahaha..

and i did consider to hold the ceremony and dinner on 2 separate days..but htb prefers to cramp everything on 1 day, so that we can sleep on the entire following day! pig!

hi shanawana! have yet to contact them. i had engaged Philip Lye to sing instead of engaging a choir. FYI, besides the canteen, there is another function room (Parish hall??) which actually looks better than the canteen. but it will cost $300 with no tables and chairs. so Betty suggested using the canteen. my HTB prefers the canteen though, coz he said a bit country style..faints...cheaper also lah..hehehe..

shanawawa

Hi Jessie

Just wondering why after Dad's place, u go FFIL's place although the tea ceremony is at church?

I am also doing something like your itinerary as my church service is at 11 am (if i rem correctly!)

What time is your church service? or u having a church mass?

Keke I also cramping everything on 1 day. We also wanna be piggies.. kaka!

Heard of Philip Lye too! Heard he is amazing.. may have to get contact from u. But i'll check with the church about the choir first.

I didn't know there is function room (Parish hall) but I think I'm gonna stick to the canteen too. Am abit afraid if rainy weather then the outside area cannot house the people? but I quite like that outside area.. ya ur HTB is right.. feels quite country style.. abit dark inside oso i feel.

jessiemel

arlo shanawawa! it's like Chinese tradition? where 新郎娶新娘回家?the geomancer i seeked also reminded me to step into FFIL's house before 9am. eh..i tink it's individual bah?

my ceremony is at 930am. Betty told me only 930am and 130pm so that they can accomodate up to 2 couples on that day. i still dunno if i'm doing service or mass leh. i tink i let my HTB decide..hehe..

no problem, let me know if you want his contact. my main reason is bcoz of budget lah..and also reviews from the forum..coz my friend engaged a choir for her church wedding, and it cost her $500! faints...

i also feel dat way too! but he like it, so i let him be..anyway, i'm a non-Catholic..SFX is where he was baptised, and where his parents were married..that is why we chose this..

shanawawa

Keke Jessie, I just called the Canteen coordinator and wedding rehearsal coordinator. They say June 2011 still very early.. but they are helpful and I think should be okay ba.. tell me to call them only 1 month before the wedding! AIYO! so i think u can call later too. ur HTB goes Sunday Mass there? Then he should be familiar..

For me, I don't go to Mass at SFX but it's near to my place.. my parish church though I go Mass at Risen Christ with my other relatives. But I think the interior is very nice!

I think they dun have projector.. Hmm.. so have to print the booklet.

Heard that Mass is for both Catholics. Service if one is not Catholic. My HTB is non Catholic.. so for this church service, I will try to liase most on my own first
He can do the dinner.

jessiemel

oh..still early lah..hehehe..

he dun attend mass regularly..very bad..hehehe..luckily my FFIL stays in Sengkang and my dad stays in Hougang..then going to SFX is not too far also..and yes, the blue-stained glass panels..i like...actually Nativity is another very nice church..but very hot, no aircon..hehehe..

can share your booklet when you are done with it? hehe..which priest did you engaged for the ceremony? i got Fr Anthony Ho.

we can choose either to have mass or service. not necessary for both to be Catholics. just attend my BFF's wedidng last month, she is a non-Catholic, and they had a full mass. so i tink that sld be ok...

charlene05

Hi all, really need some advice here. On my ad, I'll b having my church Svc in the afternoon. Could anyone kindly advise on hw should I proceed with the tea ceremony for both sides? If I served tea to my parents after the Svc, it wld already b evening time which I feel is quite late.

Anyone had been in this situation b4?

jessiemel

Hello Lene, since ur service is in the noon, u can do the tea ceremony for both sides before u proceed to the church. My initial plan is to have the service in the noon, so that i have time for tea ceremony and catering at both sides. by the time everything ends, it will be about 3pm oredi. then gotta rush to hotel to prepare for dinner, a bit siong. my PG also suggested to have the church service in the morning as the makeup is still fresh.

charlene05

Hi Jessie, but if I shld leave my hse in the morn to go to my htb hse, then when I go home to serve tea to my parents, I'll have to change a tea dress or sth right? Like tt got to take out veil which can't cos the Svc in the afternoon requires the veil. Tt's why I dunno hw to plan such tt everything flows nicely. Headache!
My dinner is nt the nxt day so tt part I not so rushed.