Carlton Hotel

ET: from what i know, they didnt serve Halal lol..vegetarian not very sure..most probably they will packed from outside..i need to ask for vegetarian as well..

is Zack a easy goin guy..? thinking of asking more perks from him.. can give me some advise
thank in advance

Hi restless, thanks i received it. actually i understand from my friend zack is a very nice person. thats y i thought of looking at the package 1st before approaching him.

ET, not much perks leh... budden i heard they will be having some in-house roadshows in March.
Not too sure when's the date though

maybe u can go chk it out.

for those who are planning to hold you wedding at Carlton next year... just to let u know that they are having reno works between Oct 09 to May 10

so, might be alittle messy lor..and you will be using their old ballroom

it was stated in my contract.

I be having mine in Nov 2010 so guess everything be settled.. just receive the draft proposal from them today. Will get them to indicate the "New" ballroom in the proposal.

Anyone know if 1 projector be sufficient for a grp of ~ 25 tables?

Hi Stella

If yours is in Nov, likely the lobby will be going thru reno, so your guests will walk thru a tunnel like thingy from the main entrance in order to get to the lifts. That's what Zack told me

Btw who's your coordinator? did they give you any good perks?
I am still considering if I shld take Carlton...

Sharon : Zack is my coordinator lol..Gd perks? Not really leh..what he told me, food tasting can up to 10 pple instead of 6..if i have more than 30 tables, i will have 2 nites stay..the rest the same bah as stated in contract as in waiver of corkage..i saw 3 of their bridal suites when i went last yr..I loved one of it is at level 24..if i dun rem wrongly..is a penthouse! i am gona to take that manx!

Stella >> did they state the reno period in your contract?

btw, have you chosen the theme? I went to chk out the Impact White last saturaday.. Quite classy looking as compare to June Florist 1 ..:D

Sharon >> agree with stella.. I believe the so-called perks did not differ alot from Stella.. btw, my coordinator is Agnes.. also a nice lady

Good luck with Zack!

Stella, Jazzster: ya perks not that attractive as compared to some other hotels. But I kinda like their ballroom. have not gone down to see the set up during actual wedding though.

Hopefully, the reno will not spoil the ambience for the guests. Btw Zack did not show me the bridal suites leh....

Anyone knows when is their wedding roadshow? I have called to Carlton and there is a person who told me in Mar. When I called 2 weeks again to confirm the date, another person told me it will be in Jun. I'm confused or probably, there will be two roadshows?

Been liasing with Zack for quite a while and was told tat the roadshow will be in June (tentatively). the perks and everything during the show has not been finalised yet. I am currently in a dilemma too. Dunno to take Carlton or Grand Copthorne.

ShirlDreamz

Carlton and Grand Copthorne was two very different places and very different ballrooms.. price also diff by $250

I talk to Zack last week , Carlton location much more better than Grand Copthorne . I thinking of having my AD at Carlton also . $928 nett for wkend for 2010

hmmm so it's a better choice to choose Carlton? If really so, then i guess can confirm with Zack next week liao. But are there any other reasons that one will choose Carlton?

Sianz...Carlton is under renovation so left only the small walkway (something like Orchard mrt to Tangs underground walkway where the small squeezy tunnel/area is) from late Oct 2009 to May 2010. The ground floor reception area will be going under reno so there might be a possiblity that the guests from the 2nd floor can see it. I'm afraid it will ruin the cocktail reception area where the guests mingle around and it might be dirty with the reno works. I understand they will stop work at 7pm but it will still be dusty and some guests might come early.

I'm so worried!!! Moreover I heard from a friend of mine who enquired about the wedding ballroom from Carlton that renovation will be done during the weekdays and mine falls on a weekday. I wonder whether the guests will feel uncomfortable. I know that others will say that as long as the couple is comfortable, that is the most important thing but we want the guests to feel comfortable once they stepped into Carlton rather than seeing renovations works and dust flying around. As a bride's opinion, I definitely won't feel comfortable.

I'm also worried when the renovation starts to hack the wall of the old ballroom to connect with the new ballroom. If the couple is unlucky to choose the date when Carlton ballroom starts to renovate, it will only be blocked by a wooden piece of wall and it will look unslightly.

As for those who would like to use the new ballroom, it will not be ready by Mar 2010 as the construction work is being delayed due to economy downturn. This is the feedback when I called to check although I have booked it.

hmmm in that case, by Jun 2010, they should finish everything? now i'm really concerned about this. Maybe should talk to Zack when i meet him up next week.

ShirlDreamz, Carlton should have completed their renovation by Jun 2010 or else the renovation or contractor company has to compensate until crazy as they have promised to complete it by a certain dateline.

What is worrying is those brides including myself who hold it during the ongoing renovation period with dust flying around. Moreover, the ballroom is at the second floor so it will definitely be affected. And they need to hack the wall of the old ballroom to connect to the new ballroom. Probably, let's give the contractor at least 10 days to hack the wall and beautify it so the couples who are married in that particular period are definitely affected.

Hi gals, I am on waiting list for 10 Oct 2009, only left wif esplanade room at level 4. FH oso worry abt the reno going on...
Zack did mentioned dat lobby will be covered up so no lobby :p and if i wana use the outdoor waterfall for solemnization, FOC but facing the construction...

hi gals, i met with zack today and viewed the ballroom.. he is really very patient and nice!
totally service oriented!!

i have also confirmed with him tat all the reno will be completed in june 2010.. however the new ballroom can be used somewher arnd march.. and from march to june will be the renovating of the lobby..so the covered wallkway will still be there until june 2010..
hope that clears the confusion of march and june 2010..

i actually feels that zack managed to give us more perks than other hotels and he is rather flexible..
i went to amara, holiday inn atrium and M hotel, all are very strict with thier perks.. they will only give whatever is stated on ther list.. no more or less..

he did say if we were to signup now, we can lock in the price of 2009 for the new ballroom..
deposit is 3k.. reasonable amount..

also he said the bridal show will be around june.. and ther will be a price hike of 10%/table for dinner held after apr2010 when the new ballroom is up.. however, there are cash rebates to compensate.. but then again he said these are not confirmed yet.. still in the midst of discussion..

im contemplating whter to wait for the show or do i book now..

shirl , joey:
i am also considering carlton n grand copthorne!
coz their sunday price is rather reasonble =)
but min.40 tables.. i am looking arnd 30-35tables.. are u girls going for the upcoming show at GCW?
ill see wat they can offer during the show then i will reconsider..

so far carlton is top on my list!

wow.. im looking at 13 june 2010. meeting Wynn next monday for a preview. i would really hope to get the new ballroom during my wedding date, and also that all renovations is already completed by then!! hee

ging3r, me same same as u. looking at ard 30-50 tables. ive went to see grand copthorne already. Its nice.. BUT.. cant hit its min, and my date is fixed already on the sunday.. so now sourcing out on other hotels.

ya.. min table is very important however some hotels is flexible with min tables.. if u like GCWF.. u can talk to them and try ur luck.. for me i visit 2 hotels and they can reduce min tables.. =)

hey thanks gals for the info. Just met up with Zack today. I really agree that he's super nice and flexible. He threw in a lot of perks for us too which makes carlton far better from wat we expected. My AD date is not confirmed yet. Might be in Jun 2010 or Sep 2010. So he said not affected at all. N i really like the new ballroom in comparison to the current one although it's equally nice as well. Really have the urge to sign up with him today already but my bf still has a little reserve. Dunno if i still want to go and take a look at Grand Copthorne cos most likely i'll be having 23-25 tables only. Cant fit into GC's main ballroom. Everything else abt Carlton seems so perfect, now only worried abt the service and food quality. Shall make my final decision by end of next week as i'm seeking for the date from the master. Will still place Carlton as first choice. =D hope i will be able to make a very good choice.

What perks did you gals get? My coordinator is Agnes and my perks are quite standard as other hotels although I had negotiated for more perks.

nah.. GCWF's reply to me is.. i can mayb opt for weekdays weddings.. den can hit its min requirements. -_-"

Ive got a few friends review Carlton says Wah Lok's food standard dropped a lot. What u gals think? I havent ate there b4 though..

actually i do have friends who had the same reviews too. i'm not sure myself cos i've not tried it. but come to think of it, i don't think it will too terrible. and it's hard to get everything perfect. i'm now just trying my luck liao. i just hope everything goes smoothly. even if food dun taste fantastic, i think still acceptable bah.

snow_angel, wat are the perks u were given?

Hi ladies, has anyone seen their esplande ballroom at level 4? cos my AD is 10 Oct 2009, and only esplande ballroom is available...
me and FH struggling between Carlton and Sheraton
reli headache...ST's price is reli steep...

I am just worry for my Nov AD, they say is under upgrading, as what the pther threads mentioned, the lobby will be affected and somemore the ballrm is at level 2..when we have cocktail reception, the view is not that great lo..i am afraid it will affect the ambience..