Carlton Hotel

Salut! i like your style! You are like a guru, i must learn more from you ;-) i can't agree more wat you said....

Hey Miracle,
Since in-law still can't gimme a date therefore i checked with april if she can gimme a grace time and not to charge me for the change of date, she said okay and will let me have it until this month end...thank god!orelse 3k fly away liao....then in-law's is gonna pay for it lor...kekeke, anyway they've prepared to do so coz she said it's better not to clash with 'suay' date and she will rather pay if come to worse....

about april being 'famous' in the forum be it +ve or -ve for certain incidents, i actually dun really care coz m not a judgemental person, same like you oso, i tink she's alright too coz she's been patient with in-laws and empathize with my situation now....like Serene said,if you want to be treated nicely you have to be nice to people first rite?

Halo ivied,
how's ur preparation coming along? me gonna change date but will still be in July 07 i tink...oso have to depend if htl still have the date for me....in-laws is checking wz some hong kong temples rite now....

will keep ur in the loop by mth end......

Hi Jenny,
Pai-sei lar, eye got stamp so missed you out in my last posting!!! kekeke.....
yup, mi taking the PROMISE OF PASSION. $798 coz confirmed 33 tbls so hotel nvr charge me extra $30 lor...you familiar wz the package so far??we got a lot of nice advisor(s) in the forum, like Serene (aka my Guru ;-D ), ivied, miracle,lstephie....you can chk wz them oso...

Hi Turqoise,

I agree with you. Actually April is quite a nice person, she will try to accomodate if the requests are not too demanding. Its just that you have to keep calling her in order to reach her coz she is always busy.

I have done up most of the stuff, now just looking into the details like the actual day program and the guest list. But I still have one big problem not settled and that is selecting the florist. It is so costly!

As I did not take up any bridal package, (i.e. I had everything DIY) so I had a lot of researching to do. I remembered you mentioned that your FH is outstation so the wedding preparations will be done by you, with the assistance of your jie mei.

Just a helping hand: Do draft out a budget plan, itemised out the things that you want and stick to it. Follow suit with a checklist to ensure that everything is in order.

I have done some researching. So if you need any info, we can exchange notes.

I just saw this thread and am posting my experience so far here.

My wedding in November is also hosted at Carlton @ Esplanade room. It'll be a small event of around 13-14 tables, and on a Saturday.

The banquet manager we've been liaising with so far is Jason Wong. He's a good chap, pleasant, courteous, and the both of us have found it easy to work with him. I've not had difficulties getting in touch with him before, apart from the time he was on reservist. He's prompt in email replying, although from what I've seen he prefers to call instead.

On one of our meetings - where we signed the contract - I actually asked him about that incident some years ago where there was that public complaint against Carlton reported in ST. That was before his time, but he nonetheless explained things from Carlton's perspective. I liked his candor and honesty.

So, for the actual event, I have no idea how it's going to turn out. But so far at least, the experience has been pretty smooth. We'll be having our food tasting in 2 weeks' time, so we're keeping our fingers crossed on the quality of Wah Lok's food.

Hi Turqoise,

Aiya, me really not guru but just sharing with you all from my experience.....hopefully it can help. Moreover, when I was doing my wedding preps, I got a lot of help from fellow forumers

Hi CYFoo,

No worries about the quality of food manz....in the recent Sunday Times, Wah Lok was one of the Top 50 restaurants in Singapore

Long time do not go to the forum, have missed many postings...

Last night just collected my cards, got any recommended printing company in a cheaper printing cost, besides the 2 that recommended by Carlton?

In the invitation cards, there's 2 little maps provided, is it for printing? Usually is there any add'l charge if I want to print the map on the invitation cards?

Just curious to know you gals choosed which design

hi Chibi,

I have not decided on the printing company yet but here's some that I have compiled and researched on. You may give them a call to find out.

1) Person : MeiYen
Tel 4589455
Fax : 4537558
Address : Blk 4010 AMK Ave 10 #02-01/02 Tech Place 1 S(569626)

2) Acepro
401 MacPherson Rd #02-34 Hotel Windsor
Singapore 368125
Weekday 9am-6pm
Weekend 9am-1pm

3) Mr Jet Lim
Sunprint Centre
35 Kallang Pudding Rd
#08-08 Blk A
Tong Lee Building
Tel: 6841 4873
Fax: 6841 4872

4) T-dragon
http://www.tdragoncards.com/

5) lil-art
http://www.lil-art.com/new_page_1.htm

6) Focal Ad Marketing
http://www.focal-ad.com/main.htm

Hope this is of some help. I do not know about the charges on printing of maps on the card. Perhaps you can call them up and check. Let me have your feedback ok?

hi nemac,
My AD is only in Jan07. My comments for the hotel is that the wedding package is pretty comprehensive. The basic requirements for a wedding banquet are provided, perhaps you can negotiate for more freebies if you have a strong bargaining power.

Personally, my friends were delighted that I had taken Carlton coz of the food by Wah Lok. As for the services, so far the coordinator is ok, not much of an issue. U can check with the ex-Carlton's brides for more info.

Hey gals...

Long time no come to this thread. So can tell everyone is kan cheong busy preparing for their AD.
Mine still long long away... Nov 07. Any brides also getting married around my period?

hi iViED,
thanks for your info. we think the same, it is comprehensive.
will probably find time to check out details with the hotel lately. mind to share your wedding package with me? my email is [email protected].

so you have settled ur BS?

hi Gelaine,
we r planning to have our wedding in Nov 07 or Dec 07. U have booked carlton too?

hi nemac,
you are welcome.
initially Carlton was not our first choice but subsequently after comparison, my FH and I find that Carlton package can leave us with no worries so we decided to go ahead with it.

Have you called them to send the package to you?

BS.. considered settled. I did not take a BS package, just the gowns from La Belle.

Yeah yeah... i agree with iViED.
Carlton's package is very comprehensive. For me and my hubby, we did not even negotiate for anythign coz whatever we planend to nego for it's all included in the 07 package.
We're satisfied though we thought we could have pushed for somethign more.

wow..sound like CH really good choice.
Carlton Hotel is one of our shortlisted hotel. my FH prefer CH too. we plan to choose date after 7th month then make booking. just started to prepare wedding,still have alot of things are not yet settled. Will find one weekend to see their ballroom.

Hi everybody,

Anyone can share with me the pictures of Carlton?
Any feedback and comments abt this hotel and who is the best person i look for if i wish to make an appt with them?

Is the room pillarless. I'm actually looking at around 30tables.

Thanks for advise in advance ;P

hi nemac,
well, do take a look around. then try to negotiate for freebies when you have made a final decision. Happy searching!

hi belle,
you can call up Carlton and ask for the package to be emailed to you. I think the pictures of the deco is attached to it as well. They will arrange a coordinator according to your FH's last name.

The ballroom looks nice, except low ceiling and pillars. If you are looking for pillarless, you have to go for 5 star hotels. Carlton's Empress ballroom caters up to max 33 tables.

Hope this info is useful.

hi Gelaine,
read that your AD will be in nov 2007. well, mine is rather close to yours..mine will be in dec 2007. who's your co-ordinator? paid the deposit already and now just gonna wait till next year (2-3 months b4 AD) for food-tasting, confirmation of theme, cards etc..

Hi miracle,

My coordinator is Eunice.
I also booked and paid deposit. Everythign else not done. Now just sourcing for my BS.
You leh? All done?

i'm coordinator is Eunice too.. same here. i haven't settled my BS, AD PG or VG yet. shortlisted 10 BS after reading this forum but haven't make any appointment to go down.

i went to graceful image bridal show 2 sundays ago but wasn't impressed by their photography..

how's your BS shopping?

hi miracle,

For me, my PG and AD PG is confirmed.
I'm not taking the photography from BS so intending to spend more taking from outside.
As for BS, i have narrowed down to 4 now... Silverlining, Margaret Brides and TWP, Bridal Veil. Will confirm before end of this yr i guess.

who have you confirmed for PG and AD PG? silverlining is also on my list..i'm interested in BS that ties with chris ling photography and thus will visit those BS first.. hopefully i can confirm my BS by early next year..hehe..

Hi chibi..

I have print n collect my invite cards quite some time already..I print at ad imaging..i tink can bargain with them..although they gave me a discount but i still find quite ex..hehe..i print namecards only $9 for 100 pieces..they print on papers charging 10x..But cheaper than other printing shops lol..they oso offer to deliver to house..quite satisfied w the printing..

miracle,

My AD PG will be Feldberyl and PG will be Hurricadia.
I personally dun quite like Chris Ling's style though i went to visit them twice. Personal preference i guess.
But i have to say if u want to take Chris Ling, should go for Kelvin which ties up with Jit.

mi too bz with work long time no see arh!
Serene, iViED, Miracle,
good news,mom-in-law not going to change WD liao,what a relief!!!!!now that i can concentrate at work,since my wed is July 07,long time to go but will work on guest list first,how soon should i send out the invitation cards before AD?

Hi Turqoise,

That's good!

If your AD is in Jul07, you may want to send out your invitations in May07 or even Jun07 cos I believe, you would have let most of your closer friends and relatives know the actual dates

Hi Turqoise,
that's good news!

so now u can prepare your wedding at a slow and steady pace.

I agree with Serene. Alternatively, u can try 'save-the-date' method at the end of this year?
Then 2 months prior to AD, u can send invites via email/mobile and ask for their mailing addresses at the same time.
Print and send out invitation cards 1 month before the AD.

no need to wait till the GDL then give cards to the relatives?

my AD in oct 06.. now still happily shaking leg.. ohoho

Hi Turqoise,
glad to hear the good news..

your AD is earlier than mine..
so you can share your experiences with me.

happy preparation and hope you have already
sourced your BS, PG, VG etc..

Hi Jaclyn,

I went to AD printing to settled my invitation cards printing liao... So many patterns to choose

Want to chk w u:-
How many days the template of invitation card will b ready? I went there on Wed night to confirm the design, but until now, I have not received the template... But according to the staff there, it shd b ready on Friday...

Hi Jenny,

I also want to know the rate of steamed seabass... Did you go for your food tasting already? What cooking style of steambass you choosed?

Hi Chibi,

The template is usually ready within 2 to 3 days but I used Jasvy previously and not AD, so I am not sure for AD. It shouldn't take long cos they just have to change certain wordings since it's a standard template.

The steam seabass is not bad. The fish was fresh as commented by my guess previously

Hi Jaclyn,

I was liaise with Alex (Stella's colleague), because I reached their office is alerady after office hour, Stella was "handed over" me to her colleague. I asked Alex to get Stella to return my call when the template is ready, but until now there's no news fr them.

I better to call Stella tmr...