Carlton Hotel

zhu zhu: me too. my FH just cannot get wat i wan at times or too forgetful. hahaha.. tin guys are like tat. sighs

serene: so when you intend to pass a photo to carlton to do the poster? i thot everyone is entitle one free poster?

Hi Zhuzhu,
aiya forget it lah....it's all their "little" actions that makes you don't know whether u should laugh or to be angry at them mah kekeke

Hi Lindy,
I have no idea! kekeke my PS is tomorrow, once I can get hold of any one of the pic, I will call Kelvin. Any idea when we must submit?

Zhuzhu,

I went last Oct. so not much promotion. think coz about 750 off the counter. I last minute then book.(on my AD thru phone :P)
Took NW coz the timing was good. fly in morning reach Tokyo in noon. so din waste much time. I miss the autummn leaves. We were too early. but never mind. how's the cherry blossom. you all very heng to see. coz I heard the blossom only lasted one week.

My hubby was more systematic than me but slow in co-ordinatoring. so we help one another.

Lindy,

Yah.. now go US still quite ok. few years down the road. dun know will be cheap and with children a bit difficult.
So enjoy all your trips now.
Have yet to go US. but if got chance think I will go Boston. my bro said it is quite a nice place.

hi kk,

din see any decoration on stage leh.. onli saw the cake and screen.. did they simplify the stage deco so tt the screen can be place on the stage throughout dinner?

Shihui,

There is "panel" at the back of the stage is part of deco. looks something like a gate type of panel.
Their deco is quite simple. So dun know if you expect more of it.
All the aisle, got flowers stands.

Serene, Lindy,

Kelvin told me he will arrange for the poster vendor to call us directly 2-3 weeks bf AD so get ready your pix by then..hm, gd weather today, Serene sure enjoy her PS

KK,

Thks for the pix, but I wonder is the screen being block by the pillar of the ballroom, did you show the morning express video? did all your guests managed to see the screen when they were seated without being block by the pillars..sorry for the many qns, me exploring to put the screen at the other end of the stage.

kk: recieve your pics. Thanks. so you place it at the left side of the stage rite? btw, who is your photograhper? look good?

serene: i think it is abt 1 week to process the posters. but april told me it is better to pass them asap so that you have time to do any modification.

Good morning ladies,

Anyone tried the food at Carlton b4? The rates at carlton are quite reasonable.. but I'm have not eaten there before... Any comments to share?

erkerk,

Some pillars block the view. no choice. cannot move. but think it's ok.. coz the montage shows the same pix as the album.
We din show the morning express stuff.

Lindy,
Yah, the left side of the stage.
We took CF Tien.

serene,

haha..already updated to Lindy, knew ZhuZhu AD over. Hope u had a great PS day.

lindy,

got time for modification for the poster? what type of modification?

hui(hice),

Carlton has their in hse restaurant Wah Lok, very popular in chinese cuisine..think they are listed top 3 in a competition. I dine there quite often and also the cafe vic buffet, food are yummy. I told my colgs that my wedding dinner will be held in Carlton and most of them smile and say Wah Lok, gd choice

kk,

OIC, Thank you

erkerk: what april told me is probably you can either change if you tin is not satisfied. eg: mayb the picture turn out not so good, hence you might wan them to rescan etc. she did not mention much. but i also tin it is good to pass them early if possible, so that we can see the output asap.

Hi KK
When we first reached jap..the cherry blossom only bloom abit..it was like days later then we saw the full bloom..but see too much abit sian leh...

Now their deco dun have the gate type of panel lar..Its a big pc of cloth over it..slightly better..think they change their deco after their wedding show last yr

Hi Lindy,

Thanks for the info, I just finished my PS yesterday and my photographer said I could view the pictures in 7 to 10 days so probably I will submit to Carlton during my food tasting or 1 month before my AD

Hi Erkerk,

Thanks! PS was fun but tiring

Lindy,

Haha.. Now I am confuse by your question.
You mean my BS or the photographer who took my AD photos..

Zhuzhu,

At least you can see something.. For me the autummn got nothing yet. no botak trees. all look the same and was raining now and then.

The panel looks slightly better? dun know. got to see then will know.

Serene,
Glad you had fun. most couple felt tired.
But think your pix will turn out great coz you enjoyed it.
can see the natural smile.

hi everyone!

i'd like to ask if Carlton is a good place to hold my wedding banquet. met with their planner last month n have a good impression so far. any ideas on what extra perks i should ask for? thanks!

hi magical,

try and ask when is their wedding show this year then sign up then cos they give more perks during wedding shows, also ask if they got any tie-up with credit card company so u can pay by credit and earn points

for me i got 12 bottles free wine, 2 VSOP, extra nite in bridal suite & free use of day room for helpers & paying by UOB credit card

also ask abt things like whether can exceed the quota for wedding cards, parking coupons, bring more people for food tasting etc.... so far they quite flexible abt these minor things as long as dun ask for too much

good luck

Serene,

Dun worry too much. maybe you will like the pixs. so dun think too much till you see the pix.

Lindy,
My AD photographer is not from the BS.
I took my friends' one. actually,, four of us took him.. so I also stick with him. He is good and professional. Taking photographs is his hobby so you can imagine his passion for it so we trust him a lot.
I came to realise that when choosing pple for different task,(like finding photographers, BS, etc) somethings it is better to find someone with the passion. you will be in good hands.

hi hamster gal!
thanks for your advice! i think credit card they do take...good for points earning!=) most hotels i asked said they only don't take personal cheques. i'll check with them about the wine, coz already got free flow of beer...(yayy!) .. dunno they'll give anot..

have u already held your banquet? i wan to check if their service is good on the actual event, n how their decor for chinese dinner looks like. i only managed to see their western setting...

Hi KK,
yeah, now only waiting anxiously to see the result!

Oh btw, I just realised my bro's AD photographer was also CF Tien. Not a bad guy and he's quite fast in producing the albums

true KK but for me, I have already signed up with Kalyedoscope cos my hubby prefer to have 2 photographers cos he feels they can capture different things at the same time. And Kalyedoscope is one company that offers 2 photographer at quite reasonable prices

Serene,

wow, it's a luxury leh.. imagine two person "fighting" to take your pix.. like limelight.. heheee.. think your face will be cramped with all the smiles..
:P

Hi Serene

Me also got 2 fotographers...but one is just starting our lar..the other is a pro....dat day really feel like a star..got 2 fotographers n 1 videographers...;) and so happen that it was showing the star awards that nite also...me also a star

wow.. so envy serene and zhu zhu. too bad, i already sign with my cousin. hopefully it will turn out nice nice.

kk: how much you pay for your photogragher?

hamster: your AD is weekend or weekday one? so good. mine only one extra night of bridal suite, and helpers room. and food tasting for 8 persons. did not manage to get wine and vsop.

hi Zhuzhu,
Yeah.......machiam like super star hor kekeke

hi Lindy,
me almost same package as you except that I got 10 pax for food tasting......no wine/vsop too....think it's only available for those who signed up during the show.

hi magical,
i haven't have my banquet yet...in dec 05... but i heard many comments about Wah Lok food being very good cos they won some competition before so i got no worries about the food... as for the hotel, i think there's some comments previously about some time required to set up and dismantle the projector screen... that's all i know....
i've seen the bridal suite..... very very nice and big.... and accomodate abt 30 pple comfortably i think

hi lindy tan,
my AD on a Sunday at the Level 2 ballroom (forgot empress or esplanade, but can seat 28 tables at least).... cos the Sat before is not a good day for me and FH
my food tasting for 6 persons only and for 6 dishes... but i heard can bring 1 more person, carlton will *close 1 eye*

mostly like i'll top up more to have all the 10 dishes cos it's going to be a parents-meet-parents session as well

the wine and vsop is freebies from the credit card company when i sign up during bridal show... but now i worry about having to carry all the cash to deposit into bank... scared getting robbed along the way... heeeheee

hi serene,
wow so good can have 10 persons for food tasting, is it for 10 dishes?

yum yum..... actually i look forward to the food tasting cos i heard many good comments on wah lok restaurant, even from some frens who are very particular about food also said Wah Lok is good

Hi Hamster_gal,

yeap, 10 pax for 10 dishes.
comments received from friends were also thumbs up to Wah Lok, so I guess, its more reassuring

hello all

im new to this thread. Im considering carlton based on the prices i saw in bridal magazines. I also heard that Wah Lok's food is very nice....

but i also heard that the ballroom has got 4 very big pillars.. is that true? can anyone tell me a bit more about the ballroom?

another thing is that the reception area is very close to the Wah Lok Rest and can be q disturbing during the pre-dinner cocktail....any truth about that too?

Hi Zhu Nai

The ballroom do have pillars lar..but depends on how many tables u had..if not alot...can work around the pillars lar..

I had no issue with the reception area leh...dun see any disturbance during my cocktrail...

Food wise is good...

hi hamster: my food tasting is for 8 ppl and 9 dishes. i actually finished my food tasting, too full liao cos i only bring 8 ppl and could not finish most of the dishes. a bit wasted. it is also my meet parents session too. the food is ok. i would advise you to bring more ppl as the food quantity is actually quite a lot.

kk: mango duck is special and nice. but how come is a combination of peach and mango and not duck? keke.. i actually put a remarks on tat paper provided.
serene: should be only 9 dishes. how come you got 10? :p

Zhu Zhu,Serene,

Good for you all to like taking photos.
I camera shy.. can siam camera I siam...

Lindy,

I paid about in total 800 for the day.

Hamster-gal,

Your ballroom should be Empress. the biggest there.
Sure you need to top up for 10 pax for food tatsing? maybe you can cham siong with them. I din pay for any single cents when we had 10 adults and 2 kids.

hi lindy tan,

thanks for the advice... yup, i think i'll bring about 9 people since i intend to top up more from 6 to 9 dishes....

hi Zhu Nai,
i think it's better that u go down to see the ballroom for yourself (can ask to see the bridal suite as well) .... the pillars are quite huge and it can block the view of guests sitting behind the pillars. For me, i think the food is more important so i dun really mind the pillars and i have around 30 tables so i'll avoid putting guests behind pillars also.... the reception area is not really that close to the entrance of wah lok restaurant cos the corridor makes a right angle turn before u reach wah lok, but it really depends on how many guests you have

otherwise, i think carlton is a good choice based on it's food, location and price

can i just sum up? so its a total of 10 pax for 9 dishes?? the dinner is a 9 course dinner anyway right? so the food tasting is for the whole dinner course lor?

any coordinator who is very good at carlton? maybe can look for him/her when i go there.

Hi Zhuzhu,

Not that I like to take photographs lah but then it will bring back beautiful memories of the wedding mah...so sacrifice abit lor...usually I also see camera, I siam liao kekeke

Hi Zhu Nai,

Yeap, it's 10 pax for 9 dishes (But u have to let them know in advance cos the standard package is 6 pax for 6 dishes)

My co-ordinator is Kelvin, so far no prob even though he had some bad reviews previously