Carlton Hotel

Hi Elaine,

I tot of MTM one cheongsum too. Where did you make yours and how much? Please please please show me the pics! kekeke

Minibu,

The Muslim table can be included as part of your miniumin. but must be full. eg. if you sign for 20 tables. 19 full chinese and 1 full muslim.

Elaine,

Haha.. you just make me want to work hard to put on my pix together.. after wedding, like very messy.. now got to find the wedsite to upload the pix.. :P

Hi kk,

ya..most likely will form a table...if not then gotta pay extras for the muslim frens loh..no choice..

eh...pls share pixs ok...

Minibu,

I din have a full muslim table. but I ask for one.
got only 7 px for the table. so no choice sort of "lugi" on the 3 pax price.

Girls,

Me on leave on Monday.
Haha, just finish uploading the pix...
send you all later.

hi elaine77,

can share with me your pics? i'm also thinking of getting a mtm cheongsam for my tea ceremony, can give me the contact of your tailor?

hi elaine,
thanks for sharing ur pictures. ya, i also agree wif e above that ur smile is very captivating & refreshing. =)

hi KK,
can i see ur pictures too?

am seriously considering carlton for our wedding dinner, but havent really seen a wedding function going on there (saw e empty ballroom), & havent met up wif the coordinator yet....
any advice on what I shd ask for to be included in e package?

sherv (sherv_sherv) : you can ask for a lot of freebies like extra night, wines, helper room.
tat time i only ask for extra night and helper room. regretted to ask for wine.
all: any ideas when to do the RSVP? april was telling me to do it 2 months before my wedding. is it too early?

Serene and hamster_gal, heres the contact for the cheongsam.

Shop name - Silver Cut, look for Peter 64570820,
Add: Beaty World shopping Centre, Bukit Timah Level 3

If he is not in his shop, it will transfer to his handphone. Just tell him that Elaine, whom mtm a cheongsam with him on February, recommended you to him, he will arrange a day for you to come down to his shop.

Lindy,
You can actually know whether your guests are able to attend when you first ask them.
RSVP usually two weeks before AD.
Two months is too early. a lot of time, pple either forget or got last minute stuff.

Erkerk,
Actually can. but provide your guest are not that big size.

Hi Serene, okie

Hi KK, heehee, glad to hear that, got 2 young nephews sitting with us on VIP tbl so think shld have sufficient spacing
for 12pax.

hi everyone, im looking at carlton...hope can join in this thread...

kk, how's the crispy chicken? is it nice?

Can share with me how's the Bridal Suite? did anyone ask for upgrade of the Bridal Suite?

kk: thanks. do you call them up to ask if they are free to come before you send out the invitation cards. or you send out the invitation cards before you call them? When do you normally send out the invitation cards? will that be too early if i send out 2 months before? mine is on 19 june.

Geberra,

so-so. you can try the duck(seems like some gals like) think is less common than chicken.
I prefer the Bridal suite to the premier suite.
My contract was for premier.(but then I still like Bridal suite. so sort of "down graded"...
Take what you like.

Lindy,
I usually will let them(friends) know before sending cards.
Like telling them to keep the date free for us.
they will usually be able to tell you if they are free within the week. then closer to date(about 1 month) I will send the cards out.
If you send early, they might forget or misplace the cards.
Think you can start letting them know about the date end of this month.

but for relatives, you can let them know earlier. (think it's about respect)

Hi Geberra,
Welcome to this thread!

Hi Lindy,
I am planning to mail out the cards 3 to 4 weeks before my AD on 26th June 2005. But I had emailed my friends last week to check if they are available as well as if their spouses/partners are attending together. At the same time, I had also ask them for their updated mailing address.

has anyone gone for the food tasting at wah lok restaurant?
my contract states 6 persons for 6 dishes on weekdays. does anyone know how much i have to top up if i bring 1 more person or order 1 more dish?
i'm thinking of using this free tasting session as a parents meeting session as well

Hi kk, Thanks, saw your pix, you have pretty big eyes
the young kid is so cute and so guai to open car door for your husband
recalled at my fren's wedding, the young kid cry last min and didn't do the job. Your set up is nice, did you top up for the deco?

Calling Zhu Zhu, can share when was your wedding, did you also top up your deco?

Hi Hamster, knew Wah Lok serving is quite big so I don't think there is any problem in bringing 1 more pax for food tasting, unless you go for those dishes with 1 pce for each guest. Additional dish will be based on Wah lok's menu, can order smaller portion to taste the dishes

Have you collected your invitation card, any idea when we need to meet the hotel coordinator or the banquet operation mgr again? 1 wk before AD?

Hamster,

Dun think you need to pay extra. just let them know how many pax. usually they will close one eye or two.

Erkerk,

Thanks. that's my nephew. very naughty one. and cute too. 2 plus.. he actually cried that morning.. dragging everyone here and there. very drama.. but after that give him bananas(his fav) he ok.. easy to settle..

I din top up anything for the deco. I just let them know roughly what I need. ususally if they can do it, they will be able to give you. they sometimes reuse props. so dun think they will charge for the props. unless it is sometimes beyond their budget.
But I was very happy with their deco. the church ones. my sis only bring in the pink roses. red roses are theirs..

Hi Erkerk,

I have collected my cards in March....went to Jasvy last Saturday. They faxed me the template yesterday but there's some errors. So now still waiting for amended copy!

Hi KK,

Your nephew is so cute
After seeing what happened at my friend's wedding, I a bit worry abt my 3 yr old nephew, now yours has given me the confident
Thks for the tips, I will prepare his fav sweet too
So your theme is more to champagne colour? any idea if we can mix and match, like chose champagne theme but have red tbl cloth for the VIP tbl? Btw, I have already collected my invitation cards, when we have to meet the coordinator again and also do we only get to meet the banquet ops mgr on our AD?

Oic..

yeap yeap

erk,u have the checklist from carlton?
I think 2 months before it's arrange a date for food tasting, compile draft of speech for the wedding day etc
1 month before is mail printed invitation cards, check for special dietary requirement of your guests .........

Hi kkwai,

Nice pictures.. your newphew is so cute.. you are so slim.. so envy.. my mum and relatives says that im fat.. should slim down before wedding

erkerk, i saw from the feb;05 thread that you are looking for caterer. I recommend you Mum's Kitchen, i engaged them for my wedding at my mum's place, everyone has very good comments on the dishes espcially he meesiam and curry chicken, superb! hehhee..

I only ate alittle bit of it, quite missed the food.

Hi Serene, so we be meeting the coordinator 1 wk before AD? Checklist only put finalise attendance, seating plan etc..but didn't write meet up..

Hi Elaine, Yes, I have started looking for caterer
Thks, I will check on mum's kitchen, is their deco nice? I attended my fren's wedding, the caterer provide flower piece but food so so, do mum's kitchen provide flower pieces for deco too?

Hi Erkerk,

You can arrange to meet up with them if you want to lah....kekeke

As for caterer, neo garden and select food are not bad!

kk thanks
...can i ask what u like about the Bridal Suite vs the Premier Suite..

can i ask that the max capacity is 38 tables, but how many is the max so that it won't give a 'cramped' feeling...thanks!

hi just rem another question!
the package gives cards up to 70% of the attendance, is that enough? anyone can share? thanks!

kk: thanks for your advise. will take note. btw, possible to give me some advice on how you actually deco the place? feel like the stage is quite small. possible to share with me your pics. you can send me at: [email protected]. thanks a lot!!!
geberra: i actually increase my cards attendance to 75% when i sign up the contract. but i tin it is not a big problem if you need 10 or 20 pcs more.
all: has any one use the swimming pool to do your solemization at carlton? i am actually holding my ROM and weddin dinner at the same day. any idea?

Hi Geberra,

It really depends on whether you have a lot of single guests or couple/family guests, then that will determine how many cards you need. When I collected my cards, Carlton gave us about 15 more cards (5%) than what was agreed in the contract, so no worries

Wow, so many question.
Heres a quick one.
I took about 75% of the no of guests. just in case. they are quite flexible. but dun expect them to let you have more. we told them we got a lot of singles rather than family(which is true). so no choice. need more cards.

Premier suit is like a service apartment which the "kitchen" in the room. I dun like it.
The size of both suit is about the same. so Bridal suite will tend to look "bigger" without the "kitchen".

I guess since they suggested that 38 is the max. that is the best number that guest will feel comfortable with. but if you want to increase numbers of guests. instead of increasing the number of tables. see if you increase the number of ppl in one table. eg. maybe a few tables with 11 pax.

Lindy,
I had my church wedding at Esplande room in late noon and dinner in the evening.
You can ask them if the rooms are avaliable. You might be able to save costs by less having the rom reception.
I tot of having it by the pool. but too hot. you can try their "tents" forgot the name. "cab" something.

Serene,
Haha.. slim? not really. I was totally stress out during the last two months.. heng no pimples breakout. maybe that's why "contracted" a lot.

Send the pix later

Opps,

forgot,
Lindy,

I din really ask them to do any deco. they just did whatever they can. think it is the standard.
The cake(dummy one) and the glasses.
Yes the stage is cramp.

I will go meet them if they are pretty/handsome...hahahahahahaha. Heard many gd comments on Neogarden too

Hi Geberra,

I also worry cards are not enough, Kelvin gave me extra cards
hm..i thought 40 tbls is the max?

Hi KK,

Can ask when was your wedding, Dec last year? ai ya...zhu zhu not ard, any idea which month was hers in last year or was it this year?

Hi KK,
Stressed? over the wedding huh? Aiya, nevermind, over liao...now relaxed right! kekeke can afford to gain weight now!

Hi Erkerk,
Handsome I also dunno cos I haven't meet Kelvin before leh kekeke. So your co-ordinator also confirmed Kelvin?

My contract states that the max is 38 tables leh

seen comments about the stage being cramped... does anyone know what's the max number of people the stage can carry b4 collapsing har??? cos my gang of frens together with both families want to do the yam seng
scared later the stage collapsed

also, does anyone know about what kind of projector the hotel will provide? is it the portable screen type? cos i dun remember seeing any permanent fixture during the bridal show last year.... does it have to be carried in for the video show then dismantled and carried out? will it block any tables (i have ard 32 tables).... me thinking of showing some pics in the background while guests are eating....
me so many questions hor

hamster_gal: i actually went down to survey before. if you keep your tables to 32 and choose not to have tables behind those pillars, it should be aliright. for me, i actually increase my tables to 35, so some of the guest will have to sit behind the pillars. poor them. but i got no choice. you can plan your table setting such a way that you actually avoid the pillars. that is how i intend to do. but there is no 100% to avoid it. some one will have to bear with it. my intention is to show my montage during the cocktail and after that, during eating, projector will be keep. i ever saw them setting up the projector which took them some times during my friend high tea.

hi lindy tan,

thanks for your reply.
do u know if it's possible for carlton staff to set it up b4 the banquet starts and then only dismantle it after the banquet? i think it's neater this way

ic. i dun think so. the projector screen is at e stage i think. they will have to keep so that we can go up the stage to cut cake etc.
all: Any one has any idea?