Carlton Hotel

need some advice here.... my AD is in Dec... so when should i start to go down to carlton to look at wedding card samples? book for food tasting at wah look? etc etc?

or should i wait till kelvin calls me?

Hi Vernon, Minibu, erkerk,

Vernon, your PM is not on...

Eventually I did not sign up with a hotel but with a restaurant at Clarke Quay.
I get exclusive use of the whole place if the total bill exceeds S$8000 or more than 18 tables. More suitable for my FH and I as we are looking for intimate affairs. Here's the link --> www.peony-jade.com

Well, I am not sure if it is too much to ask by expecting a response via email within 2 working days...

In all sense of fairness, I must say that the coordinator did give us drinks in the lounge and a meal at Vic Cafe. However, we are expecting more efficiency and effectiveness of service rather than this extra stuff. Complimentary car passes was only given after we asked for it. Our experience with our hotels was that the coordinator actually asked us if we drove and gave us the complimentary car pass. But then again, Carlton is just a 4 star hotel. So we didn't expect the same treatment.

Anyway, now that our WD is cheaper, can use to go for better HM.

i wonder if any gals just have their wedding dinner in carlton can give some comments on the food, service, deco etc

i'm just start to source for my wedding dinner which i intend to have in 2006.
is it really better to sign up during wedding show? but not all hotels do have wedding show coming up

Hi Artemis,

received ur pm liao...thanks..
hope everything will be fine...

anyway wish u all the best for your AD in this place...

hi artemis,

can u pm me the name of the coordinator?
kelvin is my coordinator but i intend to change for another one..... since diana is no longer around, i am clueless as to who to choose....

thanks so much

Hi Minibu,
Yeap, I feel that Agnes is not bad! kekeke

Hi Artemis,
I heard about Peony Jade and that the review is very good. Good for you!

Hi Hamster,
You mean can change coordinator huh

Hi Mouse,
You have Jason as your coordinator? Is he prompt?

hi serene,

i'm going to request for a change of coordinator cos i'm not satisfied with my current one cos i waited for 4 months already and still no reply..... my AD in dec so i intend to change coordinator before i start preparing for my AD

Serene,

Pop in to say Hi!!
Hope everything is good at your end.

Hamstergal,
your co-ordinator would call you till about 6months before your AD. So in meanwhile, you can get busy with your BS and PS(that's what we did) Meanwhile you can consider changing the person-in-charge.

Serene,

Pop in to say Hi!!
Hope everything is good at your end.

Hamstergal,
your co-ordinator would not call you till about 6months before your AD. So in meanwhile, you can get busy with your BS and PS(that's what we did) Meanwhile you can consider changing the person-in-charge.

Serene,

3months... not that to short..
Dun get too stress..esp when it is nearer the date.. but time will flies fast too. so enjoy your preparation.
you got a lot of things not done yet?
I always feel there is last minute stuff to do...
I remember getting my jewellery the day before my AD.. hehee.. so you dun like me ok?

Me have been free and easy. hehee...

hi kk,

so i see.... the coordinator will call me abt 6 months before my AD....
do u think there will be any problem if i have not signed the official contract papers with the hotel? cos when i signed up last oct during the bridal show, my coordinator mailed me a contract but the names are not mine and FH but another couple's names and the date is also wrong.... so i requested to have another new contract printed. until now, i have not received the contract yet
but i have already paid the deposit of $2000....
that's why i feel like changing my coordinator
so who is your coordinator? would u recommend him/her to me? thanks

Hi KK,

Heehee the prob is I also quite last min. I have gone for my first fitting, now waiting for my 2nd fitting + trial make up and then my PS in end April. Meeting Jasvy this saturday morning.....
But I don't know what else to do!!!!! kekeke

Hi Hamster,
you should chase them for the contract and sign on it ASAP. This will help to safeguard your position.

Hi Artemis, peony-jade food is nice, my friend did her ROM there
gd for you
hm...forget abt the unhappiness lah, shld look forward to a happy AD

Earlier I couldn't sleep well because of some AD issues, just a phone call to Kelvin and he agreed to an exceptional arrangement
Agnes is also very helpful, me just called and made a single trip to collect my stuff and now all done
. can sit back relax till near AD for another meet up. I am really thankful lately for all the good things that is happening

Hi Serene, didn't chat with you for a while, me all preps done except wine, counting down on AD

Hi Erkerk,

Wow so fast...what's there to do huh? My wine settled liao cos my brother's wedding got 2 crates leftover, I just need to buy one more from Carrefour nearer my AD can liao....

anyone got checklist to see what else needs to be done?

hi erkerk,

may i know who is your coordinator at carlton? kelvin or agnes?

hi serene,
thanks for the advice. is jasvy your coordinator? is she good?

hi hamster_gal,

nope nope...my co-ordinator is kelvin. Agnes is the lady who do all other co-ordination work for the Co-ordinators...(if u know what I mean)

and Jasvy is the printer for cards....not co-ordinator... :p

Hamstergal,

Like what Serene say, better ask them to give you the amended ones.somemore you already paid.
they should not give you wrong names and date. Think they send to the wrong person.

Maybe you can see if your co-ordinator is still the same when he/she call you for first meeting.
For mine, I sign up with a manager during Bridal Show but only came to know my co-ordinator during first meeting. She's Diana. Nice gal. Think she is the best there. But too bad, she left. Was glad to have her then. Was sad to hear that she left.

Serene,

Think I have a match. you also like very last minute one leh...
3mths and haven finish with the gown. Think if I like you. super kan cheong already. imagine what if you dun like the gown, etc... no time to change for another. I spend two months trying this and that and finally decided on one gown.. haha.. very lao mo.
Think you can start getting to look pretty. go spa or facial and relax for your PS. or start your guest list.

Just want to share this. maybe could be of some help.

I had a close friend who work through the whole wedding stuff with the hotel's ppl on the AD. It's like my own co-ordinator. So he knows what I and my hubby wants and make sure that the hotel ppl does the things that are required.
I find it very good. coz it leaves us with less things to work with on AD and we can enjoy more time with the guests.
My friend only get to meet up with the hotel ppl only the last two meetings. So it just like a summary of things to be done and etc.

Hi KK,

heehee gowns I went for first fitting liao mah...LOVE IT! so no need to change...guest list, more or less done...now emailing my friends for their mailing address....facial...going once a month liao since last year november...;p

now only waiting for next week to color my hair so that it's 2 weeks before PS.

Serene,

Is it? me got no pix to see you. must pm me your pix when it is ready. :P
all brides will look the prettest on the Big Day.. so you will be one too.. hehee...
and that day you are the "biggest" all ppl will pamper you.. haha.. better than empress dowager...

Hi Serene, erkerk,

So far I have been very happy with the service at Peony Jade. The lady, Pauline, was very accomodating and nice about changing items within the menu (with a small increase in price). She has also been very prompt in her replies. Glad to hear that the food is good.

Hi hamster_gal,

I think you should really talk to Kelvin, the banquet sales manager, about getting your contract done asap. Given that you have already paid the deposit, it is very important that you get the contract, or at least an official document stating that the venue will be reserved for you and your FH on your AD (I hope you made sure that they have not given away your AD). They should not take that long to do up the contract as they have a standard template for it. Having to wait 5 months for a contract that you have already paid for is really ridiculous!
kao_angry.gif

hi artemis, kk,
thanks for the advice and concern.... me called up my coordinator yesterday abt my contract.... luckily my AD is still reserved for me...
i was told they have the correct contract with my name on it... so most likely, they slotted the wrong contract into the envelope.... should be receiving the new contract in these few days *keeping my fingers crossed*

hi serene,
so glad that u love your gown... me still searching for the "ideal" gown.... somehow I haven't managed to find the right one yet.... hopefully can spot the right one during WL's bridal show next sat

Hi Artemis,
Yeap yeap, that should put your mind at ease.

Hi Hamster_gal,
yah lor...but that's becos my BS designed a gown for me according to what I like mah...kekeke.....
Good luck next Sat.!

hi cool,
i signed up with carlton last oct (i think).... they gave me extra perks like 2nd nite in bridal suite, day room for helpers, 12 bottles of wine (using UOB credit card for payment), A1 guest signature poster.....

I also don't know what else to do..oh, you are right, have to build checklists. wow, left over 2 crates? can share what brand and your vendor? You getting ready 25bottles of wines? how many tbls you have confirmed?

Hi Hamster_gal,

My coordinator is Kelvin. I think Agnes helps all the sales mgrs.

Hi KK,

So envy you have such a good friend to help
. We are doing all the arrangement now, coming up with checklist to leave AD arrangement to xiong di/jiemeis with the operation mgr.

Hi Hamster_gal,
wow so good eh...I also pay by UOB leh....how come no free wine

Hi Erkerk,
My bro got them from Carrefour, not on consignment though....think the name of the wine is Matthew Lang (quite a popular choice by wedding couples) and it's cheap....think $13.90 per bottle when he bought that time......

I have 34 tables including the 2 VIP tables, getting about 36 bottles of wine

I had my wedding at Carlton last month. Everything went on nicely at Carlton, the table setting and deco arrangements are very well done especially the stage decorations, it turn out very nice in photos. I like most is thier sound system, its good. At first im quite worried because Carlton is not grand hotel therefore i was abit worried about thier sound system and montage because i went to my friend wedding at 4* hotel, thier sound system is terrible.. alot of sizzling sound. Food is good, although there is some complain here and there.. cant satisfied everyone.

Thier wedding favors, test-tube with rose buds is a hot item for my banquet. All is snap up, after the wedding, i try to take a few but none was left.. can you imagine.. 37 tables leh..But one thing.. the walk-in passage is abit cramp..because i have quite a lot of tables.

The banquet operations manager, is very helpful, he help us throughout the banquet. Before the banquet, he will go through the scedule and what we need to prepare and rehearsal. But its a pity that Diana has left the hotel, she actually co-oridinate my banquet and everything is nicely organised by her before she left.

Do let your co-ordinatoor know what you want, communicate with them to aviod any disspointment. Having a banquet is very tiring but do enjoy it, before you know.. its done!

Congrats Elaine!

Glad to hear that your wedding was smooth sailing!

Can you share with us your photos so that we can have a look at their setup?

Same here, got 28tbls, intended to get 2 to 4 more extra btls will do, wanted to get consignment so they can collect back if not consume. I guess now wine becoming more popular than hard liquor, I have only 8 bts. of hard liquor, do you think it is sufficient?

Hi Elaine,

Congratulations. Glad to hear your nice experience.
I went to pick up my invitation cards and there was a banquet with 37 tbls, wonder if that is yrs
Did you use the CDs Carlton has or you prepared your own march in and music throughout the banquet?

Hi Erkerk,

yeap yeap...for red wine, cannot finish still can sell :p but of course if you can take consignment, that would be great.

Hard Liquor? I think 8 should be more than enough....for my bro's wedding in Jan 2005, nobody touched the hard liquor at all kekeke

Thank you for your greeting. Im still consolidating my pictures and uploading into website. I will share with you all when is done.

erkerk, i actually bought 40bottles for my wedding but its not enough. The banquet operations manager warn us that it will not be enough, he suggest that we buy some wine from the hotel but we felt that its quite ex. Very quickly we called our wine cellar to order another 1 carton for the banquet, we manage to get it and on time for the banquet.. quite lucky if not will have to pay alot of extra cost. Beside that we add another 3 more wine from hotel. So total i used up about 4 cartons of wine.. Hard liquor, we use about 2 big bottles and 2 small ones. When did you collect your cards?

For cd, we did not use the hotel cds, we choose our own. My hubby is very particular about the songs, so every segment of the banquet, we played different type of songs. Our guests enjoyed our banquet very much, mainly because of the songs fused with the atmosphere.

hi hamster_gal,

thanks a lot,was there like 1 free table for 20 tables booked etc during the wedding show last year?

hi elaine77,
was it very cramped between the guests' tables?I will be having around 37 tables,so quite worried if carlton can accomodate,can share ur photos wif me?email:[email protected]
thanks a lot

Hi Elaine,

Thanks. Must remember to share hor....kekeke

Wow 48 bottles of liquor for 37 tables? Hmm your guests all drinkers? Mine not really, except colleagues so I think 36 for my 32 tables should be enough.

Btw, may I know which song you used for the two march-in and 1st dish presentation? Need some ideas!

Elaine,

Glad everything went well.. took off a lot of stress.. heehee..
Your guest sure know how to enjoy the wine..

Erkerk,
No choice. think my friend is a bit kancheong. coz I told him he will be the overall in charge. he must be scare that he din do a good job and kanna scolding from me.. but he did a good job.. feel like hugging him.. heehee.. my hubby felt too.

Girls,
you can try getting wine from Carrefor. got good range of wines there.