Carlton Hotel

babyvon

Sushi,
If u're not in such a huri, u may try seek'g Carlton out at the Sep Bridal show...usually mre freebies will b offered dur'g tt time. Oso, thr'll b other htls involved so u can then do a comparison.
Do tink abt it! Cheers!

sushi

Hi Babyvon

Yah...Guess i'll attend their bridal show...Will keep a look out for sept bridal magazines...

babyvon

Hi Kk,
The ballroom's not too bad, with a long aisle for march-in. Hwevr, thr's 4 small pillars so some of ur guests might b blocked frm the stage. I do suggest tt u mk a trip dwn to c if u like it b4 u commit.

As for the food, it's frm the chinese restaurant, Wah Lok (pretti reputable)...I had my food-tast'g & i must say the food's nice. But then agn, it all depends on individual's lik'g!

babyvon

Kk,
I forgot to add, if u're lkg for those reali romantic, like the Conrad, Ritz Carlton atmosphere, u def cun compare with Carlton.

blueberry

Hi BabyVon,

Thanks for the info.
I like Wah Lok food. not bad.
I am pending either Traders or Carlton.
Traders's temasek room is long and pillarless but celling is low. Could you describle more about the function rooms at Cartlon.(i.e celling, pillar)Thanks.

elaine77

Hi ladies..

kk, i have seen carlton ballroom before, its relatively new but not really fantastic, low ceiliong.. but new ballroom with hanging chandeliars but i can say that the food at wah lok is quite good, hear alot of compliments from them, even from my friends that are from pakistan and other countries, they like the food there.

babyvon

Hi Kk,
Yup! Just like wat elaine has mentioned...Ceiling's not very high, with 4 pillars but not large pillars like those in Traders...Haha! I was consider'g Traders & Carlton too tt time.

In the end, i went for Carlton 'cos of the long march-in & the food. Traders cldn't accomodate the no. of tables i needed.

blueberry

Been to see the function room yesterday. Quite good. The maxi. number in the room is 16. list from parents came up to a total of 18 tables for guests. opps... I wondered if there is any other function rooms or ballroom for that number.
But their renovation did improve the outlook of the place.

babyvon

Hi KK,

Congrats! Did u sign up at a Wedding Fair?
When's ur BIG Day?

I had my food-tast'g...the food was good so u dun hv to wori!

Mine's 22 mre days...M so excited! Hrd frm Jerrie they hv a new wedd'g flavour, a keychain...will chk it out b4 i decide on which one i wana give the guests. I selected the chopsticks initially.

All z Best to u ya! Cheers!

zhuzhu

Hi Babyvon

I saw Carlton's keychain..its a heart shape keychain..something different from the usual chopstick n chocolates.

josie

Michelle,

You are here too ....
me too carlton also one of my choice . Can send me your wedding package as wanna to know more of this hotel banquet . Thank alot !!

Email : [email protected]

babyvon

Hi Zhuzhu,

Thks! I dun hv the time to go dwn tis wkend...prob will drop by next week to tk a lk...But i tink i prob go for it as chopsticks r too common these days. Thks!

Congrats!

blueberry

Hi Babyvon,

You must be getting excited... must remember not to stress out, or else not pretty

Yah, I sign at the Fair. Talk to Jerrie before the fair too. Apparantly, the promo is for the month of this Oct. But the table price has increased

But at least can rest my mind on the dinner stuff. I was running mad finding this ans that.. Like crazy woman.

Mine will be next Oct, 9th.
I am happy at least that they are having more wedding favors. or else I will be getting mine outside. At least now can help to save some costs.

blueberry

Just want to check, other than the Esplanade room and Empress room, is there any other function room in the hotel?

tingting

hallo,

i'm also holding my dinner at carlton..in about a month's time.. glad to know that Carlton is making some changes... from what i know, there are only 2 indoor-wedding venues, i.e. the esplanade room and the empress ballroom.

blueberry

Hi tingting,

Congrats on the upcoming wedding.
Thanks for the info.
Yah, I agree. Carlton has made a lot of improvement and they are now more serious in customer satisfaction. They won some award. So dun worry, you are in good hands.
I hope they will continue to do the good job.

babyvon

Hi Kk,

Congrats! Tt's great! Yup! Most hotels increase their banquet prices every yr so the best is to sign up dur'g Wedding Fair.

I tink mine's in the Empress Rm...Frkly, i feel they shld chg the carpet 'cos it reali look so horrible!
My hubby said the guests wun reali notice but i'm still kinda disappointed!

M reali excited...the day's reali draw'g so near! Kinda stressed, worried hw the AD's events will turn out...God, pls Bless us!

I do agree Carlton's try'g their Best to improve. In fact many guests like the invitation card i selected. I still hven't seen the keychain...will hv to confirm with Jerrie soon. Tink i better mk a trip dwn asap.

blueberry

Hi Babyvon,

Go for a massage to relax yourself!!
Dun worry me pray for you.. 30 th nov right??? Better confirm or else pray wrong day. :p
You try calling Jerrie to let her know in advance first about the keychain thing.

babyvon

Hi KK,

Thk u so much! Yup, the date's correct!
I saw the keychain, it's a heart-shaped, with a key... din reali like the packaging, mreover, i tink it'll tarnish & rust aft a while as it's not stainless steel nor silver.
The scented candle's not too bad but i feel the chopstick's mre practical as compared to the candle so i'll still go for the chopsticks.

Hi Tigger,

Mine was the beige one with 2 hearts in front.

blueberry

Hi Babywon,

Can you choose more than one item??
Chopsticks more meaningful. A pair.

If only they have fork and spoon too...
Which church you holding your solem??

Hi Tigger,

When is your big day???

babyvon

Hello Kk,

Nope, we can only choose 1 item...Tink hv to pay if we want mre. Yup, Carlton's chopsticks' packaging's nice...at least they hv a bag for it, unlike some other htls, just a pair with a tag.

I wun be hvg any church wedding as i had oreadi ROMed last may...will just be hold'g my tea ceremony & dinner.

Which church r u frm & will u be hold'g a church wedding?

Yup Tigger,

When's ur BIG day?

blueberry

Hi Babyvon,

OIC, I will be having the matrimony on my same wedding day. At first tot of having it a the hotel. But there is no other function rooms than Esplanada and Empress.
So got to look for a church now..

mindy

juz attended a wedding last week.. wanna share my comments/feedback wif you all so that you can let yr banquet co ord know and can improve in this area

1. most of waiters are inexperience (as expected in most hotels)
why? they don change our plates for almost all the dishes until we hv to request for it..

2. Carlton provides ang pow box rite? well, the box was kinda sent down late and groom's xiong di gotta put ang pow in their pocket (so risky)

3. Food
so so only.. no offence but this is worst banquet i ever attended. only the first dish (wif prawns) taste good
the rest realy sucks! the brocolli was tough, the keropok (with chix) lao hong oredi..

and the fish was oredi cut up when waiter place on the table. and this makes us lose our appetitate as the dish looks so messy as if someone had oredi eaten them.

and definitely agree wif Babyvon that their carparks looks old!!

babyvon

Hi Mindy,

So sad to hear tt...Oh no!
I better hv a word with Jerrie & ask my hubby to remind the banquet manager.

I meant the carpets...U mean the carparks look old too?

I didn't select the prawns nor brocolli dish...hpfully the dishes i've selected wun be tt bad...will feedback to Jerrie abt tis. Btw, did u feedbk to the couple tt even'g? They shld cmplain & not pay the full amt for tt.
So disppoint'g!

babyvon

Hi Kk,

I tink Carlton has a veranda or solemninsation plc, near the pool or smthg like tt...u can chk if they can just allow u to hold it there at the same time? Do chk it out.

tigger

Hi Mindy, that was a surprise to me cause when we went for food tasting, the food was great. (except that its a bit saltish for our taste) And the plates were changed after every dish.

Think I better feedback to Jerrie before my wedding.

blueberry

Hi Babywon,

Thanks. I need to check it out.
Hey, btw how did you do the face with the moving eye.. very cute. So far I only know

Counting down for you..... 6 more days!!!
I think me more excited... :p

mindy

juz to inform you all that food tasting are normally applicable for VIP tables. of coz food tasting, the chefs will put in effort.. but when comes to a banquet of 30 tables.. do you think will be of same standard?

did feedback to the couple but i guess they also bo chap since their wedding over oredi

baby
pai seh, i tot that you meant carpark
if you drive there, you will know. guess the carpark abit small too. anyway not a big issue lah

shook

Hi Babyvon

In case u r on leave tml. Wish u a mei mei bride tis coming Sun. Oso wish dat the weather is beautiful n everything goes smoothly 4 u.

Have a great n memorable day tis sun.

I have not forgotten abt my photos. I scanned all of them, juz dat I m v sick lately. Can't go to my hubby's office to post them.

When n where u going 4 honeymoon?

babyvon

Hi Shook,

Thk u so much...M so touched! U remembered my Wedding!

R u feeling better? Did u c a Doc? Do drink mre h2o...The flu bug's def ard!

I'll def be lkg 4wrd to viewing ur pics...Do email me the link hor! My email add [email protected] in case i wun be surf'g for the next week.

Initially wanted to go to Zurich but as Dec's qte a wet season, we decided to just hv a short honeymn 1st, to Langkawi. Probably will plan for a Europe tour smtime next yr.

So, hv u decided on ur Vios or Matrix? Our car's due for scrape in 2 yrs' time...We're oso lkg ard...Due to budget, we may be consider'g Vios too.

Okie, while the weather reali doesn't seem pretty, i'll def be pray'g hard for a sunny sunday!

U tk cr & wishing ya a speedy recovery!

babyvon

Hello Kk,

Thks for the well wishes agn!
So, hv u found a church for ur solemnisation?

U mean the emoticons...Haha! I learnt it thru' tis forum too...They hv instructions for it. Drop me a mail [email protected]

Give u the instructions then...Tried to do it here but smhow can't post the msg. So sori!

babyvon

Hi Mindy,

Thks agn for shar'g ur experiences with us!
I've tkn note of the things u shared & will reali hope tt such unpleasant incidents will not hpn on my AD. Will share my experience hr aft tt. Cheers!

blueberry

Hi Babyvon,

Still looking for one.
Was having mixed feelings about booking Carlton, booked the place and was thinking to have the solem. at the waterfall. But the church have otherwise planning, they want a function room..
Think got to pray about it. Never mind me for the moment. :p

Just remember to enjoy your day.. Esp if you got many things to do during the whole day. Time will fly fast too... Savour every precious moment. Dun worry about too many things. The more you stress yourself, the more things will turn out wrong. More important, RELAX and SMILE!!! All eyes will be upon you.. (hope me not stressing you now :p)

shook

Babyvon

I won't b posting my photos so soon lar.

My hubby ordered Vios. I personally prefer Ford. Well, he is paying, I have no say.

Oh u plan to go Zurich, free n easy or by tour package? Hahaha
we r a little bit the same in the honeymoon part. Your honeymoon part I is Langkawi, part II is Zurich. My honeymoon part I wz Europe, part II wz Bintam

cwy

just like to know how u find the Carlton banquet manager, jerrie, huh???

i just felt tat b4 and after we sign the package, she treated us differently leh....

please comment....

shook

cwy

Personally feel dat she is a no man n keeps empty promises.

After our wedding banquet, we were given a feedback card to submit back almost < 1hr. On the surface, we saw dat everything wz fine. Indeed the banquet captain, supervisor were superb. We were dead tired oso, so we put everything gd. The banquet captain cld't believe it n asked us to write in our feedback. He requested a few times. Jerrie oso requested for our write in feedback. We took some time to gather feedback fm our helpers n guests. Most of the complaints wz a result of Jerrie's fault. She only replied thank u for your feedback fullstop. Din even compensate or say sorry. I doubt she forward the feedback to the mgt.

Everytime we arrange to meet up wif her, she made us wait. Things dat we gotta collect fm her, she left it @ the reception. Dun bother to have the courtesy to hand to us personally. Like wat u said after she got the deal, y cares

tigger

Hi CWY,

I find Jerrie ok so far. I also went to the reception to collect my stuff but cause I always choose lunch time or sunday so I guess it can't be helped.

cwy

hi foreverfriends honey

thks for ur reply....

i find tat dis jerrie really got altitude problem leh cos when i called her regarding the invitation card, she reply in a very irritating tone lor.... and she even didnt bother to call us abt the cards and we r the one to call her men..... maybe its true tat all banquet manager will react dis way after we sign up the package lor.... i aso heard tat she always gave empty promises lor... ya i doubt so she will forward the feedback to the mgt. lor or else she may hv got warning liao...

so when did u hold ur dinner huh??? how abt those waiter &amp; waiteress???

hi tigger

thks for ur comment....

apple77

Just went for a friend's wedding dinner some time bk... the service was terrible. We have to wait whole nite for the food and only get our soft drinks topped up once cos they're shorthanded. Imagine they tryda serve each dish and divide the portion for u but there's only 1 waiter to serve 2-3tables... the lighting also not very well adjusted. During the march, the lighting just came on like suddenly... so abrupt... and they never lower the volume of the music when the MC was starting to talk... food wasn't that great either.. think only 3 dishes out of 8 or 9 is good. Their favours very nicely packed though.... very sweet looking everyone was praising. Also remember to get them to check if the utensils or glasses and napkins are washed properly.. there are lots of stains... eg... ur glass of Coke has orange fibre still stuck on the INSIDE of it.... alamak... must really get ur consultant to make sure the kitchen do their work leh
... think u gals better take note of this...

blueberry

Hi Shook,

Got kind of worry after hearing so many bad feedbacks. Was thinking how on earth did they get the two awards..
There is another girl, other than Jerrie, right?? Her boss, I think.

Hi Apple, cwy,

Will take note. hope they will improve soon.

shook

cwy
My wedding wz in May tis yr. It wz Mother's day
I wz quite concern n asked Jerrie if the staff can cope as I m worried the restaurant next door needed more waiters n waitresses. Oso I understand dat the food r prepared by the chef in the restaurant next door. Jerrie said no problem @ all. They even handled company d&amp;d b4. As expected, they were v short-handed. My guests said dat they gotta asked the waiters/waitresses 2 least twice (sometimes thrice) to top up their drinks. On request some more no automatic top up.
Feedback 4 food wz gd except dat the dishes r not warm or cold.

KK
Carlton got the awards for food, not service.
I met another sales coordinator during Carlton's bridal show. I can't remember the name of dat lady. She is friendlier. Tho I told her I spoke to Jerrie b4, she still answered my questions n showed me the ballrm set up n the wedding flavor. But heard dat she left Carlton not long after I met her.
I din speak to other sales coordinators so no comment. But it seems like most of us here r/were served by Jerrie