Carlton Hotel

shocked

Just want to comment that the carpark fee was shocking. The wedding I attended did not have any more complimentary carparks left. It was $6! So expensive. If we had known, we would have parked somewhere else and walk over to the hotel.

The service was not very good. They cleared all the chopsticks and plates for a few ppl at my table and they were left with nothing to grab their food with halfway through the dinner. There were a few crashes, one in the kitchen and one in the ballroom. I guess it's hard for hotels to train these part-time waiters/waitresses. Sometimes can't blame them for high turnover of staff.

yukic

Hi Wiz & blur,
I had 40 tables at the 2nd floor ballroom & that's the max capacity already. So you can imagine the place is rather cramped. Not sure how many seats are blocked. As for the service crew, all are Chinese, but some of them are rather inexperienced, slow & forgetful. As mentioned before, I guess it's because there're 2 wedding dinners on that night & the hotel might be short-handed such that the service level is compromised. Someone also told me that some hotels get the waiters/waitresses staffs from an agency source, hence they are actually part-timers who are not direct employees of the hotel.

On the bright side, the bridal suite was nice! One of my ah-yee commented that it's gd to have 2 washrooms in the suite as I invited them to rest in the hotel prior to the dinner.

We had more than enough carpark coupons, so no problem for us.

blur

Hi yukic,

Thanks for sharing your experience. My wedding is next year at Carlton too. Just hope that there won't be 2 weddings at the same time.

I think most, if not all, hotels use part-timers. It's just not possible to have so many full-time waiters/waitresses. I will try to ask them about staff training next year.

How much parking did you ask for?

wiz

Dear Yukic,

Which suite did they give you? is it in the old wing or new wing? 2 washrooms? How come I didnt see that when I went to view the suite?

wiz

sherlyn

those interested in Carlton better check out The Sunday Times in the HOME section. Hope u all will not be shocked by this piece of news!

I am not against Carlton, but am also in the service industry. Do not agree to Carlton's way of handling the issue in the news report.
Was taken aback by how Carlton could 'take revenge' on the couple who have reasons to not settle the bill. "Wedding in hell"!!!!!!!! that is the worst comment a service establishment could ever receive.

yukic

hi Wiz,
my bridal suite is in the old wing located on the uppermost floors, I think they named it as the Carlton Club rooms.

Sorry blur, I can't recall how many parking coupons were given to us.

I think after the newspaper article coverage on the "nightmare hotel wedding", they'll be pressurised to buck up. If you've already booked the hotel, you'll need to work with them closely to ensure they deliver what you requested. For instance you may wanna assign a friend as a coordinator to work along with the Operations Manager who controls the timing of events (eg 1st march-in, 2nd march-in etc). Looking back, I think it's better to set your expectations with the hotel staff before the dinner begins, and not to assume they do everything right.

stabilo

I think this is not the first complain case on the hiccups on the wedding banquet.

If I remember correctly, there is this hippcups on the wedding banquet while the hotel is undergoing reno.

sukie

juz to contribute...my fren had her wedding at carlton & the wrong march-in song was played. she complained abt turnover rate of the coordinators & she had to brief & discuss with the new ones replacing over & over again.

wiz

I actually called Peggy, my co-ordinator and told her abour the comments made in Singapore Brides. Wonder if she will read this thread. She also explained to me about the misunderstanding that was published on the papers. I don;t really have a choice... Gave them the benefit of doubt. Really hoping that my wedding would turn out well.

shook

Hihi all

Agree wif wat Wiz Lim said. Juz give them the benefit of doubt. Perhaps there were 2 many weddings in the 8th and 9th moon. So hiccups in 1 case. Since we already signed up the package, dun worry ourselves.

2cents

My 2 cents worth (am a neutral), if this happen to all of you then I guess your will not say things like maybe only a hipccups, bear in mind your wedding is only once in a life time, a hiccups should not happen (although not the perfect case all the time). Also I dun accept the way they handle the guest by restricting them from leaving even after they pay for the rooms, the guest stay has nothing to do with the disagreement between the hotel and teh couple. If going by legal, it will be a court case that can invloved compensation (of course that is provided the report from the press is accurate). No excuse for that.

In the earlier part of the threads, people did wrote about bad services and all that, I was quite skeptical about the issue, but now that it is printed on the press, I am convinced what the copules wrote in the ealier part of the threadsare true. I believe this writing should convince everyone on the way the management handle the situtaion. Ia m not trying to add oil to fire and make those who are going to held thwier wedding there panic, but jsut to make sure that those who is considering this hotel in future must think thrice not twice.

boycott

DINNER WAS LATE
MUSIC DIED
GLASSES NOT REFILLED

Couple see red over nightmare hotel wedding
They withheld payment from the hotel, which stopped nine guests, who paid for rooms, from leaving

By Chong Chee Kin

IT TURNED out to be the wedding from hell.

When engineer Chim Voon Wai and his wife Susan Irawan tied the knot on Oct 4 at the Carlton Hotel, the dinner was more than an hour late.

Did hotel do enough to make up for its bad service?

Nobody opened the ballroom doors for the couple, the music died even before they made their entrance, the food was bad, and no one filled the guests' glasses during the toast.

The couple refused to pay for the 16 tables, and the hotel stopped nine of their guests, who had already paid for their rooms, from leaving.

Madam Susan Irawan, 27. She and husband Chim Voon Wai, 29, said they withheld payment from the hotel because they wanted an explanation for the poor service. -- STEVEN LEE
Madam Irawan, 27, a bank officer, said: 'It was supposed to be the happiest day of my life, but it was ruined by the hotel.'

Mr Chim, 29, ended up having to apologise to the guests for putting up with the bad service.

As if that was not enough, their guests from London, Australia and China, who had stayed in the hotel for the banquet, were stopped from leaving the next day.

They were not allowed to go until the police were called in to mediate between the couple and the hotel.

'I withheld payment for the banquet because I wanted the management to meet me and explain why the service was so bad,' Mr Chim said.

Lawyers say the hotel had no right to stop the guests from leaving, especially when they had already paid up.

One of them, Mr David Ng, 35, said: 'If the hosts had not paid the bill for the banquet, it was an issue between the hotel and them. The management should not have dragged the guests into it.'

The Singapore Hotel Association declined to comment on the incident. But the Consumers Association of Singapore said it smacked of bad management.

Its executive director, Mr Seah Seng Choon, said: 'The hotel could go through legal channels to get the money. But they have no right to confine the guests.'

A spokesman for the Singapore Tourism Board (STB) said it had not received any formal complaint from the guests or the hotel.

'Generally, any form of bad service to guests... will tarnish the reputation of the country and will not be condoned by the STB,' she said.

In response to queries from The Sunday Times, a Carlton Hotel spokesman said there had been no delay to the start of the wedding banquet.

Explaining the silence during the wedding march, he said: 'The sound system was in perfect working order at 6.30 pm... A lady, believed to be a relative of the couple, took control of the remote control and the mute button was accidentally switched on.'

However, it did not respond to the couple's complaint that the glasses were not refilled for the toast.

Still, the hotel management admitted that 'better coordination between its operations staff and the wedding couple's coordinator could have avoided the incident'. It has apologised to the couple in a letter for the embarrassment caused.

As for preventing the guests from leaving, the spokesman acknowledged that 'the situation could have been handled with more tact'.

'To settle the issue amicably, the hotel management has met the wedding couple to reach an appropriate settlement,' he said.

The hotel has offered to write off the costs of three tables.

Mr Chim and his wife are not making any decision on the settlement until they return from their honeymoon.

shook

2cents

If such thing happens 2 oneself, the individual won't feel dat it is only hiccups, yes agree wif dat. Wat I suggested was meant 4 couples who already signed up wif the hotel not to worry themselves. Share wif us if u have better suggestion.

elaine

juz wanna share with you my experience....so far it's been good....at least better than some other hotels.

i've also booked my dinner with carlton. frankly, i'm quite worried about their service now that it's in the paper. but no use worrying. juz gotta communicate properly our expectations with the co-ordinator and get some1 to oversee the co-ordination on the actual day.

as for parking, my arrangement with the hotel is that if the complimentary coupons are not enough, my guests can get a $3 stamp off their parking coupon at the reception. so my guests need only to pay $3 for the parking.

maybe you guys can check with your co-ordinator on this.

2cents

Dear Shook

I know that you are trying to claim down the worriness of those who has sign up (which include you), but I should say that it is of no use as now that the issue appear on newspaper, there will be unrest. Sorry for being direct as by no means to create more tension

But what I can suggest for those couple who has sign up is to ask the hotel to have a single point of contact during the wedding and has a coordinator over your side to make sure that everything is in line by checking with the contact ont he day of wedding (I mean even hours before the dinner, make double sure that everything is fine). Request for the manager to be around during the dinner so that if there is a problem no such excuse as that they cannot find the manager. Sound a bit harsh on the hotel, but I think that is the best way to ensure thing move smoothly. Tell them you dun expect sky high standard of service, but a reasonable one. Talk to the manager tell them your worry after the news, get their assurance that I think will help to reduce the fear for the couples. Hope this help.

carltonbrides

I am the genuine bride from Carlton , my wedding will be next year. I am not
siding hotel but I dunt believe the newspaper written , me and my FH
didnt not call my coordinator , coz we trust her professional service. At
this moment, I believe a lot of ppl is keeping an eye and waiting to see
what next happen.
It is expected most of the hotel are using part-timers for the wedding
banquet and even we had attendned wedding in Pan Pacific was happened that
drinks not top up too. well, wedding is once in a life time, if we worry
too much and lost confidence to the hotel, might as well pull out the
wedding banquet , right ?

jack

Hi CarltonBrides,

May I know when was the time when u went to Pan Pac & the drinks were not top up?

shook

2cents
How do u mean by "I know that you are trying to claim down the worriness of those who has sign up (which include you), but I should say that it is of no use as now that the issue appear on newspaper, there will be unrest"??? Should the couples who already signed up wif Carlton create more unrest outta their worries???
If u follow tis thread, u should read the posting from fr@gless who was a part-time waiter at Carlton Hotel a few years back to understand how problems came abt.
My ex-colleague had her wedding dinner at Holiday Inn Park View which received praises in tis forum. Either she or her hubby's name dropped off fm the backdrop, there was problem wif the speaker n the guests gotta stand the noise thru out the night. Her sis wrote in a very fierce letter to request 4 some compensation but they din publish it in the media.
Problems as such do happen in any hotel or restaurant, the public gotta know it only when it is in the media.

Wah Lok restaurant is famous 4 their food. Kinda sceptical when the couple said dat the food was BAD. Sometimes when people is angry wif something or someone, they can complain abt every single thing.

wiz

Well, dunno how true. Heard that couple so and so actually had 4 co-ordinators for the few tables that they had. And due to that, mis-communication was unavoided...

And as you know, normally people do not toast during the first march-in.... but couple so and so did so. Well, all the waiters and waitresses were outside holding the plates(first dish) and lining up to get ready for the entrance for the first dish. So maybe that was why..... glasses are not re-filled.

Really dunno. I am sure the couple would have told the hotel side... Maybe they have forgotten or they might have overlooked the part that they have to re-fill glasses at that point in time.

Waiter/Waitress to table ratio for Carlton is 2 waiters to 3 tables. This is better than some hotels which adopts the 1 waiter to 2 tables.

Well, not trying to protect or "suan" people. Well, everyone has his/her own opinon and thoughts.

2 cents

Maybe as your say the problem is due to the miscommunication and that might happen to other hotel. I hope the best for all of you

I am not here to argue and to cause dissent feeling. I just voice my view. But to be frank what make me feel that the hotel has done a bad job is they way they handle the guest. Maybe they couple did expect too much or what ever it is that they refuse to make full payment and demand to talk to the hotel management. But the fact that the hotel prevent guest from leaving the hotel after they have pay for their rooms and the fact that those guest should not be "hold ransom" for the money the copule did not pay up eventually make a neutral like me feel the lost of confident in the management which indirectly cause the believe of the couple frasturation story more true

Ok I rest my case, dun want to make everyone here feel that I am trying to create trouble

aquarius_888

I do agree on the part whereby there's a high turnover cos my co-ordinator has been changed thrice in less than a year. Maybe becos of this, felt insecure of the whole hotel. Not only that the 2nd co-ordinator is also rude and sarcastic.

sp

Hi Shook

Correct me if I am wrong, Holiday Inn does not provide names of the couple for at least 3 years already. I will be having my wedding at HIPV and have personally attended wedding there before and I must say that I am very pleased with the food, service and sound system too. How many years ago when this happen ? If what you have said it's true, they sure have improved tremendously ! Thumbs up for them.

SP

tt

Shook,
I do agreed with you, if Wah Lok can won the best rest. award for so many year, I really doubt the couple said that the food is bad, maybe when thing turn bad, every single small thing oso can come out the story of this bad that is bad.
This is really a good example for us to alert that be careful of the guest list that we invited, I heard that some even dare to give $2 dollars Ang Pau!! how to cover the cost ???

shook

2 cents
THANK U.

SP
My ex-colleague's wedding was 5 yrs back. She was very furious abt it coz there was pratically only 1 name on the back drop thru out the 9 (the stuff put back 2x, it drop then think they r 2 busy to bother abt it after the wedding started). It's kinda inasupicious. There were other complains bsides the 2 I mentioned. My ex-colleague wz 2 angry to state further. She juz warned me REMEMBER, IT'S HOLIDAY INN PARKVIEW.
The pt of me bringing up my ex-colleague's bad experience is not to dampen Holiday Inn Parkview. Wat I m trying 2 say is, other ppl may have bad experience. Dun b dampened by their comments. Believe in ur choice, communicate wif the staff, treat them well n b understanding (not very demanding). People will serve u happily when they r happy rite.
I believe Holiday Inn Parkview is a gd choice. Otherwise the banquet would not b taken up like hot cake.

sp

Hi Shook

Thank you for sharing with us and yes I agree that Holiday Inn is a good choice and I guess through incidents like these that they improve and most importantly not to repeat them. Maybe it's just that Carlton is 'sway' lor, kana published on the papers, which frightens most of the guests but if they rectify and learn from mistakes, very soon, couples will have the confidence to have their wedding banquet at Carlton. So brides out there, believe in your choice and communicate your concern and requests to your wedding consultants to ensure a wonderful evening.
Thanks Shook

SP

shook

SP
Yep yep, can't agree more. Everybody makes mistakes. The most important thing is rectify the problem and learn the lesson from it.
Thx 4 being understanding n rational.

jessy

I juz happened to come into this thread and read the above inputs from all of you....

Well, i am a customer of Carlton and a bride-to-be this coming december 30th...

After the bad publicity of Carlton last 2 sundays, it had indeed caused some doubts and uneasiness between my hubby and me...therefore, we call our coordinator (Peggy) up to ask for some explanation and also wanted to see their banquet manager for some negotiation matters, such as service recovery issues, unhappy incidents that may happen to us...

As this issue had already happened to tat couple, we must also guarantee that it will not happen to us this coming december....well, we will not withdraw from the hotel definitely since we have signed up and had printed our invitation cards, but juz hope to have more reassurance of service and food quality..

We had also went for food tasting at Wah Lok restaurant 2 sundays ago (the same day that the news was released in the newspaper, so coincident!!). As my family is Cantonese, the food do suit us and indeed, Wah Lok has live up to their name and to our expectation...maybe that indonesian couple do not enjoy or appreciate Cantonese cuisine..so their comment of the food is bad, do not bother us at all...

But, wat we are afraid is the service level such as the music and waiter/waitress serving ratio. We hope that Carlton will be more vigilant in their service level, after all the mishaps.

Btw, we will be going to Carlton to meet up with the banquet manager tomorrow evening to discuss some issues, in order to make our wedding nite a smooth one and problem-free.

blur

Hi Jessy,

Let us know the outcome of your meeting and of course, your wedding.

Mine will be next year.

Congrats and hope yours will be a smooth one.

jessy

Hi blur,

you will be having your wedding dinner at Carlton too?? prob, by then, their service level should have improved next year...

Really hope that the wedding will turn out smooth, anyway, tks for your best wishes!!

blur

Hi Jessy,

Yup, booked before the incident. Think if it happens before we booked, I might flipped and back out.
Anyway, now just hope for the best and put in extra effort to make sure things run smoothly.

Give us some tips after you wedding ok?

jessy

Hi blur,

Who's yr coordinator in Carlton?? so, did you call them up for any further discussion or leave wif it??

aquarius_888

Just wanna let you all know that I have met up with their Banquet Sales Manager, Jerrie and she is a very nice and accomodating lady. My wedding will be this sat and will let you all know the details. Good luck to me!

shook

Hihi Aquarius 888
The banquet manager dat I liaise wif is Jerrie.
Wish u gd luck n b a mei mei bride tis sat.

blur

Hi Jessy & all,

My coordinator is Jerrie. Yes, she is nice and accomodating. Called her after the incident and she explained what happened.

Aquarius 888, let us know how your wedding go ok?
Hope yours will be a wonderful one!

shook

Hihi Aquarius 888
Guess u won't b working tomorrow huh. So, wish u a smooth n happy wedding on sat. Sleep early n bet u will b a mei mei bride.
BTW when u going 4 honeymoon?

aquarius_888

I am back to work!
A bit lazy though.

By the way juz wanna update you ladies on my dinner. I had a wonderful experience with Carlton hotel. Their service was fantastic and I really feel that it is worth giving them a try for those couples thinking of confirming Carlton hotel as your wedding venue.

shook

Hihi Acurqrius_888
Welcome back.

How's ur honeymoon in Korea?

Thx 4 sharing wif us ur experience wif Carlton. It definitely boost the morale of all Carlton brides n couples considering Carlton.
BTW did Jerrie stay on during ur banquet?

aquarius_888

Hi Shook

My trip to Korea was fun and COLD
Met a couple with the same wedding date as us.

I did not really notice if Jerrie was there through out the dinner but I know the last time I saw her was near to my first walk-in. But not to worry as they had a banquet operations manager, Andy who was there through out the dinner.

Infact I think the service of the banquet staff were so good that some of my friends and relatives gave tips to them.

blur

Hi aquarius 888,

Wow, your experience is a contrast to what the newspaper couple experienced. Did you give them special instructions or manage them tightly? Any advice?

aquarius_888

Hi blur

Nope I did not. Infact I am so busy that I did not even have the time for even one rehearsal and to think that everything went so smoothly.

Trust me I am not trying to put in good words for them but that I am truly happy and satisfied with their service.

shook

Hihi Aquarius 888
Was the couple you met fm Singapore as well? It is a nice feeling meeting someone having the same wedding date as you.

Thx 4 the feedback.

Hihi Blur
What I can think of is the couple in the papers exaggerated the case. It is human nature that when one is angry abt something, one tend to blow up the issue. Guess they wanna create a bad publicity for Carlton

aquarius_888

HI Shook

Yup they are from singapore too and smae age as my hubby. We made friends with about 6 of them during the trip.

I think you are right on the exaggerating part. Probably it really wasnt so bad. But of course we are not saying that the hotel is not at fault too.

shook

Hihi Aquarius 888
Like to check wif u how much beer, wine n hard liquor was consumed during ur banquet?
Did u mingle wif ur guests during the cocktail reception? Find the reception area v small n odd shape

shook

Hihi Aquarius 888
Ha another coincidence, same age as ur hubby some more
Was ur trip free n easy? Gd dat u make friends wif 6 other ppl, can help each other to take photos. I hope to get couple to go honeymoon together. Then can help each other to take photos n more ppl to talk to. No one in the forum seems to be interested

Agree dat Carlton is oso @ fault, but the couple oso go all the way to run dwn on Carlton.

aquarius_888

Hi hi Shook

I came down to the reception late but I did stay around the reception area. Let your coordinator know that when the reception area starts getting crowded, usher the guest in to their seats so you will not have human traffic jams.
Our total beer consumption is only about 58litres and hard liquor about 4 bottles, red wine is about 12 bottles. I think becos most of our guest dun drink so not so bad.

Our trip to korea is a guided tour as we do not know the place well. Where are you planning for your honeymoon?

blur

Hi aquarius 888,

How many tables did you have? How many waiters/waitresses did they have per table? How's the service?

Sorry for asking so many questions. More questions...

Is Korea cold now? Did you go skiing?

passion fruit latte

Hello to all of you at the forum,

Having read so many bad remarks about The Carlton,
I would like to ask all wedding couples to STAY AWAY FROM CARLTON!!!!!! What is wrong with them? Where is their work ethnics? So for those people who are still deciding which place to hold their wedding, please go to Grand Copthorne Waterfront.

*Don't worry, I'm not an employee working at Grand Corpthorne Waterfront. Its just that the ballroom looks superb at a very reasonable price. Intelligence lighting for the march-ins, spacious reception area, flexible terms and comprising coordinators. Its one of the most commendable hotels in Singapore, if you want a perfect wedding. Well except for the bridal room, its a little cramped, but that's a small case.

Good luck to all couples!

Passion Fruit Latte