Carlton Hotel

sereneli

Hi Pooh25,
Sorry to hear what happened to your cousin. What did they give as an explanation? Just curious, but if not convenient, then it's ok.

Hi KK,
Actually, I still prefer Carlton for the march-in.;) kekeke I agree that people tend to compare cos typical lah...even I also will compare....kekeke

Hi Minibu,
No prob. Look out huh? Hmm maybe ask her to bring you to see the bridal suite, but I think she will bring u there herself...kekeke.
I don't know about 2005 package for Traders cos when I enquire in September, the package for 2005 was not out yet. They only gave me for 2004, based on 12 pax to a table

minibu

I have abt 25 tables actually but I know their min is 28 tables, any possibility they can accommodate that??
Anyway, my weekend dates are all taken up, so will go for the weekday loh, u think can negotiate for 25 tables instead??
hahaa, alot of questions...really need info. Thanks.

sereneli

Hi Minibu,

Heehee I really have no idea...but for my case, I actually compromised for 32 tables as min. cos I ask for a few more perks which I realised that they actually give to others too. So I think it's based on your negotiation with them lor.

blueberry

Minibu,

You can try asking. but will depends largely if there is another couple who might have a higher number of tables. They might say that they put on reserve.
But think 25 tables should be able to get the Ballroom. Try to work out with them. a lot of negotiation.

Serene,
I quite like the Bridal Suite( the old one not the premier suit) we can jolly fit a lot of pple inside the room. that day some of the guests came up and chat in the room. It's quite big too. The bed can fit at least 4 adults.. heehee... can save the cost of getting another room for the helpers.

Pooh,
Your cousin can try getting some compensation from them.
We din put our name on the menu. so can't help on that.

damsel

Any of you seen the bridal suite? Is it nice? Cause every time I go to carlton the room is booked and Diana does'nt have a pic of how it looks like.

Hi KK,
Yeah my whole of Dec is packed, on top of wedding prep still have to prepare for xmas

When's your AD?

blueberry

Damsel,

The Bridal suite is bigger than the premier suit. I dun have a pix of it. coz din take full pix of it. premier suite looks like a service apartment to me. kitchen took up some space.
Yah.. happy preparing for the christmas and wedding stuff.. you dun sound that stress. look like more fun to me.

Minibu,
further to add, dun forget to ask for more perks.

sereneli

Hi KK,
Hmm that sounds good...kekeke

Hi Minibu,
No prob. Update us of your discussion.

Hi Damsel,
My AD is on the 25th June 2005 and dinner is on 26th June 2005

blueberry

Serene,

haha...
I remember they put Crabtree products in the bathroom. good leh.. I din expect that. Think they do improve on their services.
so you can soak and smell good..

blueberry

Serene,

Yah..
Caught me by surprise leh.. maybe it is their way of surprising pple. opps I might let the cat out of the bag.

sereneli

Heehee maybe hor....
You enjoy your weekend!

Enjoy the weekend cos there's a lot of late night shoppings! kekeke

zhuzhu

Ladies
Agreed with KK..they have crabtree products in the suite room...but only small bottles lar..i "steal" them home..

I think you all will love the test tube...

sereneli

hi zhuzhu,

heehee of course small bottles lah...dun expect them to give full sized ones too...kekeke

Anyway, do post the pic of the test tube! ")

damsel

Hi KK,
I saw the bridal suite on Sat when i went down to collect my cards, it look ok to me. Wow still have crab tree proucts...hmmm looking forward to it:)

minibu

Updating:
Saw Diana on Fri, she's indeed friendly. All my weekend dates are taken up so will have to go for weekday. Told her I onli got abt 25 tables, so she can only give me 30l beer instead of freeflow loh.
Din have a chance to view the bridal suite as all occupied.

Actually wanted to go for Club Chinios but my date got tentative booking liao & the couple immediately pay deposit when hear got compeititor for their date. hahaaaa...

ladies, do u think 30l of beer is enough??

sereneli

Hi Damsel,
Who are you bringing the cards to for printing? Any idea how much does it cost for printing?

Hi Minibu,
30L of beer should be enough if you are serving red wine as well. And it also depends on your guests, if they drinks alot.

pooh25

Hi Serene

They said that before the dinner they will do a briefing with the waiters using the previous nite wedding dinner's menu. It may have drop on the floor and the guest has pick it up and put on the table. What an excuse.

damsel

I'm getting my cards printed at wedding gift shop (Orchard Delphi). I can't remember how much is it but I can update you once I get mine done.

Hi Minibu,
30L should be enough, if you are going to have wine and hard liquor as well.

sereneli

Hi Pooh,
I think that's really ridiculous cos they are supposed to make sure that there shouldn't be any "litter" on the floor at all times.

Hi Damsel,
Oh ok. Pls let me know when yours is done!

minibu

damsel/serene,
Was also thinking should be enough if having wine as well.

Anyone got any experience with Pan Pacific Hotel?? seems not bad also.

damsel,
pls also update me on the printing of wedding cards price, not sure abt that also.

pooh,
i also think that is an stupid excuse to brush off the whole thing.

minibu

ic, think now all the weekend dates must be taken up already. May check their weekday packages as well.

sereneli

Hi Minibu,

If you don't mind weekday or you have alternative dates, you can check with them and get them to reserve for you first. If someone else is interested, they will call u before confirming with the other couple

minibu

Anyone out there need to slim down for your wedding?? Ideally, I need to go down abt 5kg to look good.
Any good recommendations besides exercise??

sereneli

Hi Minibu,

Heehee I am a plus size bride...so I don't think I can slim down in time one lah....but my friends are trying to eat oats for lunch. They said can slim down quite substantially if you eat oats for lunch daily.

jam75

hi KK & Serene,

U gals have been busy discussing the carlton wedding huh...actually mi going a to meet with April dis coming thur but no chance to meet with Diana leh cos Diana informed me dat April will be co-ordinating wif mi & hopefully she will be as good as Diana lor...

Serene,
Hv u already go f their food tasting?? how many ppl for u???

sereneli

hi kk,
dun worry so much about co-ordinator, I am sure April will be a good one too.

I have not gone for food tasting lah...my AD is Jun 2005, not so fast...but food tasting is for 10 pax

minibu

me most likely will confirm with Carlton, have already put a tentative date with Diana.

Went to Pan Pacific yday, was quite disappointed with the manager, she was late for our appointment but din even apologise. Just roughly show us the ballroom, run through the details quickly & HP kept ringing.

sereneli

Hi Minibu,
That's good. Finally can put one thing off ur mind!

Hi Cool,
I guess the details of our contract all differs due to different negotiation, different co-ordinators as well as different time in signing. I would suggest you go down to Carlton or drop them an email and see what they offered. But the Waiver of corkage I think it's a standard FOC thing.

shirley79

Hi Minibu,

I am new to this thread..thinking of having my banquet at Carlton in dec 2005. can share with me the package you signed with them, like the px per table for wkday and the perks? U may email me at [email protected]

Thks.

minibu

Hi shirley,

u may want to check out their website.
The package is almost same as wat they have on their website....also depends on your negotiation with them.
Or you may want to contact them directly for more information tailored to your needs.
Hope this info helps.

damsel

I've already send my cards for printing, $135 for 100 pcs which includes art work and icon but because I had 115pcs she charge me $140 instead as additional card above 100 pc is @ $1.50 and a additional $60 to have my FH and my name printed at the front of the card. The cards will be ready for collection in abt 10 days.

sereneli

Hi Damsel,

Where did you print? It's kinda ex leh...Hotstamping or inserts?
Sorry, me just want to know the market price now...kekeke

sereneli

Hi Damsel,

oic...u didn't use Carlton's card/printer huh?
Cos Diana told me they worked with Jasvy and can't remember the other one. It should be cheaper.

merzy03

hi everyone, can somehow give me some feedback abt Carlton food and service? What abt ballroom? got pillars? Empress Room i think? Also, there is not much cocktail reception area right? it's just near the railing overlooking ground floor is it?

sereneli

Heard from others that the food is not too bad. Given that the restaurant is award winning.

Empress Ballroom got 2 pillars and you are right, the cocktail reception is just near the railing overlooking the ground floor.

zhuzhu

Hi Merzy03
I had my weddding at carlton last Dec..food wise not bad..portion also quite big..when i went for my food tasting..the portion also quite big..we tao bao some back home also..;)

Ladies
I realise that my fotographer did not take pics of the wedding favour..so cannot show u how the test tube looks like...sad~

sereneli

Hi Zhuzhu,

Aiya nevermind....but you didn't request that Carlton provide you and your hubby with one set of favours for momento? kekeke I was thinking of doing that

minibu

Hi Minssy,

u're right, its pauline...thought she should be professional since Manager status but....*haiz*, disappointed....
Me & hubby immediately gave up the Pan Pac idea...hahaaa...its their lost...
so we chose Carlton with good feedback here...& from ppl I know...

Hi zhuzhu,
congrats on ur wedding....if ok, can see ur photos???

Hi serene,
were also thinking of getting the favours for momento when the time comes, most likely can get...hahahaaa....

hi minimu,

glad that you found carlton. i totally blacklisted panpac and that stupid pauline. she shd go fly kite man! hahhahhaha

minibu

hi minssy,

it seems u had very bad experience with panpac pauline, care to share...just curious...
so,u also went for Carlton??

actually me quite confirm on Carlton liao but just wanted to try panpac see see look look...hahhaaa...turn out to be disappointed in them cause panpac quite popular & "high-class" but totally smashed their reputation....wonder how ppl can accept that & choose them...to me, service comes first....