Bookclub - what are you reading?

lux

Ha avid.. mean huh you.. bless those on the flight. I had an experience like that. Cough and cough on long distance !! When we had a transit at Korea, when the other passenger saw me sitting back at the seat can see they roll their eyes. 2 hours into the flight a korean passenger ordered hot water for me insist I sit up straigh and pass me some dont know what with his face cringed until like darn irritated. As if I asked for the coughing fit. Think the stewardess also headache because business class and everyone was probably complaining. Blah..

levynn me also.. normal is single eyelid but if not nuff sleep or sick, I get overnight double eyelids which look awful. My face just so not for double eye lid. not sure about guys but I like single eye lids girls though! =)

slgerman, the in law stories.. big yawn one lah. See them I sian liao.. because they have never say anything nice to me. MIL also one meek lamb but during the wedding while I was arguing with hubby becuse of their family way of doing ths whole marriage not sincere she keep insisting to hubby while I was on the line that her method is most accurate! *faint* I dont wear jewellery but being catonese they have a need to give me some gold during GDL i.e. 1 bangle. So when prior to that I asked hubby how he say the mother a teochew have not heard that the in law have to give the DIL gold for GDL! What the hell is si dian jin to the teochew than. than worse part push the blame to my folks.. say my folks never asked for Gold for the daughter. I was so pissed. In the end through some conversations.. my hubby accidently spill out that last time when my MIL got married no gold given by the in laws as well. Her folks were extremely pissed off. Funny how she can relate this story to her son! My folks were also rather upset with this kinda in laws because they didnt make request for anything except for a pig. My dad specifically told me that no neg on that and hubby also heard and if want to neg he will pay for the pig. So my dad didnt want to hear anything about no pig, period. On the day we went food tasting.. the MIL asked... can put $100 in a red pack to signify the pig? My dad face turned so black I also fear! Anyway my dad response in a joking manner.. say pig is very important how can like that esp since they didnt request for anything else. Ai yah a lot of things lah these are but the tip of the iceberg. Oh the newest stunt they pull was to give us a Brand new vaccum cleaner for our housewarming. I opened up to find a bag of trash in the cleaner and the cord broken. How nice! My mum was upset as well. Said they are suppose to give some appliance to ensure have food constantly .. If they dont bother should have told her so she can buy on their behalf. Sigh.. think my parents also heartache to get affilated with in laws. got to take in stride I guess. Since hubby dont insist I visit them or what so I just leave status quo. Pretty lucky in that sense...

Geeze.. sorry for the long post

Thanks for all the congratulatory messages

Wow so many posts...trying hard to keep up.

My poor girl was admitted to the hospital yesterday..kena bad jaundice *sniff* Cried when I realised she had to go back to hospital .. was already thinking abt how much I'd miss her. But the good news is she's getting well and should be able to come home tmr. Pediatrician (PD) told us her jaundice lvl was too high..might hv to stay 3-4 days..but he called this morning to say that the jaundice lvl is dropping fast and she'll prob be well enough to come home tmr..yippy! Nvr knew I wld ever be so attached to a baby. I guess they're right when they say that you feel differently abt kids when it's your own.

Hmm...labor story huh. Nothing dramatic happened leh. On thur morning (ard 6am), felt water trickling out..but it stopped once i sat up and walked ard. Decided to see my obstetrician, just in case. In fact, I was all prepared to go bk to work right after the visit coz there wasn't any more leakage. Saw my ob at 11am..he examined my cervix and told me to get admitted as I was already in labor!...haha..so much for going bk to work. CAn't imagine if I didn't trust my instincts and went to work anyway .. was actually thinking of doing that. Anyway, I went home, showered, ate lunch, took my hospital bag and went bk to the hospital. Started to feel contractions at 3pm..and lil girl arrived the following morning.

dottyback

alhana wah...also quite long leh..i think already oso shack man

dun worry abt the jaundice..its pretty common among infants...glad she's gonna b home soon!

man_tou_bear

Alhana, dun worry.. Baby Cate will be out soon... take this time to rest abit...

busy day for me... went to the neurologist and wasted 3 hrs there... anyway i m apparently still suffering from the side effects of the meningitis... hence the memory loss and headache. she told me to slp more.. how to? i m moving even further away from my work place...

and i m sick with fever now... think i caught the bug from my sis.. can't take mc.. 9 more days to AD.. ARRGGHHH!!!

dottyback

bear bearrr *hugz*

u ok? paisay i haven been logging onto the forum much recently..been busy acting busy at work kekekee

hope u r ok ya?

happielee

Hi Alhana,
Baby Cate needs a strong mummy too..dun forget to take gd care of urself oki?

Wah...seems like ur in laws are a bit difficult..are they like tat when u were still pak-tor-ing?

Hi Bear,
Hang in there..go take some liang teh..n try to rest early la..i m sure u will be well in time to be a beautiful bride in 9days' time. Jia You!

Jus went to a bridal studio to check out the gowns n the package..hee hee feel so light headed..cos i tried on a few gowns n was surprised i look not bad...hahaha tho with all the fats all nicely tugged in!

Gonna start the marathon to look for more studios in the days to come...

Let me ask u ladies,did u choose the gowns u like before u sign? Or u jus like one n then sign it?

avid_reader

Bear, you must rest more lah.. if still feverish better stay at home to rest.

Alhana, hope you can bring baby Catelyn back today. Oh, you make giving birth sounds so easy.. describe to us the pain. Is it painful?

avid_reader

Ling, I think I'm starting to cough too! I could feel it coming... had a coughing fit in a meeting yesterday afternoon.. it was so bad that I've to excuse myself.

man_tou_bear

Hello...

I m on 2 days MC and also on dengue watch cos of the high fever and muscular pains... 8 more days.. how unlucky can i get? Last yr i managed to get out of hospital 13 days before my ROM!

Alhana, Baby Cate ok?

Slgerman, gowns can be copied but not the customer service, hence i will choose the BS based on whether i m comfortable or not, price in my budget or not. The 2nd priority will be the gown.

avid_reader

Bear, did the doctor do a blood count for you? That's ususally how they check for dengue. Please have plenty of rest and drink more water! Go sleep now!

I'll have to see the doctor later too.. *cough cough*

lux

Hi Al,

anyway babes tend to go to the hospital the first few weeks I guess. My niece who is 6 years old this year gave us a cardiac when the doctor say they suspect she got a hole in the heart when she was 2 day old! Was admitted for a week. My SIL was so scared! luckily everything turn out fine. Jaundice is even more common.. no worries.. However you probably need to 'sun' her when she comes back...Your labour story sounds like so easy .. lucky you!!! My colleague just swore hell about getting no epi for birth. she say she almost wrung her hubby arm off! *faint*

slgerman, I dont have a habit of going to my hubby's home while courting. He dont like it and I think it was better off. I only go to bring them new year and mid autummn goodies every year. Anyhow.. the few chance I got to talk to them also nothing nice come out. there were hints I was not good enough for their son, family etc and I was a pampered spoilt brat. Duh. Whatever.. About the bridal gown... I went to my neighbourhood bridal. I figure it will be cheaper than tanjong pagar's one. budget was on my mind and I got quite a nice co-ordinater as well.

Bear, Are you thrilled about the AD!! 8 days to go! Rest well... drink more water... and dont stress!However it was the crucial few days before the AD that I have arguement with hubby.. so take it from me.. relax and dont worry about the small things..

avid_reader

Ling, I gave him a face towel to bring on his flight. Told him to cough into the towel.. anyway he said he kept drinking hot water and didn't cough that much. The thing is, he said he's recovering now. But I'm starting to cough!!! arghhhhhhhhhh

man_tou_bear

Avid, no blood count cos he isn't sure if it is dengue yet.. told me to go back tmr or Sat to check again...

yes i m heading to slp now... tired...

man_tou_bear

Hey photos of Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix are out. They made Daniel Radcliffe cut his hair.. looks like an Armani cut that went awry!!! prefer him with longer, messier hair... check it out at Yahoo Movies!

avid_reader

Good morning all!

Bear, hope you are feeling better? Saw the photos of HP & the Order of Phoenix... all of them have grown up :p

So happy it's finally Friday!!

man_tou_bear

Hello! its not dengue... heng ah.. heehee... i lost my voice aft my hen's nite last nite.. nothing wild lah, just dinner at Chijmes' Lei Garden. Food there is very very gd...

Alhana, how's baby Cate? Gd???

Avid, ya all of them grew up.. i dun like Harry's new haircut. Ron looks neater though... heehee...

avid_reader

Good morning all!

Bear, good to know that you are feeling ok already! Can taste the food at Lei Garden.. means you've fully recovered

The twins look like James Spader to me.. :p

Man, think I'm gonna lose track of what's happening here.

Bear..ure AD is fast approaching..wow, time really flies by quickly. Hope you had a good time during your Hen's nite party

Baby Cate is ok. She's back home now, but she's giving me a headache coz she's refusing my breast. Trying hard to bf but becoz she was given the bottle during her stay in the hospital, she's reluctant to latch on. And w/o her latching on, my milk supply won't increase. It's a vicious circle. She does prefer my milk to formula, but she's too impatient to suckle at my breast as the flow is slow compared to sucking from a bottle teat. Ughhh. Whenever i try to get her to latch on, she starts to wail and scream
May visit the lactation consultant for help. Stressssssssss....

man_tou_bear

Alhana, dun stress, dun stress!!! be patient.. the more impatient u are the more stressed u are... wah got lactation consultant?? amazing!!

Slgerman, if u want the stripper contact, let me know ok? my gfs didn't get one though they very much wanted to.. its rather ex..

Avid, i lost my voice on my hen's nite, till now haven't recovered... i still have a slight fever and croaking like mad!!

levynn

good morning ladies!

how's everyone mid-week??

my hubby was juz talking abt how fast time passes. we would b married for a year come dec.. heh.

alhana, how abt u squeeze your milk into a bottle for her? it's possible, ya?

avid_reader

Good morning to all!

Alhana, Levynn pointed out a good idea.. why not pump out milk in a bottle for your baby? Sorry.. couldn't give any constructive advice.. have never taken care of babies before. I can only imagine how my life will change when we have a kid.. must be quite stressful lah. When it's my turn, I will have to ask you the expert!

Bear, your wedding day's this Friday? You are still sick??!! Must drink plenty of water lah. You are already on leave right?

Busy these couple of days.. cos rushing for monthly reports. Good that I've stopped coughing already...

Levynn, indeed.. time passes really fast. Come 2 Jan 07 (ROM date) my hubby & I would have been married for 6 years. Didn't feel that long leh. Do you regard the day you hold your customary wedding as your wedding anniversary or the ROM date or both? Oh, are you reading any good books lately? Hehehe.. asking you only cos I don't think Mummy Alhana and Bride Bear have time to read.

man_tou_bear

Where's Alhana? baby Cate giving u slpless nite? heehee.. how is she? growing well i hope?

Avid, ya still sick.. voice keeps breaking... throat hurts slightly and i m coughing my head off.. heehee.. yes on leave.. last wk had 2 days mc cos i was sick.. on leave since Mon... how's the baby making scheme? any gd news yet? heehee...

Levynn, i also just celebrated my first yr anniversary.. so scary... where did all the time went to?

happielee

Hi Alhana,
Read in somewhere tat some babies take longer to latch on...so keep tryin okie? I m sure Baby Cate will appreciate your effort very soon..

Hi Bear!
How r u feelin now? Better? LOL...think the virus got spread thru internet..also down with fever n cough..cheers to the sick ladies! Let's get well soon.

Ladies...
I have just started my journey to look for a BS,oh boy...was i feeling..."oppressed" at a BS we went to at Tg Pagar..read in the forum tat they have nice gowns so i went to try the gowns..guess wat?

They thot i like complicated design n i end up lookin like a fake ang moh woman with a very elaborate victorian lookin gown attending a costume party! LOL...My htb was so tryin very hard not to laugh....

Anyway aft the tryin,it was hard selling time..the prices drop so fast..faster than share prices..n many freebies were thrown in!And the co-ordinator even told us "er...if u walk out and come back another day,i cannot give u the same rate!" Gee...it sure sound like some gym who uses the same tactic!

Guess wat?We went in all full of anticipation cos they were highly recommended by frens n left the shop without signin with a sigh of relief...

Gee...feel like a lamb abt to be fleeced the moment we were "sat down" for the talk!

Now whenever we walked past Tg Pagar,it gives us the creeps!

man_tou_bear

Hello! i m back.. Avid and Alhana haven't updated yet. are they too busy???

AD wennt well as, well as it can be though there were some hiccups... heehee... anyway can't believe its over.. so fast!

Slgerman, so have u shortlisted some BS? any of them caught ur attention? when will u shortlist them?

avid_reader

Hello Bear! Great to know that everything went well! Going away for your honeymoon soon? Any wedding photos to see (since we had the honour of seeing your ROM pics at the zoo as well).

Yeah haven't heard from Alhana for a while. Understandably she must be busy with her princess

So tired.. gotta finish some more work before heading home. Feeling a sore throat coming.

man_tou_bear

Hello Avid, u very busy eh?? ya gg for my HM next Thurs... heeehee.. can't wait.. for the whole of Oct, i only worked 8 days! heehee.... No photos yet.. must wait for the PG to develop mah.. heehee...

Looks like most of us are feeling under the weather. do take care gals!

avid_reader

Good morning all!

Bear, yeah WAS very busy last 2 days. OK now.

Was in KL last weekend and it was so hazy. Getting a sore throat because of the haze I think! :p My hubby said it's because of the many lychee martinis I had on Saturday nite but I really think it's the haze lah.

So did you cry at all at your wedding? Tears of joy and relief? heheeheee.. how's married life so far huh?

levynn

avid... i'm currently reading Jeffery Deaver's "The Cold Moon". only the 1st few chapters. sometimes too busy till dun have the time to sit down properly n read... n when reach home, already too tired.

that time my hubby also asked me the same thing. so do we celebrate on the ROM date, AD date, or the day we started dating?? haha... then i told him celebrate all la... then i can have more presents... keke...

slgerman... my fren warned me abt the stretch at Tanjong Pagar. the salesperson can come out fr the shop n try to drag u in if they see u as a couple walking past. so she n my other girlfren went together... then not so much "harassment". if u r happy wif one, then can go back another day again wif your HTB...

avid_reader

Levynn I only just finished reading "The Pleasure of my Company" by Steve Martin last night. Couldn't believe it took me almost a month to finish that thin book. I actually quite like the book.. think it will be made into a tv movie starring Steven Martin himself! I'm also too tired by the time I got home.. only have time to watch tv :p

We celebrate birthdays, ROM & AD anniversaries. Cannot really remember the date we started dating. We used to keep a journal when we started dating but nowadays too lazy to write in it. Hmm.. gotta start writing again.. it keeps track of some very impt events!

Saw this book at a bookstore at KL airport - "Like a Flowing River" by Paulo Coelho. It's a compilation of tales, opinions and ideas; more like short stories. Seems quite good for light reading but it's so expensive.. RM99.90!

levynn

a little something to perk up your afternoon... heh...

A first-grade teacher, Ms. Brooks, was having trouble with one of her students. The teacher asked, "Harry, what's your problem?" Harry answered, "I'm too smart for the 1st grade. My sister is in the 3rd grade and I'm smarter than she is! I think I should be in the 3rd grade too!" Ms. Brooks had had enough so she took Harry to the principal's office.

While Harry waited in the outer office, the teacher explained to the principal what the situation was. The principal told Ms. Brooks he would give the boy a test. If he failed to answer any of his questions he was to go back to the 1st grade and behave. She agreed. Harry was brought in and the conditions were explained to him and he agreed to take the test.

Principal: "What is 3 x 3 ?" Harry: "9" Principal: "What is 6 x 6?" Harry: "36".

And so it went with every question the principal thought a 3rd grader should know. The principal looks at Ms. Brooks and tells her, "I think Harry can go to the 3rd grade." Ms. Brooks says to the principal, "Let me ask him some questions." The principal and Harry both agreed.

Ms. Brooks asks, "What does a cow have four of that I have only two of?" Harry, after a moment: "Legs." Ms. Brooks: "What is in your pants that you have but I do not have?" The principal wondered, why would she ask such a question! Harry replied: "Pockets!"

Ms. Brooks: "What does a dog do that a man steps into?" Harry: "Pants". Ms. Brooks: What's starts with a C and ends with a T, is hairy, oval, delicious and contains thin, whitish liquid?" Harry: "Coconut."

The principal sat forward with his mouth hanging open. Ms. Brooks: "What goes in hard and pink then comes out soft and sticky?" The principal's eyes opened really wide and before he could stop the answer. Harry: "Bubble gum"

Ms. Brooks: "What does a man do standing up, a woman does sitting down and a dog does on three legs?" Harry: "Shake hands." The principal was trembling.

Ms. Brooks: "What word starts with an 'F' and ends in 'UCK' that means a lot of heat and excitement?" Harry: "Fire Truck".

The principal breathed a sigh of relief and told the teacher, "Put Harry in the fifth-grade, I got the last seven questions wrong.

levynn

any of u read any short stories by Roald Dahl? it's more for adults than kids. i read a description abt "Lamb to the Slaughter" n it's very interesting.

happielee

Hi Bear & Levynn,
We have not shortlisted any BS,still looking around. We went to sliverlining n i must say their gowns are bbbeeeaauuutttiiiffullll.....
They were soo pretty n elegant..

Hi Bear,
Share share your joyous experiences on ur BIG day...dun shy...

The one we went to in Tg Pagar was recommended by a fren who signed up for a basic package but end up topping it up to $8k plus.They were satisfied with the service so we went to take a look but we definitely do not wan to spend tat kind of $$.

Was clearing my storerm and found alot of books,almost brand new ones from Sidney Sheldon to Danielle Steele..any ladies interested?

Good morning girls

Yup, hv been MIA for awhile. It's tiring looking after baby. Spend most of my time either expressing milk, sleeping or carrying her.

First of all, congrats to Bear! Finally, your AD is over. Do share your experience with us..how did it all go..what were the hiccups..did u cry..etc etc :p Any pics to share?

I've put up Catelyn's pics on an online album. If any of you want to view em, just let me know ure email addresses

man_tou_bear

Hello! been busy.. flying off to my HM this thurs evening. looking forward to that..

Alhana, u managed to make an appearance! how have u been coping? Baby Cate all ok??? mail me at [email protected]

Erm my experience? it was one filled with a lot of irritation.. my mum was so annoying that i snapped at her. she was pretty upset with me aft that. but i was feeling so tired dragging a 5kg gown around plus wearing the spine twisting corset! argh! the hotel also gave such bad service that i recommend my frens NOT to do it there. Lazy to type everything out. here are the relevant posts.

http://www.singaporebrides.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?tpc=91431&post=2044207#POST2044207

http://www.singaporebrides.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?tpc=6&post=2047966#POST2047966

Hi Bear

Read the 2 posts....wow, your mom sounds like a real pickle. I'm sure you're really glad the day is FINALLY over. Well, at least you hv ure HM to look fwd to...so is it confirmed for Australia? Have loads of fun! Think you'll be making babies there? Keke.

Kk..will email you Cate's pics. Baby Cate's ok. Sometimes naughty, sometimes good....she's got her moods. Her man yue is this weekend..fast hor. can't believe she's been here for almost a whole mth....to think those 9 mths just went by in a flash.

man_tou_bear

Yups Alhana, i m sooooo GLAD its over.. heehee.. ya HM is gonna be Mel and Sydney.. heehee.. looking forward to that. No babies lah.. i need to go back to sch rem??? heh...

I go and check for baby Cate's photos! ya hor, very fast one mth liao.. SCARY!!!

Hi Bear

Wish I could go on a vacation too...already dreaming of a trip to Krabi w hubby...dunno when that'd be :p

So u've decided to do your Masters huh? Good. You're still young..still hv time to spare before thinking of having babies

man_tou_bear

Hallo Alhana, Baby Cate is soooo cute.. she seems very alert leh. eyes always open.. or is it u only take photos of her with eyes open? she looks beautiful! are u planning to have a party for her this wkend?

Ya i have decided to go for my masters if my co allows me to do it. heh... if not then i will have a baby lah...

Dun worry abt the vacation. when baby Cate is older u can bring her along liao.. and then make her a sibling there!

Hi Bear

She really cute ah? Hubby sez that as parents, we will surely think that our babies are cute..so need someone else to give objective opinions..keke. But I guess all babies are cute one lah...until they start crying and wailing for no rhyme or reason! She is awake quite alot now..which is fine, except at nites! Yup, we will be throwing her man yue party this weekend. Twice actually..one at the ILs place, and one for my side of the family at a hotel. Doing it on 2 separate days.

Oh, u still need ure company's ok to do your Masters? How soon will you know then?

Wah..can't think abt making more babies now. One already keeping our hands full. ANd we hv many hands available too! Admire pple who hv multiple births..can't imagine handling twins or more at one shot!

man_tou_bear

Yups she is really really cute!! actually all babies look cute to me.. cos i love them... heh... so how are u coping so far, slping enough?? wah so lucky! 2 man yue parties! can see u guys really dote on her...

Ya i need my co's ok cos i m applying for the scholarship..
i dunno when i will know.. when my CE free to decide ba...

I guess as first time parents, ppl are always more kan cheong etc etc, hence it is easy to feel overwhelm.. however when u have another kid, u already learnt from past exp wat to expect hence will be more relax.. heehee.... dun worry, i m sure u will be a great mum!

I'm coping ok. Sleep whenever i can, esp in the day. She's ok some nites, cranky other nites. We're lucky to get the ok nites..where she wakes up to feed and goes right bk to sleep after. On cranky nites, she won't sleep and will cry unless someone carries her.

We're having 2 man yue parties coz his folks not happy w the idea of doing it at our hse. Anyway it's for the better...their side inviting so many pple...won't hv space to accomodate so many pax. I'm not looking fwd to it tho...imagine 60 pax crammed into a HDB flat...and w no air conditioning in the living room. Can die.

man_tou_bear

Hello ladies! how have u guys been? rather quiet recently huh?

Alhana, how's baby Cate? growing up to be big and beautiful? so fast hor, she already 1.5 mths old liao...

Avid leh? busy with work? i haven't been reading cos i got back from my HM just 2 wks ago and so far its been busy with the Christmas tree and housework... heehee.. hope to pick something up soon...

Slgerman? i see u have been busy in the forum.. how's the wedding preps? gd?? selected ur BS? or still being attacked by the bloodthirsty sales ppl?

Hi Bear!

Are you back from your honeymoon already? That's fast! How was it? I've lost track of time liow :p

Yeah, this thread has been quiet for a loooong time. Dunno where everyone went!

Cate's getting bigger, that's for sure. Think she weighs close to a whopping 5kg now. Getting more tiring carrying her
And her cheeks are so chubby! And she has a double chin..haha. She doesn't sleep much during the day now..so we get tired trying to entertain her. Leave her alone for too long and she'll start to cry...wants attention. But the good thing abt that is that she sleeps much longer at nite now.

Was checking out George Martin's site. He's still hard at work on the 5th book...most likely will be out next yr. He said it def wun make it for publication this yr..SIGH. Expected as much... Hv u finished reading A Feast for Crows? I didn't enjoy it as much as the previous 3 books..prob coz many of my favourite characters weren't in it.

Well, hope to hear from the rest of the girls soon.