Bishan Area

marchbride.. caaaan.. but mostly we'll go there eat, drink, gossip.. i'l bring my dog to bark at ur neighbours! haha! Hv fun!

Hi Tunagirl and Marchbride: Who did your reno? How is it?

hi hui,

i gd at bargaining? hahah.. I dunno leh! So far i did approach Lego house, but no quotes yet. Thinking of going thru sub-contractors, coz less mark-up. But some say go thru ID also cheaper, coz ID may have preferential rates with the various vendors

HB has some contacts for electrical, painting, tiling though, but haven't got in touch with them for quotes

Hi Hui, my contractor and ID was from Intradesign.. not too bad.. we're generally happy with their service and efficiency.. workmanship also not bad.

wah say, so many posts lately.... busy preparing my wedding... kekeke

Hi March_bride,
that's good, hope everything will go as per planned and you will have a nice nice housevery soon, just need to tahan for a while.... sure must show me and tunagirl when complete hor...hehehe :P
I just showed tunagirl my wedding photos last week. hehe :P

Hi Hui,
u got blog ah? send me the link?
congrats on yr new purchase of flat successfully. so happy for you. now is the headache period cos u need to decide the reno stuff, relax and go through whatever home deco magazines u can get hold of, ask ard for interior designers and quotations, must ask a few quotes la...

Hi nemo_fc,
hope u are feeling better. think you and yr hubby are too tired from searching for the flat for a long time. maybe u all should stop a while, then go out and enjoy a bit before start another round. maybe yr hubby could have changed his mind by then. dun take it too hard, anytime u need listening ear, u let me know? U have my contact right? cheer up, JIAYOU!!!!

Hi Mehmeh: looks like a lot of work! Then again heard from Jess and ur sis u are very hardworking one.
I'll get to meet you on Jess's wedding day hor?

Hi tunagirl! I tried contacting Dave from Intradesign this morning. Think he was quite "stressed" cos when I called him asking to meet up, he said I shld call him in Sept instead since my renovations will start only in Nov. Hmmm..strange cos I thought he might want to show me some of his works first so I can get a feel of his designs. I felt quite taken aback when he asked me to call back, as if he isn't very interested. So FH and I decided to approach another guy from Inner View instead. We had such a good time chatting with the guy from Inner View just now.

Then in the evening, Dave called back. Think he might have felt bad that he told me to call back in Sept. He offered to give me a quote if I am looking to compare with other IDs. I just told him I'll call him in Sept (not sure if I will though). I still think Intradesign may be a good place to check out and Dave can be a nice guy (after all he tried to call back to reconnect with us), but my FH is a little affected by the first encounter already. So don't know how also. :P

hi Hui,

U mean going thru sub-con requires alot of work? I think so too!! Hopefully they are nice ppl, coz they are recommended by HB's fren who is involved in real estate & has engaged them for her many projects.. Then i wun have to be worried abt miscommunications or shoddy jobs.. heheheh

I hardworking ah? Must stretch my dollar mah.. Work so hard for it! not to mention, burning weekends at times..

Yupz, u def meet me on Jess's wedding! hahah,i'm her church wedding coord.. So exciting!

Hi Hui,

my wedding on the 30sep'06. but still got things not settled. oops. :P
my house reno was done by my uncle. basically i did the following:-
hacked and do up the two existing toilets
hacked the existing cornices and put up false ceilings
sealed up the existing MBR door and hacked a new door instead for the privacy.
reinstall the electrical fittings and switches and relaying of the airconditioner pipings(done by uncle's friend)
the lightings and toilet accessories were bought by ourselves and my uncle installed it for me.

we also did get my hubby's friend dad to help up in doing up the tv conso and the toilet cabinet in the MBR.

we took approximately a month to finish everything. total spending i think approximately 20k in total. I think though they are a bit slow cos my uncle's dad passed away then, the work done is still not too bad.

anyway we did not do the kitchen due to budget constraints. so temporary tahan for the time being. me and my hubby did not engage an ID too. and did most of painting by ourselves and as for the designs we went through a number of house deco books and then decided on the colour scheme loh... But after everything is done, i think it's still better to engage a painter given it's cheaper after all. save all the aching all over the body. :P

actually I been to tunagirl's house. the design by Dave not too bad, very modern and clean cut. cos i kpo so i get to know her loh. kekeke:P

anyway if u interested to get a quotation, i can always give my uncle's contact to you via the email.

hi mehmeh, hui,

Our contractor/ID is our agent(who happens to be our friend)'s friend. He is from Aranus, located somewhre in Yishun.

Basically, we are going to do the following :
- hacked and redo the 2 toilets
- do up the tv console
- build-in wardrobe and dressing table for MBR
- build-in study table and cupboard for 3rd bedroom
- hacked existing Lbox/false ceilings
- change all window griles
- reinstall aircons, relay aircon pipings
- reinstall all electrical fittings

All in ard 25k, excluding accessories (eg. lightings, toilet accessories etc).

One thing to note is that when the reno starts, really have to spend time to checkup on the reno progress. There will be a lot of minor issues that have never been discussed that will not be up to your standard. eg. the way they lay the aircon pipings etc

hi serene, tunagirl,
keke, sure. Once my hse ready, can come over and party. Bring your doggy to liven up the place... hahaha... abit too quiet at times I feel :p Then we can share our wedding pic too..
Tunagirl, have you finalize you bridal shop?

hi marchbride,

thanks for the info.. U aren't intending to do the flooring? After browsing some threads of other IDs, i realised the costly item goes mainly to carpentary.. Cost 2x the amt tt goes to the flooring

hi serene,

do u mind sharing ur uncle's contact with me? fr what u posted, i gather he is a contractor?

like u, re-hauling the whole house isn't within my budget & then to engage an ID to do up, also not within my budget.. Have been browsing thru lotsa home & deco magz & online portfolios of various IDs to get ideas & colour schemes too

Oh yes, ur HB's fren does carpentary? Can share too?

here's my add: [email protected]

Hi Hui,
Congrats!
Haven't been checking in lately coz busy with renos but finally all done! V satisfied with my ID's work...we didn't do a lot coz unit was in v gd condition, mainly just the two toilets, changing of doors, electrical works, space planning & repainting. In total about 7k
Also moving in slowly...

Your wedding is in Sept? Mine's in Sept too

hi dreamdoll,

$7k for the works u've mentioned is quite worth it! toilets are costly to do up.. What renos did u do to them?
Oh, does the $7k inc the costs for lighting?

Hi mehmeh,

Ya, too many expenses so we had to keep to our budget! We hacked and relaid the floor tiles for both bathrooms, did a storage cabinet in the master bathroom and changed all bathrooms' and bedrooms' doors. Our quote included changing of electrical switches but did not include lights and fittings
What are you looking to do?

hi dreamdoll,

thanksthanks..I'm doing a little more than u, but not the toilet tiles.
1. Hacking a wall
2. Cornices for some parts of the extended living rm
3. Extend some wiring points
4. Change the MBR sink & maybe do a cabinet for the sink to mount on
5. Concealing of pipes tt runs along the kitchen, 1 bedroom & MBR
6. Painting
7. Install 1 glass casement door at Kitchen entrance
8. Change common toilet's door

U went thru an ID inspite doing not doing much designer work?

Hi mehmeh, these days a lot of ppl call themselves IDs, when they are actually contractors. So the cost may actually be quite low even though they are IDs. :P

hi dreamdoll.

gosh, u were up at such late hours.. Hmm, must start to rest early to look ur best on the big day!! heehee
thanks! can share the quotes & the conact of ur ID?

hi Hui,

Indeed! Hopefully i get to know an ID which wld meet our budget

U did any homework for the house this weekend? I went light shopping! Quite diff to select all the lights for the house fr 1 shop.. HB has labelled me fussy, but he says it's gd & not succumb to pressure & end up picking sthg i dun really like

Gosh, lights can cost alot! *faint*

Does ur unit have L-box or false ceiling?

Hi dreamdoll,

my wedding on 30sep'06, still got a lot of things not done..oops..last minute...kekeke:P
how about u?

Hi Mehmeh,
actually I did L-box for one of the bedroom and living hall that's why i need to redo the switches for the whole place.

ya lights can be expensive. we did shopping for that along balestier road. need to bargain for the price cos some charge super expensive. esp the lcd lights. very exp. and the crystal lights look out for the linkage between the crystals as some come off very easily when cleaning. if you are getting them, pls check. the salesperson who served us is very nice actually, even tell us how to do the arrangement for the lightings, as in we need not switch on every single light in the living hall.
in the case of installing lights in the L box or soever, most pro the electrician will request you to paint the cornices first before he does the installation of lights otherwise it's going to be problematic painting after the lights are installed. of course it's better for you to give them a detailed plan as to where the lights are installed and how you want to do the switch arrangement.
if u are looking for toilet accessories , u can go to those shops along jalan besar road, there are a lot of shops selling toiletries. can go in and check for the prices and range.

if you are doing reno at yr place, pls decide how the aircon pipes should be laid first cos if you want yr contractor to do yr false ceiling to cover up the pipes, the pipings have to be done first before they do the false ceilings.

and as to my uncle's contact and my hubby's friend carpentry contact, i send you the email when i get the contact from my hubby. ok?

I hope I can join you.
I'm not a bride-to-be. I've already graduated to Singaporemotherhood since 2003! hehe.. I'm currently looking for a flat in Bishan, have viewed abt 20 so far and v tired already.. It seems almost all the 5A units I've seen are asking for at least 15k above valuation, many are asking for 20-30k!! So now looking at mansionettes... Is it really like this? I mean the owners all demand so much cash..

hi serene,

thanks so much for the comprehensive info! Appreciate them loads!

I've done some shopping at Balestier.. So far I'm avoiding halogen bulbs, makes the unit too warm & not energy saving. Keeping the usage of these to a minimal
Lights Arcade seems quite well-worth in the forum, so had checked them out. Prices are reasonable & they offered a discount based on some shortlisted item, on their own accord. But will be bargaining for more when I've confirmed.. Getting Kitchen & bedroom lights fr them
Now short of toilet, dining & balcony...

So u're saying, do painting of cornice first then the installation of lights yah? But can do the wiring first rite? Coz the casings for the wiring have to painted over yah?

Thanks for the info on toilet accessories.. Have checked out Poh Joo (also seems quite well-worth), but nothing finalised. Some say Poh Joo is cheaper than Hoe Kee, while others have contrary opinions.. what's ur take?

Prob not doing anything to the current aircon pipes.. Aircon units are 6 years old, not changing till they are damaged. Only MBR unit is going to be more intensively used, the other BRs not using, coz no occupants yet

Looking fwd to the contacts.. Thanks so much!!

hi Kirs,

Which part of Bishan u're looking at for ur 5room? Those 100-series cost more, coz nearer to the central. But do bring down the amt above valuation, it's a 4-room mkt these days, so if u think u need to do major hualage for the unit, must bargain down

mehmeh: We've looked everywhere from 100 series to 200 series and they all wan loads of $$$$!! Saw a mansionette at 500+ yesterday selling at value abt 440... Or have I been duped by my agent all along??? Some time ago viewed a 23rd level mansionette with roof terrence! V tempted but asking for 30k!

hi Kirs,

Somehow it's also a Bishan syndrome.. When i was doing the househunt in May, there were lotsa 4 rm asking for 20-30k above valuation, but mostly they are corners & relatively newly renovated, near central

23rd floor prob calls for the high above valuation..

Hi mehmeh! FH and I went to talk to some contractors cos he prefers to have some basic knowledge before planning. Hehe. He works backwards one. Hahaha. So we had fun chatting with 2 contractors and now have a better idea what to have for our home.
I've heard from my friends that lights prices differ quite a fair bit. Scary man. when are you hoping you can move in?

My unit does not have an L box presently. But FH and I are thinking of doing it too. But see how first lah. check Budget first. Hehehe..:P Have you selected any contractor so far? Do share your experience ya!

Hi Kris! Yea Bishan is like that. Very demoralising one. They always ask for 20k to 30k above value. But you can make a bid first, and then see how.
Dare dare make a near valuation bid! Hehehe. For 5 room not so bad actually. But 4 rooms they are really calling for loads above valuation. Then again, just make a bid. You never know. :P

Hi mehmeh,
Yep...up reading up for our short trip after the wedding
My ID is the senior designer from I-bridge Design (think there's a thread here about them also)
maybe PM me your email? Second that lights cost a lot! We already spent quite a bit on the lights - most expensive one was our chandelier - but I love it!

I got some of our fittings from Poh Joo also...I say curtains really cost a lot too!

My wedding's on Sept 21 - church's on Sept 21 and then we're having 2 separate dinners
Still got a bit to go also...am patiently waiting for my photoshoot pics

Hi Kris,
Hmm not too sure about 5-rooms, coz we were looking out for 4A...but I do see that the prices are on an upward trend!

hi Hui,

What u mean by work backwards? Me blur...
If i find some gd shops with gd products & after-sales svc, will recommend u k? Heheh
Mine doesn't have L-box & can live w/o it.. Cornices are quite fine to me.. Since I'm not really intending to hack the floor tiles, hopefully by end of Sept? Shd be chopchop lah! *cross fingers & toes*

Not quite settled on a contractor.. Now got an ID contact, contractor contact, sub con contacts too.. heheh

hi dreamdoll,

thanksthanks.. My email add: [email protected]
Will go read up on ur ID
Thanks so much!

How much did u spend on ur chandelier? U must have had day & night curtains yah? Full-length too?

Thinking of getting those ready made ones at Robinsons, Taka or Spotlight first.. Dun want to rush into getting one & spend so much w/o doing enough research.

Hi mehmeh,

No worries, will email you
I think the best part about engaging my ID was that she was v reliable and could deliver exactly what I wanted within our budget. And follow ups were done well despite her busy schedule.

The chandelier set us back by abt $600+. Only did full-length day and night curtains for the living, and full-length night curtains for bedroom 2 and the rest I did light goldish roller blinds for easy maintenance...initially checked out Robinsons, Taka and Spotlight also but it was too much trouble getting the rods done myself, measurements etc and also the designs were v standard...so in the end, we only got Taka off-the-rack ones for our bed

hi dreamdoll,

Received the email with thanks.. I browsed thru their website, for the overhaul & installation of the resale flats, prices are quite alright. Very tempting to do a major overhaul, but heheh, not needed

Where did u get ur chandelier? Pure swarovksi crytsals or the Egypt type? Both are actually quite pretty, but the latter if put next to the former, wun sparkle as brilliantly.. But nvm, u wun have 2 side by side in the house

Which curtain type cost u the most?

mehmeh, dreamdoll, hui: Thanks everyoen! Now I feel er.. slightly better! hahah.. Actually I am seriously thinking abt the 440k mansionette. At least confirm selling at valuation which means got chance go below. But that unit need to do major overhaul to kitchen and toilets. Luckily I think other than these dun need to do much liow.

Hi Mehmeh: Ppl normally do their research, glance thru many magazines then approach IDs or contractors for quotation. We approach the contractors first to check out their designs then do our research at the same time. Hehe. End Sept is a good time. Hehehe. Chop chop get your own place better. More convenient. :P

hi Kris,

heheh.. Have a 2nd visit & assess carefully what else might need to touch up. Esp in the area of wiring, if the owner is the first owner..
Must also ask them to turn the aircon on, so u know if the aircon is working.. If got built-in oven, must check also. If not more money to spend replacing them. Shd they not be in gd condition, can def try to bargain below valuation

hi Hui,

Ohoh.. heheh.. I browse magz to confirm my ideas, but not get IDs. Somehow I feel those featured wld def ask for a higher price, coz got publicity abt them mah

Def want to lay hands on the keys asap.. U go see my Multiply! hahah, our first home mah.. So excited!

Hi mehmeh,

Can take time with your research
I'm also very excited coz it's our first home too!

Hmm actually I think our crystals were acrylic but doesnt make a difference to me, coz it's totally black

I think our day and night curtains for living room cost the most...fabrics and I wanted the rod etc...

hi dreamdoll,

heheh, not much time do research liao.. Want to reno quickquick & also move in asap. But def wun compromise on quality.. Heard tt during the 7th lunar mth, contractors & IDs are more eager to clinch the deal, coz it's the lull period. So just nice, shd coincide

Black chandelier!! Wow!! I've seen 1 set in Renotalk forum.. Gorgeous & agree, doesnt make much of difference if it's acrylic

Who did u go to for ur curtains? I've done some research, Jimmy textiles somewhere in Jln Besar & some other shop in Joo Chiat seem quite reasonable, and quality & service also seems positive..

Hi mehmeh,

Hee I know what you mean
I can't wait to move in now! But actual day's not here yet so we pop by very often just to clean up our new place...

Thanks, I thought it'd be something different for the chandelier to be in black
And now, it's definitely a talking point...

After quite a few different quotes, I actually engaged the services of this lady introduced by my ID since I thought her prices were alright...hmm I would say within my budget she tried to give her the best she could

Wah biang.. me cannot catch up liao.. sooo many postings..

Hui, my ID is Angeline fr Intradesign, Dave is e boss.. He's actually a v nice person. in fact e whole co is v closeknit, like family.. ,something happened to my ID in e midst of our reno and we were v impressed how close they were. V gd service fr them thruout my reno as well, kept to dateline, v prompt. Mayb Dave is busy lah..Since he called u bk, giv him another chance lah.. hehe..If not u can look for Angeline. Their quotes v reasonable compared to e many others we went.

Marchbride, yup finally comfirmed my bridal boutique, Flamingo. Actually i only went to 3 boutiques.. v lazy..hehe..

Nemo, how u?

Wah... u guys into reno now ar.. i too lazy to talk abt tat liao.. hehe.. anyhow need any contacts juz let me know.

Hi Tunagirl, think I will try to persuade my FH to give them another chance.
Cos I think its just that he was busy. Hehehe.

hi dreamdoll,

tokking abt cleaning up, how do u manage to clean ur chandelier pieces regularly? Quite tiring issit?

Oh the curtain maker is via ur ID.. Also not bad, coz wld be rather reliable if not ur ID also wun recommend yah?

hi Tunagirl,

*congrats* on the selection of ur BS.. Flamingo has pretty gowns & the reviews seem positive

Issit possible tt i peek at ur reno pix?

Hi tunagirl,
Congrats on deciding on your studio
Can share our reno pics too?

Hi mehmeh,
Hmm basically we take a clean cloth and wipe the pieces onced in a while, and it's still manageable, not that tiring...yep the curtain contact is not bad...the drapes will be in this friday, after that everything is more or less in/done

yes yes, serene, i do have your contact.

hey, Mehmeh & hui, since we staying so "near" to each other, can drop by your home once reno almost done?? heehee

for me, maybe i wait till the coming qtr release fm hdb. now saving first...

Hi Nemo! Surely will welcome you when my reno is done.
Just that you'll have to wait till next Jan or Feb cos I am only starting renovations in end Nov.

How are you feeling now? Still feeling weak? Or have you completely recovered?

hi dreamdoll,

sounds quite manageable.. i have an acrylic chandelier too, but the more i go light shopping, the more i think the crystal type is prettier

hi nemo,

cancan.. when i'm done lah. Paiseh to show u when i'm not finished leh, so dirty.. Maybe the WIP pix

hi dreamdoll.. can can.. i PM u my pics.. hehe..
its reno in process to completion. E ones with furniture i hvn't uploaded yet..

hi tunagirl,

sorry for late reply...thanks for sharing your pics!

my place is finally all done up just have to start moving clothes etc over

Hi Dreamdoll:
Remembered that you used I-Bridge for your home. How was it? Who was your ID? Am thinking of checking I-Bridge out.

Hi Hui...

Yep I'm really happy with what Ally did for our unit...she's been v good! And main thing, prices were reasonable within our budget.

Let me know if you need help! I may have a few pics to share too

Hi Dreamdoll! Would love a few pics if you don't mind sharing.
Am thinking of calling Ally to make an appointment. Do you have her contact?