Bishan Area

Hi ladies!

If anyone's looking for a 4A, there's one advert today posted at the lift at blk 236

Heyo.. paiseh, disappeared for a while.. anyway, Hui, ya i can join u and serene go walk walk too.. hehe.. i seldom walk lah.. lazy.. so i usually take bus and drop at marymounnt, unless bo bian then take train.

Serene, u usually hv dinner at home ar? sometimes wanna look for dinner partner thought of u.. hehe..

Hi Kessymeow.. if u need an agent and recc my couin.. she was e one who helped me find my flat, v experienced and gives gd advice.. hv fun flat searching..

HI dreamdoll! thanks for the recommendation!
Will see what my agent says tmr first.

Hi Tunagirl! Yes yes, if my FH and I get that unit will let you and Serene know. My FH finds it hard to believe that I've found potential neighbours before we've even found the unit. Hahaha. Power of internet and women. :P

hey tunagirl is back!

haha i also lazy, cos lately working late, so take bus or even cab back and claim the company. keke :P

hmm u can always drop me an sms one ma.. alamak give u my contact liao still like blur blur sotong..... a call away and so near somemore. can always accompany u one what. actually i had dinner at home sometimes, dinner at office, or sometimes come home and eat maggi mee cos too tired and lazy to cook. sometimes i cook loh. kekeke:P

Hi Hui,
well yr FH will get to know us if u two really get a unit here. kekeke. so far me, tunagirl and march_bride had met one another. were at each other house. chatty girls....:P

seems like quite a number are getting flats in bishan.. i'm still saving up b4 starting my search.. but we may not qualify for the hdb concession loans as we have OT allowance sometimes which lead to our combine pay >$8k at times... wonder if we can apply for hdb loan using company letter stating our basic income...

Hey Currahee,
can apply for them to allow you to purchase HDB flats if your total income just pass $8k by a little. I've heard of people who still managed to get a HDB flat even though their total income surpasses $8k

Hi Serene! Yea yea I think we will definitely get to meet if we get a unit there. Hahah. I think my FH will be very shocked to see so many chatty girls together cos he's a quieter person. HAHAHa.

Hi Hui,

No prob

Nice to see so many people moving into Bishan - Happy to say I'll be moving in too shortly! Keep me posted on any meeting ups!

I went to check out a unit at the 270 series today. I really like the environment but the unit is at level 2. A bit low. Hmm...Asking for above value somemore I bu gan yan. :P Anyhow my FH and I have decided to scout for more before bidding for one.

Hi Hui,
oh.. second floor ah, then better not take la, too low liao. somemore 2nd floor flats very difficult to sell one. selling above valuation is not possible. mostly sell below valuation one. i once encountered such unit, in the end they sell like 6-8k below valuation. If they are desperate to sell off, the agent may call you in future asking for a bidding price. so my advice is not to buy the second unit. look ard for other units.

Hi Hui,

Hmm second floor a bit low...maybe should look around some more..Bumped into an old lady yesterday - she's selling her unit at Blk 237...

hui, so how's your viewing yesterday?

ladies, i'm viewed a unit at CCK cres (5I), no need major renov & have counter offer.
But cos' of hunting a house, my hubby & i now like "cold". He seems pleasing me like that. We discussed with his parents about getting a unit at CCK (that's where we can afford), alot of negative feedback & comments given by them.

so sad. so, will continue bishan area again.

Hi Serene you are a prophetess. The agent called my FH a few hours ago asking us to make a bid. We rejected him. Hahaha.
So amusing when I read your msg.

Hi all: Yea agree with everyone, we're not taking the 2nd floor unit. Too low. Will keep looking. Going to check out more units maybe on Wed.

Hi Nemo, sigh. I know how it feels to get negative feedback and comments about flats. On the contrary, my father keeps asking me to look for a unit at Sembawang, which is near his home, cos its cheaper. But my FH and I really want to live near our friends, family and church in Bishan. But we also know our limits lah, if cannot find in 2 to 3 months will look at Sembawang. If not, hopefully the next WIS is in a good location. :P

Don't despair Nemo! Lets continue on together!

hi hui

Well, when will be the next WIS? any info?
We have limits as well when getting a resales unit at bishan. But have to plan further, what if either one of us - out of job?? or children - who take care. etc...

Well, Sembawang - cheap? Able to sell next time?

Actually, every 15 of the month, there will be return of flat under WIS to HDB. Maybe you can check this out.

Hi Nemo, next WIS should be in September. It happens every quarter. Well, almost.
I understand what you are saying, my FH and I have the same issues. Flat at Sembawang is cheaper, think if we get one that is near the MRT shld be able to sell next time. At least, the loan from HDB won't be so humungous! :P

Take care Nemo.

Wah seh.. i din log in over e wkends u gals hv so much to talk abt.. cannot catch up.. haha..

Hui and Nemo.. hope u find a unit u like.. its not easy lah, i know, most imptly u and ur FHs must like e units cos u guys will b staying there 24/7, not all e other pp who make comments. U guys r e one paying, travelling, spending, doing hsework, its a whole new lifestyle altogether.. so while we listen to other's advise, ultimately juz take with a pinch of salt lah.. when they make negative comments, juz nod nod nod, then forget it.. kekeke. Singapore's not v big lah, so we always near each other. And if u guys get a flat in bishan, u hv new friends! keke.

Yo Serene! gd gd.. nx time i'll call u for dinner.. if not damn sian.. i also eat cup noodles.. and if alone also no pt cooking.

Hi Tunagirl: Hehehe. It is not easy to find a unit. And yea, I think you are absolutely right! sound advice!
I do hope to make friends with u all! You gers have been so friendly and nice.

Thanks Tunagirl!
Ya, you are right, ultimately it's our decision whether to get the unit or not. But with advise & comments, will be good lah. :-)

Hui, thanks. So, where you staying now? me staying in Bishan now.

You're welcome Hui and Nemo, aiya.. think we've all been there.. esp when u hv a big family, its like tat one. In e end they not e ones living there, easy for them to say..

Yeah.. all move here, then i hv dinner kaki liao! keke

what a crowd now....
Hui, somehow it happens when it comes to second floor unit, hope u and nemo_fc will find yr dream home very soon.

wah say, tunagal finding more kaki to accompany her, think she scared i bored her too much, haha, nvm, more choices can prevent boredom...kekeke :P

Hi Nemo, I'm staying in AMK. FH stays in Bishan, thats why hope to stay in Bishan to get family grant. I prefer Bishan to AMK...AMK has a lot of older estates.

Hi Serene, it is no wonder..think the owner was desperate enough to sell it below valuation.

Hi all, am viewing more flats tomorrow..hopefully they'll be good.

hi serene, hui, tunagirl, me sad lah.
my hubby does not even wants to move out after all the weeks of hunting for house & viewing. he simply upset about it, concerning of financial issue and worries of the cpf fund for retirement.

i'm having cold war with him now. i am disappointed with his sudden change. he just dishonour his words and break my trust in him.

His intention is to continue to stay at his parents'home and this can save alot of money and no touching of the cpf. Then when retirement, we will got alot of money in the cpf. I simply felt insecure for not getting our own home. Although, his mum said will give the house to his son next time when she's no longer around, but who knows what will happen to the ruling of the hdb or if the sister wants to fight for the split of the house. We will end up - no home. :-(

hi Hui,

How was the house viewing? Hope it opened ur eyes to more of what u like & dislike, then can select a gd unit!

hi Nemo

*hugs* U wanna tell ur HB abt u being sad abt his change of mind? Must share & discuss with him otherwise, in future, possible to bring up this incident again.. Not too gd for the family? *jia you*

hi all (serene, tunagirl, marchbride)

u ladies are all Bishan kakis? me too! heheh.. Didn't intro earlier *oops* I got a 5Rm unit at 167, now waiting for 2nd appt

Hi nemo_fc,

so sorry to hear that...
is that his only concern? I think probably u two need to sit down and talk. staying with parents is a good thing in one sense. but u have got no privacy. ya I agree with you about yr stand about the fight for the house. maaybe u can talk to yr hubby based on this issue. I dun think he wants to shift out next time as time drags on, particularly when it comes to retirement.

also plus if got children, they will probably need their own room also. I mean staying with his parents, u can also help out a bit la, but hor ultimately that's not yr house, u can't have much say given his parents still have the main decision making power.

think you should ask him what's his real concerns, then u also raise out yr concerns and see if able to find some balancing point in the middle. no worries, problems can be solved if both have the heart to do it together no matter how.
cheer up! Jia you!

Hi nemo_fc,
Hope you're doing alright. Sorry to hear that. I think it's important maybe both of you sit down and communicate about how you both feel, and strike a compromising balance between both views? Agree with Serene, that staying with parents is good in a way but there might be a lack of privacy. But don't despair, I'm sure everything can be worked out - communicate and compromise

Hi Mehmeh,
I'll be moving into the neighbourhood too!

Hi Hui,
Good luck with your viewing

Hi Mehmeh, will update in my journal.

Hi Nemo: *hugs* Have a good chat with him ok? Don't fret yet, sometimes men make up their mind a little too quickly. :P He may change his mind after hearing you out. I guess he must have felt tired and worn out by all the visits too. And I understand how that feel, I've viewed more than 20 units.
Give him some time maybe he'll chill out?

Hi Dreamdoll: Thanks!

Havent been visiting this site for a long time and wow, there have been so many discussions already..

nemo, do not be too sad. try talking to your HB about your concerns. Sort both your diferenes out and I think you both will come to a mutual conclusion... very will woirk out fine..

serene, tunagirl, mehmeh, dreamdoll,
I have started my reno liao! Cant wait to move it after the munar 7th month.. these days have been real busy with the contractor and house stuff..

hey, if u gals need company for dinner let me know.. i can accompany you gals too.. :p kekeke...

hui, hope you find your dream house soon.

Hi Gals, as usual, me hv alot of catch up on.. hehe..

Nemo, u must b v upset and disappointed.. ya agree with Hui, perhaps u both r too exhausted after viewin all the flats and stil can't find one tat u like. Chill for a while. Talk to him nicely again. Men hv their ego, must talk calmly and patiently, slowly boost their ego a little, make them happy abit, then everything also can liao! keke.. me not patient tat's y always quarrel with hubby. haha

seriously, if his concern is retirement, u guys r stil young, cpf can slowly build again, get a flat tat's not too ex lor, consider changin to a not so ex location. Salary will most prob increase over e years, so cpf will also increase. U guys can also start some saving plans with insurance co or save in ur joint acc religiously..

Tell him patiently ur concerns of living with ur in-laws lah.. i'm sure he'll understand. Must b patient hor.. if make him more upset, sure case close.. keke

Yo! Serene! no lah.. where got bored.. scared u not free mah, dun wanna disturb u too often.. keke

Marchbride! cool! must tell us when its ready hor.. serene and i sure wanna go look see, kpo
..hehe

mehmeh, where's 167 har?

hi dreamdoll..

is tt near Bishan park?? heheh.. Flats there are newer yah?

hi marchbride,

i still waiting for my 2nd appt & to lay hands on the keys. I wld be renovating during the lunar 7th month, i not pantang abt lunar 7th mth.. hahah, i want my own flat quickquick! heehee

hi tunagirl,

167 is St 13, almost next to Zion Bible Presbyterian Church

hi marchbride,
where's ur new place?
yep renos is a headache..I just finished mine n now just doing touch-ups
and the cleaning and moving-in!
yep and do lemme know if need dinner kakis also!

hi mehmeh,
yep nearer bishan park side...I think our block is about 13 years old...

Hi girls! I found my unit! Finally!
It's at Street 13! Hehehee.

So happy!

Anyone would like to view a place in St 24? PM me!

Hi dreamdoll! Its a 5 room corner unit in Bishan St 13. Near Zion BP church, an NTUC and lots of amenities.
Love it!

congrats Hui! i down, now u gotta headache reno liao.. kekeke.. welcome to e nx level of stress, frustrations, irritations and lots of sleepless nites! kekeke

Valuation is usually between $350k to $370k.

Currahee do you have an agent? Why not engage an agent? Makes the search easier.

hi ladies, i'm back. no good no good for me. :-(

anyway, great to hear you got a home, Hui. I'm currently staying at st 13 too. what blk are you?

hi mehmeh,
i am also doing my reno in 7th month but cos our parents abit buntang, we got the contractor to start a week before the 7th month. After installing the aircon, this week, my contractor says they will go full force and my house will be completed in 3 weeks time! hooray!!

hi serene, tunagirl.
yeah! once the house is ready, will sure to tell you gals.. then you two can give me opinion on it

hi dreamdoll,
mine is at 271. cool, so when will you be moving into your new house?

hi nemo,

heheh, then u & Hui wld be my nearest neighbour! kekeke

hi marchbride,

Oh yes, i heard u can 'start' by the 'dong tu' thing yah? Hmm, must share with us ur joys of renos & any tips too!