Birth control

Hi clueless,
I think we are unsuitable to offer any advice on that, side effects differ for each gal.

Why dun u see a GP? Or maybe 2 GPs, to get second opinion if u want to further confirm whether your symptoms are normal. Polyclinic docs are well-known for their scowls, but can't blame them, they're overworked and underpaid, plus have to deal with patients who don't believe wat they say! Go visit your friendly neighbourhood doc!

Heard that the safest period for sex is the first week after menstruation. Any idea how accurate this information is?

Hi curious,
To have a thorough understanding, u may attend natural family planning (nfp) classes, conducted by catholic churches or MOH.

But i suspect most people would rather do their own reading up, esp non-catholics... there are books on nfp methods, but just remember u still run risks, as self-study may not be as effective as face-to-face teaching, at least i think so...

I had a fairly long posting here (scroll up), u may wish to read for more info.

All form of contraceptives are not 100% safe.

To be 100% safe, dun have sex!

My friend had a "accidental" 3rd pregnancy though her husband was using condom.

hehe...

Hi ultralight,

I don't know. When I asked my friend, she said her husband bought it, she had no idea.

Anyway, all contraceptives minimise risk of pregnancy. But, it is not totally fool proof.

Hi ultralight,

Sunny3 is right. Condoms are only 90% safe. My hubby used Durex with spermicide and I still got pregnant. Just FYI.

Need help from the experts who know how to calculate ovulation...I had an accident (condom slipped off) on the 17th day of my cycle...I'm on a regular 27-day cycle. Am I in the "dangerous" zone?

Took Postinor as soon as the clinic opened in the evening on National Day...still, it was a good 14 hours after...

HI needhelp..

Ovulation is about 10-14 days after 1st day of your menses. if it's 17th day... it's quite close. you could wait and see. why not do a pregnancy kit check to keep your mind in peace?

Do we need to take the pill one month before we have sex so that the body can get used to it? getting married in Sep but i'm not on the pill yet and just finished last period last week.

understand that we need to start 1st day of the cycle which would be abt 2 wks before my wedding. will it work??

Thanks Orchid. To do a pregnancy check I will have to wait till next week when my period is due. (Kits always say to check on the day your period is due.) Guess I got to live with the jitters for this week and early next week.

my cycle is a 28-30 day cycle, and say if i get my period starting on Aug 2 and have unprotected intercourse on Aug 12, what are the chances?

For auto email to inform you your fertile period, go to www.babymed.com
Check out the fetility calendar.

Hi chances,
As orchid says, ovulation is abt 10 -14 days from the first day of your period. If you had unprotected intercourse on the 10th day, chances of getting pregnant can be quite high. Sperms can stay inside a woman's body for up to 3 days. So even if you are not ovulating on the 10th day but on the 13th day, you might be pregnant too. Check out the website I mentioned above to double confirm.

Hi Linda,
that's a very useful site!

Just to highlight, it's very difficult to calculate a safe period, because ovulation MAY NOT ALWAYS occur 10-14 days after first day of period, not even for those with regular periods! There's the possibility of an early ovulation, or a late ovulation, or even two ovulations in a month! Therefore it's highly inaccurate to base your estimation on a certain number of days after period... Those who are serious abt not getting pregnant, pls take note!

And a slight correction here, Linda, u underestimated the power of sperms...
The little devils can stay up to 5/6 days if they make it into the uterus! So that adds to the unsafe period....

All in all, although the egg lasts only a day or two, considering sperm survival of abt 5/6 days there are abt 5/6 days of fertile period in the female cycle, but problem is, u can't pinpoint the exact "safe" days unless u know how to read the signs accurately (eg. egg-white mucus discharge and slightly higher body temperature)

So ladies, do take the necessary precautions if u dun plan on getting pregnant now!

i agreed with naturally. why dont u try the pill if ur hubby does not like using the condom? I'm taking the pill and so far so good, no bad mood, acne, etc... it gives u the flexibility of when u want it u can hv it! in fact, i'm actually on double protection cos didnt want to take any unnecessary risk! just fyi, there was once i forgot to take the pill and we decided to go ahead since we're using condom. guess what? the condom broke and it was during the most fertile days. luckily the pill gave me protection of up to 12 hrs after u missed it. ;-P

For really accident cases, can try the morning after pill. Within 72 hours I think. But I ate it the within 24hours.

Pls advise as to:
1) where can I get such pills?

2) How much do they cost? Do I need to go for any check up b4 purchasing it?

3) How shld I go about taking the pills? veryday? Will it affect my next menses cycle? Or maybe my future productvity for kids as well?

4) I had just started taking EPO, will it affects anyway???

5) Can any1 advise when is the right/ SAFE period to have safe sex? Let say, simply 1 dae after ur menses, safe or not har??

Coz I had it lately, and he let it inside, me real scared leh!

sill have blood stains,after doing it. can't go for 2nd round as well, feling real sore there, is it normal?? Will i have any infection???? Will it enlarge my vagina in anyway???

6) Is there any way for us (women) to know whether the man is cuming or on the way already or not har??!

HELP HELP!!!

4got to check oso.....

1)The MOST IMPORTANT: Will I have any side effects after taking the morning after pills?

Simplyscared, which pill are you refering to?

I got the emergency morning after pill "Postinor" at my neighbourhood clinic. Bill was $30.

hi simplyscared

if u are really scared, go and seek doctor's advice. i always do that when i'm in doubt, it is always a mental torture!

regarding the safe period for sex, my doctor told me that the calculation of date is actually for the purpose of finding the fertile period to get pregnant and not for avoiding pregnancy! so, it is always very dangerous to use this method as a prevention, esp every human being body is diff. he told me that the most fertile period +/- 3 days from the 14th day (starting from the first day of your mense), if u hv a 28-day cycle. if eg, if ur mense comes on 1st day of the month, the fertile period is 12-17th of the month. however, dont forget that sperm can stay inside the body for up to 5-7 days, so if u hv sex on the 5th, u still stand on a high risk.

well, i ever read from somewhere that the most fertile period is actually to hv sex on the 1st day of your mense. i cant remember the reasons given. one of my fren told me he heard that b4 also.

Needhelp,Naturally & Protection,

tks 4 the guidances. U know wat! It was really bad for me ever since after doing it yeterday.

In fact my menses came on 09/08/02 and we did it on 13/08/02 So hopefully the egg wasn't ready by then hor!
Do correct me,if I m wrong! I was so worried that I had been visting and checking the fertile calendar, provided by some websites,since yesterday/ My mood swings oso arises as well.

However,as written, it usually starts from 12-18 days(+/-)-I mean the ovulaton period..-Like wat U say,Protection.

Pls pardon me for sharing, I'm really in a low moral and sad mood after tat.We did it the sitting postion,I'm on top, while he's below. I din realise until he told me he came.. Gosh!! I was shocked and quickly run to the bathroom to wash myself wif warm heater(hope this kills the sperm). Dun know whether this works or not hor!
Based on ur knowledge n experience, do u gals think will there be any chances, where the sperms can get into the vagina to the egg? Will the egg be ready by then,coz I think my menses not fully clear yet?

He actually wanted more,so we stopped,as I feel pain & sore there, still having slight menses but turning brown colour slowly already. I was afraid when I saw blood stains on the bed. Dun know whether will my vagina burst or kana hurt in anyway or not?

So just to check,

1) for the morning after pills? Do I just take it the next day after doing it? Or have to take it for a week, to make sure this prevents frm pregnant? "Postinor is the brand name or it's the name of the pill. Will they know, if i tells them this, or just say: Morning after pills? Where can I get them? Waston?? Guardian Pharmacy???

2) Will it affect my next menses cycle? Or maybe my future productvity for kids next time as well?

3)I had just started taking EPO, will it affects in anyway???

4)Is there any way for us (women) to know whether the man is cuming or on the way already or not har??! Which is a safer postion for me to ensure I take control of the situation?

5)The MOST IMPORTANT: Will I have any side effects after taking the morning after pills?

Pls ! Pls ! Pls!! any1 who knows, pls teach me!

Appreciate !!!

Hi simplyscared,

Please do go and see a doctor. DO NOT self-medicate! Postinor is a morning-after pill.. you can only take max 2 days after the event. No point taking it for a week but do note that you could still be pregnant... it's not 100% safe. And you do need to see a doctor for the Postinor px - it's a prescription drug. Some people experience horrendous nausea after taking Postinor 'cos it's an ultra-high dosage of hormones. It's best taken within 72 hrs of having unprotected sex.. anytime after 72 hrs, no point taking already. Best to have safe sex.. don't put yourself through such mental anguish!

As for your fertile period, well, it's best to see a gynae as every woman's cycle is different. Your gynae will actually be able to personalise your chart for you.

Think you need to read up on more sex education literature so that you know more about your body. Would be good if you could talk to your partner about your anxiety. As for telling when your partner is going to orgasm, well, different guys have different signs but generally it would be marked by heightened heartbeat and the penis would get harder and bigger.

1) for the morning after pills? Do I just take it the next day after doing it? Or have to take it for a week, to make sure this prevents frm pregnant? "Postinor is the brand name or it's the name of the pill. Will they know, if i tells them this, or just say: Morning after pills? Where can I get them? Waston?? Guardian Pharmacy???

U either go to a GP to get them or by the physician at Pharmacy. I dunno what to tell the doc except "an accident happened n we are not planning for kids yet..." It works.

2) Will it affect my next menses cycle? Or maybe my future productvity for kids next time as well?

No. It does not affect my menses in any extreme case. My menses (for that month) comes abt 2 days later than it normally shld. That's all. Same after that for the next mth.

3)I had just started taking EPO, will it affects in anyway???

I shldn't think so. but you can double cf with the GP you see when you go get the pills.

4)Is there any way for us (women) to know whether the man is cuming or on the way already or not har??! Which is a safer postion for me to ensure I take control of the situation?

I feel that women on top position tend to be more diff to "get out of the way" should he come. The man must be disciplined enuff to push you aside literally.

5)The MOST IMPORTANT: Will I have any side effects after taking the morning after pills?

The only side effect is the possibility of having a etopic pregnancy. That is when the foetus grows elsewhere other than your womb. So you will then have to have an abortion done. And all abortions carries risks.

Lastly I like to add. Your hubby or bf doesn't seemed to mind abt your state of nervous-ness now. Were you a virgin before this experience? The blood you mentioned could have came from the hymen or from rough handling. Do talk abt protection methods with your partner.

I couldn't get the morning after pill ("Postinor" is the brand name)directly from the pharmacy. Needed the doctor's prescription. (Which was why I had to wait for the GP to open on National Day evening...)

the best is to ask him to tell u when he is cuming. only he knows best.

ok,tks alot for the help, ladies!

Hope this clear and helps me calm down better...

Now really have to pray hard hard that my " auntie" cums on time next mth.!!!!

I have two questions...

Has anyone ever got pregnant even though you are on contraceptive pills?

Has anyone ever got pregnant even though you are using a condom?

Thanks alot.

hi I'm getting married end of this year. Would like to find out what are alternatives to birth control other than condoms and pills? also don't think I can practice the timing of ovulation mtd cos I don't have the discipline to track... can any kind souls pls advise / share?

Hi anybody wan to buy diane35? my friend got some lobang, but dun knoe its cheap o not, js got news from her tat she can help me get d35 for
$19.95. is it ex?

My Gynae recommended me to take birth control pills for 6 months to prevent the recurrence of endometriosis.

I wish to know the difference between Mercilon, Ortho-Tricyclen, Gynera, Diane 35 and etc, if any. Back In Uni, i Had frens who took these pills (Not knowing the brands) for physical outlook purposes, ie, enhance breast size/ have clearer skin. Anyone experienced these side effects after consuming birth control pills?

Hi This is my first time taking the BC pills and i read up somewhere that you need to take the pills for one month before you are completely protected (i plan to use this as a contraceptive and as acne control)And well my doctor didnt say anything about it,So im not sure if i can just dive under the sheets or wait till i start my next cycle.I'm taking Diane 35.If there is any advice for first timers i will be grateful to hear it thanks a bunch!

hi i wonder if there is any one out there who can help me ease my mind alittle... i taken the postinor 2 which the doc gave me as the ecp i took it at 1035pm for the first pill and the 2sen at 1035am... but my question is does it work??? do i need to take anything after taking postinor 2????

my gynae had recommend mie to put iud... its very safe... 4years alr, i nv get pregnant even have sex 4times per week..no side effect at all... an iud can last for 3 or 5years...no more menes cramp at all.. 1time payment and is not that expensive...

i wanted to try to go on pills, as I've very bad menses cramps everytime, everytime pain until feel like fainting.. someone told me taking pills may reduce the pain.

can anyone advise whether pills does really help to ease the pains and of course effectively reduce the chance of getting pregnant? does most of the clinic have the range of pills u all mention here, or selective only?

I'm currently on Mercilon Pills for about 4months, and i've realized weight gain after consuming it. Anyone tried Diane35 or Microgynon 30?

I've some boxes of Yasmin pills for sale. Do let me know if u're interested. Selling away coz I'm planning to conceive soon... wun be needing that many boxes. Thanks!

I've tried Mercilon and i'd only had minor headaches. No weight gains for me though. Moreover, if you have pimple-prone skin, or have monthly cramps, Mercilon helped in my case.

yasmin is a contraceptive pill. for ladies.
anyone on yasmin? if taken will tat affect our reproduction system in future if we plan for a family?

Pls avoid all contraceptive pills prostinor.. whatever.. all have side effects.. fluffy cheeks.. weight increase.. Not just that.. in the future potential cancer victim.. not to care you.. If you read medical journals .. you will understand..

Pls take care of yr bodies.. for once..

i suggest choose NFP or natural family planning..

Hey, do anyone has birth control pill stocks on hand? I need a box of it urgent, prefably Yasmin. Got it at my ex GP at $26, recently it was increased up to $28. Felt ripped off so i have not return back to that clinic. Me and my partner uses condoms but it just dont feel safe enough!! Anyone that is able to help me out, do let me know. Much appreciation and thanks.