Bangkok

Hi Impulse

Thanks! At least I'm prepared for the kinda hotel I'm going to stay cos do expect that Samran Place is a budget hotel. Is there roadside stalls outside the hotel?

Hi apple,

I think taxi fare will not exceed 200baht if by meter from airport to Siam/Pratunam area.

hi apple,

sure, u can email me @ [email protected]. or just drop it here.

taxi is 350baht from the taxi q outside the departure hall, heard from many forumer that it's cheaper to take from arrival hall. didn't try that, will try that during my next trip to bangkok. i have 6 person travelling at one time so i book a mini SUV at the taxi q for 600baht. inside the departure hall is more expensive, many ppl quote me 1000baht. try to have some small change for taxi cas they normally don't change for u.

i went to 3 different towns bangkok, pattaya, coral island in pattaya, kanachanburi. so i didn't really cover the whole of bangkok. bangkok, i went to grand palace, emerald bubble, reclining bubble, temple of dawn, patunum market, ctc market, platinum fashion mall, siam paragon, world trade centre, big c, the rest is all shopping.

walcoal bra is the cheapest in big c. additional 15% discount. but many size run out. levis cheapest in big c also but also don't have many size.

hi purple rain, there is stall outside the hotel but didn't try. we tried a lot of local thai food during the 1st two day, in kanchanaburi, think most of us can't stomach the local thai food. nightmare for some of the dishes....

the normal thai food that we find in singapore is already improvished a lot. so didn't try any from the stall. ate in platnium mall and siam paragon most of the time @ the foodcourt.

ate pizze in thai - super nice. can't remember the name, only know the delivery number, 1112. my hotel order for me.

Hi impluse

Hmm is isetan on slaes also i tot i saw in the shopping centre they say got 20% discount.

U take cab to grand palace, emerald is next to it right?

Did u bought a lot of stuff? which place u have went for shark fin and bird nest?

Hmm as for the small change could have problem cos the money changer give me 1000 note leh.

That's what i worried also.

Purple which airline u book?

ya, think it's 15% @ isetan, not 20% but not everything, some items no sale. from samran place to grand palace, think 60baht very cheap. i went early morning, around 9am cas wanted to do shopping after grand palace. try to go morning, bangkok sun is scorning and worse at grand palace. i visit grand palace the day before the buddha is due for a change of cloth. emerald buddha is open till 12 noon. i still managed to see the buddha.

emerald is inside grand palace. the fee is 250baht.

i bought a lot of stuffs, cloths, 6 pair of shoes, tons of earrings, things for my dog, carry my wedding favours back.

chinatown is the best place for sharks fins and bird nest but i can't find the famous resturant, think it's hua hin. just went into any resturant. not too bad but i prefer singapore rama thai sharkfins.

don't worry about the small change. just change the kfc outside the departure hall. i bought a mineral water using 1000baht.

be careful @ grand palace. many tuk tuk drivers, conmen hanging around grand palace. i went grand palace on my first day in bkk but too late, it's close. open from 830am to 4pm, ticketing close at 330pm. one conman approach my group offering to bring us to white stone buddha, marble temple, standing buddha and thai export centre for 40baht. i know about this trick but cas i was with a group and my girlfriend wanted to see the white stone buddha, so i have to went along.

the most famous temple in bangkok is emerald buddha, temple of dawn, marble temple (which was close when i board the tuk tuk), reclining bubbha. there are many many small small temple, but quite pointless cas nothing fantastic. just vist grand palace, emerald buddha, temple of dawn, reclining bubbha is enough.

The white stone buddha is very small. quite different from emerald buddha, try not to go if possible. marble temple is close, standing buddha is fake and thai export centre sell jewellery. be careful there cas many ppl got con at the thai export centre. i didn't buy anything there.

Hi Impluse wow u got your favour there at CTC?

U know the stall no?

What did u get? How much it cost roughly?

Where did u get the earing and colth cos my sis say she dare not buy the earing cos not sure got pple try before a not.

pai sei ask so many qn

sorry forget to ask. I tot enter Grand palace we paid the ticket u mean go emerald still need to buy ticket? How much is the ticket for grand palace?

temple of dawn, reclining bubbha is also next to grand palace or need to travel and buy ticket?

Hi Impulse,

Haha, my previous trip i oso buy a 2 pcs meal from KFC using 1000baht.

What u buy for wedding favours? I'm also looking for chopsticks & organza bags.

I wanted to buy earrings, heard some forumers that they buy earrings for 5-10baht per pair. I prefer those studs rather than dangling ones. where u bought yours?

Is WTC still under renovation?

Hi apple,

I booked tiger airway at 50% off.

hi purple i think only the 2 of us is so excited. haha

Me also looking for favour but i am not looking for chopstick lokking for something mor unique. keke

Your hotel never provide favour or u getting extras?

Hi Impulse,

Seem like your iternery is well packed for your whole trip. Do you mind if you could share your iternery with me? Cos i'be gg there for 6 night and as this is my 1st time to bangkok, would really need some expert to help me in the planning. I also intend to got pattaya is time allows.

Hi apple,

i got mine from CTC, can't remember the stall no. i got dog shape salt and pepper container. quite cute and coloful but expensive about 10baht each. but the seller quite nice, gave me extra 10dogs + 1 pair of human hugging together free.

i bought the earrings everywhere @ pratnum and Ctc but pratnum nicer and cheaper, ctc more expensive. 1 pair 20 baht. pratnum is only 10baht, dangling kind.

no problem about the question, still quite excited cas i just touchdown yesterday. i can share with u.

the grand palace + emerald is 250baht. don't need to buy another ticket. just one will do. wear t-shirt with sleeves, skirt or long pants to grand palace. no bermudas, 3/4 pants or sleeveless allow in grand palace. u can borrow from grand palace if u forgot but must remember to bring passport, ic or driving licenses to prove that u are not thai.

temple of dawn is opposite grand palace. on the other side of the river. just walk to the pier behind grand palace, take a boat, around 3 baht per person and go across the river. reclining buddha is beside grand palace. the entrance fee is 50baht. be careful when u are walking to temple of dawn, a lot of ppl will offer boattrips up and down the river, bring u here and there. i didn't bother listening to them cas i just want to go temple of dawn so i just keep walking to pier.

i got my clothes from platinum fashion mall. 3 pcs around 180baht, elastic material. they don't really allow much bargaining. maybe 10-20baht off.

hi purple rain, CTC have a lot of chopsticks, i don't think it's expensive but i didn't ask. yes, WTC is under renovation but can walk a bit in isetan if i'm not wrong.

i walk a lot in bangkok. if u want to ask for direction, try asking shopkeeper and students. a lot of ppl tried to offer tuk tuk rides, boat trip along grand palace. quite frustrating for my group but generally thai are nice people. don't forget that we are tourist, respecting is a 2-way thing. esp around temple, try to wear t-shirt with sleeves and no shorts and bermudas. long pants or skirt is the best. don't wear bikinis and walk around.

i was in kanachanburi for 2 days. my guide is a thai woman. she told me that a lot of ang mo like to wear bikinis and walk around. try not to do that cas thai ppl are quite conservative. she said that we should not do that as a form of respect for thai ppl. Do not use your feet to point at thai ppl or buddha, it's rude.

Hi ms blur, i was there for 8days 7night. i got my transfer from kanachanburi to pattaya from my contact in kanachanburi. i think it's easy to find transfer from bkk to pattaya. if u want, i can send u my iternary. email pls. but it's wasn't detailed cas i just write down what are the places i want to cover.

by the way, i went to a small floating market along my transfer to kanachanburi. there is a very big and famous floating market in bkk. can't remember the name. quite an experience, if possible, try and see at least 1 floating market. my husband and guy friend enjoy the floating market a lot.

Hi Apple,

I'm getting extra...

Hi Impulse,

Dog shaped salt & pepper container muz b very cute. Do u hv e pic? How much did u buy then the seller give u 10 free?

How's the weather there?

hi pruple rain, i bought 260pcs. seller gave me 10 extra + another set, so around 12pcs.

it's the rainy season according to thai ppl. do expect rainfall but wasn't that bad. it's only bad when it's rain at night. cas cab and tuk tuk will take the chance to chop tourist which i kena. one cab quote me 200baht from siam paragon to smaran place who the cab fab normally will not exceed 40-50baht.

Hi Impulse,

Ya agree with u for night time, the cabbie sure chop de... So do u rely on cabs or BTS when u stay at samran place? I choose Samran Place cos heard is quite near to BTS

Hi purple rain, quite near, can walk. if the rain not too heavy, u can walk from BTS back to samran place but if heavy rain, then u have to take cab or tuk tuk unless u have umeralla. around 5-10mins walk.

i use cab and tuk tuk towards the end of my trip cas hubby is too tired. keep nagging at me non-stop, i rather pay more to shut him up.

frankly. other than Bkk City, is there anywhere we can venture to which is relaxing..near to Bkk City itself? i plan to travel in Aug with my husband but he is very skeptical of the crime rate , etc.... haiz..

P.S: the downside of marrying a scarry cat Foreigner..

impulse41: Actually if you ask a few more taxi you would be able to get it at 100thb fixed. Thats the lowest they can go for peak hr jam and rainy time..

I have briefly planned my itinerary

Day 1

Reach BKK at 3pm
After check in hotel, rush to Sampheng Lane
Dinner at Chinatown to eat sze char at roadside stalls.

Day 2

Chatuchak 9am - 2pm
MBK
Siam Square
Big C
WTC
Erawan Shrine
Dinner at Suan Lum

Day 3

Chatuchak again if did not cover enough the previous day.
Pratunam Market
Platinum Fashion Mall
City Centre
Krung Thong Plaza
Indra Square
Sukhumvit areas (dunno wat to shop at these areas, seldom read reviews on them)

Day 4

Siam Square areas or Pratunam
Home Sweet Home (Flight at 1450hrs)

It seems I did not fully utilise my trips, like very loose. Anyone has better suggestions? Not into sight-seeing cos bf doesn't like.

Hi yanling,

we tried a few taxi, depending on the area cas at siam paragon, it's not easy. anyway, later i took a tuk tuk at 50baht. not too bad, just that i don't really like tuk tuk.

i tried asking a taxi at ctc, he quoted me 500baht back to samran place. almost fainted. in the end, walk to BTS and took the BTS back.

hi purple rain,

i went for 8days, 7 night.

1st day, reclining buddha, white stone buddha, thai export centre, chinatown for dinner

2nd day, floating market, kanachanburi town, war cemetry, elephant riding, river hotel - no electricity, visit 2 waterfall in saiyok natural reserve park.

3rd day, hellfire pass, hellfire pass musemum, death railway, river kwai bridge, tiger temple and to pattaya.

4th day, coral island, thai massage, tried the food at pattaya food stall.

5th day, back to bkk, pratunam market, platinum fashion mall, big c, isetan 2 world trade centre.

6th day, ctc market

7th day, grand palace, emerald buddha, temple of dawn, siam paragon, mbk, erwan shrine, went to watch a movie cas no strength to shop

8th day, back to singapore cas early flight.

hi purple rain,

if u reach bkk 3pm, by the time u reach bkk city cente. sampeng lane would have close. cas my flight touch down at 12pm, by the time i reach city centre, it's around 3pm. had lunch and walk to grand palace, it's closed by that time.

day 2 is ok, cas all the shopping mall is very near. personally, think your trip is quite tight cas shopping take a lot of time. i like platnium fashion mall the best. i can spend 6-8hrs in that shopping mall alone. =)

cheers. have fun during your trip.

hi Amanda,

how about hua hin? it's a beach resort. till this date, still used by thai royal family. haven't been there but will make a trip there in the future.

hi.. But is it near to Bkk? i've been to Bkk. I am looking for a place whereby its easy to travel from bkk City to spend maybe 1 night .

Hi Impulse

Your trip is mostly sight - seeing, mine is shopping trip. hee...

If that's the case, i will go MBK/Siam Square 1st. On 2nd day, go chinatown after chatuchak

hi purple rain,

if i go for all shhopping trip. think my husband will kill me. but i like siteseeing also, so it's ok. never regret visiting grand palace and kanachanburi.

not that far, i walk to pratunam and take cab back most of the time cas too tired after all the walking. if u take cab, should be around 40 baht.

hi amanda,
hua hin is near to bkk. think 4 hrs drive. the nearest airport to hua hin is bangkok international airport.

This is imppulse41 hubby...

1 thing I hate abt BKK is the bloddy vultures preying on the tourists. You can find these vultures roaming about near place of interest like the grand palace. They are very "friendly" asking where are we from, blablabla, then they ask us for the map, pretending to show us the direction and showing other place of interest.
The best thing is then they will swoop out a pen, (the pen is the characteristic of the bloody vultures... I have yet to find a normal human being carrying a pen and wonder around), and start scribbling on my map.....The map is useless then... because if you showed it to a taxi driver or tuk-tuk driver, they will bring you to tour crappy places which ends with a visit to the bloody jewelery store.
So if u see a THAI approaching you and asking for your map, ask them to go F**K themself with their pen. They practically wasted my whole day in bangkok bringing us to lucky budha, white budha, standing budha and all sort of budhas (BTW, they do not exist... the most famous non-existence budha is unfortunatedly the lucky budha... For my case, they brought us to visit graves....sad). If I ever met a Thai taxi driver or tuktuk driver in Singapore asking for directions, I will definatedly send them to Pulau Ubin, Chek Jawa and/or (depending on my mood) Johore Bahru....

So as a word of advice, if you want to seek for directions, go look for students, thai woman, police or shop keeper.

Also, Transport is Cheap. Taxi starts from 25BT by meter. and Tuktuk is 1/2 price of it. So dont get conned

Beside these Vultures and as*hol*s, Bangkok is a nice place to shop with really nice people.

Cheers, enjoy contributing to their GDP growth

And oh, dont talk bad about the king in public .....

This is impulse41 hubby again....

For the guys out there....If you want to oogle at Thai girls, pls check out my ranking of Thai's babes from the worst to the best

-10 : Pattaya girls ( 99.9995% are either bapok or prostitute). Free show available on almost every bars.... with 50% of the girls being Aunties......

-5 to 5: Kachanaburi girls. Decent Kampong girls, nothing to see, nothing to comment. But can be guaranteed that all 100% Thai girls coz most of them are not catwalk models.

8-10: Bangkok Girls!!! but must go to GOOD shopping malls. So if your wifes want to shop at the good shopping mall, remember to follow them. hehe.
Of course, if you go to "caplang" malls,......sad.

So wifes to be or girlfriends, pls spare a though for your hubby and start shopping in AIR-CON and Good shopping mall. At least, we got something to see!!!

PS: these message will be deleted asap so that my wife will not find out.

This is impulse41 hubby again.... for the last time, I promise..

If you ever go to the hellfire pass, dont ever wear bermudas ok... Like the name implies, the mosquitos there are forge by the fire of hell. I literally loss weigth from 87Kg to 66kg withing 2 hour ( works much better than Xando).
But the place is worth going... you can see the wonders of Ang Moh slaves cutting out a mountain to make train for the stupid japanese empire. Impress...

I recommend to spray insecticide or for the faint heated, Baygon. Although I take no responsiblity whateverso if you have severe condition resulting from spraying baygon on yourself....

Yanling, ya I went on normal day. Perhaps thats y. I like Arnoma cos its very convenient. Room is spacious and bfast normal to me. Cant remember whether got bath tub but hb says there is.

Amanda, went hua hin 2 yrs back. Nice place to relax but its few hrs drive fm bkk.

For those who just back, any new shopping mall or new places in BKK? And where can I get maternity clothes or bb stuff?

zenn: bb stuff/clothes can get at Pratunam market cheap but no brand, 4 or 5 pce for 100baht. For branded bb clothing, its kinda ex there. Maternity clothes not sure, never see any.

Hi Impulse,

U so cute leh, hee...

Especially those tuks tuks driver, they will offer u 20 baht to bring u to e places u want but yet drive u to fake gem factories. Once my bf & i were at MBK, i was browsing at the lingerie section so my bf went out to have a smoke. He was approached by this tuk tuk driver who can talk simple hokkien, offered to take him to some sleazy places, something like our Geylang as he mentioned (They also know our Geylang, haha...) and showed him a album of girls photo who wear very sexy or naked!My bf rejected him, said he came with gf, not nice to go. He even said ' never mind, we will bring her to massage for 2 hours then u can enjoy" LOL...

After that, I came out of MBK, my bf quickly came up to me & we walked away...

Hi purple rain,

i'm quite scared of tuk tuk driver in the daytime. but at night it's fine. i took tuk tuk at night twice. no problem. bangkok is a lovely city but i guess, with any lovely city, it gurantee such predators.

ideal souvenir - how about elephants? we bought some elephants from phuket last time, most of our friends like the elephant very much. but quite exp, 4 elephants for 1200baht.

Purple Rain: Chatuchak has many nice cheap souvenirs. i even saw Winnie the Pooh, Eeyore Cups which were sold in SG minitoons. The cup is 3d shaped to the character selling at 80/100THB there. Kinda cheap but too heavy to bring back. the cups are bigger than normal size too. or consider some candles / aroma incense stuff.
Or you can consider key chains, those ornamental key chain sold in mini chain which looks like mummies.. using thread to coil round the wires. smaller in size.. they selling 1 pack of 200 for 500thb.

Need help! I've boooked ticket to go Bkk but havent settled accomodation yet. Havent been to BKK before.. can anyone pls advise? which hotel is worth going? pathuwan or novotel?

Thank you for your advice.

hi angie,

if you staying at novotel or pathuwan, it's considered expensive area there cos of the location. there's really alot of hotels to choose from in bkk. it depends wat's more important for u---comfort level of hotel or location.

as for me & my bf who goes bkk at least twice a year, we always try to stay in quaint boutique hotels cos after a hectic day of walking and shopping, we'd like to return to a cosy & comfortable room.

for pictures of rooms, u can chk out websites like www.asiarooms.com but of cos they're not the cheapest website to book from..

if you have the budget for pathuwan, then go ahead and stay in that hotel. i stayed there once, i must say it's really convenient cos it's connected to MBK.

i m gg bkk next wk. my hubby is a fish fanatic, he wanna buy pet fishes back to sg. anyone here has ever do tat b4? any advice? he said ok 1 la. but i still hv some doubts abt it.