Bangkok

christine,
the place is posh! makesure you doll yourself up..hehe..i've planned to go there too but we were so tired by the time we reached the hotel that we just dropped the idea. If you have time, you should really check the place out

dreamdoll,
oh yeah, we made used of the sauna to do self hair treatment and facial mask too..haha... my friend brought hairwax there. we also brought along our facial mask. it was quite fun!

another thing about D'MA is it's less crowded than Asia Hotel. The breakfast spread is quite ok but food is the same everyday. No problem for me cos i ate sausage, bread, omellete the 1st day the other day eat something else lor..But then the service is quite slow in the restaurant cos it was quite crowded. Sometimes, we had to do self-service to pour ourself coffee..hehe...

Hi, paopei
Last Nov i stayed in 501, this time I stayed in 505 and my friends in 510, mine is totally fine but room 510 heater got problem, sometimes cold and sometimes hot. I like to recommend you a massage shop near Ratchathewi BTS, think the shop is call Paradise, just 2 shops away from 7-eleven when you walked down from the BTS station. I had tried the leg massage 200B and oil massage 450B, very shiok, my friends and i enjoyed it very much.
Don't try in Suam Lum market, they do in different manners (guess they invented their own method)and in the end, my friends and i get bruises and pains on our feet and leg after that....

Hi, yanling

I didn't go sampeng lane this time round cause only went there for dinner in the evening, but I was there last March with my husband, i find it easy to locate so guess you no need to worry.

Hi, Melodie

Sampeng market opens 8am to 5pm everyday, but some shops are closed in the weekends.

Hi, wxyang

If your wife wanna get Wacoal, can go to Zen which inside WTC. Go to their info counter to get tourist discount card first and can get 10% off.
Also can use the discount card at Central too. As now Wacoal is not involved in any promo, so it's good you have the discount card.
Triumph give 200B discount, but i forgot how much must you spend minimum liao. I bought about 2000B at Triumph, they deduct 200B off.

Hi Melodie ... thanks, i really enjoyed my trip. Didn't go shopping crazy. Spent more on food and sightseeing trip to floating mkt, elephant zoo and rose garden.

hi bortei ... i just came back from BKK and stayed in novotel Siam sq. Paid 350B from airport to hotel. Fixed rate - paid the gal at the taxi booth outside airport. My flight arrived past midnight so i'm not sure if there's surcharge. But you gotta pay 50B more for airport pickup. Paid 230B from hotel to airport - insisted driver to use highway. This is inclusive of toll charges.

Oh, btw gals ... i wouldn't advise you to go to the Seafood Restaurant (the one you see on tv). It's very expensive ... unless you really want the experience and lotsa cash to burn. The prices of the seafood is sooo overpriced. Besides, you gotta buy spices like garlic, onions etc. And on top of that there's charges for cooking.

I'd rather pay to go for a nice Jap buffet at oishi grand ....

Which is the nearest BTS/MRT to Chinatown? I know there isn't any train to Chinatown. Anyone taken a metered taxi from Pratunam to Chinatown? Whats the price?

BAD NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Chatuchuk might closed down soon. As per yesterday newspaper the government might take back the land cos they intend to increase the rent 10times! Now tenants are paying 38B the government increasing to 380B, conclusion if they cannot come to terms chatuchuk will have to be wipe out!!!!!! As reported, it located else where in bbk 10yrs ago, however government relocated them to chatuchuk and allow them to stay in business with low rental of 38B, business began to grow as it named to be Shoppers Paradise esp to Singaporean. Hence, the revenue increase and there comes the government. I hope they can come to a win-win solution, so that shoppers like us get the benefit! Let's pray for the best out of it.

zenn,
here's seafood market restaurant address
89 Sukhumvit Soi 24 , Sukhumvit Rd.

Seafood market is just for the experience lah.. I went there with a gf and we order 2 vegetables (kang kung and taugeh), 2 crabs (1 male for black pepper style and 1 female for steam style), 2 packets of mushroom and a plate of fried rice. The total cost was about SGD$120. oh yeah, we did not buy other ingredients like onion, lemongrass and garlic lah. The amount of food for 2 person is slightly too much but for 3 is just nice. Anyway, we were so full by the time we left the place. And it's just once in a while lah..

mrc: Thanks for the info...

Oh okie. That's good if its cheap otherwise i would have to take BTS to the nearest station then take taxi to Chinatown.

Anyway for those interested to know, Hualamphong station is the nearest station to Chinatown.

Anyone would like to share Any shop/stalls/hawker to recommend for pork floss stick/bak kwa??? Cos i don't wanna buy something that sucks. On hand i only have 1 shop located in Chinatown Authentic LAO JI LIN ZHEN SIANG..

yanling,
is there a fake lin zhen xiang? there's a shop opposite D'MA hotel and i just got mine from there cos i was staying there. Bought the "dog poo" floss. Per packet only TB80 and it tasted good.

mrc: i am not very sure whether can that be called a fake. but i heard there are quite a few shops there @ Chinatown, 2 or 3 with the Lin Zhen Siang shop, but only the Lao Ji Lin Zhen Siang is the true real one and if you buy a few packs from them, can ask for discount as well. I guess its just like Singapore where you can find alot of Mei Zhen Xiang Bak Kwa, you never know whose real or not.

Anyway as long as its nice, good and cheap then its okie

i noticed my long posting dated Wednesday, January 11, 2006 - 3:29 pm is somewhat misleading on the accessories part.. For cheap accessories like handphone chain, earrings, bags (minimum 3 piece but can mix design), children stationeries, hello kitty stuff, etc try to get it from <font color="ff0000">CHINATOWN</font>

Hi Ohstrawberry, thanks for the room info
Hi Yanling, I'm the one who posted the link for buffet hehehe I will try the Novotel buffet. Can't wait too for my trip ...

Hi mrc,

the Lin Zhen Xiang opp D'ma hotel is just another outlets. Not fake ones, everytime i go bbk, i will buy there too.

As for cheap accessories, can buy at shops around siam square. Its some kind like bugis village, sell fanciful items at very cheap price. A few steps walking from Novotel hotel.

Is anyone aware of my posting on Jan 12, pertaining to possibility closure of chatuchuk? Its a happening place however......should it really close down it will be a waste.

hello everybody..

I just went BKK in decemeber...but went with my family....so i dun think i shop enough....

was thinking to go another time .....but got budget...

i believe u all went a few times already....
what do u think is the cheapest to go BKK ?
From what i see ...the range is around 350 - 400 plus for 4d3n

Adele

Adeline - it really depends. If you are the kind who's not particular on flights &amp; hotels than normally you can stay for a 4D3N at only $300.

oh..i think you should book everything yourself if your intention is merely shopping

if you flt by tiger airways on off peak period, you can get as cheap as $150 for return trip plus taxes (of course excluding 500TB tax). 3 nites stay in Asia Hotel in cabin room cost probably less than $200 per room.

per person only pay $150 + 200/2 = $250

agak agak only lah...

yeah, try booking flight on wednesday or thursday. :P

for asia hotel, you can book the hotel directly with them. I've tried and they reply your email very fast. Very efficient :P

Cabin room is without window but room wise, very decent and most importantly the bathroom is marble and clean. of course dun expect 4 or 5 start pratunam princess standard lah but very reasonable for the price

<strike>yeah, try booking flight on wednesday or thursday. :P

for asia hotel, you can book the hotel directly with them. I've tried and they reply your email very fast. Very efficient

Cabin room is without window but room wise, very decent and most importantly the bathroom is marble and clean. of course dun expect 4 or 5 start pratunam princess standard lah but very
reasonable for the price</strike>

oops double posting

Adeline, it will be better to book during promotion. I think right now, Jetstarasia has promotion $18 to BKK. U can check about it.

I m planning to stay at baiyoke sky hotel, anybody can share with me any comments on the hotel area, transportation, diff btw superior n delux rooms n recommend any other nice n convenience hotels....

thanks mrc....
think i m not making the wrong choice...n i got gd rates from asiarooms.com.....only 93 per nite for twin sharing....so far the cheapest i've found

Hi people! I am back from BKK!
Tiring to travel with kid.

Those going to buy tshirts from MBK...better make sure you are paying like 99Bht cos my hubby din know and bought one tshirt at 199bht...can buy 2 already. kekeke...luckily only buy one that time.

Pls do change your money here in SG as the rates there are mostly 23.95 and max 24. Weather bright and sunny. The new shopping centre not too bad...lots of food available...concept a bit like takashimaya.

Yeah i am back from Bangkok too.
Took a metered-taxi from airport to Baiyoke sky hotel only THB139 + THB20 for highway toll charge. We requested for metered-taxi and the driver say ok, upon aboard, he tried to negotiate for 250Baht but we overtalk him that he agreed taxi-metered. Then he say ok. But he act blur, didn't on meter and went on. Then we keep on nagging at him "On Meter" many many times. Haha.. then he no choice finally on meter. Upoon reaching hotel, he wanted to rip another caucasian going aboard his taxi, we told the caucasian to insist on meter. Whack him up if he don't turn on meter. Then the driver say "WHAT!?" Haha that was so interesting. We travelled everywhere by taxi meter. Taxi nowadays are more honest. Never met any taxi who refuse to on meter except those at airport. Neither did they bring us to any gold/jem factory. Tuk-tuk are terrible lot, only interested in either getting gasoline voucher or rip you off saying 100THB ot 200THB to your location. So we rejected all tuk tuk offers.

Baiyoke Sky Hotel Buffet is indeed very yummy. Lotsa food, never got bored of it and cost about S$13.

Those going Bangkok, i think you guys heard the recent news that someone died from diarhoea after eating pork at MBK food court. Anyway I didn't ate much chicken, pork nor beef. More seafood and fish for my daily meals thats all.

Yeah the rate there is S$1 = THB24. I changed at MBK

Bought alot of pork floss sticks @ Chinatown and dried durian packs. Very nice esp those who like durians. It has the same shape as durian, just that its dried version. Same taste too!! Yummy. haha.. every pack we bought we bargain about 10 to 20% off. Its cheaper at Chinatown then at MBK although MBK do sell them.

Hmmz.. seems like i bought more things from Suan Lum Night Bazaar. If you are interested in Rolex, they have different grade. Grade 1 = Automatic, Grade 2 = Battery operated (Cheaper).
They quoted to us about 2800THB for grade 1, then after negotiation and we left, the sales assistant kept following us saying we bargain and don't buy, then followed us about a distance away, she finally gave a final price of 800THB. Thats more than 50% off. But still we didn't bought and she got pissed off and walk away.

As for Sampeng Lane, they are more to wholesale. Selling items in bulks of 1 pack or dozen. Very cheap. Bought 12 hp accessories only 60Baht. Alot of fashion accessories including hair band, clips, notebooks, soft toys, hellokitty stuff. After Sampeng lane, you will see a whole stretch of wholesale shoes. They only DO wholesale! So if you aren't going to buy 12 pair of shoes then U-Turn back or else there is nothing more to continue. Anyway i went on the stretch of shoes section, came out of that lane finally, lost my way, don't know where i landed to so we took a taxi off that place.

Email me if you are interested to see some of the photos i have uploaded during my trip. Took more pics of Baiyoke Sky Hotel and Siam Paragon - Underwater World.

Pls provide yahoo account email address for log in to view.

KA: yeah i did enjoyed. Enjoyed the bargaining although prices only differ by cents to few dollars. Negotiate from 1 item, 2.. 3... to 6 or 7 items. Haha.

zenn: 450THB per entry @ Siam Paragon Basement 1, quite a huge place. Double storey. Something like Singapore Sentosa Underwater World. But took me about 1.5 hours to slowly walk the whole waterworld. </b>

Oh yes, for those whose is going bangkok, Here is a taxi driver telephone number. He is quite nice, decent taxi driver, he can drive you at normal taxi metered charge even after Midnight and recommend places to Tiger show and stuff. You can try calling him up when you are at bangkok to drive you to location. He even wanted to wait for us to finish our bazaar shopping at Suam Lum then fetch us anywhere we want by metered charge.
His name: TONG
Hp No: 07-0451458

Hi Yanling,

Can share your pics wif me? [email protected]

May I know how far to far from Baiyoke Sky to World Trade Center and to MBK? If possible, give some examples of distances in Singapore?

I'll be going in March. Now looking for accomodation. Considering Baiyoke Sky, Centerpoint Petchburi and Arnoma. Looking for good location and clean rooms.

hi bernard,

i'll be going in march too! going fr 9 to 12 mar, hw abt u? we are staying at pathuwman princess.

hi yanling,
thanks for all the valuable info! i wld like to view yr pics, pls give me the access! my email add is [email protected]. thks!

Yanling - thanks! Saw your pics oredi...very nice. Hubby &amp; myself decided to visit their underwater world this comingh trip. Me also looking forward to it...coming soon liao....
Really need a break!

Bernard and Sze Wai: You wouldn't like to walk back from World Trade Center to Baiyoke sky at night cos its far, warm and dark at Pratunam area as most shops have closed. Looks like a dark lane with shops closed cos i always come back after 10pm. Taking taxi back at night would be a better choice. Anyway you aren't going to scringe just few dollars to walk back a dark lane.

In the day time, you can walk from hotel to WTC, treat is as a pasar malam walk to the shopping centres and you can get some bargain buying fake LV bags, shirts, belts, etc.
I think WTC, Siam Paragon not fully open. Siam paragon alot of branded shop(eg. Versace) still not opened.
Baiyoke Sky Hotel to World Trade Center seems about 1.5km. Another 1.5km from there to MBK. Isetan can only buy cheap wacoal/triumph bra. MBK more things to shop eat and buy. Got cinema with some english shows too. About 120THB to 180THB on weekdays/weekends, VIP seat only 240THB. 1 pair VIP seat 500THB. Can try watch the movie there if you got time.
I saw forum people saying it takes 15 mins to 25mins to walk there. 10mins is fast walk, sure sweat.. haha. Walking there at this rate means probably walk n walk, no stopping for buying stuff. So its kinda far. Walk once or twice during the day is more than enough.

There is a A&amp;W Fastfood Restaurant at Pantip Plaza. Cheap cheap. can try waffle ice-cream, curly fries, rootbear abt 95baht. hee, that was my snack.