Bangkok

viavia

Hi, does anyone have Hai Wai Tian's exact address?
For sharks' fin and bird's nest, would you recommend Hai Wai Tian or Nam Sing?

berszewai

Hi Yanling,

thanks for the pics and the info. looks like taxi is the mode of transport there. looks like WTC and MBK is not as near as it seems on the map.

bloomiey

viavia: HaiWaiTian is very near to Nam Sing. Its about 3 to 4 shops away. HaiWaiTian located facing the main road of Chinatown. You can see HaiWaiTian if you can see Nam Sing for sure. NamSing bird nest is good. HaiWaiTian haven't try before

Bernard and Sze Wai: Yeah take taxi would be better choice. At least i have yet to encounter any taxi driver wanted to drive me to any jems/jade/jewellwery factory. I thought they were near too... but after walking it isn't any near to WTC. MBK is even worst. Far away. MBK is real worth going, when the opposite side is just siam square where theres a number of restaurants for food.

Faith Lim: i booked a low zone junior suite, but in the website i special requested for the highest lvl of the low zone. So they gave me lvl 48. Junior suite has 1 king size bed, 1 single bed, 1 small living room.
Superior and deluxe should be the same. They are quite big too. If you don't mind travelling in cab everywhere then you can take up baiyoke sky. Anyway cab is cheap there. 2 person sharing cab is just like taking a bus/mrt ride in Singapore. Won't burnt a hole in ya pocket. Other than airport, wherever i go, cab fare never exceeded 85bath which is less than S$3.50.

melodie

ViaVia:
Hai Wai Tian's address:
461 Yawaraj Road Bangkok
Tel No. 662 2230 325

Bernard and Sze Wai: For convenience, u can try Novotel Siam Sq, Pathumwan Princess or Holiday Inn Bangkok (all near to the train stns)

tremdae

Hi. Just came back from BKK. Went for the Baiyoke Sky dinner. The food was plentiful though not of very high quality but it was value for money considering that we've got a free admission to the SkyWalk. The price, however, was not 410 or 450 bahts for the weekday dinner but supposedly 940 bahts per pax for non-hotel guests. We got special 50% discount (470 bahts) after 8pm. We just wondered why there was this discrepancy in the price with what everyone claimed in the forums. Could it be because of the Chinese New Year?

tremdae

One thing to add. Our taxi from Siam Discovery back to airport only cost 179 bahts! Include toll charge and that's only 199 bahts! And consider there was a huge traffic jam around Pratunam which took about 20 min along the way, this is the cheapest fare we've ever paid for!

malibu

Anyone have contacts of rental of minivan that i can book for my transfer from airport to hotel n from hotel to airport? cos there are 6of us and we hope to travel together.

weixiongy

hello all, juz came back from my bkk trip!!! sure was a tiring trip. everyday walk here and walk there ^^ the stay at baiyoke sky was superb!!! thou it was ard 10mins walk from Chit Lom(bts) but its still great coz juz down stairs is the wholesale market and can really buy alot of stuffs there. and its very cheap at whole sale price(in 3 or 6) can even mix the design but not sizes. so far have not encounter a shop that allows mixing of sizes. went to nam sing for shark fins and bird nest and i find it comparable to hai wai tian. my fren juz told me that the roadside stall selling the same stuff beside nam sing is even better. i stayed at the 67 floor and the view was wonderful!!!! even got a king sized bed hee hee hee
taking taxi from baiyoke to chinatown is only 57baht and to mbk is only 47baht and to the airpot inclusive of toll is 160baht.
for those who juz want to eat shark fin and bird nest, there is a nam sing at mbk.
personally find the underwater world a rip off. huge tanks with only very few or one fish. not worth it. did catch a movie there and was dirt cheap. cinema also very spacious.
those wanting to walk from baiyoke to bts i suggest taking the right side of the road(hotel entrance walk left then cross road(got a bridge ahead for crossing the road or you can juz jay walk^^) then walk right. got more stuff to look at on this side.

paopei

Hi, just came back from BKK yest. Enjoy eating and shopping. This time most of my things bought from PRatunam. Nvr bought anything from Chatucak, the weather is very very hot. My gal can't stand it so just about 2 hours, go back already. Somemore bought a lot of shirts for my gal from Pratunam already. When we wanna went to Pratunam the time,we met 1 taxi driver quite scary. My hubby told him Pratunam market, he said"ok" but after inside, he asked us where to turn (something like that cause he speaks Thai). Lucky we still roughly remember the road. My hubby asked him" Do u know Pratunam market? IF no, we will go down" He kept replyng in Thai and dun bother to stop the taxi. He kept talk and talk in Thai even my hubby told him that we don't understand Thai. Really scare me till my heart pump so hard. Somemore he turn to quiet alley. OMG ... I grab my gal hands tight tight ... told my hubby I'm so scare liao. At the end, got traffic jams, we hurried open the door and paid money out. I don't know he grumbled what, just paid him 50 baht based on meter. Finally walked a bit is Pratunam market ... Not really enjoys my trip this time cause encountered quite many bad taxi drivers till fedup, took BTS. Tried to took cab and tuk tuk bearby Baiyoke sky ... all want us to go jewel shop so they can get free gasoline. WHen we said No, the driver wanna lower the fare to 20 baht. But I'm not interested at all. At the end, we have to change 2 cabs and 1 tuk tuk ... till the 4 th cab, we can use meter without any offer free gasoline things. Fedup ... I know not all drivers bad, depend on luck. But this time we really suay ...

paopei

Tried the lunch buffet at Novotel Siam Square 550 baht/person. The food is nice but not so many choices ... a bit disappointed, maybe dinner will be better. THe service is excellent ... very good. Big thumb.

bloomiey

paopei: hee... welcome back... no wonder forum seems abit quiet these few days.. so its your voice that gone missing. lol.
Didn't you tell the taxi driver your destination, then tell him by meter, after he agrees, then board the cab? I always do that and after boarding i ensure he ON it otherwise i will nag til he ON. They can't stand many people nagging so the bigger the party the better. Forget about taking tuk-tuks, they are only interested in gasoline in the day, at evening/night they charge high price.
I don't even know where is pratunam market when i walked out of hotel, i just walked straight down.
Novotel buffet got any nice pastry anot?? Durian pudding? mango pudding? U ate lotsa buffets ah? i skipped lunch after eating baiyoke sky breakfast... which level you stayed at baiyoke??

melodie

sweet malibu, email me [email protected] I've a contact.

paopei, wah... the taxi drivers u met r so bad. anyway, u still enjoyed ur eating & shopping right?

yanling, paopei went b4 u gave the nice taxi driver contact ah? if nt, she can call him mah hor?

bloomiey

MeLodie: Nope, i didn't gave her cos the day i came back, next day she fly to BKK already.

i guess the only things most girls would enjoy is eating and shopping.

I missed lotsa sight seeing..

Wanted to see the architecture of grand palace, golden budha and stuff, floating market, chao praya river...

paopei

Hi Yanling, hahaha forum quiet is it? hehehehe About the cab, we always told them our destination and after he ok, then we asked on meter. But that guy really scary ... he wore black sunglasses like those ahbeng and still young guy. I tell u ... he really scared me till my heart pump so hard. We talked to him and he dun care about u. Just talked and talked in Thai. If he doesn't know Pratunam market (I doubt he doesn't know cause Pratunam is very common place, right? and quite near from my hotel) then he shouldn't tell us "ok". I think he just pretend blur and wanna take long route, thought we are stupid tourists. I saw he doesn't bother to turn, I asked him "Pratunam market, turn right"
Btw, I stayed at Samran not Baiyoke Sky. I went to Pratunam for 2 times then walked out to Baiyoke Sky there to take cab. For Novotel lunch buffet, not much spread so nvr ate too much hhaha but their service is very good. There's no pudding in Novotel, only cakes (nice) and 1 type of jelly.
Hi Melodie, yeah ... really suay about the cab. But so far, we still enjoy eating and shopping. We love Black Canyon food and drink so much ...

fat

Paopei - agree with you that I like their Black Canyon too...especially their Ice Coffee! Best!@!

Gals - its true that taking cab in BKK sometimes quite scary...so everytime before I board a cab...i make sure a few things...cab driver have to be in neat attire, clean cut wan...cab also must not be too ulu wan coz I ever took one, the door cant even lock and if you happen to meet up with one driver that likes to speed.... its like taking roller coaster.....Whew!!!!!

paopei

Yeah ... really agree with KA about taxi driver. Normally we told the driver about our destination, if he doesn't know or not sure, he will reject. Then we will find other cab. If he ok, then we asked for meter on. Ok again, then hop in. Always I go in first then my gal ... nvr let my gal go in first, jsut in case the cab drive away.

tarea

I will be going to bkk on 10th feb. Yeah!

Can check, how do get to pratunam market from Arnoma?

Last yr when we went, we can't find pratunam market *shy*, only found pratunam shopping centre.. which has nothing much.. sigh..

Also, is Marble house within walking distance from Arnoma?

One more que, hee... read from previous posts that thai massage need to remove all clothing and only wear a paper undies? Are all like that? shy shy la!! haha

thankie!

sailor_p

I will be staying at Novotel Bangkok On Siam Square. Can I find out whether there's any nice spas or massage house near that area? this is my first trip to Bangkok

bloomiey

sailor_p: There are a number of massage located on the second or third floor of pratunam mall, Suan Lum Nite Bazaar has a few massage shops also.
You can go Healthland Spa, but advance booking before you go, they have a website too.

paopei: its a pity that you missed Sampeng Lane. Your gal will love it as there are so many cute cheap soft toys and accessories there. Best is to go there around 4pm, then after shopping can walk to Chinatown eat street hawker for dinner. How's dreamworld compared to Pasir Ris themepark/wildwildwet? You spend whole day there? Go yourself or by hotel booking? Buffet there how??
I didn't have time to go, spend all my time shopping everywhere.
Hai.. no durian/mango pudding ah.. Zzz..

sailor_p

Thanks Yanling. Is the Pratunam Mall, Suan Lum Nite Bazaar walking distance from the Novotel Hotel? Just curious, where is the healthland spa? This is my first time to Bangkok, so a bit suan ku..

bloomiey

sailor_p: Yes, you can walk to Pratunam Mall, not very far. FYI, Pratunam Mall seems like a dead shopping centre to me.. hee.. Think should be less than 1km.
Suan Lum Bazaar is rather far away, so you have to take cab. Opposite Chulalongkorn University if i am not wrong.

Hee.. Go suam lum night bazaar after 7pm when all shops fully open, shop til 12midnight. Wide Variety of things to buy, much cooler than Chatuchak. Bought a metal cannned made TukTuk for 180Baht.
here is the website for healthland spa. Not sure the location. Heard the service is quite good.
http://www.healthlandspa.com/

zenn

Hi tarea,

I will be staying at arnoma for coming trip too! Do share when you are back.

According to the map, you can walk from hotel to pratnum mkt.

As for massage, unless you are doin oil massage if traditional massage it will be with your clothes on. Usually they will let you changed to their clothings.

paopei

Yanling, went Sampeng during my last Oct trip. No choice, no time ... About Dreamworld, most of the rides and things quite old, they nvr maintain it ... can see rusty rusty. For 4 yo children, it's quite fun. But for me hehehe boring. The lunch buffet is eatable but dun expect much. If u'r full , dun think u will be interested with the food. But that time, I'm so hungry so can eat hehhehe

paopei

Sailor, for me it's worth to go Pratunam. Most of my things bought from there. The price is cheaper than Chatucak. I prefer the pratunam complex than the market

bloomiey

paopei: Waah rusty rides.. sian le like that. Then kill me i also won't go. Looking for something more thrilling... Probably as thrilling as sky diving stuff.

bloomiey

Anyone interested to buy my Thai Prepaid Sim Card (1-2-Call) which cost 300baht for sim card alone and 50 baht for calls. Total i paid 350baht, but i top up additional 300baht. Make a few calls back, not very cheap, but confirm cheaper than using SG network there. But sending SMS is cheap, not sure how much as you know. So its good for exchanging SMS rather than making calls.

I am selling for Sing $7 with some leftover credits inside card. Not sure how much. Can last for another 4mths before sim card expire. Top up card can be bought from many places like 7-11, MBK, Pantip Plaza... Email me if you are interested [email protected]

paopei

Yanling, if u'r looking for thrilling such as sky diving, then dreamworld is not suitable for u. It's more suitable for children hahhaa I book from 1 travel agent in Pathunam Princess, cost 700 baht/person incl entrance fee, lunch, free ride for all except snow city (my gal got mild asthma so I dun bother to go in), go cart and 1 more I forgot liao, sorry.

melodie

tarea, i'll be there 1 day b4 u! when r u coming back? ;) i think marble house shld be somewhere near novotel siam sq.

i'm going to metavi spa, booked a room for couple spa pkg...

paopei, i love their sandwiches & cream of chk... but nw dun dare to drink liao :p

yanling, hw did u get tong's contact? he gave u his card ah? so u only took his cab once?

bloomiey

nurse: Siam Sq.. juz across the bridge of MBK has some mani/pedi avail.

MeLodie: i took his cab once only. As you know BKK has lotsa taxi but few passengers. So what i previously suggest is that you give him a deal telling him to give u Airport-Hotel-Airport transfer by metered. He wrote his number on a piece of paper and pass to me saying if need to go anywhere, can just call him. He will try to pick us up.

Don't worry, hes a nice taxi driver.. can joke ard with him. Not those uncles nor Ah beng kinda driver.

sailor_p

I read about the "King & I" spa. May I find out how's the experience of massage like and also the ambience at this place? Do they have other treatments such as facials?

bloomiey

zenn: you can scroll up the previous archive for his number.. ya he does speak english.. Average... Don't expect too good english.. lol.

melodie

christine - the spa pkg cost 2,450 baht per person... i hv the address, hope the taxi driver knows where it is...

yanling - tks, i'll give tong a call...

tarea, i'm coming back 1 day later than u...

Anybody going for Thai girls show?

paopei, nowadays pple try nt to eat chk mah, esp in affected countries

wilderia

Can anyone recommend me some good & afforadable hotels in BKK with shopping centre nearby.. hehe..Lastly, anyone use asiarooms.com to book for their rooms? Reliable?

Kath

tremdae

Kathryn: Yes I have booked through asiarooms 3 times and all were smooth and secure. As for hotel, Asia Hotel would be the best bet since it's connected directly to the BTS and it's near MBK and other shopping centres.

paopei

Kathryn, for Asiarooms if the hotel that u wanna book has vacancy then no problem. But if the hotel is fully booked then Asiarooms will on hold the amount and release ur money after 10-14 days. Fyi ...

marilyn_chh

kathryn,
if you're booking asia hotel, you can booked directly with the hotel. no need to go to 3rd party
Asia hotel BKK has a website. So, you can email them directly. Their response is very prompt and efficient.

anyone can tell me which airline is offering the cheapest airtix (incl taxes) to bangkok right now (i.e. 2-3 to travel, travel period between 11-17feb, don't care which airline as long as it's the cheapEST!)??

pardon me...i'm too lazy to do an online search and i figure you folks here are wayyy more experience w BKK then the travel agents =P!!

also, any 2-rm service apartments that you can recommend that's cheap and with good location for a 4-5day stay??