Bangkok

thanks, gals.

Seems like novotel is highly recommended as compared to baiyoke sky.

One more thing, is it cheaper to book the hotel from asiarooms, then look for the cheapest budget airline and book from ter, OR
is it cheaper to book from travel agencies such as gunung raya or fivestars?

Mi planning to go ter in December/Jan.. how's the weather like?....

thanks again!

jes I booked the normal room. You MUST make advance bookings to secure a place. Yup, it opens quite late and usually I go in the evening after all my shopping and before dinner!

anyone stayed at Arnoma hotel before? Are their rooms clean and nice? How is their service? Is it far frm their BTS station?

Jes - the money changer is at their reception area which is at 2nd level.

Geramine - I think the reno gonna take quite some time thou Im not sure myself but not only major reno at Siam Ctr but think they are doing a linkage between Siam Ctr & a new shopping ctr call "The Paragon"( its actually the old Hotel Intercontinental )
Btw, their wacoal is indeed very cheap. Juz a few days ago I went Tokyu and was given a 5% disc for tourist staying in Pathuwan Princess by showing our room key will do.

Hi Geramine / hoshi

If it's your first time to BKK, then maybe booking an F&E package is better since they throw in a 1/2 day city tour (if you're into such things), and prob include return airport transfer. I've compared prices between F&E and self-arrgmt (budget airline+online hotel booking) and the latter is cheaper assuming the best (ie earliest) flight and same hotel room. You can shop ard and do your own calculations.

Not only is Wacoal much cheaper there, they have many more designs than in SG. Also have a good range of panties, nighties, PJs.

Dec/Jan is supposedly the cool and dry period. I was there last Dec, and while it was dry, it was still warm..pretty much like SG lah.

Hi Whiteveil

Arnoma is quite convenient. Nearest BTS is Chidlom station..about 5 min walk away. It's in between Gaysorn and Big C, and directly opp Central World Plaza. Rooms are clean, but old. I wld say the rooms are slightly better than Asia's. Service is ok..what you would expect of a 3*. Breakfast buffet spread is quite sad. However, their dinner buffet is quite cheap and the variety isn't too bad.

It seems quite a number of malls are undergoing reno now. Emporium is also undergoing reno (but it's still operating normally), and so is Central Chidlom.

Hi Karyinn

Hope I'm not too late.. Get the Tourist Vistor Card fr the airport to enjoy the 5% discount at Emporium. Just present tt card & instant 5% off the price on the tag..

Actually, the station connected to Emporium is Phrom Pong..

josl: There's sizzler, lotsa Jap restaurants & some other restaurants serving cuisines tt wld prob cater to ur FH's tastebuds.. MBK has a great variety of food, coz it is mainly a place for tourists. They are mainly located on 5th/6th floor of MBK.. A huge floor of them actually. There's Swensen's too on the 3rd floor

Do try the foodcourt.. Cheap & gd too, actually it's run by a Singaporean. Coz they sell Kway Chup!

U can try Pratunam area for clothes. Apparently near Indra Regent, there are gd clothes.. Some clothes at Pratunam are very T-shirt, prob not so suitable. I find CTC having more fashionable variety actually..

Alhana: Wow, u're really the expert here. Gotta kowtow to u with all the info you have! Heehee

Hi mehmeh

Heh..no, am definitely no expert. Still alot of places I've not gone to in BKK.
Till today, we have not gone to CTC, simply coz I wouldn't be able to stand the heat and crowds..would give me a migraine.

As for the Visitor Card, I couldn't get any at the airport. They said that they didn't hv any new stock..go figure

Dear all, for those who are not travelling on a free an easy package (i.e. no airport transfer provided), please do not book those hotel limousines touted at the arrival gates. they cost about 500 baht at least.

take the escalator up to the departure hall and flag down any of the taxis that come along after they have dropped their passengers. These cabs are safe. Just make sure that you know which hotel you are heading to and tell the driver:"Pai Roong Raem Novotel or Asia".

does the taxi have meter or have to bargain the price first ?

Have been to bkk but have hotel transfer. This time thinking of stopping over at BKK before coming back SGP. so must take taxi.

Are there no taxis in the arrival hall ?

Hi meh meh,
Emporium will be a gd place to get? Get bra, undies?
Map down my 3 day tour for shopping but eating havent found places.
Fuji is at??

hi .... (fat), 5% disc onli given to tourists stayin in Pathuwan Princess? hw abt those not stayin there? do they stil get d 5% disc?

hi mehmeh, wat u mean by the tourist vistor card? any tourists to BBK can take? whr can take n any whr got disc or onli some shoppin malls?

tink i wil go to agency to look at d prices this weekend b4 bookin my trip.. any 1 got any suggestions for angency which offer beta prices? reali lookin forward to d trip aft lookin in tis forum....

thank lots

Sorry to butt in, where sell nice sharkfin soup and birdnest that isn't priced too expensive?
I only got 1.5 days stop over. So going to have to do alot of rush shopping.

Any recommended places to eat? Cheap and nice?

No more TVCs? How weird.. Actually when I went, they were ALL out for lunch. I saw it at the counter & helped myself to it

geramine

Yupz, any tourist to Thailand can get their hands on it. It's actually after u collect ur luggage & walking to either take the airport transfer or get a cab. Right smack in the centre before u walk out.. Ask ard for it

josl
Emporium does sell lingerie which is abt already $5-10 cheaper than S'pore.. Than 5% off tt.. Very worth getting. When I was there, many HK tourists were buying Wacoal.. I'm not Walcoal or Triumph fan. Quite like BSC..

Fuji is at MBK shopping centre, 5th/6th floor..

Hi Alex,

The only taxis that greet you are the 'limousine' taxis at the arrival. Avoid these. The taxis that are dropping passengers off at the departure halls are run by meter. If they try to pull a fast one by quoting a rate, just tell them no and you want meter. generally, the blue and red taxis are reliable. Chok dii na...

Hi Sloppy,

Most of the sharksfin outlets are congregated at Chinatown. there are a couple of big restaurants there that offer sharksfin, but these tend to be rather expensive. There are smaller outlets that offer better quality sharksfin and birdsnest soup if you walk along chinatown. Will go home and check the name cards...

Hi Geramine,

there's a fuji at Siam Centre too. Since you're there, you might want to consider trying their local favourite MK. It is similar to COCA, but cheaper. It is something that I never miss whenever I am there.

I believe most of the agencies tend to offer rather similar rates. But you might want to consider contacting UOB travel planners. My wife and I were close to signing up for a package which includes 3 nights stay at novotel siam square and fly by Thai Airways.

Otherwise, be adventurous, book tigerair, and book your hotels online

Hi alhana,

I note that you mentioned that you have not been to CTC. Agree that in the Bkk heat, it can get quite hot. But there is an equivalent night market (not patpong) where there are rows and rows of shops selling similar things as in CTC. Can't quite remember the name cos a friend of mine led me there... I think it is Suan Lom or something...

hi dii jai,
wat does d UOB travel planners do? izzit cheaper n with full package? den did u sign up for their package? actuali im gg BBK for the 1st time so dun tink im tat adventurous to book hotels n airfare separately..

Hi Geramine,

The UOB travel planners are essentially your travel agents
Packages offered by travel agencies should be generally cheaper. I had not signed up for the package as my wife couldn't make it. The UOB staff I spoke to was Rinalee, she seemed quite nice and helpful.

Suggest you contact a travel agency that you are comfortable with and see what they offer. You should consider the airlines too cos some of the airlines on offer may fly at crazy times
Perhaps after you've gotten more information, you can share with us what's on offer and we can share your views.

will make sure your holiday runs smoothly;)

Hi Khun DiiJai

Yes, I passed by Suan Lum. It's actually on the same street as the last hotel I stayed at (Plaza Athenee). Wanted to go, but my toes got badly blisted after a day of shopping..so we just went for dinner w my friend and went back to rest after that. Plus, I wasn't much in a shopping mood this time ard..perhaps another time

For F&E to Thailand, I usually go to Euro-Asia (office in Chinatown). Last used them on my trip to Krabi in Jun 04. Not bad..their prices seemed better than those of other agencies. Service is average...travel agencies here aren't really known for having exceptional service anyway.

For the Visitor Card, the booth to get them from is the Tourism Authority booth in the Arrival Hall. That's after you've collected your luggage and passed through the customs checkpoint.

btw gals, if you wanna try their Coca, remember to try their Tomyum soup base...very shiok! But if you want to refill the soup 2nd round, they will charge you $19 baht.

Hi Karyinn

What I found rather nice to nibble on is the mini-cream puffs sold in CTC.. It can last in the hot weather & I bought 2 boxes back for my family.

I think in the very hot weather, u wld hardly feel hungry.. Thirsty more likely.

I always liked the rice crackers with pork floss. Some of the durian chips are nice too. Are these the type of snacks you're talking about? :P

I intend to go Bangkok for a short break. Find it too troublesome to book my own air tickets & hotel, so I would like to book from travel agency instead. Can anyone recommend a good travel agency? I'm looking for 3D2N Free & Easy for 4pax, twin sharing, prefer to stay at Siam Square - maybe Patumwan Princess, Novotel etc. What is the current market rate for bangkok package?

Hi meh meh and alhana...

the food sounds nice, for the titbits we shld get at the airport or the small stores, airport shld have things to get also rite?

Is the BTS easy to read the signs?

Hi josl

You can get the tidbits in alot of places. MBK is a great place for tidbits..many shops selling all kinds of tidbits, preserved fruits etc. Airport is usually more expensive..so don't get it there.

Yes, BTS is easy to use. They have english instructions too.

Hi Apple

I've used Euro-Asia before for Thailand F&Es. Can give them a call to check the prices.

Hi all ....

Jus an update i jus came back n wow thing are more expensive but still quite cheap.... hahah End up u are all right i spend abt 1k on food n shopping..... overall only chatuchak n pratunam market i can get stuff other then that all too ex liao lor.... hahahahha

enjoy ur trip....to those who is going soon

Now tiger having promotion. Per way is $9.95. And i have a tiger voucher rebate is $20. I'm letting go at $10. You can use this voucher with thier promotion. Terms and condition is to book by today and use must have tiger credit card in order to use this voucher. Interested party pls email to [email protected]

i wil go n c wat packages d agency offer tis weekn.. den can gv mi advice on which package to book.. u all r so expert in BBK.. haha
u all tink go BBK shld go 3D2N or 4D3N?

Hi Alhana,
Seems that MBK have lotsa things, i was planning to go there as one of my first shopping places, was thinking was if i shop and see other things cheaper than wat i have bought i sure heart pain hee.

Maybe i shld go and see wat i plan and do some changes to it .:P

Josl - MBK has alot to see there...will prob spent quite awhile in that bldg. For titbits, I usually go to the 3rd level where there's this lady ( tai tai look alike ) sitting at the cashier there and speak very good teochew. Her stuffs not bad and reasonable price too.
And if you like more trendy stuffs, than Siam Sq is the place you can cover next. Or another place nearby there which has a indoor overhead bridge linking between MBK and Siam Sq. But that bldg is called Bonanza Plaza, Siam Sq is further down from this bldg.

Apple - I normally book my pkg from Euro-Asia, the one at Chinatown Point. Always get mixed up between Euro-Asia & Asia Euro.....But definitely the one at Chinatown Point. Can try it there.

Hi, anyone stay at JW marriott Bangkok / Plaza atheene B4? am thinking of staying here on next trip there. Would like some review on these hotel

Hi Tingz

I just stayed at the Plaza Athenee. It's a lovely hotel. Beautiful pool, nice rooms and good buffet spread. The spa there, The Aspara, is quite popular too. Expensive though. Location is pretty good..going down the road (wireless road) will lead you to Suam Lum's night bazaar..and it's a short walk to the BTS station (Ploenchit). If you wanna splurge..get the corner deluxe room. Much more spacious.

Hi josl

First timers can probably spend a day in MBK. Arrive in BKK..go to MBK for lunch, shop, dinner, then back to hotel. Hehe. The place is huge! can even take in a movie if you want...movies are in english w thai subtitles. Only thing is..they play the national anthem at the beginning and you have to stand up during the anthem. Quirky. Anyway, I always buy most of my cheapo stuff from MBK..no tolerance for places like CTC. Dun mind spending more to enjoy air conditioned comfort..haha..pampered..what to do. Hubby also can't stand the heat so we prefer MBK.

Geramine

3D/2N is abit short....go for 4D/3N.

Now tiger having promotion. Per way is $9.95. And i have a tiger voucher rebate is $20. I'm letting go at $10. You can use this voucher with thier promotion. Terms and condition is to book by today and use must have tiger credit card in order to use this voucher. Interested party pls email to [email protected] or sms 92962105 for fast deal.

Hi geramine

Usually the standard price is for 3D/2N...then if you want 4D, you just pay for the room extension. The best is to have an idea of which flight you want (eg time / airline), hotel..then call a couple of agencies..tell them what you want..and ask for a quote. Price range is hard to gauge as these factors will affect the price you pay in the end. papers will usually quote the cheapest rates, which prob feature a not so ideal flight and a cheapo hotel.

ok.. i wil take note of tat.. wil keep u all update of the latest promo aft i go visit d agencies this weekend.. den wil need u all to give mi advice on wat to book den..

Hi alhana...
My husband have zero tolerance for heat, MBK will be a better place to CTC. Cant fo CTC as we are leaving on sat afternn also.
Have u tried the spa at banyan tree and the ones outside, is there any diff besides the prices??

Anyone going to bangkok this coming August (During the National day peroid)

- Care to share is the following hotel good or not (in terms of location and food )

Appreciate all feedback..mny tks

haha.. forget to list down the hotels..

1) Pratumwan Princess
2) Novotel Siam Square
3) Princess Hotel
4) Baiyoke suite/sky
5) Asia Hotel
6) Arnoma HOtel

I am interested in Arnoma , but heard that quite expensive... so need all of your comment who have stayed before those above mention hotels... tks

Anybody can recommand me where to go for shopping for my 4D3N f&E... From sun till wednesday cos from wad i understand weekend market like chachuchak close quite earli... For shopping centre which one to go? Any body massage to recommand near asia hotel?

Appreciate all feedback

Hi josl

Oh yeah, you're leaving on Sat..so yes CTC is out. It's ok..I think you guys will enjoy MBK. Alot of things to see and buy there.

I did not try the Banyan Tree spa. I was there for work and did not have the time. But i reckon it's quite expensive, since you're also paying for the brand name. I go to King & I in Sukhumvit. As for difference, well known spas may use better products, and the spa facilities may be more luxurious or up market. Not too sure. King & I is nice..we had a couple room (automatically offered for all spa treatments) and their prices are reasonable.

Cyn

Arnoma expensive? Their rooms are quite old..probably just slightly better than Asia. For those you've picked, the most costly should be Pathumwan & Novotel. I've stayed at Novotel before, and I thought it was quite nice. Location is good too. If I had to pick one from your list, Novotel would be my choice.

Hi alhana,
I took the honeymoon package from banyan tree, so the spa is inside the package.
Cant wait to go there to shop and shop in 2wks time.:P Arghh before that is my wedding...:P

Hi josl

That's cool! Do you know which spa package you're getting? How much did you guys pay?

Grats on your upcoming wedding! Excited?

Hi alhana,
We booked thru the website of banyan tree itself, its quite pricey . Abt US$300++(cant rem exact price) per nite. It includes dinner at banyan tree restaurant, wine, airport transfers,spa,1/2 day tour ..bringing us to see 3 temples.:P
Looking at the layout of the room looks like a suite as it got a living rm also.

we booked SQ for our flight abt $500+, so in total $2000 for flight and hotel for two,quite ex i find compare to the ones in the papers $300+/pax.

Still got quite a few things to do for the wedding,havent found the songs yet.