Bangkok

Hi Peggy,

Yes, abt a couple of buildings away..
232726.jpg

Me just came back from Bangkok. It was such a marvellous trip. Did just what we wanted to do in just 4 days
Must surely visit Suan Lump night bazaar in the evening. Been there twice
It's much more organized though less variety as compared to the chaotic weekend Chatchuchak market. Some more it is opened daily from 3pm onwards. Price wise, not much different though from Chatchuchak but can bargain too. Good ambience and atmosphere in the evening. Several restaurants there and a big food centre (think food court style) with live band performance by the locals. It's conveniently located beside the subway station. Think it's Lumphini station. Another place worth checking out is the Adidas factory outlet adjacent of River City shopping centre or in front of Royal Orchid Sheraton. It's beside a pizza restaurant. Good bargain there especailly for guys of mid-build. If got time or is your 1st time in Bangkok, must visit the Damonen Saduak floating market. It was quite an experience as well.

Hi Peggy,

the map is posted by one of the users (Andreal) in this thread (postings can be found in one of the archive folders here)

U've got
232748.gif

Hi Peggy

The map gives you a gd clue how to get to Pratunam, but it is actually on the side of Amari Watergate. It is advisable to cross the bridge near ur hotel then walk northwards (according to this picture). It will be no more than a 5min walk..

Hi Peggy, It is easy to go pratunam... Just nothward, cross the bridge, you will see Pratunam Centre, Amari Watergate Hotel and Indra Regent Hotel. It is just opposite Pratunam Centre, sandwiched between Amari Watergate and Indra Regent Hotel.

Need help again, how to go suan lum??

I planning noon go pratunam mkt, after dinner go suan lum. 2nd day morning, i go chatuchak, evening go siam, wtc, mbk, bid c shopping. 3rd day morning go chinatown.

Hi Peggy,

If your hotel is near the sky train station, you must take to Asok first and alight and get out of the sky train station coz the BTS and subway are not inter-connected. Then switch to the subway station called Sukhumvit to Lumphini to get to Suan Lum market. Can consider dinner there too.

Hi Gerlie,

Thank you. Then, do u know where can i find the "Fuji jap Food, Coca steamboat, MK Suki Restourant" ? Izzit inside Siam Sq 6th-7th floor?

Hi, libra

No leh, not staying at Asia Hotel. Cause my hubby and I wanted to save more money for shopping and sightseeing, thus we might be staying at Bangkok City Inn. Real cheap but heard is located in a ulu street, dun know is it true?
Also dun know wanna go to see the ladyboys show, haven't decide yet, anyway we'll be going in March. Still got alot of time to plan where we going.

When you going to BKK?

Hi Peggy,

I only know there is a Coca restaurant inside WTC.
Fuji Jap food can be found in MBK 7th floor, Siam Centre top floor or Emporium building.
You also can go Oishi Japanese buffet restaurant inside Siam discovery.

It's best to take cab to Suam Lum Nite market. If u take train, still need to walk. Anyway the cab is cheap if by meter.

Hi peggy,

Suan Lum is just beside the lumphini MRT STN ONLY... Since you are staying in Arnoma... then you can take the BTS at Chidlom BTS stn ...follow the guide given to u by gerlie will do... of course taking a cab will be cheaper for 2 ... provided that you dun kenna traffic jam lor

Hi SeaBreeze,

The list are at home but if you need it now can refer to the archive...I have attach the files sometime ago...If not you have to wait for me to get back home then can email it o you...

I hv taken tiger airway, for 2 hrs trip its ok lah...

hi ohstrawberry,

i think asia is quite cheap u know? internet rate is like S$50, inclusive of ABF and if u stay 4 nites, u get a day of complimentary BTS card. plus, the BTS is linked to the hotel. I believe u can save more in this way... ;-)

hi, i need some help here ...

my bf and i plan to go bbk on 6 jan next yr. i read from news that bbk is now not safe and that a terrorist attack might be activitated after new year to mark someone's death on 4 jan ...

i began to worry about our security, should we go or not go ??

hi liwen,

i was worried too when i heard all these terrorist attacks.. but then i tot, heck la.. just go ahead. If mean to happen then it will happen.. hahahaa.. but now its still relatively safe la... don stay in the hotels where many caucasians like to stay in lor... my parents were worried too but then u see, we are back safe and sound after 8 days ;-)

Hi,crayonshinchan

Thanks. Actually i knew Asia hotel is quite cheap indeed, however i'm getting the Bangkok city Inn cause only $33/night(for double). Also it's very near to WTC. CHITLOM BTS only 10min away.
Also hor, i quite freaked off by those scary "rumors", my hubby very bad luck one, he'll get sick if he sense those things. So i think to play safe then having a unenjoyable holiday. At least he had a peace of mind when he knew we not staying there.

Hi all, heard about the bangkok news too....but come to think about it crayonshinchan said very true leh : If mean to happen then it will happen...Its all fated!!! Just face it, My hubby and i going this 24 Christmas eve and coming back 27 staying at Baiyoke Sky. Lets pray for world peace

Just got back from BKK too..same time as Crayon (hi crayon!
) Actually, the security is quite tight at major shopping centres and hotels. I went to the Shangri-La for dinner w a friend and at the carpark, they actually ran a scanner ard her car to check for bombs. Don't worry too much lah. Terrorist strikes can hit anywhere, anytime..we cannot live in fear of it. If we do, then these terrorists wld've won.

Asia Hotel's not scary lah. People also told me that its scary but its not. Maybe some of the rooms are scary (like the cabin room..heard no window??) but most are decent. We were more annoyed that they didn't have movie channels :P After staying in Phuket for 5 days w 3 movie channels available on the hotel tv, hubby got annoyed when he saw that Asia only had news channel and MTV. He was hoping to watch some movies when we saw the trailers in Phuket. Oh well.

dear dear ...

thanks!! have rec the email ... very useful ....

me staying in cabin room ler .... they say no window ... but since we not in the room most of the time ... tot can save then save lor ... heehee ....

huuuuhh strawberry,

u mean Asia is haunted? heng ah.. i come back oredi... but actually i stayed in cabin room oso leh.. and its quite big.. altogether 5 rooms but no one complained abt anything leh.. the only complain is the water heater.. .either too hot or too cold... and like wat alhana said... the channels were ARRGGHHH... watched ESPN everyday...

i know lady go bangkok, must buy wacoal bra. Izzit very cheaper if buy at there? where can get cheaper wacoal bra?

Please help... thank you

hey esther,
i am also staying at baiyoke sky this xmas season but 1 day earlier than u :p
i also book the xmas eve dinner at sky resturant but due to xmas they increase the buffet price to 900baht but 50% off after 2000hr
also abit worry about the security but since already flying off in 2 more days.. dun care so much.. just worry tat i cant get enough clothes :p

Yup, u can get wacoal bras at all major dept stores like Tokyu (MBK), Zen & Isetan (Central World Plz, formerly known as WTC), Central Dept stores, Robinson, Emporium. Emporium gives 5% discount to tourists methinks..just show passport. I didn't go to Emporium this yr, so not sure if that's still applicable. The avg price of a wacoal bra is ard THB500-THB600...ard S$20+. Nicer ones can cost more, but still, much cheaper than SG, and they have a huge range too. However, if ure well-endowed, u may find it hard to find bras there...most go up to 80C max.

Crayon

Haa..we were complaining abt the shower too..hard to get it at the right temperature! Heh..we watched ESPN n MTV..and ESPN was in Thai! MTV was in malay. Weeeird.

HIhI
i JUST DROP BY TO let u all know that Sq is having promo now for BBK, HK and taipei 2 $98 excluding taxs...must travel before 31 jan..... please go to their website to book!

Anyone had good recommendation for body massage in BKK?

Oh ya, bra there is cheap compared to Singapore, i remembered 2years ago, i bought the maximiser bra at less than S$20, half of S'pore price. I'm going to buy lots lots of bras back next march when i'm going.

crayonshinchan,
Actually i dun know whether is it true of the haunted thing, but i keep feeling uneasy when i think of Asia Hotel. That's why i staying elsewhere lor. I very timid one.......

Juz thought of sharing, actually while in BKK for my trip I accidentally found a directory book in the hotel room drawer. Inside contain quite a number of websites so thought of jotting down. But since back from BKK I m not feeling well till now so took so long to post it here n didn't have time to browse through the link. For those who have time, can take a look at the link to see any useful information. Here you goes:

www.thaiways.net
www.tourismthailand.org
www.thai-tour.com
www.zee-asia.com
www.thailand-travelsearch.com
www.tourthai2000.com
www.333tourthai.com
www.atthailand.com
www.maxonetour.com
www.thailandhotels.com
www.bkkhotel4u.com
www.ehotelbooking.com
www.dininginthailand.com
www.bts.co.th
www.railway.co.th

Weather Information:
www.thaimet.tmd.go.th

Dental:
www.dentajoy.com

Health & Beauty:
www.hypermart.net

Restaurant:
www.bangkokthai.com

International Food:
www.bkkfood.com

Thai Food:
www.thai-food.com

Cooking Thai Food:
www.travelify.com

Thai Restaurant:
www.sawatdee.com

Shopping Center:
www.thaishopcentre.com

The Central:
www.centralpattana.com

The Shopping Mecca:
www.rivercity.co.th

The Emporium:
www.emporiumthailand.com

Shopping:
www.shop.com

Shopping on net:
www.sawabdeeshop.com

For those who wanted to view the Asia Hotel room photos, I have taken some photos of the room.

http://sg.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/yvonneteng81/album?.dir=b7ec