Bangkok

postpet,

REgarding the lamps.. they shouldnt go more than 500bht.. In singapore they probably selling more.. You know places like molecus with their uber exp lamps? Those are the kind I am talking about. And there is a lot of others lamps I came across in Chatuchak and Suan lum night bazaar.

wah,

now SQ having promotion at 150 to Bkk but its a nite flight, transit at Bkk... but still much cheaper to DIY compared gg thru travel agency leh.....

me confirm gg on 19/08-nite flight, rtn on 23/08-afternoon flight.. any of u also gg during that period???

Now still cannot decide on which hotel to stay leh... Have checked out the rates (USD) for 4 nites stay at the following hotels:
Asia Hotel - $112(wf 1 day pass for skytrain/pax)
Twin Towers - $128
Eastin - $128
D'MA - $176
What u gals recommend huh?!

Hi Serrich

Ya..SQ has this promo now.So tempting. But I think it does not include the airport tax right? Do you know how much is it? Thanks.

Period of Thailand's wedding shoot ( 1st to 14th September 2004)

The first 3 couples who sign up will get the Thailand package at a price of $4388. Subsequently the next 5 will be at $4,688, thereafter it will be at $5388. The package includes an album with A3 collages(all original files will be returned), return air ticket with 4D/3N accomodation, make-up and styling by top and well-known stylist in Thailand. In addition expect to be treated to a well deserved spa treatment & massage and customised shopping in various shopping belts . For those who would like to tailor-make their wedding gown, evening gown, tea dress, men's suit or purchase wedding favours in Thailand, they will be given a very special rate starting from $3,500 (purchased price). Please call Hilarion Goh at 9663 0088 for further enquiries.

postpet2..

I wanted to get but I ald bought the pots and pan and my luggage is going to exceed if we still do that.. So decided against it this time round..

after hearing the errie stories, i dun think i dare to stay asia hotel leh... but my frens want to book tat hotel...

i shared with her abt pipakao's frens' encounter then she also told me that her colleagues also encounter the same thing b4... Now veri scared lei...

Contemplating to change to D'MA... Baiyoke sky is good but ex leh..

sugarbabe,

how much u paid for the package huh?? Btw, how many days u staying there??

Me bought the tics from the SQ promo @ $202 with taxes.. Will be taking night flight, coming back on 23/08...

hi we paying 403 per pax for 4D3N, will be takin the morning flight (by Thai Airways).. so hotel accomdation, u found liao??

we have booked asia hotel via internet... now contemplating to change leh... but i like to location cos near skytrain... we planned to run ard many places so it will be conenient for us... Sigh....

serrich,

dont bother abt the train.. Taking a metered taxi can prove to be easier than anything else. Also lugging ard your shoppings is the last thing you wanna do. Their jam is legendary but than again I didnt feel it was very bad to get from 1 place to another..

I took from Intercontinental hotel (central) to Chatuchak only abt 80bht.. And when it jam it be about 90-100bht..but that is also because the distance is quite a bit. Otherwise to get from anywhere.. a taxi can be very economical.

serrich, actualli wanted to take Asia htl too but after hearing those storeis, dun dare to stay although it's really cheap n convenient

hahhaha... sugarbabe, u also arh... Hehehe...

hmmm... same here.. most likely switch to D'MA hotel lor.. though a bit out of the way, at least got 7-eleven .. Hhahahaa... there shld be plenty of taxis ard also.. So nothing to worry abt...

D'MA now having promo... Package price: Stay for 4 nites at the price of 3.. I find it reasonable lor...

Hi Hi

Can someone advice which hotel would be better? I wanted to book for package for Asia Hotel and thai airway. The offer is quite gd, $325.00. But after reading the stories, having second thoughts liao.

Hi Everyone out here,

Have some questions here...
For thoses who have book BKK holiday thru travel agency b4...they usually come with the half day city tour..end of d tour usually the tour guide will ask for hw much tips??if not, hw much will u all gv as a token..??

Ur feedback will be appreciated...

oh dear, i hope my stories do not cause the hotel to close down.

frankly speaking, its a pretty alright hotel lah. the 1st time we stayed there, we had a big room on the 8th floor facing the BTS. What we like was the fact that the lobby is very big and has got many people walking around. A very busy hotel, i would say. Moreover it is really convenient location and cheap.

" )

Hi Me shell,

If I din recall wrongly, the guide asked for THB100, however you can give +/-, it's up to you.

We were told it covers not only for half day tour but also the to/fro transfer hotel/airport, but we thought "isn't that included in the package already" ..

Well ... we gave what he asked for anyway because he's been rather patient and helpful, we were ok with his services ...

Hi Sarah,

You mean u hv to give him tips for every transfer?? So hw much tips u have give overall??

When last time when I'm in Hong Kong the guide ask for S$40 per pax i think its too much...but no one complain so bo pian pay lor...

Hi Serrich

Can I check with you abt the transfer from airport to hotel? U already booked for the SQ offer rite? Cos if I take the SQ offer, I will reach at midnight. Is is safe to take a cab from airport to hotel? This is my first time to BKK.

blueblue,

If u would like to have the transfer form airport to hotel upon ur arrival, you can always request from the hotel when u make the booking.

I am currently negiotating with the hotel to provide 2 way airport transfers at no cost but still awaiting reply.. Hahhaa.. But i doubt they will do it for free.. anyway, nt worth paying for such service cos takin cab definitely much cheaper...

If nt agreeable, I will be taking cab to the hotel.. It should be quite safe to take a cab from the airport. But always get the taxi driver to charge based on the meter fare.. Otherwise they will charge u high rates..

Yup, I have already booked the air tics.. $150+ $55(taxes), total $205 for the air tics.. but upon reaching BKK, we have to pay tax in Baht..cant remember how much lah...

So when u gg to BKK?? I also booked Asia Hotel from internet...

Hi Serrich

I found a free n easy package with SQ, 5D4N staying at Eastin. My friend has actually tentatively booked Thai airway but now with SQ offer, we decided to take it immediately today.

Thanks for your reply. Now my airport transfer problem solved liao.

If i'm not wrong, airport tax has to be paid prior to leaving BKK airport. BHT 500

Not sure if there are any changes to the amount.

My flight to bangkok is confirmed but now have a headache cos dun know which hotel to stay. Wanted to stay at Asia initially, but after the horror stories (including those in archive), I dun think I would feel comfortable staying there. Anyone can advise me which other hotel is near to shopping area? Pathuwan Princess and Novotel is above my budget. Is arnoma a nice hotel to stay? What about Grand Diamond? Anyone heard of this hotel? The pics on internet looks quite good.

blueblue,

how much u paid for ur stay at Eastin? U mean SQ provide f&e package besides the offer for the air tics?? If so, maybe i'd also like to check out their offers...

yup, will have to pay 500 baht for the tax... U heard of this VAT refund?

Hi mint
like u i also do not want to pay much for the hotels and hv been searching around. In the end, i try to book with IndraRegent, around the area of Baiyoke sky but not as expensive as it. It is a 4star hotel. not much heard of here but recommended by my sis fren who has been to Bangkok frequent. She also first recommend Asia which i reject. Dun want to hv eerie feeling :P
anyone heard of Indraregent do know how long to walk from that area to the train station. saw the map but dun know the estimated walking... any massage around dat area.. tks.

Hi shell,

We gave THB200 (hubby and me) - we are quite chin chai, afterall they are making a decent living. Only one payment. It goes to the driver as well.

I know one family paid THB100 (5 pax) - I dunno if they "misunderstood" his words or not lah ... you know ... some people are more "thrifty" ... :p

Hi Serrich,

For tax refund - it's 7%, you need to spend at least THB2000 per retailer before they will issue you the form. Minimum total spending of THB5000 in order to get the refund. You have to have your passport with you, otherwise they can't issue the form, at least a photocopy.

sarah,

is it worthwhile to get the refund??? Seems that there will be some administrative charges rite? And is there a cap amt which we can claim per day?

Hi blueblue n serrich,
i will gng to bkk too..i'm staying at Eastin hotel n flying by SQ..will be gng there for 5D5N and costs abt 365 per person including tax.

can i check with u,everyone must pay airport tax at bkk airport ah? we hve to pay the tax upon arrival or departure har?

Tks Serrich

i hv seen them but quite small no who gives their review so m checking it out here. Initially also consier Eastin and Dma but seems they are even further away from the world trade and train station from the map. Hence, i switch to Indra Regent...

hi serrich,
i stayed at eastin few yrs back, quite nice + include american breakfast. Rooms quite spacious n big batroom with bathub. However, the hotel is not new.px is $55 per nite now. one thing to take note is the distance to places like world trade etc. took me abt 15mins to walk there cos sometimes faster than taxi when theres a jam. also eastin is not near any train station.

forgetmenot
airport tax 500THB for departure side so keep this money aside.

Hi inc

Eastin & Dma is further away fm MBK that area compared to Indra Regent
From outlook Indra looks ok, but its nt very near to train too but its near the Pratunam Wholesale market, Baiyoke Sky hotel
There are massage shops along the streets

Hi Serrich

I took the F&E offer travel by SQ staying at Eastin for $335. How about your lodging? How much is it? When are you going ? I am going on 12 Aug night flight and coming back on 16th night

hi blueblue,

quite good package, can i know is there a website to get this promotion? cant find it on SQ webby.
thnx

yah lor,

blueblue which website u got the F&E package from?? Can post the link here?

I have checked out the charges... 4 nites at Eastin cost S$220(USD$128 X 1.72) for 2 pax.. Air tics cost S$205/pax... So total cost per pax will be S$325...

Wow... so the package quite value for money... also provide 2 way transfer?? Any half day city tour??

Hi rally and serrich

I booked the F&E package at Splendour Holidays at People Park Complex. You can call Cassandra at 6557 0328.
I din booked it online cos I saw the papers on sat and compared the prices to be quite attractive. Actually it would be even cheaper if we have 4 to go but my friends cant make it. Hence, the price that I have stated is for 2 to go. Oh ya..includes half day city tour with lunch and airport transfer.

Serrich, I think your price is close to mine or even lower. Quite good deal too. Staying at Eastion too...

Hi Serrich,

Not sure about the charges as I didn't manage to either spend THB2000 per shop though my total spending in BKK is much more than THB5000. No tax refund for me lor!

THB2000 is not a lot but suppose you spend at places like chatuchak ... no tax refund mah.

Just "shun qi zi ran" - if you do spend that much, must claim the refund lor. Don't deliberately buy so much things just to get the refund, $ must be well spent, get what I mean.

Cap on the limit? Not that I know of.
But perhaps the other gals here can confirm this?

Hi forgetmenot,

You have to pay before departure (at the airport, got those machines where you can pay) , you will need the receipt when you enter the departure gate, the guard there will ask for the receipt.

too bad I have alreadi made the bookings for the air tics.. My frens so kan cheong, worried that we cannot book the tics in time... Sigh...

now we still deciding on which hotel to stay.. Since there are 4 of us, we'd prefer to go on ur own than to follow the city tour... Since I've been there b4, I am tasked to work out the agenda for our trip..

sarah,
thanks for tat.. dun think i will shop a lot this time cos on tight budget! Main aim is to go relax and of crse go for massage!

hi gerls,
FYI the last time we went Tokyu at MBK, did spent ard bht5000 so we claimed it at the BKK airport (inside departure hall). Aiyo take so long for it to proccess at the counter.

I remembered we paid Bht100/person to the tour guide, he explained to us that its for the driver blah blah...:P If u do not wish to continue the city tour eg. jewellery factory/leather shop after the river tour eg. Wat Arun-Temple of Dawn (u can shop/lunch ard Yaowarat)..just tell ur tour guide dat u wana be on ur own after dat, the most they forfeit the free lunch.hehe.

Most of the hotels near BTS are more ex ones. Dun worry if u cant get a hotel near to BTS/MBK..cos its easy to catch a cab and fare is v. cheap (bht60-70 fr Eastin to Chatuchak - S$2-3). As long nt so far like Twin Tower Hotel or hotels in Sukhumvit/Chao Phraya.

Like to know the svc of thai airway? cos was really disappointed w/ SQ during our previous trips to BKK..hmmm.

andreal,

i went last nov via thai airway.. svc ok lah.. but my hubby prefer SQ. He say SQ better leh...

Wat happened to ur previous trip with SQ??

I tried both thai airways & SQ to BKK before but I find in terms of food & service wise Thai airways are better
SQ only has one personal TV which is an advantage that's all

Jane,

Is that so?? Hmmm... then I must lower my expectation when takin SQ liao... Sianz... I tot SQ better..

Sugarbabe,
Then u better stick to Thai airways then... Hehhe