Bangkok

haha early morn to all ladies!!
yeah lor i come bk oso still bery excited :P btw tos in my website is only namecards hor, no pic yet..but still hope they help provide some info. For Boots(pharmacy), there's a branch at MBK & Siam Sq..lotsa health products fr london.

hi Pinkie,
as for suit, i saw quite a few ard my area incld the one recommended by forum members too (Joy Collection) hwever they are ard my hotel, not at MBK. There's another tailor called Narry dun know at which hotel? quite gd and reasonable as commented by some members. can check out their website narry.com *S*

hi cat!
wah my turn to envy u..hehe
which hotel u staying? oh u can ask mi, i'll try my best to help k.

Yo Sugarbabe,
i know u bery excited too liao..lol
okok..im going to attached the link below. Ops toking abt the map, i totally forgotten abt it, was too bz abt shopping :X I nvr take the map of Chatuchak ley..which u gerls can get it fr its office at the market.

hi kingking,
can can..i email u after this post k hehe.

hey Sweet,
u can find the namecards in link i attached below *S*

http://sg.briefcase.yahoo.com/tropicalspas

i got another price from Comet travel for BKK 3D2N free 1 nite stay for $403 (inclusive of Thai Airways tax), staying at Baiyoke Sky. but muz pay by this June.

Hi Andreal,

Just happen to see this post. Thanks for sharing the info. I'm going o BKK next week to attend a wedding and dosome shopping at the same time.

Just to share that now SIA is having a promotion on tickets to BKK, just S$150 + S$57 per person.

Ladies
anyone stayed in Grand Diamond hotel b4?
hv booked a package to depart in mid Jul but my agency said its gonna be Aids conference so our preferred hotel- Pratunam is fully booked

so need feedback regarding this Grand Diamond

hey Ray,
u're welcome!! im glad to share with u all *smile*
thks for telling us the promo, can tell my frens cos they plan 2 go too.

kingking,
sorry, i just sent u an email..u go check ok hee.

Hi Andreal,

I will be staying at Asia Hotel for 4 nites. I am a bit blur on which place to start with, any suggestion to help me on the BKK itinery.

Hi Sweet & Andreal,

The SIA promo is until 30/6. Which means u must book the tickets before 30/6 and must complete the travel by 31/7. Pls note that min 2 to go. U can book the tickets via SIA website @ www.singaporeair.com and click on the "Promotions". U'll get there.

Hope that helps.

Ladies
i may DIY may BK trip i.e book my own tickets and hotels

can anyone advice how can i get a transfer from airport to hotel?
can i book the transfer at BK's hotel or i gotta hail a cab?

Hi JL,

I'm not a lady but I can give u my advise. Once reached the terminate, after u've collected yr baggage, go to the tourist counter to get some maps of BKK. Once u've go out of the 'gate', try to ignore everyone that ask u whether u need a taxi. Go out of the building and look for the taxi q-line. There's a taxi counter where a gal (normally) will u where u want to go. Show her yr hotel address and she'll tell the taxi to send u there. Make sure u ask the driver to use meter. U can save quite a bit.

See that you gals are an expert in BKK. I am going BKK this Sat. Although I been there many times, but have not gone to the floating market before. Anyone knows whether it is open in the morning every day or just on weekends? Any directions or advise to give?

Baobao,

The floating market you refering to is it the Chao Praya river or the real floating market. The real floating market is nice, according to my BKK guide, the distance from Bangkok City is 100km.

Hi Ray,
enjoy ur trip k, if u find any new things do update us ladies hor *grin*

Hi JL,
wat ray said are correct. not dat difficult to arrange the transfer yr own (take cab-by meter), so long u do not take the limousine fr hotel cos not worth. hehe the bangkok map is bery useful thru'out ur trip, by double sure cabby know the place u wana go, just pt it on the map :P

Yup yup, Yaowarat is Chinatown.

hey cat!
4nites ah..wowww. Staying at Asia is so convenient to travel ard..i heard the food varieties are many and gd *S*

hi dophin,
mi same as baobao, nvr been to a floating market b4 :X cos i heard somewhere dat its smelly hehe is it true?? do u know wat time it start and end? cos i intend to incld it in my nxt trip.

Has anyone stayed in DMA Pavilion hotel in Bangkok before? I'm thinking for staying there but not sure condition of room and location.

Please help!

Hi Andreal,
Thanks. So much things to do and buy in BKK but only got so little time.

Hi Sweet,
You're most welcome.

Do you gals have this feeling that time past very fast when you're enjoying yourself with all those shopping? I think I'll need a full 24hrs a day to do all those shopping.

I found out, during my last trip, besides clothes, shoes and bags, medicine can be very cheap in BKK especially those 'high end' drugs.

Thanks Dolphin and Andreal. Guess I will find out from the hotel conceige when I am there. Excited, going there in a few hours time.

hi ckluv2travel,
D'MA hotel itself is a budget/3star hotel, but it is at a gd location..many shophouses, restaurants, street hawkers, massage ard it which open till v. late *S* Most of them are cheap and gd! fr hotel,u can walk to Pratunam (ard 10min).
If u are not particular abt the room, act it is not bad..definitely not as old as asia hotel, overall it lok classic and simple. Baiyoke sky/baiyoke suite/indra regent/eastin/D'MA/bangkok palace are choices ard pratunam area.
If u loking for hotels ard city eg. WTC or MBK, arnoma/novotel/phathumwan princess are more ideal, their rates are higher too.

Travelling ard bangkok is easy and cab fare range fr baht70-120? ard S$3-5, so its not a prob even if ur hotel not ard city area.
If u nid to know more abt D'MA can email mi ok.

Sugarbabe!
hahaha got bathtub! somemore got separate shower..the bathrm is slightly bigger than some budget hotels i stayed b4.

hi ray,
er..i only know the chn medications esp ard Yaowarat are cheaper. My fren bought the tiger balm, siang biao you (w/ the ah pek pic). Oh wat kinda 'hight-end' drugs u referring??hmmmm...

baobao..
by the time i done with this post, u're prob reach BKK. hearya when u bk!hee.

Hi Andreal,
I hope u dont get the wrong idea?? I'm referring to the special flu drugs for those 'serious' users. My friend brought a year supply of those during our last trip there and he says the price is almost halved. BTW, I went to the drug store around Pratunam area. Can speak teochew to the old boss in the store. Otherwise will really have some serious communciation problems with the local Thais.

BTW does anyone just came back from BKK? How's the weather there right now? I heard it's real hot now with some shower expected.

hi andreal,

me cfrm gg to BKK in August liao so excited!!!! but i'll be staying at Baiyoke Sky for 4D3N for onli $403 per pax (inclusive tax)!!

hi sugarbabe,

I am planning to go bangkok in august too. Tot it is a bit early to book. May I know which agency did u book with? Which airline? Twin sharing?

it's comet travel at Fook Hai Bldg. their promo for BKK ended this June. it's thai airways, twin sharing. actualli is 3D2N then free 1 nite stay.

hi, jus came back from bangkok few days back. the weather is hot, n it'll rain once a day, but for a while only. so far my experience is heavy downpour for about an hour and that's it. but i think s'pore is still hotter than bkk.

Need you guys to help.
Me and my Fiancée to be are planning to go for a holiday in bangkok around mid Oct.
Any budget air fare to recommend? heard tat Airasia is the cheapest now, true?
hotels too,(3* or 4*) peferably accessible to most areas like WTC and market. Facilities not a problem, cause we have them in Sg liao

Many Thanks....

Do you know if Chinatown (Yaowarat)is open in the afternoon, I'm going there by cruise, shld reach there Tue/Wed morning, wanna go and eat bird nest in the afternoon.

Early morn to all

Hi Ray!
orhh..i got it keke. i'll get some chn medi my nxt trip esp. Got one for constipation v. effective..the logo is one old lady. Dun tink sell in SG. Yeah if can speak teochew will be advantage..i tot of learning thai mainly bcos i like the language & culture.

Hey Sugarbabe,
baiyoke sky..ehh not bad leh. Heard their sky restaurant/bar/roof deck can catch a beautiful skyline of BBK @nite *smile*

hi boringbuangkok,
shops at Yaowarat open during aftn, just that certain shops will close by 4-5pm. Oh bird nest/sharkfin seafood etc will open till nite..dun worry :P

Hi Andreal,
Learning Thai is a good as I see Thailand a good place to retire if needed to as Singapore may be too cosy to retire. I do have give it a thought but that'll be at least 20 yrs later. Who knows what may happen then.

Flying off tonite. Signing off.

hi inc,
gd thing for asia hotel is its near BTS, so-call mrt. so if u intend to use the bts(main transport) to travel ard then its really gd. Heard a fren who stayed there told mi hotel got gd food varieties/facilities. Just dat this hotel kinda old lar..not much of shopping/makan ard its area.

I guess dats why the bts come in handy if u intend to stay at asia hotel

hi Ray,
oh haben tot of retiring cos i still can't accept the standard of living in Thai hehe. But learning the lang. definitely a benefit. okie enjoy ur trip!

hey folic,
hmm..i've yet to stay or heard much abt rembrandt, so can't help u. But fr its website, it loks nice and located ard Sukhumvit..more to high-end district rite..

Tks. ya, jus need a okay hotel.
spend more $$ on shopping and massage mah :P

though old, hope it is still clean. i m quite particular esp the toilet and bed.

Hi Andreal,

thanks for the feedback. have decided to stay at Sofitel instead. Hope that is good.

Rgds,

Folic

Hi ppl,
no one stay in Grand Diamond Htl b4?
super sian leh to clash with Aids Conference next wk.
my fav htl- Novotel is fully booked!
my agency only hv this unknown htl.
hope anyone whom stay there can gimme sm feedbk
heard that they hv a mini kitchen in the rm .. duno true anot

Due to the timing of the flight, i would like to find out, what places can we go in the evening arround 8pm. As our flight will reached BKK late, what other places can we shop or eat.

I think that it will be quite a waste to stay in the hotel.

I will be staying at Narai hotel. Not too sure if it is a good choice.

Hi Mindy,

Yes, Grand Diamond has a kitchen. it is more like an apartment. stayed there twice b4, not bad overall n rather cosy. when u walk out of the hotel, turn left, n left again, u will reach World Trade Centre.

whr to do you all change Thai Bhat in s'pore? any idea which changer offer best rates?
i always see a long q at the money changer in Suntec.. duno if their rates are really that good compared to chinatown

hi Cherly!
most shopping ctrs close at 10pm,hmm.. tink will be rush for such places. Otherwise u can still go nite bazaar like Patpong, Suan Lum..they open till ard 1am, and consider near to Narai (cab drive like 10-15min?)

Just take note that most items at Patpong are v. ex!but definitely worth going. i hv some guides in my webpage, if u interested do take a lok *grin*

http://sg.briefcase.yahoo.com/tropicalspas

hi JL!
wat abt the money changer at Golden Mile? heard the rate there and chinatown nt bad.

Hey the hotel u choose is in a gd location, only thing is i nvr stay b4 so cant comment..loks okie fr the website tho
Can let us know when u bk, if gd can consider nxt time. Enjoy ur trip k!

Thanks Andreal,

Maybe we'll go to Suan Lum Market for a start. How's the things that cos we plan to go to the weekend market the next day. Not too sure if we should start to buy at Suan Lum Market first :p

Thanks for the link that you have provide too