Bangkok

mystic2451

Thanks for ur advice serene... will drink lots of water while over there.

BTW would you happen to know if I can find nice cheesecakes in bkk? My travellin companion is a lover of such stuff and would like to savour it if there's a chance to...

Of cos would appreciate if anyone can offer suggestions too.. Thanks a million!

ngoost

Hi all, i have 1 x AirAsia ticket to bangkok on 14dec - 17dec
flying off at 11am and back at 8pm.
the website selling 400+ , me willing to let go at 250(neg) due to work.

email me at [email protected] for detail.

sailormoonwt

Serene...yup! i will make sure i drink lotsa of water .... me cant wait man!! 3 moRe days... jus wanna ask...is the new airport very far frm the BAngkok City? some says its about 1/2 hr drive to hotels (near Siam area)

Hi LY .... hehe... u hv asked the right person cos i m a extreme cheesecake lover man!!! simply loves pastries stuffs and i was like yr fren ... surfing for yummy pastries before i went BKK the other time in March 06... below is the one tat i tried which simply leaves an impression in my mind... mayb u wanna brg yr fren there

Cafe` Lenotre at Emporium Shopping Mall

The glass cabinets which surround the small shop contain all manner of sweet fancies, including some home made truffle chocolates which look devilishly good. The house special cake is called the Bomb Passion Mousse, a bomb like ball of chocolate mousse with a sweet centre of passion fruit, rich and indulgent ! die die must eat tis :p~

kenshare

thanks gervynne!
will defintely check out those places u mentioned!

me leaving tomorrow ..so excited..
jus check weather and it says Storm!
really storm ah?

btw, anyone been to the new airport? maybe i have to make my way from new airport to hotel?
any advise how long its going to take me and how much roughly will cost me?

thank u!!

mystic2451

Hi Sailormoon... Thanks for recommending the cheesecake place to me. BTW do you know there is an outlet in Siam Paragon? Not sure if the standard are the same but would go there to have a try cos beside this Lenotre cafe, there are few more to choose from. They are The Oriental Shop, Visage and Whittard of Chelsea cafe. Have you try any of them yet? I am hopin to get the best out of it i.e. both in terms of quality n pricing...

Beside this, I have another question regarding Siam Paragon closing time. Has anyone shop till 11pm on weekdays? I was wondering if the lingerie salon closes at 10 or 11? Care to comment?

Once again thank you for the time and attention. Hope to hear from some travel experts here... ;)

sailormoonwt

eh...i nvr tried those tat u mentioned .. but would LOVE to try them if i hv the time ...

so which hotel r u staying and when r u going?

Kenshare : enj yr trip and hv fun shopping yeah!!

sereneli

Hi LY,

Not sure about the cheesecakes as I didn't notice them

Hi Sailormoonwt & Kenshare,
The ride from the new airport to town area is about 30 to 45 mins. It's slightly further than the old airport. FYI, I took the meter cab to Ambassador Hotel in Sukumhvit 187baht + 50baht svc charge + 65 baht for toll.

However on my return trip, it cost me 273baht + 50baht (charged by the taxi driver as he claims that he can't pick passengers up after dropping us..blah blah blah) + 65baht for toll

mystic2451

Hi Serene & Sailormoon... Actually I have not went to Siam Paragon before. As my partner is a lover of cheesecake, I did some internet research and posted some qns on other forums. Managed to get a reply saying Le Notre cakes are still the nicest among the 4 cafes. Not sure where i see it from, I remember a forumer has commented cheesecake from Whittard of Chelsea tasted nice too. Sailormoon perhaps you can give it a try the next time you go.

I'll be staying at Samran Place Hotel on the 1st of Dec for 2 nights. Will reach hotel at 5 plus in the evening and leave bkk at 5 plus to catch the 8.30 flight. Currently still tidying my itinerary but more or less has finished with my planning.

Here is what I've planned:
DAY 1
=====
Shopping at Siam Paragon
Massage near Asia Hotel
Shopping at Naraya Boutique in Asia Hotel
DAY 2
=====
CTC weekend market
Platinum Fashion Mall
Suan Lum Night Bazaar or Patpong
DAY 3
=====
Chinatown
Bo-Bae Mkt & Tower
MBK Centre

BTW did you gals went to Bo-Bae market & tower? I am still contemplating whether I should forgo Bo-Bae Mkt and spend the time in MBK. Care to share your views? Thanks a million though

P/s: Sorry for the long reply..keke...

sailormoonwt

oh yes!! Le Notre Cakes r simply awesome!!!! no doubts about tat .. oredi tried the other time i went :p~~~~~

WHere is Bo-Bae Mrkt ah? nvr hear before leh.....

mystic2451

Hi sailormoon... i've accessed this website before. This is where I found The oriental shop and visage are also selling pastries...
Since Le Notre is so highly recommended, there is no way i should not try right?!
Once again thank you so much for helping me in my planning. The same goes for maomao, serene & gervynne.... TQ...

estben

Is chatuchuk weekend market still there, saw from newspaper it was been smash.. Anyone went there recently?? Me going on Dec so kindly advise..thanks!

dreamer17

Hi LY,

May i know where are some of these places as listed in ur internery...

Siam Paragon , is the massage good near asia hotel? how much does it cost?

also wat Naraya Boutique sells? never been there b4

where is Platinum Fashion Mall ?

Thank u

mystic2451

Hi gals... correct me if I am wrong... For the cab fare from the new airport to Samran Place hotel, is 300 baht sufficient to cover the svc charge of 50 baht and toll charge of 65 baht? Please advice.

Serene, since you just came back, care to tell me what was the thai baht exchange rate you got?

Dreamer, some of the items which I have planned in my itinerary is also a first-time for me. I have read a number of forums to come up with the draft. The massage was recommended by a forumer who always go for it whenever she stays in Asia Hotel. NaRaya boutique sells cloth material bags, bedroom slippers, tissue holders, cosmetic pouchs & lots more. It is inexpensive and light to carry. Bcos the boutique at Asia Hotel closes at 12, I'll head for it as my last stop for the day. As for Platinum Fashion Mall, heard it's the one of the newest malls in Pratunam area. It is near to Pratunam market. Has a few storeys and they sell clothes, accessories, shoes and bags... you can definitely shop to your hearts content!

K.. that's all... hope the above info helps! For further advice, you may seek help from Serene, maomao & Gervynne...

mystic2451

Hi gals.. I need to know the address for Grand China Princess Hotel in Thai, can any of you help?

FYI the address in English is 215 Yaowarat Road, Samphantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand.

Hi Serene... Can i double-confirm with you that the bkk tax is still 500 baht till next year Feb?

Thank you in advance for the help rendered.

Wish everyone on cosycot a nice day!!

sailormoonwt

hey serene ... wow...looks like we hv to be there at the BKK airport on our return at least 3 hrs hor...(to be on the safe side) cos Bangkok r famous for their traffic jams.. but i tink there r some retail shopping to check out at the new BKK airport...so not so bad lah... can walk around there oso..

LY: u mentioned abt the Bo_Bae Mrkt ... where is it?

bloomiey

LY: The taxi driver should know the road name, the only problem is some driver does not know where the hotel is. Best is get a map of your hotel than getting a thai lanugage translation.

dreamer
Some photos of Platinum Fashion Mall shops below. Its located along the main road just outside Pratunam, in between Central World and Pratunam. Quite near to Pantip Plaza.

http://www.bangkokshoppingcenter.com/image/tid/2

elisasutiono

Wow, this forum is still so active. Just came back from Bangkok last month, some updates for you guys who are going.

Stayed in Baiyoke Sky again, this time round 24th floor Junior Suite. Bigger compared to the suite that i was staying (Junior Suite 54th floor) the last time, but, a lot of wasted space. They've a living area, dining area which we do not need it. Decor is a bit old compared to deluxe room. Overall, i still love Baiyoke Sky.

For japanese food lover, you'd love Fuji Restaurant. It's ala carte set meal at half the price in Singapore. Must try: Yakiniku Beef. You can find Fuji Restaurant in MBK and Siam Paragon. For more variety of food, go to the new Suan Lum night market food centre (where the Ferris Wheel is), the food there are yummmmmmyyyy...

Platinum Fashion mall is a MUST go for ladies who likes to shop. We shopped from 11 am to 7 pm, and we have not covered the whole shopping mall. Only managed to cover storey 4,3, and half of 2. Haha....1 thing to note though, you'll need to buy a minimum of 3 piece to get wholesale price.

For those who likes lingerie, i'd recommend Siam Parogon. It has more choices and sizes. Bad news for those who likes BSC, the price went up
. Buy Kyra lingerie is still very cheap there.

Enjoy your trip!

mystic2451

Hi Serene & YanLing.. thanks for providing me the info

Hi Sailormoon.. Bo-Bae Market is located near to Prince Palace Hotel. It is a wholesale garment centre which is famous for jean material clothing with nice embroidery as per mentioned by those who has visited this place.

Hi Sasa.. Care to tell us more about the food centre in Suan Lum NM? What kind of foof can we find there? What is your die-die must try recommendation? Perhaps you can tell us more.. TQ

BTW any gal went to Bug & Bee Restaurant in Patpong area before? Care to share your views on the food there?

sailormoonwt

for those who wanna enj massage .. can try these two which was highly recommended by forum here & i had personally tried both of them the other time i went during March 06. *thumbs up*
- pls book yr appt thru the hotels as they tend to be packed most of the time...esp healthland spa.. its really popular!

Healthland Spa ( Sathorn Road Branch) – Open 9am till 11pm
Address: 120 North Sathorn Rd.
Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500
Telephone: (662) 637 8883 Fax: (662) 634 5353
http://www.healthlandspa.com/home.html

King & I Spa. (Include Pedi/Medicure services)
Address: Sukhumvit Plaza, 212/8 soi 12
Sukhumvit Road Tel: 662-2525248
http://www.thailandfans.com/relax20030609.html
*Advice: To book thru hotel for appt*

Take BTS sky Train to Asok BTS Station E4 – Get out from Times Square Exit, continue walking until u see an overhead bridge, u will see a big sign says “MASSAGE & SPAâ€, turn left at the next small lane

hey LY ... attach e photo which i took at Café Lenotre @ Emporium the other time i went...
the highlights *e` Volute *: a base of chocolate biscuit and a sheet of dark chocolate wrap a layer of chocolate sponge cake, covered by a dome of chocolate-mousse, topped with tea-flavoured creme brulee
429268.jpg

mystic2451

Hi sailormoon, serene & all gals who has just returned from bkk... Care to advice if I can find clothings which material and cutting is similar to DANO or EES brand in sg? Any recommendation?

Other than this, did any of you came across korean-design earrings where the left and the right earring are of different design? If Yes, is the price expensive? Where can I find it? Care to share? Thanks a million once again...

elisasutiono

Hi LY,
You can find Thai style food like fried rice, green curry, tom yum, fried oyster, calamari, roast chicken, etc....So far, all that i've eaten are very nice. But, they have a lot of stalls selling the same stuff, not sure which stalls hubby bought from. Probably might want to try a few. Btw, you might want to avoid nights that have soccer match at dinner time as the place would be very pack. You can hardly find any tables.

Hi Sailormoon,
The Ferris Wheel is 100 bath per person.

For those who are staying at baiyoke, there are stalls selling light snacks at night. Must try: fried small shrimps and pork cutlet (same stall) and pork satay. Yummy!

mystic2451

Hi sasa... thanks for your info on Suan Lum Mkt.

BTW did you shop for bags in Platinum Fashion Mall located on the 5th floor? I realised they have satin/cotton material bag that is similar to NaRaya brand.

Not sure should I head back to NaRaya boutique or to source for such bags in Platinum Fashion Mall...Perhaps lover of such bags can advice on the quality and design between NaRaya and the brands found in Platinum Fashion Mall. Thanks!

sereneli

Hi sailormoon,
yeah, to play safe, think 3 hrs is just nice becos the travelling already takes about 45 mins.

Hi LY and esther,
you are welcome!

LY : Not sure where u can get those clothings, sorry, can't help

elisasutiono

Hi LY,
I did came across some bag shops, but, not really sure of the designs that you're referring to. I saw mostly those wrist bag, but, bigger kind. Not a fan of those bags, never ask for the price ;p

mystic2451

Hi sasa n serene.. thanks for responding even thou you gals did not come across it. I appreciate your help very much! thanks gal.. really lookin fwd to having a gd time there.. keke...

dreamer17

hi sailormoonwt

how do u get to healthland spa? by taxi? i will be staying at Ibis siam...which spa will be more convenient for me to go?

and u mention ask the hotel to make reservation right, can we make ourself instead?

also which massge u try? Aromatheraphhy massage, traditional thai massage or Ayuravedic massage?

thank u

sailormoonwt

Ohaiyo Guys

serene : yah, i tink i better make my way earlier to the airport cos i dun wanna miss my flight ah... anyway i can still do my shopping & snacking around at the new airport mah ... heard they hv lotsa of eateries there wor..

sasa: wow!!! only 100 THB .. *Great* i will sure to make my way up to the ferris wheel~~

Dreamer: well, tat time i took a cab there... as for which spa is more convenient to Ibis Siam, i duno leh...but i noe healthland spa is very popular & highly recommended by forum pple here , tats why i tried... i asked the hotel to make reservation cos some of the thai cant really speak fluent english so i didnt wanna hv any mis-communication...tats why ask the hotel staffs to book on my behalf loh..

tat time i wanna try the aroma massag but fully booked!! *so sad* so i had to take the traditional thai massage instead... wah~~ the "aunties" there reali hv lotsa of strength ah... feel all my bones loosen up after the massage!!!

sereneli

Hi Sailormoon,

Yeap, I also KS, scared late for my flight. So I went to the new airport for my lunch and did a bit of shopping there too keke

mystic2451

Hi sasa & gals in SB.. did any of you get any tourist disct card from MBK centre or Siam Paragon?If yes, did they pass you a truimph voucher of 250 baht? A fren of mine just returned and told me there is such a voucher but she is not sure if I can get the voucher in Siam Paragon... Hope gals who has went to Siam Paragon lately can help!! Thanks...

elisasutiono

Hi Ly,
Yes, i was given tourist discount card in Siam Paragon both time i went there. Do remember to bring along a copy of your passport to obtain that. If i remembered correctly, there were some discount given when u made purchases above 1000 bath, but, not sure if its the voucher that you're referring to.

kenshare

i m back!

LY: the tourist discount card entitles u to a 5 to 10% discount. I got a 5% discount for the lingerie i spent on. not sure if you need to spend a certain amount. I think if pay by cash, the discount is slightly more.

I try the food at Fuji & Natong Seafood..Both are good!! I also try the cheesecake recommended by you girls at Lenotre. Excellent! I love it and its not too ex, i think.

I try the massage, aromatheraphy and thai massage at King & I. Superb! I give it a thumbs up!
I did my nail art at Siam Square for 300 Baht..I think its really beautiful..
Personally, I prefer Siam Square + Platinium Mall compared to MBK ...
Chatuchak mkt is still open..had a good time there...shopping for furniture & household stuff...hehe

For Lingerie, I think Siam Paragon has the most extensive range!

The airport ride from my hotel at Sofitel Central is about half an hour to the airport..costs about 400baht include toll..
From airport plus toll costs less than 300 baht...

girls, enjoy your shopping!!
i bought tons of accessories, shoes, clothes, naraya bags! oh yah..naraya bags at Central has 10% discount once u spend 500baht. its a new branch that is jus open!!

i wan to go back again! sorry for the long post!

kenshare

oh i forgot, i also try the food at airport..
remember to walk further in until about Gates D onwards..the food is cheaper..
i had a bowl of ramen for 200 baht!its really yummy too!!!!

mystic2451

Hi gals... Thanks for the reply

Sasa... are u saying I need not produce the actual passport when applying for the Siam Paragon disct card? i.e. a photocopy will do.

Kenshare... since you went to Platinum Fashion Mall, did you go to the 5th storey to have a look at the bags? Bags which are similar to NaRaya brand are being sold there if I am not wrong, did you happen to check out the price & the quality? I was wondering if I should make a trip to NaRaya or just settle at Platinum Fashion Mall. Hope you can help on this.

Wish you gals a nice day ahead...

kenshare

hi LY
i didnt see the bags that look like Naraya...
But I think its worth to make a trip to naraya cos i not only buy bags, i also bought shoes bags, accessories bag, toiletries bag..spectacles casing, pencil case..haha..so many things hor..

enjoy your trip, come back and share share your loot!!

suetan

hi gals I have been looking ard for tailors that do dressmaking for women, my mum n mil wanna mtm their eg for my wedding.... Am looking for cufflinks as well. Any suggestion?

mystic2451

Hi Kenshare.. thank you for your prompt reply. Care to tell me more about Siam Square? Is it a shopping mall or a place which consists of many shophouses? What can I find in Siam Square? Do you know what time the shops close? I need the info for my itinerary planning... Hope you can revert at your soonest.

mystic2451

oh thank you for your help sasa...

BTW I was wondering did you visit central world plaza (fka world trade centre)? Not sure if they have promotion going on at the moment and whether they have tourist disct card too...

kenshare

hi ly
siam square has many small shops...
its directly opp. Siam Paragon..once u reach the station, u will see a bridge linking across to Siam Square..basically the layout is a square..many things to see and eat...

n i think the clothes there are nicer than MBK..my own opinion and its cheaper too..
its not a mall, rather many small shops in one area..i did my nail art there..its hidden at one corner opp. a magazine stall.

if u r looking for clothes, bag, shoes and hello kitty stuff, this is the place u wan to be...

not sure wat time the shop close though, but i learnt that its always best to go in the morning..cos when i bargain, usually the shopkeeper relents..pantang mah!

mystic2451

Hi Kenshare... thank you for your reply. I have basically decide on the places I'll be going. From the look of my itinerary, i may hve to rush a little. Hopefully my trip there will be a fruitful one!

Thanks to you gals who has helped me along the way. Arigato Gozaimasu!!

sailormoonwt

hey guys!! sailormoon is BACK~~~~

wow wow wow~~~~ Bangkok is reali a City tat never sleeps.. so much of fun , excitment & discoveries for us to go see & experience everytime i go there...& makes me wanna go back there agn!!!!

for those who r planning where to stay or gonna stay at Ibis Siam..well, no worries abt the hotel.. the hotel deco , bedsheets, toilets, rooms are NEW & NICELY-decorated enough for a decent stay... the staffs r reali friendly & professional to make u feel assured staying at Ibis... the only ting is tat the mixer for the showerhead...kinda difficult to control..needs some skills to do tat...taking too long to get hot .. the bkfast spread is normal..noting too fantastic but enough to fill u up for brunch... not to worry as in BKK, u can get food anywhere at those shopping malls.... i reali enj my stay at Ibis Siam... $226 for 4D/3N ... thru asiarooms

I agree with Kenshare tat i prefer Siam Square than to MBK, Central World or even Siam Paragon... plus there more cheap tings & more funky things to see there... its like Taiwan "Si Men Qing" ... funky streets...fashionable stuffs.. its reali a pity tat i only went there the last day & only had 1 hr plus of shopping... & with the little cash i left...theres no way tat i could shop crazily loh...cos some of the shops there dun use VISA/MasterCard wor.. so sad
so i intend to revisit Siam SQ if i gonna go BKK agn!! well, if u guys r going Siam Sq which i reali recommend... rem to rest yr legs & give yrslf some nice cheap icecream treats at iBerry at Siam Square Soi 2 .. 3 scoops for 100 baht.. which is only around $4.80... VERY VERY NICE~~~

JJ Mkrt is still opened & there r new shops selling nice home & deco stuffs as compared to the other time i went.. bought some nice cushions covers there... standby yr shopping bags!!!!!

a reminder for all...dun get too carried away shopping on the last day tat u allow little time back to airport... the whole trip to airport takes around 30-45mins...so its best to allow at least min of 3 hrs before boarding ... we hv to walk reali far to the boarding gate for Tiger Airways as its at the last extreme end of the airport... Gate E9 .. hv to walk at least 15mins...

not to worry tat no food is served in the plane itslf.. the new airport has so many eateries tat u could jus grab a bite before u board the plane!

Laew phob gan mai, Bangkok! (see u again, Bangkok)