Bangkok

stonesix

thanks MaoMao and Yukie,

just booked 2 nites at novotel siam thru gothailand.com, now waiting for their confirmation.

any good thai massage near this Siam?
a fren o fmine say healthland at Sathorn very good, anyone try out there?

cos this is my first time going to bangkok, so a bit a sua-ku lar...

so i stay at this decent hotels first, and go there to check out other hotels nearby if got time.

so from the hotel availability during deepavali and hari raya, i think BKK is safe to go right...

wennie

i going to bangkok next month,a bit worry about safety problem ,anyone just come back from there,how is the situation now?

thanks for the info..

mao_mao

stonesix,
u might wan to try King & I massage too....price is slightly expensive than healthspa...I have not been there before but read alot of good comments abt them in one of the thread here...

Wennie,
Dun worry,,,its still quite safe lor..try not to go out too late at nite cos their streets qute dark lor..try to bring a small touchlight withyou....

wedding9999

Hey, juz came back from BK.

I paid 400 baht from new airport to hotel & vs (incl 50 baht airport srv charge & 60 baht toll).

Even I go by meter, the meter read 300 baht excluding toll & airport srv charge.
I need to pay 50 baht airport srv charge from airport to hotel. Do u all also need to pay ?

How come u all juz paid 250 baht (incl toll) ? U all no need to pay airport srv charge ?

axedmurderer

anybody care to share their experience in baiyoke sky? im staying there in dec and would like to know where to get some cool t-shirts and jeans..

bloomiey

ian matthews: Pratunam market is juz below Baiyoke sky. You can buy lotsa T-shirts from there cheaply.
Take note that Baiyoke sky have smoking/non-smoking rooms, they might juz throw you a smoking-room even though you booked non-smoking and also turn on and test all their equipment to make sure they are in working condition cos some stuff usually spoil. Sometimes toilet bowl choked or basin choked which is disastrous. Change room immed if there is any prob cos their room service takes very long to come or don't even come despite several complaints made in a day.

yukie

Hi wedding9999, where did u board the cab front? Is 400baht a fix charge? Me oso waana knw how come some of u only paid 250baht? Me goin bkk next wk... wanna gather more info on transport...

bloomiey

if i am not wrong the service charge is payable if you take your taxi from arrival hall or prob someone help you get the cab. If you get your own cab or prob from departure hall, then there isn't any service charge.

yukie

oh... if we took meter taxi fm airport to hotel will the driver anyhow charge us the toll amt? Hmmm... don knw the taxi will bring us ard the world b4 arriving @ the htl...

criz

Hi there. Anyone can advice where I can buy bigger size ladies office/fashion wear in Bangkok. I remember I saw it somewhere in the forum but now seem not able to locate it.

mocha_lover

yukie,

usually they dont charge by the meter to hotel from airport, they usually say eg 300BHT (a whole sum), excluding toll amt. Toll amt is fixed, there will be a station and someone will collect the amount from the driver.

and they wont bring you ard to the hotel, maybe they could have gone the long route instead of short route, which means you will reach hotel later and have less then for shopping.

bloomiey

Fixed price taxi won't bring you around the world. But some metered taxi will, depending on how honest the driver is... Not only from airport to hotel but from shopping to shopping. Esp when you travelling from Suan Lum/Chatuchak/Chinatown/ChaoPraya to main town area Sukumvit and vice versa. At most you pay 350baht for round the world trip

dazednconfused

Taxi cabs are plentiful in busy Bangkok! There is also the BTS. So, really, you don't have anything tp worry about when it comes to transportation while you're vacationing in BKK!

ikukosandy

Anyone of you stay The Plaza Hotel in bangkok?
I got this hotel free for 3nite.
dunnoe convenient to access the shopping mall or bts train?

bloomiey

apple: AirAsia is 1 of the cheapest budget airline, other than that, you have to go find other budget airline with promotions. When you going bangkok?

dazednconfused

Anyone stayed at the Bossotel before? It's situated right next to the Shangri La near the Chao Praya River. Mostly good reviews from sawadee.com...

yukie

hee... i'm bk fm bkk last wk... gots lots of stuff!!!

Taking BTS is better than cab! It save us lots of time. For example fm my htl(Arnoma) if take cab will take abt 30-45min. We took BTS fm Chit Lom (jus round the coner of Arnoma) to MO Chit where chatuchak is only 15min...

Had a bad experience wif the cab on the 1st day so we gave up taking cab. We wanted to go for dinner @ SomBoon seafood n the 1st taxi driver took us to Somboondee seafood. I say tis is not the place as i've seen the place fm internet b4. He insist its the same. I went to hv a look @ the menu n a crab cos 850 baht!!! Some1 fm the restaurant indroduce himself as the boss n say tis is the rest i'm looking for. I say i'm looking for Somboon n not Somboondee! We told the cab to sent us bk to the htl. We took another cab fm the htl. The htl staff told us tat he can't gurantee tat the driver will bring us to the rite rest, we hv to try our luck. Sure enough, the 2nd cab took us to Somboondee again... b4 he turn in, i stop him n say no. Not tis 1. We sure him the map n insist he bring us to where we want. Finally we get to eat the famous curry crab recommended by the other forums...

sorry huh... so lo so... :p

yukie

can give Suan Luan nite mkt a miss if u don hv much time... nothing much n stuff r abit more x than chatuchak...

If u find something @ chatuchak tat u like, do buy... cos u will not find similar stuff(except jeans, bermuda n belts) in another stall...

got cheap working wear @ Pratunam complex... min 3pcs to get disc. Bought 3 skirt @ SGD6 each! Belts r oso cheaper here...

Bought stuff @ chatuchak r more fashionable...

sailormoonwt

hi Yukie ... tks for sharing so much with us .. very informative

jus wanna ask u...i intend to go back to Suan Luan Night Bazaar to take a look at home & deco stuffs as there r some very unique tings there the other time i went in march 06... do u still see those shops around?

oh yes...abt the curry crab..seems so yummy! do u hv the exact address? which forum recommend tat? i m now compiling a list of nice food to dig out during my BKK trip end nov..

zenn

FYI jetstar havin promo for next yr but after tax each person is around $127. not super super good deal.

Gals, wats the usual price for air tix to bkk?

zenn

<font color="ff6000">apple</font>, $254 for 2 pax rite? ya i notice they increased tax.

<font color="119911">serene</font>, how much after tax?

sereneli

Hi Zenn,

total price paid :

2 adults = SGD 198.00
Taxes and Surcharges = SGD 146.00
Service Fees = SGD 30.00

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Total Price = SGD 374.00

but I don't think it includes the airport tax in bangkok

foreverhappy

Yah 254 for 2 pax

Now i got a problem not sure whether they will email me cos i just book but i did not managed to capture and print the voucher. try calling tem but they are busy.

foreverhappy

ok let's calculate this way, 254-60=194
60 is the bkk airport tax.
then -4 then =190. compared to the last time i took air asia which is 124. its slightly expensive by 66 but i still feel its quite cheap compare to no promotion. Mayb yah ling can advise.

I am still on hold now leh. cannot get hold of them.

foreverhappy

currently I am on the on hold reservation which required to paid within 48 hours but i did not get hold of the reference no. will they ask me to pay if i did not pay up later after 48 hours.

so angry now the page just close off

dreamer17

anyone stay at bangkok palace before? coz i stay at eastin last time and now eastin is fully book...just wan to find out hows their room and buffet breakfast

jessi

hi dreamer, have u tried booking eastin from another website? i had booked eastin for my dec trip. tried booking on asiarooms.com but it was fully booked then i tried on directrooms.com and managed to book it.

dreamer17

hi jessi

i book thru agency for free and easy.

5d4N by SQ stay at bangkok palace @ S$425 inclusing all taxes and airport transfer...goin on 14 dec..

i have check out to bk airline tix and hotel separate but i feel it comes to abt the same or abit cheaper somemore no airport transfer..

u bk which airline and how much per pax for air tix?

mylene_tan

i have just read from new paper 11 nov 06 mentioning that JJ market 500 stalls out of 1000 were ruin due to the contract thingy. I will be going to bangkok Jan but was worried about the market will it still be open by then... Disappointed just book tickets not even one wk and hear this kind of news...

Lene

mylene_tan

Hi apple,

where did u read it from straits times or new paper? U mean they will move to somewhere else ah? i realli hope so loh. so i can cont with my shopping plan...

dreamer17

hi miko

i book at Wingo Travel...so far all my bkk trip i book with them...3 yrs bk was cheaper...i went by SQ morning flight back is nite fliht only 350 for 5d4n include all tax...tis year abit more ex...

so far they are still the cheapest agency for bkk free and easy