Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

looking forward to my holiday end of this mth, yipee

he he... did not go for holiday... went to US for work... super tired now...

he he... everyone taking leave on CNY... perhaps we should try to do a gathering? ;p

meirong, are the CNY stores up in CHinatown alreadt?

wow angie.. US! i also wanna go hehe. cos i got many things i wanna buy from there lol. ya long distance sure tired. must take time to rest lor.

ok lets do hse visit n gathering on cny
the stalls are up at chinatown le, my friend went

Yap Angie, the stalls are up liao. Not very crowded there yet, maybe cos it's still early. Hope you can get over the jet-lag soon.

Kevin, your wife come back then your turn to travel ar? You two must miss each other so much during this period then...

i wonder when is the shops in front of the entrance of our estate be ready? i would like to find out what's going on with the delay...

oh ya, me hope to hv a clinic
then if my kids sakit, at least no need to walk so far. me went to the clinic opp. JP John little
think blk 69x

thanks thanks meirong and valarie... i will go visit chinatown soon ;p we are thinking of hanging angbao on our christmas tree to maximize our investment! ;p

hi neighbours.

NEA officers were around our estate on Tuesday. Apparently there have been a few cases of dengue fever in our estate recently.

so do take the ncessary precautions.

shawn

Thanks Shawn. Will take note. Me kanna dengue before. that's why never like to hv plants :P
The aching pain is still fresh in my mind >_<

i notice the singtel hello shop had opened in jurong point. i kind of like the design of the outlet, quite funky table arrangements also.. ha ha

Anyone encountered an uncle come knocking at your door asking you to change your main gate hinges?

Saying that your hinges are faulty and he can just remove it within 10 secs?

Showing you the newspaper cutting of a homeowner falling victim to a breakin with his whole gate remove with the lock intact?

Hi Just &amp; Jo,

Yah think the uncle came before also asking but my hubby says not interested at all shoo him away..another salesman came asking us if we want install security alarm or not find it waste of money and seems not trustworthy LOL

Hi Just &amp; Jo,

Ya i come across both the hinges uncle and the alarm uncle too. Didn't took any of the offer.

I think if the hinges uncle is right, then maybe we should refer this to HDB and see what they say, maybe to change the hinges to a better grade for us. ha ha ...

i saw what the uncle did.. they change it to a thicker hinges presumably better quality ba... so it's harder to break (i think).. my neighbour did it so i think it's all about frighten you a bit into changing it, but in the end it's all the same. It's like choosing between a padlock or a U-lock .. hee

Corinne,

My neighbour at the other side facing the 2nd staircase had tons of plants outside, it's like walking through bukit timah nature reserves... they had plants outside their unit, by the corridor side all the way to the lift area, even had plants on the 2nd staircase, ceiling and door. i wonder if it's lawful as it is like blocking a fire hazard escape route. i can easily count 15 bit pots there, hope no mosquitoes breeding there.

justin
the uncle is half-correct -

he's right that our metal gate hinge caps can be easily smashed cos it's made of pvc (or some non-metal material)

i did refer this issue to our service centre when moved in and was given this assurance (+ a demonstration by the mr tan) -
although any crook can smash that metal gate hinge cap, they can't remove it simply because
1) although the cap is smashed,
2) the hinge is not loose
3) the crook still needs to lift the metal gate, and cannot simply pull it out
4) because if you check your metal gate top right and left corner, there's a protuding piece on your gate that inserts into the door frame when closed, hence preventing anyone from pulling the gate
5) the gate can only be removed when swing-open
6) and this can only happen when your metal gate is unlocked

in a nutshell, those uncles are trying to scare you into buying that metal caps. if our metal gates are so easily removed by smashing those existing caps, half our units now would have been gate-less, haha

however, if that $80 metal cap replacement can buy you some assurance (peace of mind), why not

Hi Guys,

Thanks for the info.
I think if the gate really have problem, we should ask HDB to rectify for us.

Kevin,

The uncle funny lei, at first he said 3rd floor both corner units also changed the hinges and he pointed to HengYuan's unit. So i pick up my mobile and called HengYuan on the spot to check and he told he that he did not change.

I told uncle that i just called the 3rd floor unit and mentioned they did not change the hinge and he keep quite for a bit and said he must have remembered the wrong block. 0_o

Just &amp; Jo,

Wah, the uncle must be taken aback by your answer.. ha ha..

He also use the same tactics at me saying and pointing some units that had also changed the hinges.

Ya! I met the uncle and he told me my neighbours all changed the hinges. He said it costs $15 to change, so I thought $15 to play safe isn't a lot. But when I wanted to pay him after he's done, then I realised I heard wrongly...it's $15 per hinge! Too bad la..what's done is done.
The security alarm uncle I haven't meet before.

Count me in for gathering too! Heh...

Well today the ppl from NEA came knocking on everyone's door, and what I heard from them is that there are about 44 cases of Dengue cases in the Boon Lay (Block 200+) area. They said that they will also be conducting night raids. So for all, please look into your house to see if there is any stagnent waters around, just to prevent any troubles.

May all have a Happy New Year.

Just, I've changed the bottom 6 hinges as advised by the uncle. $90 in total.

Ok Henry. Thank you for your warning. I don't have any potted plants at home, but we'll be careful to keep the house dry.

oh ya i wont be home till fri too.. so they cant check also leh hahaha. but i've made sure no stagnant waters ard cos not at home for abt a week.

we got the letter for the mozzie check too

maybe shd ask them to come during weekend when most of us are ard

Woot.. Toto also not so zun...
Just now when i stepped hm not even for 5 mins, NEA pple came knocking at my door.

The check was very brief, think not even 3 mins and they are done.

Heard from 1 of them that for those neighbours who are always not at hm. They will send reminder or notice. If still unable to get you guys, they will open your door with the presence of police officers to go in and check.

Dunno how true....

Ryan, ya lo...Somemore I've painted the gate but luckily the colour difference is not very obvious. I try not to think about it and psycho myself that it's really safer.

I also received the notice last night, stuck to my gate when I came back. They're coming tonight again.

ryan.. ya i went back mom hse cos hb on reservist for 2 wks. alone at home sian la. go mom hse got nice dinner, great wind and ppl to chat with.. shiok! haha. now half months at new hse le where will home sick hehe.

all the mozzie letters are stucked to the door and not thru letterboxes?

just thot of it.. wonder if ppl see many notices on my gate and will know that there is no one at home.. hope no robberies sia nor police n NEA ppl entering by force

just got home from dinner appt with fren
saw the NEA memo for hse visit
sianz, felt like finding a new job, preferably with overseas posting, anyone got lobang