Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

Hi...long time no post already..

anyway need help here

Do anyone know where can i get sofa cushion foam and also the cover??My new home sofa cover is now really getting dirty and wanted to get a replacement for that..as for the foam,it seem a bit cheap, wanted to get a more firm type.

ya, now is called MP command..

anyway we longer build pw cage (that's chicken feet).. now we build pw camp with signalers (cctv and communcations), and also watch towers, command post and of course pw cage..

According to today's paper...

Zhou's Kitchen - Gourmet Buffet (First Buffet Outlet) opens at Jurong Point middle of December. Located at #03-28

Ajisen & Botejyu - 2-in-1 Japanese Restaurant opens at Jurong Point middle of December. Located at #03-38/38A

wow got so many good food in the new extension ar. not bad. i hope they hv a cold storage.. most important.

cold storage ex leh.. i just went to west coast plaza yesterday and the things very much ex..

just for example, a pair of sweet corn cost like $1 at ntuc and it cost $1.50 at cold storage. ha ha

ryan
was @ west coast plaza for its soft launch yesterday too, abt 3-6pm, patronised the cold storage. agreed cold storage generally charges higher, but it has wider variety of groceries not found in sheng siong & fair price ...

spent a fair bit @ the cold storage, like the idea that it accepts credit card payment & is currently having promotion on shell petrol for every $30 spent.

btw for a pair of sweet corns, price depends on its origin. From malaysia, $1. From Thailand, $1.20. From Indonesia, $1.50. (origin indicated on its packaging, unsure the origin for cold storage's)

eagerly waiting for the ¶¦Ì«·á outlet at JP extension. no longer need to go far far to indulge in СÁý°ü, heehee

sore knees now after 'test-driving' my new bike this afternoon with almost 20km cycling from east coast park to very-near-changi before turning back with bad weather threatening *pain*

ya cold storage ex but hor it has some stuffs tat ntuc , sns and sheng siong doesnt. esp ingredients for my tiramisu! hahah. now u noe why i want a cold storage there

kevin.. how do u get ur bike there? by cab? the cab fare must be terrible.. sore knees but gd exercise la. get wife to cook some nice food and all pain will be forgotten

actually realised for all the supermarket chains ie. fairprice, sheng siong, cold storage and so on, each has some items which are sold cheaper than others. for instance, i get my cheapest cereal & seafood @ sheng siong, fruit juice/bacon @ cold storage, vege/meat @ fairprice, basic necessities @ giant & so on....

Kevin!! Think you can be named shopping king!! I don't even step into the supermarket unless its buying for my pets! =X
lolz!!

thanks Kevin for the shopping tips!!
me auntie oso must kudos to u liao

u sound like a perfect family man leh!
Great catch for ur spouse :-D

haha kevin.. frm JW to east coast.. i dont tink wil be just sore knees! :P

wa ur info is gd leh.. i must note it down hehe. which cold storage do u go to ar?

Thanks Diana, val
I’m just another hubby like every other guy here in the forum

Besides the usual orchard road-shopping, do spent considerable amount of time in supermarket, so do note the price differences, anyway, the product prices vary differently with different brands. I can only vouch for those brands that I’m familiar with. Presume these supermarket chains clinch their food and product supplies at different rates, and with different profit margins, hence different price.

While fairprice still holds a bigger share of my expenditure, do note that some of their products are considerably priced higher than others. For instance, I can get my favourite POST cereals at least $1.50 cheaper at Sheng Siong nearby, and do realise cold storage daily products are relatively cheaper than fairprice too.

Haha, sound like an auntie now, trying to stretch every single dollar. Heehee. However shopping at supermarket can be a tiring chore (like at JP fairprice which is packed and queues are long) or simply like a stroll along orchard road (haha, that’s an exaggeration) but at a premium, as rightfully pointed out by someone previously.

Val
Grace drove, so we squeezed the 2 bikes on board and set off to east coast

Perhaps can try it one day, when well-rested to cycle along those park connectors, can start from JW, then Chinese garden, clementi, kent ridge park, hortpark, lavender park, marina, east coast and oh well, changi airport, turn west-bound, pasir ris, punggol, sembawang, woodlands, and you guess it, back in the west, and find the way to nature reserves in bt timah and bt batok then JW again!! Haha

Supposedly, the NPARK master plan is to connect all parks, big or small, in Singapore and turn our city-state into a city in the garden, that’s cool.

And val, I patronise the cold storage @ HV
Understand there’s a new outlet (and high tech too) at the basement of fusionopolis, can visit it one of these days
As for fairprice, prefer the boon lay outlet, not crowded at all, and short queues

wowowowow!! oso BAO houseworks. That's so sweet lor!
(not tt those never/seldom do HW not sweet. just not as sweet. hahahaha)

kevin, u r rite. really got stretch e dollar. now thinking of changing job oso give me the chill. time really so bad now? sigh...

Ya, Diana
Can only see depressing news daily on paper/TV. Those investors everyday have to pray hard, then lehman mini bonds, now pinnacle notes….what more to come, even our town councils also affected, haha, no $ to renovate estate with rumour of election

PM could even 'joke' abt the lowering of electricity tariff in Jan-Mar 09 as the only probable good news that we can receive in coming months. Good that they are bringing forward the budget 09 to jan, before CNY. Hope for more goodies, but feel marginalised that the govt looks at your hse type ie. 5-room and decide to give you less for utilities rebates. Gosh, some of us had no choice but to make do with 5-room cos hdb demands outstripped supply last yr, and ballot number was terrible. Would love to own a 4-room instead, hai.

Hey folks,

Which of the following curtain contacts is affordable yet workmanship good. I saw in other thread recommendations for
Jimmy textiles? J&S? M&L?

any advice? photos?
which one better?

oh yah. looking at kelvin's advices. i realy must kudo u.. my HTB knows nothing abt domestic & dun patronize singaporebrides or renotalk, everything from reno to wedding research to finding solemiser and wedding rings are done by me..sometimes research or contacts dun work out.. kanna scolding some more!

sad life to be an IT graduate lady!

so curtains contact anyone? pls help!

Hi kevin, thanks for the tip! did not recall seeing this sunset tavern place.. is it the one with the pool/billard table? we like to go to the HongKong Cafe and the restaurant with the steamboat and grill buffet.. which is your fave restuarant along that stretch?

BTW, if anyone wants to buy a second-hand bicycle rank for their car, let me know. We have one which we have only used a few times before our bikes got stolen.

ya, was wondering where's this sunset tarven, dun recall seeing it. perhaps have a closer look during the next visit.

i also like the HK cafe, simply like HK mango dessert. heehee
no particular fav, but heard good review abt Peaberry & Pretzel dessert and its german delight
http://www.peaberryandpretzel.com.sg/index.html

the bicycle rank can take 2 bikes? was considering one before we decided to just dump them inside.

i like the HK cafe's mocha ribs, did not try their mango dessert.. looks quite sinful ;p

yes the bicyle rack can take 2 bikes..if you want to take a look, can PM me...

Wow, coe crashed to rock bottom @ $2 for small cars category
Signs of softening demand even when the festive season/yr-end bonus is around the corner – really in for hard time ahead loh

$2???
can't buy a packet of chicken rice leh!
so cheap huh...

but mthly overhead of a car is daunting de lor...
sigh, stick to hubby's company van now.
free fuel somemore :P

looks like Jurong Point extension is opening soon... i can see the shops started renovation ... by December should see many more shops liao...

not a great start to the week

stomach upset last night, visited the washroom till lost count, must be that few pieces of cheescakes (for supper), suay

this morning, noticed (heard) that (fans in) my a/c compressor still spinning after switched off the fan coil (a/c unit). had to switch off the main switch (just outside the mbr side window). had to arrange the mitsubishi guys to come down to repair, was told some motherboard (in compressor) might be faulty, what luck

hardly could talk this morning, terrible sore throat after a sunday afternoon of karaoke ...

hope everyone has a good start to the week.

hi kevin, sorry to hear that your day was not that wonderful... well, at least, you had fun over the weekend, karaoke and cheesecake ;p hope that your week will get better and your aircon will be fixed soon

A new maybank branch will be opening at the new extension by this year, was told by maybank.

The new G2000 at JP is giving a promotion 15% off + $20 voucher for $120 above spending. Only @ JP outlet.

Hope this bring cheers to you this week.

Poor Kelvin! Wish u a speedy recovery!
will they repace a new compressor unit?
they should leh, so new oredi give problem

hey kelvin. hope you are better now?

meanwhile is anyone keen in renting out 1 of their bedrooms for a period of 2 weeks to 2 indian guys? they are actually new managers joining my company. they would need a room to stay from 15 dec onwards till end of this year.

if you are interested, or know of someone who does please let me know. thanks.

shawn

Hi Everyone!

Got married over the weekend and now back to work but soon will be flying to Aus for a trip. Feel free to visit me after mid Dec.

Congratulation, Meirong!!
Last weekend sure a good date to get married.
Lots of wedding dinners invite :D

Enjoy ur honeymoon!!

Ya, i also saw a couple of wedding cars at the estate. don't know which one is Meirong's .. hee hee. I happen to have another friend at my block getting married the last weekend too.

Good date huh..

Thanks Diana, Ryan and April.
I also heard it was a hot date from my bridal studio. I'll see more neighbours soon after I've settled down. My hb's also eager to meet more friends. heh..

hey, meirong
which part of australia u both going?

mine last time went to gold coast... during their winter time... siao! :P

I'm going to Brisbane, Sydney and Tasmania tomor.
Now summer leh, but I heard it'll be cool at night. Looking forward to it.

thanks angie, diana & shawn, for ur concern, well recovered now.
shawn, hope u got someone to help u with the room rental

was busy & anxious last few days helping my dear to prepare for her driving test, glad that she passed it yesterday, at 1st attempt

the a/c came & repaired the compressor today, still within 1yr warranty, so FOC, but understand from the technican that these days, the a/c not so 'durable' as compared to older days, so after 1 yr, have to pay for any fault, even the so-called 5yr warranty for compressor does not include glitch in motherboard in it

meirong, enjoy ur honeymoon & take note of the temp diff at night
enjoyed my stay @ brisbane few yrs back

what a waste, diana, to spend your time @ gold coast in winter
or was that intended, haha, to prevent ur hubby from bikini-gazing