Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

Yah... now i also need to move in before pple alight coz pple behind keep pushing me and stare at me for not moving!

why is there a policy to return trays but not this Q problem at SMRT, isn't this more obvious to vistors about these terrible social behaviour. I don't think is right to say IT'S Singaporeans behaviour but as a whole coz many are foreign workers too!

Wow, that's scary. I'm currently at Jurong East and the train that arrive in the morning still have some space if not wait a train or two will be able to get up. I always thought Boon Lay will be better cuz passengers can get up first. Guess I'm wrong. =(

Ryan, you just inspired me to get our own christmas tree too!! Totally didn't think about it till you mentioned. Hehe!! Happy, can have own christmas tree!!

Hee, i am quite excited to get our first christmas tree..

I was surprised initially too, i thought being tyhe first station the situation should be better, however i was wrong and sometimes i could not even board the train at the first station. Gosh!

tried my 1st walk from Boon Lay MRT to our block ytd. Not too bad, done it within 10 min with my boy dragging his feet, saying, mummy, my feet going to broken already :P

And oh my, the stn is really BUSY. so crowded! almost lost my way when walking from stn to JP.
the bus interchange is a horror, long Q everywhere :P can foresee my tough time ahead...sigh...

actually 10 min walk is pretty far...still need to cross a big road. i guess have to take a bus to interchange. Not sure if the bus is crowded as well. But if it rains heavily, is not feasible to walk 10 min under the rain as there is hardly any shelter.

very farnie. i thought JW is an ulu place to stay, very out of place, labelled by most pple. but how come so crowded. is it foreign workers forming bulk of the crowd?

at 1st wanted to take feeder bus, but gave up when saw e LONG Q at bus stand. sigh...
think the crowd is formed mainly by PRs or work permit ppl since JW got lots of factories & offices.

though 10min of walk is rather siong, esp when me still sling my bb gal on my shoulder & back, but at least I'm in control of e speed. no need to wait & squeeze. think if rain, then take bus bah... btw, only can take bus 242 is it?

diana, no idea. i not moved in yet. haha and not that familiar here.

i also duno which hawker centre nearby is nice to eat? Anyone any recommendation?

diana,

in the morning the buses to interchange are all jammed pack with people too. As long as it's peak hour, you see crowd almost everywhere. There is no escape.

rumi,

sometimes, i goes to seng siong there to eat at the coffee shop. There is less crowd, the food is decent and quite affordable.

thanks ryan, is it walking distance or must drive? safe to walk alone?

anyway been to the 24 hrs drive-in macdonalds at JW? is it very far coz it seems far from the map.

rumi

the mc drive thru is actually @ taman jurong, not too near, but shouldnt be far if u drive from our estate, i'd say under 10min

that's a nearer mc @ geh pok, but not a drive thru, more of a walk thru

n there is a bigger sheng siong @ taman jurong if u plan to drive thru to pick up a mc meal

as for the sheng siong near us, it's just a stone's throw away (but u've to throw that a bit harder), easily a ten min walk to cross the junction, walk by the heavy traffic road, inhale some exhaust before u hit the sheng siong

JW was an ulu place, a decade ago, heehee
since then, this estate has seen tremedous growth in terms of housing units, coupled with the factories, undergrad and army boys.

to worsen matter, the JW extension and factory workers have to use the boon lay mrt st & bus int for their only means of transportation. so everyone converges @ boon lay, so u'll see hell of crowd whether at mrt platforms, bus interchange or route to JP, esp when the JP expansion is undergoing.

coincidentally, transport minister announced yesterday that the boon lay mrt extension will open on 28 feb 09, then we will see lesser crowd on our platforms since they will board earlier and alight later than us. that's gd news to our JW extension residents who now have to use transfer at the bus interchange.

in addition, with the JP expansion due for completion next yr, our new a/c basement bus interchange (below JW) will be a more comfortable place, or at least we wont see the hordes of pple anymore, at least not on the ground level, haha

april

was captivated by the loquacious parrots @ bird park yesterday, esp one particular that mimicked the car reversing sensor beeping. immediately my thought turned to urs, do urs mimic too

hi kevin

theres a faster way to the sheng siong near us.

cross road to temple.
beside it got a field.
go across to the end.
then another field.
then at end of field. the right hand side there is a path along the canal.
climb up the *slope*
u will be in the heavy vehicle park
walk a bit u should see a side entrance straight into the coffe shop area.

shawn

know this shortcut route thru' the heavy vehicle carpark, but dislike using it cos if i'm pushing trolley to hold all those sheng siong bags, more difficult to push along this route.

the pavement beside the main road is less taxing

hee hee... planning to visit the marina barrage, but knowing us... it will be super crowded at least for the first few months during the weekends, so perhaps will wait a while more? ;p if you go, do share with us whether it is nice or not

Yup, Angie
Would be super super crowded on wkends, and it only opens at 10am (if I remember correctly) on wkends, so late
And with merely abt 90 parking lots (that¡¯s their fine intention for a clean and green Singapore) to urge visitors to take public transport, surely it¡¯ll be cramp down there @ our latest water icon.

Hee!! You went to the bird park!? Yeah love parrots a whole lot, mine mimic but just the daily things he see. Like how my dad scold him for being noisy, he'll mimic in a low voice my dad use and nod his head too. My ger is funnier, she'll use her toes to point elsewhere and mimic my dad's scolding, most of the time she point at the male so its like not her fault. Damn cute!

Off day so brought my dear to the bird park, almost two decades since I last stepped into it loh, great to go there to stroll ard, esp when admission was FOC, heehee

So ur pair talks a lot? Better dun disturb my sleep on wkends ah, or else I shoot them with catapult from my window loh

Kevin,

The JP expansion are supposed to be completed by now, but apparently it got delayed a little and should open in the next few weeks. No need wait till next year. NTUC Xtra Hypermart will open at the new expansion by this year as mentioned before.

The apartments on top of the expansion will be completed at another phase.

However, is the new SAFRA resort adjacent to JP opening next year? It looks monsterly huge, if it's as good as it looks, maybe can apply for Safra card

Talking about coincidence of the Boon Lay expansion, they choose to reply to my feedback the same day the reports came out. I guessed they was holding to my feedback for this day. ha ha

Wow april, you have parrots! Are they very big size? The way you describe them makes them so cute.
I intend to get chinchilla when I move in.
Anyone else here with pets?

Just few days back, April oredi gave me idea to keep 1 pair of Chinchillas to keep my dear occupied @ home, easier to rear than doggie, for a start
N April¡¯s receiving hers soon,
now with meirong, Seems like we can form a Chinchilla community here, haha

Ryan
While the construction of the JP expansion may complete by yr-end, seriously doubt whether the shops can be ready (maybe staring @ a half-empty JP expansion), looking @ CNY period for the shops to be renovated and ready for official opening

Chins are shy but if you give them more attention, they look forward to play with you! So cute!
Really? Kevin & April, you're getting chins? Good good! Can have chins play session next time. Looking forward to it. Come to think of it, someone at 678A #11 have chins too. I can see the cage at my corridoor. I wonder if the owner is Diana's encounter in the lift...

Ya, probably getting Chinchilla as Christmas present for my dear, can put it in sock, hung under a Christmas tree, haha

Considering whether to get just one or a pair, any advice?

Btw, april is having a mini zoological gathering @ her place loh *scary*,
With the newcomers chinchilla, she¡¯ll have no less than 3 pet species
And not to mention she¡¯s harbouring thought of getting a doggie, haha

this reminds me of a old friend who used to keep exotic animals in his house like snakes, lizards, spiders etc... quite scary to visit his place. LOL

Hehe!! Love pets mah! They are my life. =P
My pair is suphur crested cockatoos, medium size parrots, did thought of getting a baby macaw but I very considerate for my new neighbours loh. And big size need big cage so we putting the idea on hold.

Doggie wise also considering, move in liao see how we cope with the little darlings then decide.

I have two cockatoos and a fat cat moving in with us and also a pair of chinchilla we are going to adopt from hubby's friend. Going to be mini zoo, hee!! Can drop by play with my parrots, they are attention seekers. Only my cat is grumpy and antisocial, lolz.

Kevin, don't worry lah only first few days noisy. They are more or less trained to wake up late unlike other birds. I was at my place on Sat, did I see you or your neighbours? Saw a couple going up to your floor leh.

Good morning everyone!

Hi Kevin, I'm planning to get one chin 1st and see how my hb and I cope with it. If it's a piece of cake, we'll bring the chin back to the shop for pairing. Went to Serangoon's House of Chins few months back to see see and play with the chins. They're really so adorable that it's really tough for us to hold back and not to buy it on the spot.
Hey April, I would love to visit your mini-zoo! Hehe...Probably after I've setttled in so can have more time to visit neighbours.

*yawn*

have been harbouring thought of injecting more life into our home, not baby though, haha

but procrastinate cos' concern over time and effort needed, well, lazy la, heehee... so did consider fish in tank, good to admire, but lack that physical touch, although u can argue u do 'touch' them while cleaning the tank, used to keep a tank full of fishes when very young...

as for cats and dogs, hmm... not prepared yet, so looking at chinchillas or perhaps hamsters, adorable and manageable. understand there'll be an exhibition on pets this mid-nov @ expo, can drop by see see, free admission

meirong
perhaps will drop by the hse of chins too this wkend as will be dining @ chomp chomp

april
hse of chins, haha
hope u dun mind if we drop by to 'see & play with the chins'

april
so it was u ah
wasnt paying attention to other lift passengers except noted few workers, was in deep thought over 'what for lunch' after coming back from mkt (u could see our loaded trolley)
my dear was suggesting (after u and the workers alighted on same floor) that u might be the 'parrots-owner' cos i mentioned to her (at bird park) that we have a pet-lover neighbour who keeps parrots and many more ...

Hehe, yeah was us. Next time will say Hi! =P

Chins are relatively easy to manage, just make sure they are used to the local heat or else you'll have to aircon all day long. Fan doesn't help much cuz they don't sweat and we feel cool from fan cuz of the moisture that evaporate from our skin. Aircon allow the chins to have thicker and more beautiful coat but its not a must have I guess.

I used have a chin and I let him sleep in my room at night for the aircon, really have to sacrifice quality sleep loh cuz chins are known to be active at night. He was running around the cage all night, digging on his litter, scraping food, argh, impossible to sleep for first few nights but I got used to it and become a pig. Lolz!

They don't smell much cuz they don't drink much. If you guys can pee tray train them, it'll be lots easier to work with. Poo poo wise nothing much to worry, its so small and dry like bigger version of hamster's poo, can just pick it up with tissue and throw away if they poo outside the cage.

Keeping chins can train our reflexes, they run really fast and need skill to catch them back to the cage after letting them out for exercise.

Can all come see my pets when we move in, see my parrot chase my cat. Hehehe!!

april, sounds interesting... would like to visit your pets someday but there is no need for me to ask for your unit eh? i can just listen my way up to your house. hee

hey april,

i read that chinchillas had the tendency to spray their urine defensively when they feel under threats

ur one does that? lol

Lolz, yeah sure can hear the noise to my house. Chins don't urine much leh, they are suppose to be desert animals. Some do poo alot more when stressed, the one I had used to keep have a whole trail of poo after him when he first explored the house but eventually he got more confident and less poo liao. I ever hold one chin who is a little timid, she shed her fur when held by strangers! She don't struggle or bite, just found my black tee with a big patch of white fur after carrying her. Some chins are also known to be frighten to death if they are not used to thunder storms and other loud noises. They can be quite fragile.