Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

hey ryan, did you receive the flyer from Ikea? They are selling x-mas trees and decor

Hi Angie,

Yea i received... Looks good but dunno whether the quality is good or not.. cos i intend to keep it for years ahead..

i bought a lamp light from Ikea, left it on the living room.. think switch on for 2 or 3 times only so far... last week the body frame cracked for no reason. Me and my wife was just next to it when we hear the crack sound... poor quality heh

Hi Corrine,

Yes i did too. and i had already feedback it .. i wonder how much interest do they really pay attention to our feedbacks ha ha

Hi Ryan,

The gathering was great but due to miscalculation, my living room was packed till most of the guests were left standing.

I was thinking from previous gathering that guests tend to come in batches on different timing but instead mine came together almost the same time.

And the first couple to arrive was..... Kevin and Wife. they pop by to say hi and tour around the house.

Hi Kevin,

Sorry, food was not here yet when you arrived. :p

feedback form ? from letter boX?

any1 having problem with ants? They seem to be anywhere. My parents told me is the weather but it is not that wet mah.

not a lot but maybe 2 - 3 but u can see them crawling ard

me!
i've ants in the house too.. they are crawling along the skirtings in the living room to the bedroom..

bought ant traps, will see if it works.
think ants and long-leg spiders are common in our houses.. =(

been seeing ants these few mths, but lately, seems to have more across my path lately. probably due to wife trying more dishes, which attract the little creatures.

yesterday tried her tahu goreng & kopi bread, quite gd, the ants must be enjoying too, haha

thought of buying those ant traps, angie, let me know if those work

i dun see spiders, ants very common

haiz. My dad suggest i shd have a massive insecticide spraying at my home during the days i am not staying.

haha

ya .. alot of ants, I placed ant traps everywhere... and it's working so far.
Before I placed e ant traps, there were alot of ants crawling in the living room.

also received a left-at-door notification on tv licence. apparently, not many knew abt the need to pay the licence for 2008, haha.

just paid for it online for 2008 (but from Nov onwards), heehee, 16 bucks

just came back from marina barrage. simply breathtaking, reservoir-in-city concept, awesome marina view. posted some pics here.

a must-see is the sustainable singapore gallery, luckily i missed the queue, was snake-long when i arrived, but shortened into the night.

820907.jpg

820908.jpg

820909.jpg

26" (tyre) bicycle going at $69 at giant (original price - $100). promo ends 17 nov, if u r interested.

will have two delivered to my home this week, can start biking regime soon, heehee, and night cycling yipee

placed few ant traps yesterday, shortly soon after, could see the ants lured into it. today, hardly can see any ants loitering around in the kitchen and other areas

yup, diana, indeed a new place for family outing
many families had picnic at the roof-top terrace
my suggestion time to be there would be late afternoon, can easily stay there for 3hrs (inclusive of the gallery walk), and u'll see the barrage in daylight and night-time, with bonus of dusk beauty.

and yes, get ur children to bring along swimming costume, or at least towels, there's an open-air playpool

yay, i will be there... i used to be at ginza plaza once every couple of days for quite length few years until they shutdown after last year CNY.

As much as it had been renovated, the old overhead bridge are still the same... ha ha

val

the ants, knowing i've traps, must have found their way to ur place liao, haha

u can get those traps @ any supermarket, provision stores, they are kept together with insecticide/repellent..

kevin..

wait till ur ikea tree comes.. maybe they will go from my hse back to urs. lol!

any particular brand not? cos i hear from my frens, not all brands are effective

I got the Ikea flyer too, wondering if the trees are real or just plastic? They wrote something like we can send the trees back for recycling right? So... should be real ones?

Those are live Scandinavian Christmas tree, ranging from 1.6m ¨C 3.0m
1.6m tall Christmas tree will set us back $45, if u intend to ferry it back
or else additional 20 bucks more if u¡¯re using ikea delivery service
u can get 20 bucks back if u return the tree to their outlet in early jan 08.
So simply like a live Christmas tree rental service for 1-2 mths at $25 if u¡¯re getting the 1.6m

Might be going down tampines ikea see see this wkend
Prefer it (much more spacious to shop) to Alexandra ikea, not sure whether the latter¡¯s renovation is completed

Wow, real tree! Will it start to shed pieces by pieces after xmas? That was my main concern thou a real live tree is way cool. Hehe!

april
ya, cool le. just in time for ur house-warming

angie
intend to go down to have a look at the trees before deciding, nothing beats getting the actual feel

buying live trees are not environmental friendly. imagine every year they chop down millions of christmas trees to sell, only to collect back after a couple of months to dispose it, doubly damaging the earth with the carbon release.... there is no such things as environment friendly disposal like what ikea is offering to buy back the trees... it's wrong in the first place to cut it down.

dislike it and don't support it.

That¡¯s a thought-provoking argument to suggest that plastic artificial Christmas tree is more mother nature-friendly than a live Christmas tree

To share my belief, I support the contrary simply because of the following factors

Production
Artificial Christmas trees consume fossil fuel during production, largely erected with plastic PVC and metal, one could imagine the fumes that factories emit. Importantly, these fumes and waste material cause environmental hazard, and are detrimental to human and animal health.

As for these Ikea Scandinavian Christmas trees, I believe they are seeded, nurtured and harvested for its sole purpose ¨C sell for profit, hence they should be planted in designated plots, and there would not be any excessive falling of trees in the wild open, because I am aware that these Scandinavian countries are front-runners as environmentalists. So we have a profit-driven organization plating Christmas trees, and these trees help to reduce global warming (we all learnt in schools that tress breathe in CO2).

Disposal
This is contestable. We have an plastic artificial Christmas tree which can easily reside in your home for 5-10yrs, depending when the novelty wears off. Alternatively, you can pick up a live Christmas tree off the shelf that will last your family only this festive season.

In the long run, plastic lasts, and at a lower cost, one may feel one plastic tree for for instance five years is more appropriate than chopping five trees for the same period, but how about weighing the eventual effects on our environment.

Plastic is non-biodegradable, hence it is hard to recycle it. As for live trees, believe every tree for that is fallen, there will be a seedling nurtured for the next Ikea customer. And for the skeptics about recycling these live trees, believe Ikea would have them collected and recycled into composts for parks and gardens. This is part of their care our environment. Otherwise, would not be obliged to dish out $10 voucher to entice customers to return the trees, which in first place, is cumbersome to just draga tree back to store and some may even harbour though to squeeze it down the chute, haha.

Enough said, enough shared, merely personal thoughts

aiyo, liddat not suitable for me :P will be more messy with my 2 young kiddos. can imagine my boy will use the pine needle to poke my gal, &amp; my gal come running to me, screaming... perfect >_<

2nd day at ICT today, we have so much stuffs to load up for our exercise on monday that we needed nine 5-tonner ready. Today it took us the whole afternoon to load up 300 set of concertina wires and 500 sand bags. It's a nightmare untangling the concertina wires.. we're going to built a PW camp on monday with all these... OMG!