Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

btw, do any of you have problems with small ants in the kitchen and sometimes in the bathroom? they are driving me crazy! any easy and not too cruel method of getting rid of these little pests?

hi angie
thanks for the compliment, paiseh, we're still amateur la, still figuring how best to cook these crustaceans

the st91 kopi thiam crab stall quite popular with JW residents, but havent had the chance to try it

Thanks, Justin
Oredi proud owner of the makan sultra guidebk
Dun wanna host the programme, did u see his pot belly, wow, must be all those food-sampling, haha

Lazy these days liao
Merely badminton downstairs or strolling/hiking (not jogging) at parks/reserves
Thinking of getting a basketball, can go over to next-door estate to use their court

ha ha... putting food to lure the ants to neighbour is not such a neighbourly thing to do leh... ;p do you have any problems with them?

btw, is anyone staying in Blk 677A other than us?

Thanks Kevin, I have not been to the eng neo road one, will try it... looks nice

Incidentally, we just went to Bottle tree on Saturday... the food was nice... but service was not that wonderful =(

No issue with ants, even though we cook often
Fortunate to have lovely neighbours, wouldn¡¯t wanna sabo them too, haha
Justin might have some comments abt his, haha

Ya, there¡¯s room for improvement for service @ bottle tree
Over @ eng neo 60s seafood, pleasant service
I was there for dinner, nice ambience, setting in jungle
Was told that in daytime, u can see horses around

Another gd place for gd food, near bt timah too
@ greenwood ave, gd pastries & giant delicious pizzas

hi justin

wa black tiles.. nv see b4. once day we go ur hse play mahjong with ur tiles hehe. me also paying fees all the time la. v lousy de. play for fun can le lor
ok see u some other time at the bus stop huh hehe.

Hi Joanne,

No need PM la, i will do them a favour by publicise them.

Jimmy Textiles 67456423

Val got her curtains from the same shop.

Hi Justin,

Ya i have your contact number, if you didn't changed it in the last 3 months
I am also paying school fees for mahjong leh, then i think you, me and val suit to play together. Hee hee

Hi Angie,

I think we're all the same. Gek Poh, Seng Siong, Pioneer Mall and Jurong Point eat until sian ... and Boon Lay market are kinda too far to walk .. hee

SengSiong - The prawn mee next to the fishball stall is not bad to my taste bud
Jurong Point - I like the homemade curry chicken stall at Kopitiam, and the Hotplate Sambal Fish Rice at the Banquet at the basement. Of course, Kuishinbo and Fish & Co still the best if we have the budget hee and i always go along with a cup of strawberry milk shake at Sweettalk .. very nice
Gek Poh - didn't like all the food there
Pioneer Mall - Boring...

I didn't know Botak Jones opened an outlet at Boon Lay market until recently. Was frequently very often at their first outlet at tuas a few years back until they expanded into Clementi and Ang Mo Kio. Should visit there sometime heee

It appears to me that all of us are food-lovers and maybe we should organise a "EAT UNTIL WE EXPLODE" whole day expedition to all the places discussed above. Rent a bus so everyone of us can hop in
ha ha

Did you guys received a pizza brochures? The pizza shop is called Rite Pizza. Anyone tried that? Don't know good or not.. feedback thx

Kevin,

Actually me and my wife thought of playing badminton at the court, we can play together. Basketball sounds good .. very long didn't play liao.. if you need a player, give me a ring

More interested to play soccer but very hard to find people these days

Kev, of cuz must spy what neighbours doing! Next time can gek gek drop by while your wife is cooking to steal some cooking skills. Haha!! Better not intro my HTB to you two, wait tio complain that I only cook him instant noodles. =X

Justin, I'm on the 4th. My HTB and I around the area quite alot lately but in the noon so hardly see anyone around. Only one malay neighbour smile at us loh, so sad. The rest look at me (O_O) then I smile abit (shy) and they still keep staring only. =(

Hi April,

Nice.. and welcome. U mean the malay neighbour on the ground floor? The curry they cook smells really nice.

U wait till weekends then will have more pple in the neighbourhood.

Ryan
We play badminton at least once a week
Usually @ the court, but these days many kids sharing the court, so we have to make do with the amphi-theatre below our flat

Looking for kakis for tennis though, remember our goatie plays it
Not sure whether he¡¯s still around (in this forum) :p

ryan
that¡¯s an useful food appraisal in our vicinity, haha
strangely, I rarely patronise the stalls nearby, at pioneer mall, jurong pt, blar blar
not that we eat @ home everyday, but we prefer to go (further) elsewhere to dine
but to go to the boon lay hawker often, cos that¡¯s where we get our fresh vege and meat

Checked the washing bay this morning
Yup, the cashcard reader & taps all installed and operationalised liao
Can give your ¡®babe¡¯ a good wash this weekend

April
It takes skills too, to master the art of instant-mee-cooking lo, haha
U can pick up learning skills from me too, heehee
But only western cuisine like grilled salmon, pasta etc

How long is ur tai tai life ah

eh kevin.. we just started playing badminton at the frontier cc. trying to go every wkend to play if possible hehe. normally when n wad time u go to our court to play? see if we can join u

ya i also eat at our downstairs, gek poh n pioneer n jp till sian. nowwhere else can eat.. so try to go back mom hse eat on wkdays hehe. been wanting to go try the botak jones but haven go yet. anyone tried? standard same as clementi's?

just to update, we r moving in soon... hopefully by this month end... count us in for food tasting session hor. hehehehe...

val
no specific time to play badminton, when the weather is cool, we are free, will simply change into attire and go downstairs. why u walk all the way to frontier? quite troublesome le, do they still charge a court fee like in the old days.

as for food, suddenly urge to have nasi lemak, miss the adam rd hawker's. simply the best. the stall provides free delivery if at least 30 packets. haha. it beats even those @ changi village. the rice is so tasty that u can eat it on its own.

hi diana.. when u move in le got chance we can visit each other, go for gatherings

kevin.. ya they do charge.. 7 per hr for peak hours.. i paid 6 cos i got passion card. hmm i go frontier cos prefer actual court lor.. the one downstiars like got ppl looking at u play from upstairs hehe. don feel v comfy. so haven try go there play yet. maybe if cant book court then go there try. n also realise got many kids too.

Kevin,

The last time i played tennis was a few years ago but quite amateur la... you can jio me if you finding someone, still have a racket a home

$6/hr, that's quite ex to pay lor... still make sense to pay for tennis court (cos don't have space elsewhere) but badminton can just settle anywhere to play.

my husband tried the steak at botak jones (boon lay mkt), he says not too bad... so probably can try...

thanks ryan for the list of food recommendation... BTW, I also liked the carrot cake stall in Sheng Siong..

wa... everyone so healthy here ;p my husband has been asking me to play badminton with him... i have been resisting ;p ha ha... how about some activities that starts with food...

ryan, that was fast! I just posted like one minute ago! ;p I don't think so... that time I went during dinner time, it did not look as crowded... btw, the in the same hawker centre as clementi botak jones, there is this pasta and pizza stall which is quite nice...

talking about pasta, kevin, do you make a mean dish of pasta aglio olio? ha ha.. one of my fave.. ;p

ya, u'll find ursf engulfed by kids @ the badminton court or amphitheatre on wkends, so grace & i just join in the fun and play badminton with them at times, if they dun mind big brother & sister

Hi Ryan,

I've heard and tried Rite Pizzas. It's good and slightly cheaper than Canadian and Pizza Hut. The bread is not too hard. Can try...

Thanks Kevin for the links! We have been looking for ulu places like these so that we do not have to brave the crowd downtown ;p

another place to go to would be sunset way... it is also modelled after holland village concept... we went to the steamboat cum bbq buffet... quite nice

justin.. haha hv not been making tiramisu lately as been bz with other programmes like gg for some jb shopping n birthday celebrations. when i make, will pass some for u to try