Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

I also craved for it when posting the pic last nite le
Think this wkend can try round 2, mayb can try crab beehoon or black pepper
Muz go choose crabs early or else those fresher ones (those which are hyper-active despite tied up) will be gone

Wow Ryan, you cooked 4 dishes for 2 persons to eat? What a sumptuous dinner! If I were to cook, I'll only do 2 simple ones.
Kevin, your crab really looks good. Your wife's a good cook. The presentation is good. *drooling* :|_

Ya, she always pays attention to the colours (appearance) so she can take pretty pics, in addition to taste, to ensure É« Ïã ζ all fall into place on 1 dish

Sumptuous le ryan, 4 dishes for a couple for dinner, and u¡¯ve to prepare them quickly after work, pei fu pei fu
We normally have 1 soup to go with 2 dishes

ya lor.. after work i reach home already near 7.. if were to prepae dinner, i tink 8+ or 9 then can eat. haha. tats why normally wkdays don prepare. kevin.. ask grace share some super simple yet tasty recipes tat i can prepare after work? hehe.

Val
Dun think grace keeps any recipe
She only picked up cooking this feb when we moved in
All along she prefers trial & error to following tried & trusted recipes
So I¡¯ve my fair share of ¡°errr¡­.what¡¯s this¡± haha

Typical reply from govt, psfi
¡­¡­¡­¡­¡­¡­¡­¡­¡­¡­¡­¡­.

Dear Mr Lee

1. I refer to your email dated 2 Oct 2008, with regard to the noise pollution generated from Republic of Singapore Air Force (RSAF)¡¯s aircraft.

2. We regret that the noise generated by our aircraft flying activities has caused inconvenience to you and your neighbours. The RSAF plays a vital role in the defence of Singapore. In order to have a strong air defence, regular flying training is required for the pilots to maintain their flying skills. Hence, night flying is critical to equip our pilots with the experience of flying at night. To meet this objective, it is essential that flying takes place after dusk when the skies get dark, which usually happens after 1900 hours in Singapore. Generally, night flying is not conducted on a daily basis and would cease by 2300 hours, unless it is absolutely necessary for operational reasons. The flying activities that you had noted on 27 Sep 2008 and 28 Sep 2008 were necessary due to operational requirements.

3. Singapore is a small country and we are situated very close to our neighbours. The airspace that we have is very limited and this is exacerbated by the fact that we also share the tight airspace with civilian aircraft. Given these constraints and the fact that Singapore is quite densely populated, it would be difficult for the planes from Tengah Air Base to take an alternative route as you had suggested.

4. The RSAF constantly seeks ways to reduce the impact of noise from our flying activities. We have taken many measures to reduce this inconvenience. Some of these include relocating about half of our flying training overseas and conducting a substantial portion of our training on flight simulators. However, a fair proportion of actual flying still needs to be done locally, both day and night.
5. We seek your kind understanding on this matter. We look forward to your continued support for the RSAF's operational training which is required to build up an air force capable of defending the interest and security of our nation.

Yours sincerely

MS ELIZABETH TAN
for PERMANENT SECRETARY
MINISTRY OF DEFENCE

Hi folks,

anyone install INSTANT water heater inside each wc? I was told by my ID that the wc comes with installed cold n hot water mixer, so is difficult and advised me to get storage heater instead. But I do not want to get storage heater as is huge & takes up more electricity.

I have enquired abt citygas water heater, but it has to be installed abt 40-60cm down from the ceiling and in direct view when i walk into the kitchen, I think it will not be that nice with the piping and view of the heater.

hi val & angle,

i started cooking at about 6.30pm and finish at 7.45pm so about 90 mins ba. Normally i will just make 3 dishes but some of the food had been in the fridge for almost 4 days so i thought i cooked all of it at one go. hee

Kevin,

i'm drooling over curry crab now and it's all because of your picture.. HA HA

Actually i thought there are more pros than cons for a storage heater, that's why i decided to install a storage heater. I can't remember all the details but a instant heater uses more electricity than a storage heater? Not sure abt that but i think it all depends on your usage pattern.

Hi Valerie

Semi-dried tomato think only 'up-mkt' (more ex) supermkt then got sell leh. like cold storage, liberty. or places like Holland V, bt timah NTUC may hv.

Steamed pork/chicken usually 15 min can liao leh. else too tough le. mayb in between e steaming u can use fork to do e poke test :P

me use A1 bak gu teh herb pack. feel it's e best so far. aiyo, think oso lau nua :P

Shawn, me saw ur windows opened, so try to 'shout' ur name but no one answer or throw stone leh :D

then went to ring ur door bell but the plant was placed in middle of the doorway. tot ur contractor was in instead of u. so went back :P
but me berie gong leh, why nvr sms u. >_<

hi diana

my colleagues told me some ntuc might have.. they have seen it b4 so i gotta hope JP or JE have hehe. how long can i keep them?

hehe ok i shall try out steaming pork n chickens again. gonna try till succeed! heh heh :P ur msg to shawn is sooo funny
wad theme are u renovating?

This is probably not new because it had been annouced back then that the NTUC Fairprice at Jurong Point will be converted to a Hypermart just like the one at Ang Mo Kio Hub, which will be located by the new wing.

Shopping at the current fairprice is quite unplesant because of the huge crowd, i had written to them to ask when they will be moving over. Not too long.. their reply below.

Dear Ryan,

Thank you for your email.

We do understand the current situation of our FairPrice Jurong Point as the population in Jurong area is increasing.

We are please to advise you that we do have a plan to expend our FairPrice Jurong Point supermarket to a FairPrice Xtra Hypermart, which should be ready by the end of this 2008 year.

The Co-operative would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for your patronage and will look forward to your continuous support.

Thank you and regards,

Elaine Yeo
Team Leader, Customer Relations
NTUC Fairprice Co-Operative Ltd

Hey kelvin, cheer up. is sad to hear abt such things.

ryan, they going to convert to FairPrice Xtra? that sounds like bad news coz it means that the price will be Xtra as well if i am not wrong.

From my understanding and comparision, FairPrice Xtra basic groceries are more expensive than those at FairPrice. The only difference is that they might have more variety.But i really wonder the purpose since most of their customers are heartlanders who don't really have the budget or understanding or appreciation for non-local groceries.

The queue at FairPrice JP is HORRIBLE. I will never go there &amp; buy groceries on weekends. I rather pay a premium to shop comfortably at Cold Storage King Albert Park or those in town.

Hi Diana

Just saw your msg now. My *door bell switch* is just for appearance only. No door bell installed.

Think call me on phone is better. old liao ears no good. and also becsuse i playing xbox360 haha

usually if windows is open means we are in. my wtb was out these 2 weekends so hopefully next week we too can pop by your place see see look look.

ps i saw your pics at renotalk nice nice

shawn

hi xesthir,

I think you are probably wrong.

Unlike other supermarket chains who priced their items based on locations, NTUC Fairprice adopt a 1 price policy across all their FairPrice branches, including FairPrice Xtra Hypermart and FairPrice Finest.

Btw, if you're looking to shop in the owl hour, you can go down to Clementi Fairprice branch which is now operating 24/7. I think the 1st branch in Singapore to do so.

I don't go there because i think their items are more expensive. Went there buy a couple of times and notice it was much exp. so didn't return again.

oh.. is the prime more expensive? i thought it was cheaper! ;p well... i don't do much grocery shopping, so cannot compare much...

how about sheng siong, it seems quite cheap compared to the others...

glad that NTUC Xtra is opening soon... hopefully it will ease the congestion and hopefully they will be well-stocked... always running out of stock of necessary stuffs!

ryan, is it? just sometime back, I really noticed a price difference in ntuc fairprice xtra at AMK, fairprice bt batok mrt &amp; fairprice JE central, of which amk is more ex followed by bt batok follwed by JE central. Just a bottle of orange juice there is abt 10 cents difference.

u try and check out and let me know the verdict. :p

Hi Shawn

u checked out at RT liao huh... so fast
now we try to shift stuffs there every nite. think u can hear me shouting, Ryan come back, Ryan stop it :P this boy is really active man... nt easy t b parent nowaday... stress mann :S

oops... sorry to mention my 5 yr old boy is oso called Ryan. not affiliate to Ryan in this chat
hahahaha :D

Angie,

I remembered i paid for a 6 pack drinks which cost like 10 to 15c more expensive than Sengsiong. Ya Sengsiong is quite cheap but i suggest buy vegetables from Fairprice because it looks fresher.
Otherwise, Sengsiong is a good alternatives but earning linkpoints can be quite addictive. Ha ha

Hi Kevin,

Sorry to hear about that. I had a colleague who met with a serious traffic accident on Sunday and was rush to ICU. Haven't wake up yet and might not be able to make it. It just reminds all of us how precious life is and live every min to the fullest.

Anyway who can spare me a small slice of ginger later this evening, need it to steam my codfish

Hate to go to that crazy queue just to buy a small portion of ginger.. ha ha Or is there any other place can buy without having to walk the extra distance?

the other day bought a bundle of garlic from fairprice and i wonder how long it will take me to finish the whole bundle... probably 6 months ? ha ha maybe can share with anyone who wants it.

hi ryan,

i have ginger... but i will be home only about 6+ if that is not too late for you

he he... do bak kut teh, then can finish the garlic fast

Hi everybody,

Can i check that is it a must to ask electrician to install more plugs &amp; power point? My parents said has to do so due to the powerpoints HDB supply are not enough. Also need to install for heater, aircon etc..

What is the price range like?

Does anyone has any recommendation?

haha ryan.. i also hv such problem. last month i bought a pack of onions from NTUC and i only used 2 and gave all to my mom. haha.

same problem with garlic, so now i do it the other way. whenever i go back my mom's hse, and i plan to cook during the wkend, i'll take 2-3 onions/garlics/ginger/egg back. like that better cos mom buys frm market, no need to buy a big pack and they use fast enough too

hi sharemoments

hmm for our 5room flat at this estate, me and my parents realised that hdb has given us quite a lot of power points compared to older flats. there is no 'must' to install more powerpoints, just install where u think u need it and the point is too far away or not enough.

I will be shifting a lot of pts coz i find some of the locations very weird. why is the phone line along the lorong towards my bedrooms. anyway.. i will be changing all the ugly switches.

Hi Rumi

Me oso add alot of power pt &amp; shifting of existing pt :P

PM if u need contact of electrician. ask for quote &amp; compare

Hello, I'm back. Had my solemnization last Fri and we went for mini honeymoon in Sentosa. Haha!! Sick now thou, boo hoo. =(

rumi, they all say tempered glass easier to clean but there might be a chance it will break. I bought tempered glass simply cuz its prettier. Haha!