Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

Haha, save that few hundred $ for wife shopping instead of having 2 bases in kitchen
Been washing the kitchen floor almost evey wkend
No prob without the bases

Well actually display sets can be really attractive if you really don't mind. Last time went to the Bosch warehouse sale, all the display sets are being sold off within the first 1/2 hour (no kidding). So kind of disappointed to be there 2 hrs after the opening. Actually alot of ppl are eying this sale.

Well anyway just here to help. And anyway for those who want to buy Ariston products, might want to wait till next month where they will be having their bi-yearly sale. Got my oven there also.

actually, it's true. display sets are so much cheaper and they haven't been used before too.

just that for me.. i just don't feel good buying a display set, feels like 2nd hand goods. haha

i also just got my keys 2 months ago.. cos i had AHG and requested to defer my cert submission so they took super long to get back to us.

woohooo.. can i join in the next massive hse-viewing too? so cool.. but my hse is simple though.

Whyme
Sure, the previous endeavour took us over 3hrs to cover 8-9 houses (did we view that many?!) in the estate
I presume with the growing no, the next round is going to be a half-day marathon liao
*sweat*

lets see if i can recall.. we went to angie's, then to sy chen's, then to my friend's hse then to icegin's then to kevin's, then ryan's n then goatie's n then to mine.

ya got 8 hses. did i miss out anyone?

i heard that fisher and paykel not that good?

ha ha... i think we view, chit chat, not sure whether we sat down... but we were super tired at the end of the marathon... ha ha
it was fun though ... everyone has very nice homes

Angie
Doubt we could sit, whose house’s sofa can accommodate over 10 visitors
And with the number likely to increase for the next round, we could even face difficulty having sufficient standing space in the LR
Let’s say we have 10 houses and both spouses available for house visit, easily 20 and beyond
Gosh

And to sustain the visit for half a day with no rest interval
Jialat jialat
Must set up some water and refreshment points

i wish my neighbours (as in nearby) are all newly-weds, and not the en-bloc people.. haha! doesn't give the new estate feeling and seems hard to talk to them too.

so far, i haven even spoken to them a single word!

haha mine got a few variety of drinks but no booze. wan booze know whose hse to go to hehe.

whyme.. mine also all en bloc ppl. juz say hi to them lor.. on gd terms with them does help to make life better
u duno when u need their help too. as for newly weds.. u have us! i tink most of us if not all are newly weds or gg to be wedded hehe

yep..true. shld make more friends in the estate.. after all, we'll be here at least 5 years! =)

val.. you ard next sat? i'll be over at my hse from 12pm onwards for carpentry stuff.. so if you're ok, i can pop by your place to see see too, and meet you! haha.

rather fortunate to have a good mix of en-bloc and young couples as my immediate neighbours. these en-bloc families bring more vibrancy to the neighbourhood. on the contrary, quite a fair share of them are middle-age families with school-going kids. without kids, this estate will be devoid of joy and laughter, and with most of us here as young couples, there'll be hardly anyone around till late night when we return to work.

however do admit that some of these en-bloc families are our less-ideal neighbours who pose some challenges, haha

val
i'm neither newly-wed nor newly-wed to be leh
how?

i guess, after angie, we are the 'most senior' (not old ah) couple around in this forum *sob*
angie, right? heehee

ryan
nope, angie wont 翻脸 la
'most senior' couple by virtue of fact that we married young, not necessarily older, in fact, i should be younger than most here loh
*beaming*

Ryan,
My budget is $1000+-- lor. I worried the Hitachi model is too small as the dept is very shallow, Worry cannot even put a 1kg cake.

Wah Kevin, no base for ur washer & fridge? Hmm How do you clean the bottom of ur washer? Or no need to clean?

I think fridge can still be elevated by the rollers? So do u mop the floor at the bottom of the fridge?

if really no need maybe i can cut cost for bases. seems like theya re just standard items in a package so i thought it was mandatory.

Shack...

Took leave today and just came back from doing the re-grouting.

Only managed to complete nearly 1/2 the LR and tomorrow furnitures coming in...

Val, today nv offer cold drinks ah? LOL

Kevin,

You can come tomorrow if u want since we will be there from tomorrow morning onwards waiting for the furnitures to arrive...

however do admit that some of these en-bloc families are our less-ideal neighbours who pose some challenges, haha <--- Agree

Reason: If you have chance to come up to my place you will know...

Am looking at
Pansonic NR-B403V-S6 675mm(W)x695mm(D)x1769mm(H);Nett 395L; <=$1099; 3 ticks
http://panasonic.com.sg/web/Pid/5675
Compartment below is freezer and ice twister. May spill all over while bending down to put in the ice tray. It is said that 70% of the time, pple actually had to bend down to take things from chiller, 30% of the time, pple take things from freezer, so that's why the model is freezer below so pple bend down less. Not sure if is true.

Hitachi R-S37SVS 600mm(W)x615mm(D)x1798mm(H); Nett 365L <=$1099; 2 ticks
http://www.hitachiconsumer.com/sg/products/download.aspx?file=491549459_R-S37SVS.pdf

Auto-ice maker. energy consumption higher. But easier to take ice. but also have to maintain auto ice maker.
Although the capacity is very similar, the chiller compartment of Hitachi is very shallow since the external dept is 615mm.

ha ha, we will be celebrating our 5th year ROM anniversary this coming July.. so I guess that makes us the most senior couple? ;p ha ha....
i think we are likely also the oldest couple here? *sob*

Xesthir,

I bought Hitachi 480AMS. It is 680mm wide and i think also quite deep, should be sufficient to put your cake in, but then it's 2 door. However, it's 3 ticks and cost cheaper.

If you concern on energy consumption, you have to go for fisher and paykel fridges, almost all are 4 ticks!

Justin,

It's amazing, you took a day leave just to do the grout? You're taking too much time because you didn't buy yourself a float, using your fingers are quite incredible. Don't it hurts?

Xesthir
“clean the bottom of ur washer (I suppose fridge too)â€
hmm … with the base, believe it’ll be more difficult to clean le

as my bottom kitchen cabinets are all suspended (with 20-30cm gap above floor)
can have cove light effect at the bottom

without the bases, doesn’t affect how I wash the kitchen floor
simply roll out the washer if necessary (do it monthly)
with the base, more difficult to ‘roll down’ from the base

Angie
We are having our 2nd yr anniversary this dec
collected our keys on our 1st yr anniversary, what a way to celebrate, haha

Hi xesthir,

Currently using the 403V Panasonic model. So far so good. The fridge is very quiet. Well as for the energy saving part, I believe that it really boils down to your usage (how often you open your fridge, do you place hot items in your fridge before letting them cool down first). Over all the fridge is ok just that the freezer does not have the normal shelvings to place items. The freezer only have 2 compartments to place your items. The water does freezes very quickly in the freezer.

Well this is my 2 cents worth, if you want you can drop by my house to see the fridge in action.

kevin.. aiya 2 yrs ago married also sorta newly wed la.. not as if u are married 10 yrs ago hehe.

justin.. i didn know last nite u were doing the grout also. u stayed till so late on mon nite! ytd also so latE? wonder how u still can work leh. i slept at 12 already cant wake in the morn hehe. tonite ur furnitures coming? or tmr? tonite i'll be home earli compared to last 2 days so i can go over with cold drinks and see ur grout n furnitures if they're in todae.

whyme.. next sat shd be ard to pack stuffs unless last min got appt. so far ahead.. haven plan yet hehe. we arrange nearer to date, see can meet up o not. i also wan to see u and ur hse

Hey, even those 3-door fridge which has drawer compartments for freezer and vegetable do not have the shelving, is just like a drawer for u to put things right?

Henry, do u have difficulty refilling the ice tray and twisting the ice cubes. Coz i know need to bend down. Tiring leh ..How much did u get for that fridge &amp; from where?

I like mitsubishi folio baby white. but is too expensive abt $1799 I think prob a bit cheaper in smaller shops, but concern is Mitsubishi fridges have plastic shelves in most of their ranges! Those with tempered glass has plastic internal walls at the doors.

I want tempered glass shelves so that it will more unlikely to break and more lasting.

Xesthir,

I think mitsubishi have another model that is quite similar to baby folio, you may want to find out. I think that one cost about $900+. Ya $1799 is quite expensive, but my ex-classmates who is staying 3 storey below is had bought a fridge that cost over $3000+!

Xesthir,

I'm eyeing at the baby folio white. Goh Ah Bee quoted $1450. Add another $100 if getting stainless steel.

*change topic abit*

for those who have are already staying...how are your neighbours so far? how abt those who have neighbours from enbloc?

shawn

xestir,

im eyeing a mitsubishi fridge too.. three-door with tempered glass shelves too. i also think it's more durable as compared to plastic shelves! haha..